L200 owners........what are your experiences???

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
speedaholic

Re: L200 owners........what are your experiences???

Postby speedaholic » April 26th, 2013, 1:04 pm

i used to get electrical problems.. till i switched to the Brass battery Terminals... those lead ones are a complete waste of time...

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » April 26th, 2013, 1:04 pm

i used to get electrical problems.. till i switched to the Brass battery Terminals... those lead ones are a complete waste of time...

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » April 27th, 2013, 5:12 am

$end George number plz

l200

Postby l200 » April 28th, 2013, 12:49 pm

^^^ George: 317-5166 or 6785511 (Fastrac Auto Sales)

Well guys the search is still on looked from Bamboo to Princess town, found alot of diffs but non for the k34..... Saw for the K14, k67 and k74,.....A couple of friends linking me up with some options so hoping that if they come through,..... i'll like to be rolling by tuesday.....

In the mean time I found some polyurethane bushings for the leaf springs, hoping they fit, also seals and bearings for my diff, jus need to get the guts from an identical diff to get one of the spider gears.....

AdamB

Postby AdamB » April 29th, 2013, 1:31 am

l200 wrote:^^^ George: 317-5166 or 6785511 (Fastrac Auto Sales)

Well guys the search is still on looked from Bamboo to Princess town, found alot of diffs but non for the k34..... Saw for the K14, k67 and k74,.....A couple of friends linking me up with some options so hoping that if they come through,..... i'll like to be rolling by tuesday.....

In the mean time I found some polyurethane bushings for the leaf springs, hoping they fit, also seals and bearings for my diff, jus need to get the guts from an identical diff to get one of the spider gears.....

There's a mechanic/machine shop in Mc Bean that makes teflon bushings and installs for about $1000 for front and same for back.

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » April 29th, 2013, 7:49 am

^
Name and contact plz.

AdamB

Postby AdamB » April 29th, 2013, 10:13 am

cutthroatInt wrote:^
Name and contact plz.

Shamo 775-0996 (on right after Dindial hardware heading to Couva)

l200

Postby l200 » April 29th, 2013, 12:57 pm

Thanks AdamB, I will check him out......

Well I have decided to up grade, so free wheeling diff coming out and LSD going in...... I will try an post some pics of the transition. Keep u guys posted!!!

l200

Postby l200 » April 29th, 2013, 1:02 pm

Hey guys lets start a L200 parts directory...... I'll try to post my contacts and a location for both foreign used and new parts...... if you guys have any contacts, post them up we can put it on the first page......

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » April 29th, 2013, 1:20 pm

Dexter, I think venum was doin sumting of the sort already. Not so?
But if not tis a good idea.

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » April 29th, 2013, 6:34 pm

u changing the entire diff? of just the guts?? the k74 diff supposed to work..

l200

Postby l200 » April 29th, 2013, 10:33 pm

^^^ Both front and back diffs are changing out speedy....... jus completed the back, doing the front in the morning ... I used the K74 diffs......

The reason for the up grade is it is hard to find a matching diff, I searched from bamboo to princess town, found quite a few L200 diffs, but had issues wit returning the diff, if the ratio didn't match >>>>>>(the diffs were missing the tag that showed the ratio, and the only way to be sure was to check the gears and that would have voided the warranty)<<<<<<

......So I went by George and picked up the last pair of K74 diffs he had.....

Pressure washed them today, installed the back, will install front in the morning......jus need to pass some paint on them an i good to go, but too anxious to drive, so paint will go on after the warranty is up.......

Sorry no pics of the process, my helper couldn't come so it was an official diy moment...... will post the finish product

Ray Laks

Postby Ray Laks » May 1st, 2013, 10:52 pm

Folks, this happened with a K74 manual turbo about a week ago. I did not have cause to start the vehicle for a day (24 hours). When it was started, the gears would not go in despite pumping the clutch pedal for a long time. I had to switch it off to put in the reverse gear and again the same process for the 1st. After about 5 minutes when the vehicle warmed up all the gears went in effortlessly. Since then I have had no such problems.I'm confuffled. Any suggestions/advice? Thanks

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » May 2nd, 2013, 1:14 am

^^ that is a very strange problem you are having there man.... Paging Venum!

jorgon88

Postby jorgon88 » May 2nd, 2013, 7:56 am

Engine l200 gas without transmission

Sent from my GT-I9000T using TriniTuner mobile app

l200

Postby l200 » May 2nd, 2013, 4:15 pm

Ray Laks wrote:Folks, this happened with a K74 manual turbo about a week ago. I did not have cause to start the vehicle for a day (24 hours). When it was started, the gears would not go in despite pumping the clutch pedal for a long time. I had to switch it off to put in the reverse gear and again the same process for the 1st. After about 5 minutes when the vehicle warmed up all the gears went in effortlessly. Since then I have had no such problems.I'm confuffled. Any suggestions/advice? Thanks

Did you check your oil....... I had issues with oil once...... both in my L200 an a Hilux,,,,,, Put one type of oil and couldn't shift properly till it warmed up...... put in the castrol hypoid and worked like a charm.....now I'm not saying the same will apply to you but it may be an option to look at........

but first check ur oil levels, and quality of the oil, then try draining it to check the cork for iron fillings and most importantly seek advice from a good mech.......

Ray Laks

Postby Ray Laks » May 2nd, 2013, 10:26 pm

Thanks pal. Oil was checked and was found to be good. When it happened I took it by my regular mechanic and was told not to trouble trouble. Maybe he's right. Will seek another opinion. Thanks again!

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » May 3rd, 2013, 10:33 pm

^Beginning signs of wearing pressure plate.

Ray Laks

Postby Ray Laks » May 4th, 2013, 9:50 am

Thanks CI. Can you recommend the best subsitute parts? Called DM and I may have to sell the van to buy them.

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » May 4th, 2013, 10:45 am

Excedy pressure plate and clutch disc. Or as I presently have in my k14 box nkk clutch and pressure plate.
Bought at maruds marabella but can get them at any parts place really.

Ray Laks

Postby Ray Laks » May 5th, 2013, 8:59 pm

OK cI, appreciated

Roger1981

Postby Roger1981 » May 8th, 2013, 12:51 pm

Guys, problem was starter, the starter was serviced (bearings changed and brushes) and van starting really good now. Thanks.

Ray Laks

Postby Ray Laks » May 13th, 2013, 9:55 pm

l200 took your advice and sought a 2nd opinion. I was shown an oil leak on the head gasket near the back of the engine ( diesel filter side) I was told that the oil was running into the gear box and wetting the clutch disc. When its wet the gears can't go in. Upon warming the engine, it then dries and the gears can now be changed. Is this possible? Man, I'm more confused. Feeling that I need to bathe both myself and the vehicle with red lavender.

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » May 14th, 2013, 12:25 am

Oil goin into the gearbox clutch area would not cause gears to go in hard. It will cause ur clutch disc to slip under load.

If u get time pull the gearbox and look at ur pressure plate. Look for uneven/worn fingers. Funny looking burn marks etc. Check for even torque on pressure plate holding down bolts.

worst case, synchros etc. But as ur mech said doh trouble trouble. that sheit cost me 4000. When the problem was only an effed up pressure plate. Check my posts above describing the situation.

Ray Laks

Postby Ray Laks » May 14th, 2013, 10:51 pm

Thanks for the advice cI. However, the gears were not going in until the engine had heated up for about 5 minutes. They were then changing smoothly. Will now take take the vehicle to have the cylinder head gasket repaced and also change the clutch, pressure plate and release bearing. Got NKK parts for just over $1,000. Total cost may be also around $4,000. When its done, I am hoping that I can stop taking Panadol tablets for all the headaches.

l200

Postby l200 » May 14th, 2013, 11:57 pm

Ray,,,,,, Make sure the leak is the head gasket b4 you do any costly repairs........., Get ur engine washed to remove all old oil, then run de engine for a while, an try an locate the source of the oil.

....All 4d56 have a prob with oil leaks from the top cover of the engine....... Normally tightening of the cover will ease the situation....... if not jus reseal with a new seal or with a coat of gray silicone,...... there is also another cover jus under the fuel pump that also leaks alot, so look out for oil there also.....

As for the gears....... I will like to agree with cutthroat..... if pressure plate is failing that can be an issue....... but more info will be needed before that can be correctly diagnosed......

I'll look for the number of a guy that deals with L200 alot, and i'll message you when i find it....he should be able the help you out......

Ray Laks

Postby Ray Laks » May 15th, 2013, 10:30 pm

Thanks for your very timely advice L200. Very much appreciated! Will do as you have suggested and also take the van for a third evaluation. Still looking forward for the number of the guy that deals with a lot of L200's.

venum

Postby venum » May 16th, 2013, 12:32 am

sorry to be late

but that is a chronic problem with the V5MT1 gearbox with a lot of mileage in the K74's

had a similar prob with mine when the gearbox was cold

many ppl on the L200 Owners Club experience this

I was running correct oil (GL5) but still had it

i think the only real solution is to rebuild gearbox and chnage the parts that have wear, but it wasnt worth the repair for me, so I used to just let her idle for a 5 min every morning

froggyrvr

Postby froggyrvr » May 16th, 2013, 3:14 pm

Lf 4d56 turbo

l200

Postby l200 » May 19th, 2013, 5:59 pm

^^^Check bamboo marketing they had some for 15k (turbo) and 17K (NA) if i remember correctly...... that was abt 2 wks ago....

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”