navara going through las cuevas trail

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
Jon_One

navara going through las cuevas trail

Postby Jon_One » August 4th, 2009, 12:43 pm

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/B92yshTo4TQ&hl=en&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed>

this was the first weekend we got it...and the second pass...van handled it nice..

video quality was kinda crappy too..
there is another part to it but i have 2 find it
Last edited by Jon_One on August 4th, 2009, 12:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Jon_One

Postby Jon_One » August 4th, 2009, 12:46 pm

btw the van had on 20inch rims...with normal tires ..

HondaHo de 1st

Postby HondaHo de 1st » August 4th, 2009, 3:32 pm

not bad at all!!!

Postby Team Loco » August 4th, 2009, 4:55 pm

Jon_One wrote:btw the van had on 20inch rims...with normal tires ..

:shock: :shock: where biggy??

SEVin

Postby SEVin » August 4th, 2009, 7:03 pm

It looked liked it handled it quite well..nice and dirty after!!!

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » August 5th, 2009, 8:50 am

looks good!! now let a vigo or a ranger 'attempt' dat nah.... it may now end as good as this... :mrgreen:

Stello

Postby Stello » August 5th, 2009, 11:56 am

ray786 wrote:looks good!! now let a vigo or a ranger 'attempt' dat nah.... it may now end as good as this... :mrgreen:
i went thru that entire trail with the hilux on 20s also, no problems. was a lot of fun, the wifey was worried...

had a prado who followed me also.

guys, a bit of advice, always go off roading in pairs or more, just in case u go somewhere and get stuck. :mrgreen:

Jon_One

Postby Jon_One » August 5th, 2009, 1:17 pm

b4

after
[img]http:550:413]http://forums.trinituner.com/upload/20090805131738_IMG_0267.jpg[/img]

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » August 5th, 2009, 2:13 pm

You have balls of steel doing that with, no LSD, no under body protection and no winch! Props to you!! :shock: :shock: :shock:

venum

Postby venum » August 5th, 2009, 8:01 pm

Mr. Go Slow wrote:You have balls of steel doing that with, no LSD, no under body protection and no winch! Props to you!! :shock: :shock: :shock:

he have balls of steel for doing that when it 1 week old and on 20"

D4D_Hilux_Dude, wagon_r and Stuck you game :?:

venum

Postby venum » August 5th, 2009, 8:03 pm

Stello wrote:guys, a bit of advice, always go off roading in pairs or more, just in case u go somewhere and get stuck. :mrgreen:

that is golden advice

many a TTORC men have told me the same - mind you, these are men whose single 4x4 is tremendously more capable than all of ours put together

it's teh golden rule of off-roading - never go alone

homeboy

Postby homeboy » August 5th, 2009, 11:39 pm

that is not my van and meh heart hutting meh.......lol.....

Postby Greypatch » August 6th, 2009, 12:23 pm

priceless advice stello...

also the 4x4 navs have lsd

Jon_One

Postby Jon_One » August 6th, 2009, 12:45 pm

is jus a shot of bravery ... will do it again .. van handled it very nicely we didnt get stuck atol ... next time probably wouldnt be so scared cuz we contemplated alot b4 going in ... and isnt this wat d van was built for??

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » August 6th, 2009, 1:08 pm

Greypatch wrote:priceless advice stello...

Um, no they don't ... NONE of the Navs in our local market come with LSDs .. I've proven this myself.

If you own one, jack up the rear end and turn one wheel ...

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » August 6th, 2009, 1:39 pm

Mr. Go Slow wrote:

Um, no they don't ... NONE of the Navs in our local market come with LSDs .. I've proven this myself.

Errr... LSD won't work with the wheels of the ground. Stuck and I tested this already. Both wheels have to be touching the ground for the LSD to work.

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » August 7th, 2009, 6:49 am

323_wagon_dude wrote:
Mr. Go Slow wrote:

Errr... LSD won't work with the wheels of the ground. Stuck and I tested this already. Both wheels have to be touching the ground for the LSD to work.

If you say so, all i know is when i had the LSD mr2 gearbox in the Trueno, and i carried it to align at mileage mack, they jacked it up, turned one wheel, the other was turning, they asked, "This a LSD box nah?" I said yes, and had to go on another ramp that didn't require the front end elevated where the wheels needed to be turned independently ...

From: http://www.suzuki-forums.com/suzuki-car ... 9-lsd.html

LSD equipped differentails are standard issue on 4wd carry trucks. For the 2wd drive models, we get an open diff. You could check if your differential is LSD equipped by jacking up the rear wheels and putting it in 2wd (for 4wd vehicles). Make sure you have stabilized your vehicle and put it in neutral to avoid damge and/or injury. Turn one of the drive wheels and if the other wheel on the axle turns opposite to the direction you are turning, you have an open diff. If both wheels turn toward the same direction, congartulations, you have an LSD equipped diff installed in your ride.

And how do you check using your method of both wheels touching the ground??? :? :? :?

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » August 7th, 2009, 7:14 am

Talked to a N&M salesman this week - he say the 4 x 4 Nav coming with LSD... SO me aint know... But then again, he didnt sound too knowledgeable bout the van anyways ;-)

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » August 7th, 2009, 8:06 am

bleedingfreak wrote:Talked to a N&M salesman this week - he say the 4 x 4 Nav coming with LSD... SO me aint know... But then again, he didnt sound too knowledgeable bout the van anyways ;-)

Trust me 90% of those salesmen don't know one ass ... They just trying to make a sale.

I managed to stick one myself in 4x4 mode going up Terra Cita in an off-kilter corner.

Had to back up and use momentum to get around that corner in 4x4 mode :?

If you (like me) check the spec sheet, no LSD, if you contact someone inside directly, no LSD, it's not there unless they are bringing something new, which, as far as i know, they are not ...

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » August 7th, 2009, 9:20 am

^X2,i think alot of people confuse themselves with the center diff lock with LSD.

if you really wanna go all out,check out all the trails in the toco area,then you could probably say you have a worthy 4x4

One of Stepper's truck,diff locked up and crawling out
<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/oyr5StgyGX4&hl=en&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed>

Postby wagon r » August 7th, 2009, 11:50 am

venum wrote:
Stello wrote:guys, a bit of advice, always go off roading in pairs or more, just in case u go somewhere and get stuck. :mrgreen:

that is golden advice

many a TTORC men have told me the same - mind you, these are men whose single 4x4 is tremendously more capable than all of ours put together

it's teh golden rule of off-roading - never go alone

...but venum....when we going off road...we go in group.....to ensure that one person gets stuck and the rest of us laugh, snap some pics......and then get them out.

...it's the Diesel Boyz way... :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

HondaHo de 1st

Postby HondaHo de 1st » August 7th, 2009, 12:14 pm

Sorry guys, but the navarra DOES NOT carry a rear L S D. it has an open diff in the rear. This was the main reason I did not buy one. I'm surprised that the van got thru there easily especially on 20''s. I have a partner from south with a silver manual and he bought a diff locker for it because it does have an lsd, it's great on the road, but the places i've been thru wit the ranger, he cyah even think about passing because of the ground clearance.

If the hilux's suspension was as stiff as the ranger, then that would have been by buy. It's a great van, has tons of torque and great HP, but no van suposed to ride like a car. it supposed to be rough rugged and could take licks.

I'm not pounding the hilux eh, I love the van, my dad has one, but I just find the suspension is too soft for my liking.

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » August 7th, 2009, 12:29 pm

whe rei getting a rear diff lock for the l200 boy wesley?>

Cooper

Postby Cooper » August 7th, 2009, 1:02 pm

Mr. Go Slow wrote:
bleedingfreak wrote:Talked to a N&M salesman this week - he say the 4 x 4 Nav coming with LSD... SO me aint know... But then again, he didnt sound too knowledgeable bout the van anyways ;-)

Trust me 90% of those salesmen don't know one ass ... They just trying to make a sale.

I managed to stick one myself in 4x4 mode going up Terra Cita in an off-kilter corner.

Had to back up and use momentum to get around that corner in 4x4 mode :?

If you (like me) check the spec sheet, no LSD, if you contact someone inside directly, no LSD, it's not there unless they are bringing something new, which, as far as i know, they are not ...

I was talking to a couple guys working in N&M (one in sales & the other in service) a few weeks back and they admitted that they do have the 'common issues' with new Navaras coming back for repairs because of bad diesel and they also admitted that some of the sales people are not doing enough research to accurately answer questions posed by customers.

venum

Postby venum » August 7th, 2009, 5:43 pm

MadCrix wrote:whe rei getting a rear diff lock for the l200 boy wesley?>

ARB air locker Crix

u suppose to have LSD on your L

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » August 7th, 2009, 6:51 pm

venum wrote:
MadCrix wrote:whe rei getting a rear diff lock for the l200 boy wesley?>

ARB air locker Crix

u suppose to have LSD on your L

Correct, already the LSD in the rear, so you are perfect for the ARB installed in the front.

See: http://dedq15.mindfly.com/uploads/PDF/o ... tional.pdf

for your vehicle ...

venum

Postby venum » August 7th, 2009, 7:36 pm

wagon r wrote:
...but venum....when we going off road...we go in group.....to ensure that one person gets stuck and the rest of us laugh, snap some pics......and then get them out.

...it's the Diesel Boyz way... :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Of course, the diesel boyz all know this, as u said it's the Diesel Boyz way

But there are a lot of newcomers that pass thru here that are not acquainted with off-roading

I posted the golden rule for their benefit

JoeZwalez

Postby JoeZwalez » August 24th, 2009, 11:05 pm

Loving the video but a word of caution to new car and truck owners: Do this kinda stuff only AFTER your 1000km "Free" Service!!

Reason: The 1000km service is basically to "tighten up" all loose bolts screws etc that may have been missed in any QA inspections and tests at the factory . In a manufacturing environment (assembly line etc) product are subject to what is called "Infant mortality" or "Premature failure". We believe that our cars can take "jamming" when they brand new and try to max out the ODO and go off-roading etc. This is when something is most likely to go wrong.! (Google bathtub curve or bell curve, you'll see what im talking about).

Not bashing as I have done the same thing with new vehicles before i knew better. Best of luck still!

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » August 25th, 2009, 1:39 am

HondaHo de 1st wrote: I have a partner from south with a silver manual and he bought a diff locker for it because it does have an lsd,

who installed the diff locker? i was thinking of buying one, but didnt knw who in Trini could install it.

can i meet this guy and see his setup Wesley?

venum

Postby venum » August 25th, 2009, 12:03 pm

biggy82 wrote:who installed the diff locker? i was thinking of buying one, but didnt knw who in Trini could install it.

can i meet this guy and see his setup Wesley?

why :?:

the beast won't be doing serious stuff anyway to warrant that :o

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”