radiator loosing water

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
Slimklim

radiator loosing water

Postby Slimklim » May 30th, 2009, 2:25 pm

i have a L200 4x4 d radiator loosing water through d overflow bottle and it not pulling it back TBF model, temp guage staying cool

venum

Postby venum » May 30th, 2009, 3:26 pm

Give it a flush, change coolant and check that the radiator cap is working and is the right rating.

Should be 0.9

Postby 3stagevtec » May 30th, 2009, 6:08 pm

looks like the rad cap is at fault..

l200

Postby l200 » May 31st, 2009, 7:41 am

Radiator cap is de culprit, had that same problem last week. Check the cap, there are two rubber seals, one on top the other on the bottom. If they are hard, the cap needs to be changed.

Slimklim

Postby Slimklim » June 9th, 2009, 12:22 pm

ok i core out the radiator change the cap with the pound pressure and the same problem any other suggestions all the water just trowing out help !

Postby wagonrunner » June 9th, 2009, 1:19 pm

what's the condition of the thermostat? "temp gauge staying cool"

Postby 3stagevtec » June 9th, 2009, 1:21 pm

that's really odd.. since it's only through the overflow bottle, either the cap or the cap housing has to be at fault.. is the new cap sealing properly? also, is your thermostat working properly?

Slimklim

Postby Slimklim » June 9th, 2009, 2:21 pm

i take out the thermostat it has none in the system .in addition to the cap is seating good so it good .the temp does read normal in the sence that it does be ah lil over the first mark ever since i get the van it so .

Postby 3stagevtec » June 9th, 2009, 2:23 pm

you do know it's bad for your engine to NOT have a thermostat.. there has been many discussions on it in the tech forum, i strongly recommend putting one back in..

Postby wagonrunner » June 9th, 2009, 2:25 pm

"i take out the thermostat it has none in the system"

best of luck to you, i done there.

venum

Postby venum » June 9th, 2009, 5:06 pm

taking out the thermostat should only be done for troubleshooting 9to determine if it is at fault)

after that is to replace it

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » June 11th, 2009, 6:29 am

Sounds like your cylinder head gasket has a leak.
After a long run does it bubble alot in the over flow bottle?

Stuckindmud

Postby Stuckindmud » June 11th, 2009, 5:25 pm

^^ what he said..

Slimklim

Postby Slimklim » June 12th, 2009, 2:31 pm

yes sniper 3000, i get bubbles on long run, the original head cracked in january 09.bought a new one from kawal auto supplies,ah gettin fed up.

venum

Postby venum » June 12th, 2009, 3:44 pm

change engine

4D56T selling in bamboo marketing

Stuckindmud

Postby Stuckindmud » June 12th, 2009, 9:53 pm

check yuh temp gauge too, you could be damaging the engines cuz your temp sensor or reciever giving you a wrong reading, fooling you to think it running cool...

( or TL prob touch yuh van and yuh din even know
:poke: )

btw - please try and put back een the termostat.

Postby brams112 » June 19th, 2009, 11:04 pm

when you changed the head did you check the block?also the head gasket maybe not seating properly on both sides or defective gasket,check your dipstick after a run if there is water droplets on the dip stick the water is passing through the gasket, change engine is a better bet.

Slimklim

Postby Slimklim » June 20th, 2009, 12:36 pm

The gasket was leaking,put on new one and running it to see if problem solved,if not, well another engine. Thanks fellas u all were very helpful.

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » June 22nd, 2009, 7:21 am

Slimklim,
change engine

4D56T selling in bamboo marketing

If you have the cash now change it.
It will cost you more in the long run if you keep fixing the old one.

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » June 22nd, 2009, 7:52 am

Also, the block might have needed machining before putting on the new head.. all of the above.

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”