4x4 recovery needed urgent

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
V2NR 3.0

4x4 recovery needed urgent

Postby V2NR 3.0 » August 16th, 2009, 9:15 pm

Proven and Tested

Vehicle stuck on trail. Cant move. Any tuners with off roading power, power winches, call me urgent. we going up in the mornin with a land cruiser and 8000 winch.

the weather was fine, rain fall and road turned "clayey" hence loss of traction. night fell fast...we locked up and opted for morning retrieval. contacted trinidad and tobago off road club with no avail...
Last edited by V2NR 3.0 on August 27th, 2009, 8:26 am, edited 4 times in total.

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » August 16th, 2009, 9:34 pm

just FYI,it may not be the best idea to post where the vehicle is and the fact that its unattended.you may think its safe,but i've seen people loose excavators overnight,so you might wanna edit that part.

venum

Postby venum » August 16th, 2009, 9:58 pm

Lemme see if I can link with some TTORC guys tomm

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » August 16th, 2009, 11:43 pm

ru$$ell wrote:just FYI,it may not be the best idea to post where the vehicle is and the fact that its unattended.you may think its safe,but i've seen people loose excavators overnight,so you might wanna edit that part.

thanks

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » August 17th, 2009, 4:01 am

venum wrote:Lemme see if I can link with some TTORC guys tomm

Appreciated. Call me up on my digi cell line - 290 2247 / 290 2246 or 479 5043

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » August 17th, 2009, 10:02 am

Hope the truck is still there, wherever it is, and not vandalised... Best of luck to you.

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » August 17th, 2009, 3:11 pm

update: got up there at 5am. Truck was good. After about 3 hours of battles, the van was rescued and now safely @ home. It was pressure upon pressure upon pressure...got pics and all to post later on.

If is one thing - these Mazda BT50 4x4 has some kick ass power - tested and proven

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » August 17th, 2009, 4:06 pm

good!

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » August 17th, 2009, 4:08 pm

But wait, you not easy! Ent you now get that van last week? lol lol

Recommend you get a set of off-road wheel / tires to be used on your next trip, and consider installing a front air locker (if you can find one for the bt-50) or alternatively consider replacing the rear LSD unit with a locking diff.

If you serious about 4x4, get a winch as well.

venum

Postby venum » August 17th, 2009, 4:11 pm

a winch is the easiest off-road utility that should not void your warranty

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » August 17th, 2009, 4:12 pm

Oh, where de pics!!

Postby 3stagevtec » August 17th, 2009, 6:54 pm

awaiting pics..

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » August 18th, 2009, 10:02 am

Mr. Go Slow wrote:But wait, you not easy! Ent you now get that van last week? lol lol Recommend you get a set of off-road wheel / tires to be used on your next trip, and consider installing a front air locker (if you can find one for the bt-50) or alternatively consider replacing the rear LSD unit with a locking diff. If you serious about 4x4, get a winch as well.

On Sunday 16th August we decided to take a lovely scenic drive up to Paria Falls - last point on the north coast. Having driven this trail before, it all seemed like a piece of cake. The weather was fine - sunny and windy - absolutely beautiful tropical weather good for some outdoor activities.

We arrived at the point where Hikers normally park their vehicles and start the journey to the falls. Directly opposite the "parking area" sits an old wooden house - the main person known as "red-man". However the trail continued and given the good weather we were experiencing decided to go past this house about 2 1/2 miles into the forest into an area void of telecommunication. There were no signals for B-mobile and Digicel. It was supposed to be a lovely, safe drive - testing the 4 wheel high and low ranges.

We arrived at a point where the hill was pretty steep. It avergaed around 45degrees down hill and was made up of "sapatay" clay mud with huge water channels, dips and dunks on the trail. From the top of the hil - the sturdy point, the hill was about 30-45 feet down. However, at the time it was dry and we decided to venture further. This was where the mistake occured. As we began the decent the mud became very slippery and the vehicle lost traction.

We stopped and tried reversing, this was hopeless. The vehicle had now slipped sideways and became stuck into one of these huge water channels. At this point, it was still retrieveable. We started gathering rocks, debris, stone, branches and everything else ina bid to help with traction. As we attempted to reverse rain began drizzling and then a heavy downpour. This was the turning point. The vehicle slid sideways and downwards and became stagnant at the bottom of the hill.

Lack of traction made it impossible to move.

The pics you are seeing were taken on Monday after the vehicle was forced to stay in the middle of the forrest over night. The pics may appear pretty normal, but on the day of rain, conditions changed drastically. This was the most terrifying part, knowing that it could be vandalized, parts stolen etc etc. It was a very challenging time.

These hills / pics were after the fact - showing dryness and apparent stability to easily drive out.

Just as an example, a Toyota Landcruiser had extreme difficulty accessing where the vehicle was - and these are real power houses.

Thanks to google map

This is the hill. Very steep decent (camera doesnt really capture the essence) - clay, and sapatay mud, - here we are seen digging out the road to make some traction. it looks simple, but after a heavy downpour it was utter head-ache. Try and picture - everytime you take a step, your foot sinks about 3inches in mud.

This is a picture shows after the rain dried up.

One of the hills on the paria trail.

Tools used to dig out the hill and these gratings used for traction

Inside the van "muddy" up

Under van

Needless to say, all things turned out okay.

You tube vid:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vbDdGSJKJ3M
Last edited by V2NR 3.0 on August 20th, 2009, 5:53 am, edited 3 times in total.

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » August 18th, 2009, 10:26 am

Net giving trouble @ work - will update later

gundelero

Postby gundelero » August 18th, 2009, 10:54 am

pics

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » August 18th, 2009, 11:07 am

booge wrote:
I double dare any FORD, TOYOTA, ISUZU personnel to follow where i went :D :D :D

I'm glad you love the van, but you do know the Ford and Madza are the same van, just with different sheet metal right? :?

Postby 3stagevtec » August 18th, 2009, 11:20 am

45deg is insanely steep! you sure about that angle?

this is a 43 - 45deg incline..

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/h1ZkJQioWzk&hl=en&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed>

the steepest slope going to Paramin is 18deg for comparison..

Postby 3stagevtec » August 18th, 2009, 11:24 am

booge wrote:I double dare any FORD, TOYOTA, ISUZU personnel to follow where i went :D :D :D

i notice Suzuki not on that list.. :lol: :twisted:

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » August 18th, 2009, 1:08 pm

3stagevtec wrote:
booge wrote:I double dare any FORD, TOYOTA, ISUZU personnel to follow where i went :D :D :D

i notice Suzuki not on that list.. :lol: :twisted:

Lol...As a former SUZUKI Owner, i know not to oppose....Lol.....Will post pics later tonight.

45deg is insanely steep! you sure about that angle?

100% Sure, you tube looks like it. Anyone knowing Paria, its the final "hair pin" bend which leads to a walking trail before the beach. The pics posted does not truly reflect the incline...

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » August 18th, 2009, 1:54 pm

ah tell yuh about carrying yuh van in them kinda back road yuh go stick
Last edited by Anil_Sooknanan on August 20th, 2009, 4:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » August 18th, 2009, 3:41 pm

Anil_Sooknanan wrote:ah tell yuh about carrying them gul them in them kinda back road yuh go geh ketch

This is a Diesel Thread.... :out:

:D

Postby streetbeastINC. » August 25th, 2009, 5:20 pm

ths for sale..it never stick yet.. :mrgreen:

Cooper

Postby Cooper » August 25th, 2009, 6:06 pm

booge, all I can say is that you learn from your experiences.... hope you are better prepared next time :!:

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » August 25th, 2009, 7:35 pm

I know the kind of mud u talkin bout man

The problem, or rather, feature of the rain forest of the Northern Range is that the water table is pretty high. So any rainfall, even slight, will affect the driving surface drastically...

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » August 25th, 2009, 7:47 pm

Booge.....what you doing with the new van boy!
I could never figure out you rich people :roll:

Postby 3stagevtec » August 25th, 2009, 11:50 pm

SNIPER 3000 wrote:Booge.....what you doing with the new van boy!
I could never figure out you rich people :roll:

it's called breaking it in.. :wink:

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » August 26th, 2009, 5:35 am

Dam right it's going to break! :lol:

shapeshop

Postby shapeshop » August 26th, 2009, 5:48 am

Mitsubishi triton come with LSD and chevy colorado comes with locking front and rear diffs froms what I understand...i may be corrected on that.

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » August 26th, 2009, 7:37 am

SNIPER 3000 Posted:Booge.....what you doing with the new van boy! I could never figure out you rich people

^ Us "rich" people you say, Im not the one with two houses and a CRV pally... Was taking for a test run. All i can say is Proven and Trusted now. These vans are very dependable, strong and powerful. Without a doubt, and ive tested the hilux, ranger, etc etc (not bashing anyone - personal experience)

SNIPER 3000 Posted: Dam right it's going to break!

^ Thats why you test it....

shapeshop Posted: Mitsubishi triton come with LSD and chevy colorado comes with locking front and rear diffs froms what I understand...i may be corrected on that.

^ Interesting. Id like to test.

bleedingfreak Posted: I know the kind of mud u talkin bout man
The problem, or rather, feature of the rain forest of the Northern Range is that the water table is pretty high. So any rainfall, even slight, will affect the driving surface drastically...

^ Breddo - you have no idea...first time i see mud like that. It was like glue man...

Cooper Posted: booge, all I can say is that you learn from your experiences.... hope you are better prepared next time

^ But off course - AND YOU KNOW I GOING BACK !

grazer1969

Postby grazer1969 » September 3rd, 2009, 9:33 am

Oye booge, thanks for the write up bro, we will be using it as an example to our new members on what NOT TO DO :lol:
Hope you learned your lesson now....never offroad alone even if you have a fully prepped offroad vehicle!!(for a TTORC Offroader you shoulda known better bro!-)

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”