Tray Covers and Cargo Management

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
lighthammer

Re: Tray Covers and Cargo Management

Postby lighthammer » August 1st, 2010, 12:59 pm

Excellent.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » August 1st, 2010, 1:02 pm

that pic is disturbing

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » August 6th, 2010, 10:18 am

nice, so ched deleted

no worries....have a good day :mrgreen:

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 8th, 2010, 4:55 am

madcoolieboy
Location: arkham asylum for the criminally insane..Under the alias: 'SYKO'

Postby madcoolieboy » August 8th, 2010, 2:09 pm

i lookin 4 a tray cover for my ranger too but not the roll n lock/jackrabbit... can't justify the cost.. anyone know where i can get the leatherette/canvas button down cover?? the one with the clamp on rails with the snaps on them... i'm not too fond of drilling my tray to install the snaps.... thanks

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » August 8th, 2010, 2:22 pm

madcoolieboy wrote:i lookin 4 a tray cover for my ranger too but not the roll n lock/jackrabbit... can't justify the cost.. anyone know where i can get the leatherette/canvas button down cover?? the one with the clamp on rails with the snaps on them... i'm not too fond of drilling my tray to install the snaps.... thanks

sweeks wrote:.... ended up pay $1400 (Jamal - Cipero St.) and putting on one of those regular button down leatherette cover. Jamal did a pretty good job.

you and all dont search man :evil:

madcoolieboy

Postby madcoolieboy » August 8th, 2010, 3:21 pm

dude thaz the one i DON'T want

4X4 Trinidad

Postby 4X4 Trinidad » August 8th, 2010, 3:33 pm

madcoolieboy wrote:i lookin 4 a tray cover for my ranger too but not the roll n lock/jackrabbit... can't justify the cost.. anyone know where i can get the leatherette/canvas button down cover?? the one with the clamp on rails with the snaps on them... i'm not too fond of drilling my tray to install the snaps.... thanks

hey bro , long time no see. we carry this as well . call us for details.

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » August 8th, 2010, 5:40 pm

well well, the hiatus is over :roll:

care to comment on some of the Diesel Boyz concerns w.r.t service?

4X4 Trinidad

Postby 4X4 Trinidad » August 8th, 2010, 6:24 pm

biggy82 wrote:well well, the hiatus is over :roll:

please email info@4x4trinidad.com and we'll deal with your request asap . sorry about PM's .

thank you

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » August 8th, 2010, 7:30 pm

4X4 Trinidad wrote:
biggy82 wrote:well well, the hiatus is over :roll:

please email info@4x4trinidad.com and we'll deal with your request asap . sorry about PM's .

thank you

no thanks.

regards,

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 10th, 2010, 12:46 am

All you Roll N' Lock and Jackrabbit owners - any problems with leaks, esp. with these heavy rains we having?

What about:
- Road/Wind noise
- sagging of the shutter in the middle of the tray when the shutter is closed

4x4Trinidad - can the Jackrabbit fit on a '02 Frontier with the fibreglass stock roll-bar on the tray, plus a spray-on liner?

4X4 Trinidad

Postby 4X4 Trinidad » August 10th, 2010, 7:09 am

yes we have the Pace Edwards Roll Top cover for the frontier, becuase it's an older series P.E never developed a Jack Rabbit cover for this .

the Roll Top looks and feels just as the Roll N Lock , as it;s not as stlyish as the Jackrabbit.

It's also $1,500 less

4X4 Trinidad

Postby 4X4 Trinidad » August 10th, 2010, 7:13 am

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 10th, 2010, 12:35 pm

Hey 4x4trinidad - thanks for the info over the phone! Will give you a call when I ready :). Peace!

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » August 11th, 2010, 5:00 am

BTW guyz i got a AeroKlas liner installed today..

civic minded

Postby civic minded » August 11th, 2010, 6:47 am

^^wwwwwwwwoooohhhhhhhhhhhhhoooooooooowwwwwwwwww!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 11th, 2010, 6:58 am

*phoenix* - is it the same as the last bedliner you had? Post pics!

4X4 Trinidad

Postby 4X4 Trinidad » August 11th, 2010, 9:33 am

viewtopic.php?f=6&t=327871

for those of you who have been inquiring about Tool Boxes

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » August 11th, 2010, 2:17 pm

*Phoenix* wrote:BTW guyz i got a AeroKlas liner installed today..

so wham to the factory one that was promised?

madcoolieboy

Postby madcoolieboy » August 11th, 2010, 4:42 pm

phoenix i hope you grease the tray first eh!!

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » August 12th, 2010, 6:09 am

With the AeroKlas there is no need to grease the try.. it comes with a rubber lining

Biggy the TOYOTA liner i didn't like cuz it didn't have chrome Hooks..
I got it if anyone wants it... Easy install..
Its on OEM liner tho...

4X4 Trinidad

Postby 4X4 Trinidad » August 12th, 2010, 7:25 am

*Phoenix* wrote:With the AeroKlas there is no need to grease the try.. it comes with a rubber lining

Its on OEM liner tho...

that lining doesn't help much .... use a rubberized undercoat spray or a silicone lubricant spray . take this advice we've seen tooo much new rusting trays.

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » August 12th, 2010, 2:10 pm

*Phoenix* wrote:With the AeroKlas there is no need to grease the try.. it comes with a rubber lining

Its on OEM liner tho...

damn RICER!

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » August 12th, 2010, 6:49 pm

Perhaps...
;)
Yuh know im a Drama-Queen!

LOL

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » August 26th, 2010, 4:13 pm

I got a chance to see a Aeroklas tool box on the Hilux today... i donno if it was the wrong size but there was like 1 1/2 inches of space between the box and the tray-liner to the side...
I still looking for another alternative for a "Trunk"

4X4 Trinidad

Postby 4X4 Trinidad » August 26th, 2010, 9:54 pm

we've just introduce a new trifolding cover , email or call for details.

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » August 27th, 2010, 4:27 am

trifolding cover????

Post some Info dude... we all can get it here..
I see you have the Aeroklas U-Box also...

4X4 Trinidad

Postby 4X4 Trinidad » August 29th, 2010, 7:03 pm

will come soon . email or call if you need urgent details.

taktix

Postby taktix » September 10th, 2010, 11:57 pm

There seems to be alot of discussion about the Pace Edwards Jackrabbit vs the Roll n Lock M Series retractable Tray Covers in the forum. Here is what i have found:

Roll n Lock
REEL: 3" Aluminium Reel Mechanism
HOUSING: 7.25" x 9.25" Aluminium
COVER: Haartz padded vinyl over .040 extruded aluminum slat
DRAIN: Aluminium drain hose connection
SPRING: 38" torsion spring (similar to garage door)
HANDLE: Handle retracts into canister when open.
TRACKS: Integrated trim gasket to provide a dressed edge where tracks meet the bed rail
LOCKS: Cover lock & tailgate lock are integrated in one mechanism

Pace Edwards Jackrabbit
REEL: 4" PVC Reel Mechanism
HOUSING: 9.75" x 10.50" Plastic with aluminium end plates
COVER: Voltec polymer padded vinyl over .020 roll-formed aluminum slat
DRAIN: Plastic drain hose connection
SPRING: Wound flat spring (similar to a tape measure)
HANDLE: Handle protrudes 5" beyond canister when retracted.
TRACKS: Does not include a trim gasket, leaving weatherstrip exposed
LOCKS: Cover locks into side rails. An optional electronic lock must be installed inside tailgate and wired to a switch on dashboard to lock the tailgate. If the vehicle has power locks it can also be tied into the powerlock circuit.

LOCAL DEALERS
Roll N Lock:- West Borne Trading - (868) 683-1101 (Price: $10500 + VAT)
PE Jackrabbit:- Ultimate Enterprises Ltd - (868) 672-4691 (Price: $9000 )

My objective opinion based on the countless reviews i have read and actual installaions i have seen, is that the roll n lock is the better option as the aluminium used in the cover is twice as thick and therefore stronger than the pace edwards system, and it also looks superior in general workmanship.

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”