TECH Thread - MITSUBISHI L200, Sportero, Triton.

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
Val

Re: TECH Thread - MITSUBISHI L200, Sportero, Triton.

Postby Val » September 16th, 2010, 11:26 am

sweeks wrote:
kriticalkase wrote:hey guys, the following is the part # for the OEM fuel filter for the Sportero 3.2 (4M41)

Mitsubishi #1770A053
Denso # 186100-6080.

Hope this can help in someone getting these filters at a lower cost.

Been working on this ... no luck yet.

No K&N equivalents?

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » September 16th, 2010, 11:29 pm

K&N dont make fuel filters.. just air and oil!

jerry2008

Postby jerry2008 » September 17th, 2010, 5:31 am

Hey guy I am thinking about buying a diognostic reader what do recommend

l200

Postby l200 » September 20th, 2010, 10:07 pm

Hi v, part no for the k34, k74, an pajero brake master cylinder is MB534481, Was told by the sales man that its for the pajero mostly but it came on some l200, he said the normal (old) l200 only has 2 lines and is 7/8 this one was 15/16, and has 3 lines

venum

Postby venum » September 26th, 2010, 2:52 pm

^^^ thanx for the part #

added to the first page

kriticalkase

Postby kriticalkase » October 7th, 2010, 6:44 am

Hey guys hope all is well with your mitsu.
I am doing approx 34,000kms with the sportero and the service guy told me that teh 40,000kms service includes EGR servicing & at 50,000kms injectors are serviced. Has anyone done this before and what exactly is EGR?

ps: To date not a single issue with the van. Very impressive.

ryanm

Postby ryanm » October 7th, 2010, 11:10 am

very good. It's still new.
Keep us posted as I hope to upgrade to a triton in the future

madman2961

Postby madman2961 » October 8th, 2010, 4:12 pm

hey venum you can also put in this part.
it is the back bumper licence plate light

MR191463

sweeks

Postby sweeks » October 8th, 2010, 9:09 pm

My neighbour had some power steering issues with his TCC Sportero. Got it repaired at the dealership. BTW he running some 20s and I'm not sure if this caused it.

nick009

Postby nick009 » October 9th, 2010, 8:19 am

speedaholic wrote:K&N dont make fuel filters.. just air and oil!

actually they do make fuel filters. They make the strainer type, i bought one but found that it got clogged very fast, so i took it out. I put this in after my primary filter.

http://www.knfilters.com/fuelfilter.htm

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » October 10th, 2010, 3:50 pm

kriticalkase wrote:Hey guys hope all is well with your mitsu.
I am doing approx 34,000kms with the sportero and the service guy told me that teh 40,000kms service includes EGR servicing & at 50,000kms injectors are serviced. Has anyone done this before and what exactly is EGR?

Yo man, this is very good to hear.
Making me consider getting a Triton/Sportero.... very compelling indeed!!
Cheapest version I remember was $199K for a 2.5 D1-D 4x4 Manual. I hope they come out with the 2010 ML version soon (with the newer 2.5 4M41 D1-D engine, that produces even more power than the 3.2L version, and has a longer tray).

My neighbour had some power steering issues with his TCC Sportero. Got it repaired at the dealership. BTW he running some 20s and I'm not sure if this caused it.

I'm sure this may have been a major contributing factor.
Larger wheels = higher unsprung weight >>>> more stress to the suspension & steering. Plus 20' tires would probably have wider treads, like 275 0r 285, hence more contact with the road and greater friction/resistive force to the steering mechanisms.

Keep it stock, yo!

Outside of Trinidad, the L200 Sportero (aka the Triton or Strada in asian markets) is HUGELY popular, just as popular as the Hilux/Vigo would be in trinidad. Seems that conservative trinidadians prefer their boxy-look pickups, or sporty-look trucks like the vigo and ranger over the bolder and more unorthodox lines of the Sportero.

IMHO, I didn't like the lines at first, but after sitting in one and reading up on the spec's plus performance figures, as well as recalling Mitsubishi's legendary rally heritage, the L200 Sportero is starting to look very, very compelling as a next pickup purchase.

Too many Nissan problems (clutch, timing chains, fuel rail problems, and stupid boost-sensor hoses :) .... )

All it needs is a bit of dressing up, maybe some aggressive 16's with 275/70R16 All-terrains and a small roll-bar in the tray and it'll look like the mutt's nuts.

Heck, my first car was a CK-2 lancer and I absolutely loved it.... lots of memories with that car (and IN it as well!!!).

Mitsu 4 life.

Original Gangsta'!!!!

Now that's what I'm talkin' about!!

venum

Postby venum » October 11th, 2010, 6:45 pm

lighthammer wrote:I hope they come out with the 2010 ML version soon (with the newer 2.5 4M41 D1-D engine, that produces even more power than the 3.2L version, and has a longer tray)

the 2.5L engine is a 4D56 which makes 136 HP @3500rpm and 400Nm (manual) \ 350Nm (auto) of torque

the 3.2L engine is a 4M41 which makes 158 HP @3500rpm and 343Nm of torque (auto)

there is no such thing as a 2.5L 4M41

lighthammer wrote:Heck, my first car was a CK-2 lancer and I absolutely loved it.... lots of memories with that car

as was mine and so DiD I

lighthammer wrote:Mitsu 4 life.

Yet you drive a Nissan and have started a thread dedicated to your next purchase - a Ranger

Mitsu 4 life you say :?:

:out:

jerry2008

Postby jerry2008 » October 11th, 2010, 8:09 pm

Hey guys anyone know what type of diagnostic scanner I should use to check my error. I bought an OBDII scanner, now I have to sell, any ideas on what to buy for a good price.

kriticalkase

Postby kriticalkase » October 11th, 2010, 9:44 pm

lighthammer, after some time and once the dust has settled, you wll see the Sportero standing tall.

I see the D-Max 3.0 is on special for $217,000.00. Price seems good but i never drove the 3.0, the 2.5 was noisy and lazy in my opinion.

Venum, didn't touch base with you for some time, hope all is well.

kriticalkase

Postby kriticalkase » October 11th, 2010, 9:51 pm

Guys, try reading "truck of the year 2010" which i posted some days ago. The Sportero came back with a nice report card.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » October 12th, 2010, 2:56 am

Yet you drive a Nissan and have started a thread dedicated to your next purchase - a Ranger

Mitsu 4 life you say :?:

:out:

Right now it's a toss-up between the Ranger/Sportero/Hilux.

Wha'm venum, you never get vex and fed up of your van? We went and spend a whole lot of money recently for some maintenance by the stealership and for a while I was thinking I'd have to go spend even more for a new turbo or something related. Thank goodness it was just a simple problem. Yes I'm a mitsubishi fan, and yes I'll still say "Mitsu for life". The 2.5 Manual sportero looking like a better deal overall than the 2.5TDCi Auto ranger for the purposes I want it for. Looks like a better deal than the hilux too.

lighthammer, after some time and once the dust has settled, you wll see the Sportero standing tall.

I see the D-Max 3.0 is on special for $217,000.00. Price seems good but i never drove the 3.0, the 2.5 was noisy and lazy in my opinion.

I've been reading up on the sportero lately and looks like it's becoming a more appealing truck to me. After having a second look at the tray, it doesn't seem that small after all. The tray is very similar in dimensions to the frontier and I get along quite well with that.

All the reports I've read plus a couple of my buddies with DMax's say the same. It's better suited as a work-truck, not so much as a lifestyle truck.

Bottom line - after giving the Sportero a second, more thorough look, it's really becoming a lot more appealing to me. Like I said, it's between the Ranger & sportero now.

jerry2008

Postby jerry2008 » October 12th, 2010, 5:23 am

Help please I am first time owner of a five forward 2.5 Di 4x4 L200 and like the rest of you guy would like to handle my business but the scanner I bought is a OBDII and I need to know what my truck uses.

carman12

WTK: Fram Equivalent of Sakura

Postby carman12 » October 12th, 2010, 7:57 pm

Guys throughout i'm seeing the original and sakura filters (P/N) being shown in the forum
threads but I was wondering if anyone knew if Fram made any oil and fuel filters for the L200 4D56 engine.

BTW, how do I know if I have the K74 of KB4 pickup, mine is 2006.

venum

Postby venum » October 12th, 2010, 11:16 pm

jerry, i am not sure what the K74 uses as i never had cause to scan mine - trucks of that era and older scarcely require a scan as their electronics are quite simple

I would think that both the K74 & KB4 would be OBDII as this is the most common format

one of these days I will get my mech to give her a scan just for the hell of it . . . I'll find out then.

Carman - welcome to our little spot where the talk is all L200

K34/K74/KB4/KB8 is the chassis code of your truck

K in Mitsu chassis code is reserved for L200/Strada

you will find the chassis code engraved on the chassis by the rear right wheel - a string of numbers with either K34/K74/KB4/KB8 in the middle

Long story short:
Boxy square model = K34
Curved front model with top mount intercooler = K74
Sportero/Triton = KB4/KB8

I have never seen Fram oil and fuel filters for the 4D56, they probably exist but I just never seen them cuz I don't use Fram

I use Sakura and OEM all the way in all the vechicles I maintain

Black Clubs and Purolator common too

acmilan11

Postby acmilan11 » October 13th, 2010, 10:45 am

kriticalkase wrote:Hey guys hope all is well with your mitsu.

hey man, I am closely approaching the 50,000km range and will have to go for service soon and well like you when I was at 40k they told me that they would have to clean the EGR, service injectors and change battery water which was low down but they didn't do squat but at the same time it wasn't on the bill so me eh hott meh head with their poor usual habits, so I hoping they manage to do that this rounds (the EGR and injectors). Other than that so far so good, van working sweet!!! :D

venum

Postby venum » October 13th, 2010, 9:10 pm

good to hear you guys trucks working well and no issues

there aren't much issues with the KB4 and KB8 . . . Great to know

jerry2008

Postby jerry2008 » October 13th, 2010, 9:16 pm

Ok guys educate me I have the KB4 model truck and I will like too know is there anyway I can get some more peep from my vehicle, also diesel consumption

venum

Postby venum » October 14th, 2010, 9:59 pm

chip eeeet :!: :!: :!:

i drove a chipped KB4 Auto - power like wow

lexx

Postby lexx » October 14th, 2010, 10:20 pm

acmilan11... My van was doing 80,000 km and they never did the EGR and injectors... And it was running like new all the time... I feel they just trying to rob ppl... i hear its 2500 to do the EGR and 1500 to do the injectors... i went to service last thursday and they now tell me my van due for it... they like they making up things along the way... Sadly i sold my van the following day to someone who wanted it more than me... Can't wait for the new shape to come out... Van was a joy!!

jerry2008

Postby jerry2008 » October 15th, 2010, 5:52 am

A chipped KB4 how did he do that and do you think it will work on a manual. Also does anyone know if a K&N filter will make a difference

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » October 15th, 2010, 6:15 am

^^^ have a look at this link...

You'll have to do a google search to find more info about ECU piggyback systems. The easiest place to start looking is www.ebay.co.uk and www.chipit.com.au - I think one of the variants of the L200 offered in the UK has a piggyback ECU installed and thus the 2.5L D1-D has more power than the 3.2L D1-D (I believe it's the L200 Triton - Animal edition).

Also does anyone know if a K&N filter will make a difference

Yup it sure will. You'll feel the van breathe easier, you'll feel a bit more power as the turbo spools up & as the truck accelerates. Not sure what the true horsepower gains would be with the K&N installed but usually it's anywhere between 2-10HP with a forced induction engine.

carman12

Postby carman12 » October 15th, 2010, 12:51 pm

PPL Goodday again,

venum I checked the information you gave regarding KB4 / 8, however, i'm seeing KA4 instead of KB4 printed both on the cert. copy and chassis.

Just wanted to find out if I have an alien van since I havn't seen anything regarding KA4 posted in this room or in this forum.

Appreciate all the help..

jerry2008

Postby jerry2008 » October 15th, 2010, 3:18 pm

Thanks guys I will check it out

venum

Postby venum » October 15th, 2010, 7:56 pm

tuning piggy back chips selling all over the internet and uk

automatic ecu different to manual ecu

so chip would have to operate differently in different vehicles

but teh smae chip should work in either - get confirmation before you buy

the ones that selling in teh uk chipped is doen by teh dealer and unlike Dm, Mitsu uk provides warranty with mitsu sanctioned chips

fellas on teh L200.org website chipping happy

point to note though - uk gets better diesel than us, so if you chipping, don't think that you can safely go all the way up performance wise

i havse seen chipped Sporteros locally smoking terribly after running with the chip settings on high performance

you will get a lot of performance outta teh engine when new, but will suffer some degraded performance as teh engine ages

KA :?: never seen that

I have only seen KB4 (2.5L) and KB8 (3.2L) both turbo

your is N/A or turbo :?:

jerry2008

Postby jerry2008 » October 15th, 2010, 9:39 pm

Mine is not the turbo version but I hope there's some way to get some more peep out of it

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”