WTK: Whats the best......?

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
rottedv

WTK: Whats the best......?

Postby rottedv » July 10th, 2010, 2:24 pm

I want to know what is the best, cheapest 4x4 or even 4x2, auto or manual that you could buy brand new?? Any price available that I could compare??? Also most reliable???

lighthammer

Re: WTK: Whats the best......?

Postby lighthammer » July 10th, 2010, 2:44 pm

easy answer - Mazda BT-50 4x2 manual.

Best overall if you just want a basic, cheap, reliable truck that will last u a long time.

But McEarney was advertising a 4x4 manual Ranger XLT for $189K in the papers yesterday. 2.5L TDCi, cloth seats, foglights, no sidesteps or bullbar/rollbar.

Rutless Tiida

Postby Rutless Tiida » July 10th, 2010, 4:38 pm

D22 Frontier 4x4 should be the cheapest new pickup from a big brand. I don't know the price though.
It is the same model I have.

The Wingle is very cheap also but I would not pay money for one.

You have to go and check them out in person.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 10th, 2010, 4:41 pm

^^ RT, N&M still has D22's in stock?

Rutless Tiida

Postby Rutless Tiida » July 10th, 2010, 4:44 pm

I saw a bunch at the port last month. I also saw some PCP D22's so I guess.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 10th, 2010, 6:22 pm

hmmm, mebbe overstock /old stock from the Thailand factory that needs to be sold off.

rottedv

Postby rottedv » July 10th, 2010, 8:50 pm

do these d22 come auto...I will check them this week to see what they have...but are they rugged??

civic minded

Postby civic minded » July 11th, 2010, 7:47 pm

so wham to the wingle? ent that suppost to be the cheapest??

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 11th, 2010, 7:59 pm

civic minded - he said "best".

Hence - Bt-50 or Ranger.

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » July 11th, 2010, 9:31 pm

RANGER.. talk done..

nicholas7129

Postby nicholas7129 » July 11th, 2010, 9:44 pm

the bt50 cheaper dan d ranger and cheaper dan bt50 is isuzu dmax

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 11th, 2010, 11:54 pm

DMax is one of the most durable work-trucks out of all the brands. Not the most comfortable though, and the engine is lack-luster compared to the Ranger/Bt-50. It's cheaper and if the OP just wants a work-truck that can do everything, DMax is a good option.

No other way around it man, just do your homework and research what van you want. Call around, ask around, test drive, compare pricing, check your budget & financing.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » July 12th, 2010, 5:18 am

But i am not hearing any complaints about the wingle as yet- so far it is holdin up?

rottedv

Postby rottedv » July 12th, 2010, 5:43 am

My neighbor told me about this wingle bieing 4x4 around 140K....My tint man told me that he scrapped down one to do tint on and everything was inferior.....Not built to work...He said that if you buying one prepare to keep it a long time.....cause no one will buy it when you ready to buy...

I am going to check finances on wednesday...I guess so far it seems to be a bt 50 or ranger...Can't go for the dmax cause the wife pregnant and would not want to give her an uncomfortable ride and put her in danger..so...

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 12th, 2010, 9:20 am

Ranger man - McEneary Motors have a special right now on the XLT, 4x4 manual with 2.5L TDCi, cloth seats, fully loaded.

Check the papers for an ad, they have a special offer going on right now (trying to sell off old stock)

Rutless Tiida

Postby Rutless Tiida » July 12th, 2010, 9:31 am

^^ so now we getting the full picture. You want a cheap Family van.

rottedv wrote:do these d22 come auto...I will check them this week to see what they have...but are they rugged??

he asking if the D22 rugged :lol: :lol: :lol:

There are guys that have had there D22's 10+ years. So that should tell you how rugged they are. But these are not for you. You want something with some comfort.

comfort and cheap = BT50
comfort with a little more money and a bit better after sales service = Ranger
cheap work horse = DMax or D22
just plain cheap = Wingle
luxury with a lowish price = Navara or Sportero
luxury and price does not matter = Hilux

You need to decided what you want a pickup for. Is it to work it, go off-road, save money at the pump or something else. Then you go and price and test drive all that you can afford then come back to the forum and ask the guys what advantages pickup X has over pickup Y. This way we can help you allot better than asking what is the best because they are all the best at something.

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » July 12th, 2010, 10:34 am

navara lowish?

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 12th, 2010, 10:39 am

Good summary Rutless.

Rutless Tiida

Postby Rutless Tiida » July 12th, 2010, 11:35 am

Mr. Red Sleeper wrote:navara lowish?

Yeah lowish compared to a Hilux! :)

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 12th, 2010, 1:15 pm

You mean a Vigo? :p

civic minded

Postby civic minded » July 12th, 2010, 5:12 pm

frigg all that and go bull cart - that going places none of them pickup can go......lol jk

anyways - if it for a family - pickup may not be the best bet - but try the sportero - they have specials on them right now and they are pretty good all-round pickup with large enough interior room

rottedv

Postby rottedv » July 12th, 2010, 7:54 pm

Thanks Rutless Tiida, thats what I wanted to know...Better I learn from you guys...I'll let you know how it goes..

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » July 12th, 2010, 7:59 pm

rottedv - you do realised that you back where you started right...
they told you Hilux, Ranger, DMax, Sportero and BT50 LOL

SO seriously.. you did say "most reliable" - So Hilux...

Tested and Proven..... ;)

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 12th, 2010, 11:48 pm

rottedv wrote:I want to know what is the best, cheapest 4x4 or even 4x2, auto or manual that you could buy brand new?? Any price available that I could compare??? Also most reliable???

Check this thread....\

and then check out this thread when you're done.

rottedv

Postby rottedv » July 15th, 2010, 8:30 pm

So I went and check out a few vans with my budget..Can't afford 4x4 so the choices are
4x2 ranger=$150,000.00 2.5 turbo diesel, 5 years warranty
4x2 d22=$134,000 td 27 3 years warranty
4x2 hilux=$174,00 2.5 turbo diesel, 5 years warranty

So I'm leaning towards the ranger but one question, whats the difference between the mazda bt50 and the ranger? I never liked mazda and was always a toyta man....so...help meh out fellas..

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 15th, 2010, 8:56 pm

Well mazda and ford share the same chassis and engine, even the same dashboard. Just that the mazda gearing and suspension tuned more for workhorse duties, while the ranger suspension slightly softer and gear-ratios are set for slightly better on-road manners. Ranger also holds slightly better resale.

Otherwise they're the same exact truck.

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » July 15th, 2010, 9:36 pm

Dude see if you could fight it and put a lil more and get the 2.5 Hilux.... just 15k more..

4x2 VS 4x4 - HUGE difference.. :twisted:
Last edited by *Phoenix* on July 16th, 2010, 4:52 am, edited 1 time in total.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 15th, 2010, 11:39 pm

If you want a very tough work van and don't need much interior room, the Ranger will do you well. The engine is very responsive and the chassis is bulletproof.

The Hilux is also very tough, but it's a bit more comfortable than the Ranger. However the engine isn't as responsive as the Ranger.

The D22 Frontier is also a good, reliable truck. The tray is a bit smaller than the other two though, so watch out for that.

rottedv

Postby rottedv » July 16th, 2010, 5:24 am

so basically the mazda and ford are the same truck....I really cant afford a 4x4 so 4x2 ftw
I was aways informed to buy turbo diesel if buying. That coupled with the fact that the d22 has been around for quite a while makes me wonder about the resale value of it... I just find that toyota getting rediculus with the pricing...I thought the scandals would have put a dent in their prices but.... and their after sales service suck in my opinion so...

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 16th, 2010, 8:14 am

rottedv - well, my D22 3.0T 4x4 is a 2002 model No engine problems whatsoever. Only regular maintenance, transmission maintenance (flickin' N&M went and changed the Clutch plate without telling me and then want to charge for it) and regular tire/suspension maintenance.

The D22 is a very tough truck, if you gonna keep it 5+ years it will serve you well. Mine is running almost 170,000 km's, and it still pulling VERY strong. I dropped in a K&N filter yesterday, and it pulling even stronger than before now. Was able to keep pace with a BMW X5 from Trincity - Valsyn, left lots of almera's and civics behind. Almost no black smoke from the tailpipe unless I go above 3500RPM. Still starts-up easily on a cold morning.

Plus it's still cheaper than the other new trucks. I was gonna buy a new Ranger soon, but I think I'll hold off and keep the D22 for now, do some modifications on it instead. I trust my D22 man, you should too!

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”