L200 owners........what are your experiences???

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
AdamB

Re: L200 owners........what are your experiences???

Postby AdamB » January 10th, 2013, 12:53 pm

ok guys, looking to buy a L200 2006 with non-turbo 2.5 engine that is back pressuring. need to know what options are available for more power / acceleration. also, estimated costs. thanks

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » January 10th, 2013, 12:56 pm

u want a 4d56 to buy?? i go sell u mine... how much u have to spend?

AdamB

Postby AdamB » January 10th, 2013, 11:37 pm

speedaholic wrote:u want a 4d56 to buy?? i go sell u mine... how much u have to spend?

what's the mileage, history, condition, turbo, your best price? pm details, pics.

venum

Postby venum » January 12th, 2013, 8:22 pm

AdamB wrote:ok guys, looking to buy a L200 2006 with non-turbo 2.5 engine that is back pressuring. need to know what options are available for more power / acceleration. also, estimated costs. thanks

drop in a 4M40 turbo

14-16k installed

AdamB

Postby AdamB » January 13th, 2013, 9:57 am

venum wrote:
AdamB wrote:ok guys, looking to buy a L200 2006 with non-turbo 2.5 engine that is back pressuring. need to know what options are available for more power / acceleration. also, estimated costs. thanks

drop in a 4M40 turbo

14-16k installed

Thanks Venum,
can u reccomend a mechanic and where a good engine can be bought?

venum

Postby venum » January 14th, 2013, 7:56 pm

Bamboo for good engines, but you have to hunt around

mech . . . sorry no recomendations

l200

Postby l200 » January 29th, 2013, 11:38 pm

Hey guys, jus touching base to see wats the latest...... i saw a k34 by fireman in freeport the other day, he has the cabin, tray and suspension...so any one looking for parts check him out...... ah was looking for a center console and a instrument cluster.......jus to warn you the prices HOTTT!!!!.... lol.... but it in real good condition......

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » January 30th, 2013, 2:48 am

U get what u was looking for??? I want a front bumper...

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » January 30th, 2013, 7:45 am

Bumper skin faiz vistabella

l200

Postby l200 » January 31st, 2013, 4:33 pm

Speedy i got most of the things I wanted, Still looking for a couple of items.......i'll keep my eyes out for a bumper

So far i purchased new upper cradles, engine mounts, stabilizing rubbers........ still looking for gearbox and transfer case mounts and a/c compressor....>>>>>(the ac tech say the seal going bad, so it not achieving de correct pressures.)

ANY BODY HAVE A A/C COMPRESSOR??? ah want one!! that sun real hot these days.

I rebuilt the pitman and idle arms, I'm hoping to also replace the bottom ball joints and steering ends in the near future......ah jus accumulating the parts now, when ah get everything ah will mount up...

de van should be driving like a new one when ah finish.....

when ah get some time I'll list all that I've done for the past yr and the cost associated with it.

I'll also post up the part numbers for the original items.....
Last edited by l200 on January 31st, 2013, 11:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » January 31st, 2013, 6:17 pm

Dexter, who did the rebuilding if the pitman arm and ball joints?
What was involved?

venum

Postby venum » January 31st, 2013, 10:04 pm

l200 wrote:
Sstill looking for gearbox and transfer case mounts

Ramai's in Vistabella

the TC mount is a floating mount

inside rubber is disconnected from outside rubber

the mount doing it's wuk when the two piece of rubber hit each other

l200

Postby l200 » January 31st, 2013, 11:00 pm

For the idle arm the bushing is re-made and the shaft is sleeved,

the actual joint is dissembled an the knuckle is capped with Teflon. (teflon goes over the knuckle similar to the cartilage on ur knee) .....a hole was drilled an tap for a grease nipple.....

as for the pitman arm the joint is dissembled an the knuckle was built up and machined back to size.......

Now i didn't see the actual work but that how it was explained to me.

All the work was done at a machine shop in california...... all the play is gone.... an it only cost around $200

as for the bottom ball joints they all being replaced.....
Last edited by l200 on January 31st, 2013, 11:30 pm, edited 2 times in total.

l200

Postby l200 » January 31st, 2013, 11:28 pm

Thanks V, I'll check them for the gb mount,

the issue i'm getting is a vibration after 100kph,

and if i under stand ur description of the tc mount, the inner part of the tc mount burst off ......

cause there is a metal sleeve over the bolt, which floats almost to the center, and there is rubber covering the circumference of the mount body.....no inner rubber piece around the bolt.... hope u under stood my description,,,,

but i'll look into it!!!

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » February 1st, 2013, 6:36 pm

Any particular reason y u didn't rebuild the balljoints?
Reason I'm asking I have a project that parts will be pricey and hard to get. If rebuilt parts are holding out well I'll be going that route.

l200

Postby l200 » February 3rd, 2013, 8:35 pm

It an option to do the rebuild, but i never considered it..... the only reason i did the arms is because they were customized to accommodate the pajero steering box, and i wouldn't be able to get a new one.

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » February 3rd, 2013, 11:05 pm

oarr.. ok. send me some directions to this machine shop u did the work plz.

thanks

l200

Postby l200 » February 14th, 2013, 3:50 pm

^^^^^ PM sent cutthroat......

Hey guys, if possible can you post what your battery charging rates are...... mines bordering on 14.4 and the guys at ac delco said that i'm over charging!!!

I Did a change out with my spare and it still running up to 14.4 with the engine @ high rev.....

One of the alternator is a original mitsubishi that has the regulator changed out and the other is a new one purchased at the parts store......

any help will be appreciated.....

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » February 15th, 2013, 4:55 pm

what is the charge voltage @ idle????
if my a/c is off and my headlamps are off.. and i high rev.. i will go up to about 14.3 or so... i now have a voltmeter in my new IP... so i been monitoring it for quite a while now.. @ idle it wud ussually charge @ AROUND 13.8...
high beams and a/c on to the highest... @ idle will drop to about 12.7.... and when i rev will go back up to about 13.4 or soo... so try out these stuff and also try investing in a volt meter... it cud save u from buying a new battery

AdamB

Postby AdamB » February 15th, 2013, 8:18 pm

speedaholic wrote:what is the charge voltage @ idle????
if my a/c is off and my headlamps are off.. and i high rev.. i will go up to about 14.3 or so... i now have a voltmeter in my new IP... so i been monitoring it for quite a while now.. @ idle it wud ussually charge @ AROUND 13.8...
high beams and a/c on to the highest... @ idle will drop to about 12.7.... and when i rev will go back up to about 13.4 or soo... so try out these stuff and also try investing in a volt meter... it cud save u from buying a new battery

http://auto.howstuffworks.com/under-the ... oblems.htm

l200

Postby l200 » February 16th, 2013, 8:31 am

Thanks speedy and adamB........

Well @ idle I get a range of 14.35-14.41 with no load
with head lamps it drops to 13.9 @ idle and goes to 14.38-14.4 when @ hi rev which isn't too bad

The issue I have is when i put on the A/C.... the voltage goes up to 14.6-14.7...... so i changed out the alternator cause I was told that the regulator malfunctioning.....

Changed out to another alternator, and the same problem......so checking the A/C components now...... most likely the resistor card or the blower motor ..... will update when I come back later....

l200

Postby l200 » February 16th, 2013, 8:37 pm

Well guys I scrapped out the blower switch, it had some carbon deposited on the contacts and the #4 fan speed contact was slightly melted, so the high current usage is apparent......

I also bridged the motor (Hook it up directly) while the engine was running, and the same thing happened again just not as high.......

i.e.>>>> with the switch the, the voltage @ idle was 14.2 at hi rev it goes to 14.8

With the direct connection the voltage was 14.2 @ idle an at hi rev it settled at 14.6......

I will be trying a new blower in the week once i can locate one......... I will keep you all posted!

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » February 17th, 2013, 1:12 am

hmmmm quite a strange problem u got there tho... goodluck keep us posted..

l200

Postby l200 » February 17th, 2013, 10:58 pm

For the DIY ppl, here is the Mitsubishi check list, so you can be guided accordingly......

Periodic Maintenance Service Menu

This is your guide to Mitsubishi Motors Service Plus Periodic Maintenance Schedule or PMS. It
will indicate the type of service classification that will be done on your vehicle at certain
kilometer readings. We have enumerated below the type of work that will be done to your
vehicle every time you bring it for periodic check. It is highly recommended that you bring your
vehicle regularly to our authorized servicing dealers to ensure that the proper work required is
done.
Your vehicle warranty is 100,000kms. or 3 years which ever comes first for the Lancer, Galant,
Pajero, Strada 4x4, Space Gear Gas and Diesel, L300 Exceed, Adventure. While the warranty
for the L300 Versa Van, L200 XT and GL is 50,000kms or 2 years which ever comes first. And
the warranty for the Canter, and L300 Cab and Chassis is 20,000kms. or 1 year which ever
comes first. To ensure that your vehicles stay within the warranty coverage, you should have
your vehicle checked only at our authorized service centers.
Complying with the regular periodic check up is more economical in the long run and prevents
early breakdown, thereby extending the life of your vehicle. This is what we call Mitsubishi
Service Plus.
SERVICE CLASSIFICATION KM READING
1,000 KM CHECK UP
LIGHT CHECK UP
15,000 25,000 35,000 45,000
55,000 65,000
REGULAR CHECK UP
30,000 50,000 70,000 90,000
HEAVY CHECK UP
40,000 60,000
80,000 100,000

1,000 KM CHECK UP
Operations after engine is warmed up
* Check / adjust
* Valve clearance (except for vehicles with auto-lash adjusters)
* Basic ignition timing (petrol powered vehicles)
* Basic idling speed and CO concentration (petrol powered vehicles)
* Crankcase ventilation hoses (petrol powered vehicles)
* Cooling system - for leaksu
* Fuel system clamp - for looseness and damage
* Change engine oil and oil filter

Operations inside the engine compartment
* Check
* V-belts - for cracks, fraying wear and adjust tension
* Condition of distributor contact points
* Condition of distributor sparks advancer
* Condition of distributor cap, rotor & condenser
* Ignition cables - for damage
* Vacuum pump oil hoses - for damage (diesel powered vehicles)
* Condition and clean spark plugs (petrol powered vehicles)
* Air cleaner element - for clogging and damage
* Fluid level in automatic transmission (including transfer)
* Engine coolant condition & level
* Brake / Clutch fluid & power steering fluid level & condition
* Brake pedal & clutch pedal - for free play
* Battery electrolyte level and terminals - for loose connections or corrosion
* Battery clamp

Operations under the vehicle
* Check
* Suspension system - for looseness & damage
* Suspension arm ball joints - for play and dust covers for damage
* Drive shaft boots - for damage
* Steering linkage - for damage and loose connections (including seals & boots)
* Oil level in manual transmission (including transfer case)
* Gear oil level in front & rear axles
* Exhaust pipe connection - for gas leaks or damage
* Under chassis bolts / nuts - and tighten
* Parking brake stroke & play - and adjust

Operations outside the vehicle
* Check
* Brake hoses & pipes - for leaks
* Fuel hoses and pipes - for leaks
* Tire wear, tread depth, inflation pressure, center cap and tire valve cap
* Windshield wiper nozzle and wiper blade

Electrical Operations
* Check
* Conditions and function of all exterior lamps
* Condition and function of all interior lamps
* Instrument panel lamp
* Instrument panel meters and gauges
* Function of all power windows, power mirrors and power door locks
* Front / rear wipers in all ranges
* Warning buzzer
* Power antenna
* Horn

LIGHT CHECK UP
* Check
* Basic ignition timing (petrol powered vehicles) - and adjust
* Basic idling speed and CO concentration (petrol powered vehicles) - and adjust
* Cooling system - for leaks

* Check
* V-belts for cracks, fraying wear and adjust tension
* Intake air & turbocharger oil hoses - for damage (vehicles with turbo charger)
* Radiator hoses - for damage & proper connection
* Cleaner element - for clogging and damage
* Brake & clutch fluid and power steering fluid level & condition
* Brake & clutch pedal - for free play
* Electrolyte level and terminals - for loose connections and corrosion
* Battery clamp

* Check
* Gear oil level - in manual transmission (including transfer case)
* Gear oil level - in front & rear axles
* Exhaust pipe connection / installation - for gas leaks or damage
* Under chassis bolts / nuts - and tighten
* Parking brake stroke & play - and adjust

* Check

Electrical Operations
* Check
* Instrument panel lamp
* All instrument panel meters and gauges
* Horn
* Warning buzzer
* Power antenna

REGULAR CHECK UP
* Check
* Engine oil and oil filter
* Basic ignition timing (petrol powered vehicles) – and adjust
* Basic idling speed and CO concentration (petrol powered vehicles) - and adjust

* Check
* V-belts for cracks, fraying wear and adjust tension
* Intake air & turbocharger oil hoses - for damage (vehicles with turbo charger)
* Condition of throttle body and clean
* Air cleaner element for clogging and damage - and clean
* Brake and clutch fluid & power steering fluid level & condition
* Brake pedal & clutch pedal for free play – and adjust
* Battery electrolyte level and terminals - for loose connections and corrosion
* Battery clamp

Check
* Suspension arm, steering linkage & propeller shaft with grease fitting - and lubricate
* Gear oil level in manual transmission (including transfer case)
* Under chassis bolts / nuts – and tighten
* Parking brake stroke & play – and adjust

Check
* And clean brake pads, shoe linings, discs - for wear, brake & drums for wear
* Rotate tires

Electrical Operations
Check
* Instrument panel lamp
* Front and rear wipers in all ranges
* Horn
* Warning buzzer
* Power antenna

APPLICABLE ONLY EVERY 30,000 KMS
* Change gear oil in manual transmission (including transfer case)
* Change gear oil in front and rear axles
* Repack wheel bearings (check condition and recommend replacement if necessary)

HEAVY CHECK UP
* Check
* Valve clearance (except for vehicles with auto lash adjusters)
* Basic ignition timing (petrol powered vehicles)
* Basic ignition timing (diesel powered vehicles)
* Basic idling speed and CO concentration (petrol powered vehicles)
* Choke mechanism and linkage
* Gas circulating system (petrol powered vehicles)
* Body condition - for underbody coating damage & corrosion of body paint

* Check
* V-belts - for cracks, fraying wear and adjust tension
* Operation of crankcase emission control system (petrol powered vehicles)
* Condition of throttle body - and clean
* Brake and clutch fluid & power steering fluid level & condition
* Brake pedal & clutch pedal for free play – and adjust
* Battery electrolyte level and terminals - for loose connections and corrosion
* Battery clamp
* Replace spark plugs (petrol powered vehicles)
* Inspect condition of fuel injectors
* Replace air cleaner element
* Replace fuel filter

Check
* Suspension arm, steering linkage & propeller shaft with grease fitting – and lubricate
* Gear oil level in manual transmission (including transfer case)
* And tighten under chassis bolts / nuts
* And adjust parking brake stroke & play

Check
* Brake hoses & pipes for leaks
* Brake pads, shoe linings, discs - for wear, brake & drums for wear – and clean
* Tires – and rotate

Electrical Operations
* Check
* Instrument panel lamp
* Function of all power windows, power mirrors and power mirrors and power door locks
* Horn
* Warning buzzer
* Power antenna

APPLICABLE ONLY EVERY 30,000 KMS
* Replace engine coolant
* Change automatic transmission fluid (including transfer) and replace automatic transmission
internal / external filter
* Change brake / clutch fluid and power steering fluid

RECOMMENDED BETWEEN 60, 000 kms and 80, 000kms
* Replace engine timing belt (Except vehicles with timing chain)

RECOMMENDED EVERY 20, 000 kms
* Clean fuel injectors (petrol powered vehicles)

Roger1981

Postby Roger1981 » April 17th, 2013, 9:54 pm

Fellas need some help. Have the k34 model (4d56t). Van starting good on cold start but very bad hard start when hot. I change glow plugs but same problem. The hard start so bad it killing the battery. Any advice?

Thanks.

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » April 17th, 2013, 10:51 pm

Is the hardstarting of and on or on every shut off and restart during the day?

Starting good on cold start means glow plugs and heating components working fine. But this is strange that it's hardstarting when hot. For the period when driving, is the ac and music etc a being used? Do you have any big electrical loads in the vehicle?

Can be either battery not holding charge or not being charged properly. Check battery and alternator. Also check your battery terminals; +ve in particular for corrosion build up. Check for any loose wiring.

Roger1981

Postby Roger1981 » April 18th, 2013, 11:50 am

Thanks cutthroatInt. I will check. Yeah real strange, starting good in morning and when engine cool down. Real hard start when the engine hot. Can this be diesel restriction problem?

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » April 18th, 2013, 1:06 pm

U getting abnormal smoking at the exhaust? if not troubleshoot on the electrical side first.but as u mentioned fuel check to see that the relay clip on the opening solenoid on the fuel pump is in good condition.

I had a similar prob. It ended up being corossion at positive terminal and wires. Cleaned up, tightened up and was good to go.

Check charging voltage of alternator wit and without load.

l200

Postby l200 » April 26th, 2013, 7:36 am

Hey guys..... I'm in need of a rear diff for my k34 L200, Tried looking around yesterday an didn't get any....heading back out in a bit....If you guys know any one who may have any let me kno.... thanks

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » April 26th, 2013, 12:55 pm

check george, i went by him last week and he had a k14 partsing out... left hand drive.. the diff from that shud be the same... his prices hot tho... he want to charge me $2500 for a power steering box..

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”