radiator loosing water

Posted: May 30th, 2009, 2:25 pm
by Slimklim
i have a L200 4x4 d radiator loosing water through d overflow bottle and it not pulling it back TBF model, temp guage staying cool

Posted: May 30th, 2009, 3:26 pm
by venum
Give it a flush, change coolant and check that the radiator cap is working and is the right rating.

Should be 0.9

Posted: May 30th, 2009, 6:08 pm
by 3stagevtec
looks like the rad cap is at fault..

Posted: May 31st, 2009, 7:41 am
by l200
Radiator cap is de culprit, had that same problem last week. Check the cap, there are two rubber seals, one on top the other on the bottom. If they are hard, the cap needs to be changed.

Posted: June 9th, 2009, 12:22 pm
by Slimklim
ok i core out the radiator change the cap with the pound pressure and the same problem any other suggestions all the water just trowing out help !

Posted: June 9th, 2009, 1:19 pm
by wagonrunner
what's the condition of the thermostat? "temp gauge staying cool"

Posted: June 9th, 2009, 1:21 pm
by 3stagevtec
that's really odd.. since it's only through the overflow bottle, either the cap or the cap housing has to be at fault.. is the new cap sealing properly? also, is your thermostat working properly?

Posted: June 9th, 2009, 2:21 pm
by Slimklim
i take out the thermostat it has none in the system .in addition to the cap is seating good so it good .the temp does read normal in the sence that it does be ah lil over the first mark ever since i get the van it so .

Posted: June 9th, 2009, 2:23 pm
by 3stagevtec
you do know it's bad for your engine to NOT have a thermostat.. there has been many discussions on it in the tech forum, i strongly recommend putting one back in..

Posted: June 9th, 2009, 2:25 pm
by wagonrunner
"i take out the thermostat it has none in the system"

best of luck to you, i done there.

Posted: June 9th, 2009, 5:06 pm
by venum
taking out the thermostat should only be done for troubleshooting 9to determine if it is at fault)

after that is to replace it

Posted: June 11th, 2009, 6:29 am
by SNIPER 3000
Sounds like your cylinder head gasket has a leak.
After a long run does it bubble alot in the over flow bottle?

Posted: June 11th, 2009, 5:25 pm
by Stuckindmud
^^ what he said..

Posted: June 12th, 2009, 2:31 pm
by Slimklim
yes sniper 3000, i get bubbles on long run, the original head cracked in january 09.bought a new one from kawal auto supplies,ah gettin fed up.

Posted: June 12th, 2009, 3:44 pm
by venum
change engine

4D56T selling in bamboo marketing

Posted: June 12th, 2009, 9:53 pm
by Stuckindmud
check yuh temp gauge too, you could be damaging the engines cuz your temp sensor or reciever giving you a wrong reading, fooling you to think it running cool...

( or TL prob touch yuh van and yuh din even know
:poke: )

btw - please try and put back een the termostat.

Posted: June 19th, 2009, 11:04 pm
by brams112
when you changed the head did you check the block?also the head gasket maybe not seating properly on both sides or defective gasket,check your dipstick after a run if there is water droplets on the dip stick the water is passing through the gasket, change engine is a better bet.

Posted: June 20th, 2009, 12:36 pm
by Slimklim
The gasket was leaking,put on new one and running it to see if problem solved,if not, well another engine. Thanks fellas u all were very helpful.

Posted: June 22nd, 2009, 7:21 am
by SNIPER 3000
Slimklim,
change engine

4D56T selling in bamboo marketing

If you have the cash now change it.
It will cost you more in the long run if you keep fixing the old one.

Posted: June 22nd, 2009, 7:52 am
by bleedingfreak
Also, the block might have needed machining before putting on the new head.. all of the above.