Tech Thread - Nissan Frontier, Navara, Pathfinder.

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.

Re: Tech Thread - Nissan Frontier, Navara, Pathfinder.

Postby Ted_v2 » December 17th, 2018, 10:19 pm

got something like that and calibrated the pump via a scan tool, worked fine since.

cant remember the exact code however

Postby sMASH » December 18th, 2018, 5:29 pm

Since the refinery closed down, where np going to source their oil from?

Nissan_Man13

Postby Nissan_Man13 » December 18th, 2018, 8:46 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:got something like that and calibrated the pump via a scan tool, worked fine since.

cant remember the exact code however

Got through, it was the suction control valve on the fuel pump

supernedd

Postby supernedd » January 6th, 2019, 11:52 am

h@+eR wrote:Morning all, get a sudden grey smoke from my Navara D40 not while idealing just when driving.. Lots of smoke.... I'm thinking it'd most likely the turbo.... Can somone confirm..... Also can someone give me the cost to replair or replace and also what's the number on thr turbo if possible thanks
https://costeffective.com.au/2017/03/05/diesel-smoke-tells-you-a-story/

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » January 7th, 2019, 8:47 am

Is the np300 and d40 outfitted with the same turbo?

ADONI

Postby ADONI » January 7th, 2019, 9:58 am

h@+eR wrote:Morning all, get a sudden grey smoke from my Navara D40 not while idealing just when driving.. Lots of smoke.... I'm thinking it'd most likely the turbo.... Can somone confirm..... Also can someone give me the cost to replair or replace and also what's the number on thr turbo if possible thanks

Is a white TCR u have or? I saw one last night smoking so much, u couldn't see the man tail lights!

Yuh could take a lil more read... I believe turbo issues is a loss of power and rough Idling... I is no expert doh!
Tuner Ted_V2 can assist u. 337-5690.

https://www.hotshotsecret.com/reading-exhaust-smoke/

Postby sMASH » January 7th, 2019, 10:40 am

diagnostics showing any codes?

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » January 7th, 2019, 7:53 pm

nick639v2 wrote:Is the np300 and d40 outfitted with the same turbo?
???

firehead..

Postby firehead.. » January 8th, 2019, 1:53 pm

How viable is it to do a manual to atomagic conversion on the navara d40 4x2 model???

Anyone have idea on prices etc.....

Postby Ted_v2 » January 9th, 2019, 8:01 am

Hard to get. 4x2 trans don't pop up so regular.

firehead..

Postby firehead.. » January 9th, 2019, 8:21 am

Ah shux....i was hoping it would have been easy to find....

ADONI

Postby ADONI » January 9th, 2019, 8:28 am

I spoke to a tuner who did a manual conversion to auto on a Hilux. The stopping point for him, was that he needed a auto ECU. As in then engine ECU had to be made for a auto Hilux.
So you might have to consider that as well...

firehead..

Postby firehead.. » January 9th, 2019, 3:16 pm

Good point.....im exploring availability of needed parts. Will keep that in mind. About two years ago someone had a full conversion for sale for 15k......so i was curoius how its prices were at this point in time.

supernedd

Postby supernedd » January 12th, 2019, 7:50 am

h@+eR wrote:Morning all can anyone give me an average cost on how much an engine job on a Navara will cost....
Like a rebuild or engine change . Including a new engine price?

ADONI

Postby ADONI » January 15th, 2019, 2:16 pm

h@+eR wrote:Gd day all looking for some pathfinder rims can anyone assist

You can check Carl's Tyre Shop in San Juan. 790-1711

Postby Kenjo » January 26th, 2019, 10:08 am

Anyone ever had the transmission stuck in neutral ?

Postby Kenjo » January 27th, 2019, 6:40 am

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vtYRx5wfq3k

https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_cont ... F-qFAAsMwo

Two very important fixes I found here that people with older D40 Navaras May eventually come across . My van suddenly wasn’t changing from drive —> neutral —> reverse etc and was just stuck in one position . Now your vehicle may be stuck in reverse or anything else and the dashboard would should this . The centre console where you would be changing gear would be moving very normal . It may be the bushing that eroded away with time as shown in one of the videos above or the other part which moves as shown in the second video . If anyone wants to sticky this or open a new thread it was something good to discover as another issue that can come up with the D40

Postby Kenjo » February 1st, 2019, 6:06 pm

Newly installed bushing after ordering it Sunday and came in via skybox . Van back up and running. The entire transmission shift cable is a bit over $1000 at massy while after customs charges this came up around $250

firehead..

Postby firehead.. » February 8th, 2019, 12:30 am

Ok straight to the point. This nav hv me pullin out my hair.

Loss of power.....horrible to drive.

Will start with no problems and idle....will drive ok with light throttle under 2000rpm......will drive like crap over 2000rpm, 3000rpm and so onn.....i have no black smoke even with foot planted.

Boost at 30.9inHG at idle and will reach a max at 62.3inHG over 2500rpm....

Fuel press at idle is about 4550psi.....and will reach a max of about 14300psi in higer revs.

Again...nav jus sounds like its labouring and no torque or acceleration.

Also noticed the fuel pressure would fluctuate even at constant throttle/ pedal position.

And the tps reading would also fluctuate even tho i would hv my foot at constant throttle.

What the hell is wrong with my nav.....

No codes detected....also did the pump relearn pedal dance a few times.......did not help.

firehead..

Postby firehead.. » February 8th, 2019, 12:31 am

Its a 4x2 se D40....

supernedd

Postby supernedd » February 8th, 2019, 3:10 am

firehead.. wrote:Ok straight to the point. This nav hv me pullin out my hair.

Loss of power.....horrible to drive.

Will start with no problems and idle....will drive ok with light throttle under 2000rpm......will drive like crap over 2000rpm, 3000rpm and so onn.....i have no black smoke even with foot planted.

Boost at 30.9inHG at idle and will reach a max at 62.3inHG over 2500rpm....

Fuel press at idle is about 4550psi.....and will reach a max of about 14300psi in higer revs.

Again...nav jus sounds like its labouring and no torque or acceleration.

Also noticed the fuel pressure would fluctuate even at constant throttle/ pedal position.

And the tps reading would also fluctuate even tho i would hv my foot at constant throttle.

What the hell is wrong with my nav.....

No codes detected....also did the pump relearn pedal dance a few times.......did not help.
This happening with new filters? Oil. Air n fuel filters new?

MarvinC

Postby MarvinC » March 24th, 2019, 4:18 pm

Good day all. My 2006 Nissan Frontier has been overheating for the past week and i dont know what to do. Anyone have any ideas on what is going on. Btw the engine is zd30.

bxbLJ

Postby bxbLJ » March 25th, 2019, 9:42 pm

any up-to-date reviews on the d40 navara/pathfinder now? really appreciate the info on this thread btw

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » March 26th, 2019, 4:17 am

MarvinC wrote:Good day all. My 2006 Nissan Frontier has been overheating for the past week and i dont know what to do. Anyone have any ideas on what is going on. Btw the engine is zd30.

You're going to need to give us some more information, MarvinC. Fan status, coolant levels, etc. Troubleshooting without background information will frustrate us as much as your issue is frustrating you now, if not more.

Monster 101

Postby Monster 101 » March 31st, 2019, 5:13 am

Misplaced my service and maintenance guide for my 2013 nissan navara.
What is required for the 120,000km service???

C_A_P

Postby C_A_P » May 20th, 2019, 3:11 pm

Goodday .any one know where i can get a set off seats for the nissan pathfinder R51 modle

C_A_P

Postby C_A_P » May 20th, 2019, 3:12 pm

This.modle
IMG-20190502-WA0032.jpeg

C_A_P

Postby C_A_P » May 20th, 2019, 3:13 pm

Call 686-5011

DarkDragon

Postby DarkDragon » June 11th, 2019, 8:58 am

So I'm having some knocking issues with my D40 engine, it starts ok but as i start to drive, the engine knocks like if tappets were making noise. It lasts for a few minutes and then gets quiet. Only happens on cold start. Comments/suggestions anyone?

Postby Ted_v2 » July 3rd, 2019, 9:42 pm

any smoke from the exhaust?
what body of oil u using.

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”