Help! Need to find a new head for ford ranger!!!!
Posted: July 19th, 2010, 6:46 pm
by killersuzuki
My head developed a crack, so I am on the hunt for a new head, or if I have to buy one, a new WLT engine. anybody know where I can get one? OR if I can get a 3.0 out of the new ford ranger, I would take that too.
HELP!!!
Thanks
Re: Help! Need to find a new head for ford ranger!!!!
Posted: July 19th, 2010, 6:51 pm
by civic minded

check ROC in the bamboo - they suppose to have all the parts for your model ranger
Posted: July 19th, 2010, 6:59 pm
by killersuzuki
Thanks, will do!
Posted: July 20th, 2010, 6:47 am
by bt50
Welcome to the club....Warning Loves Trouble
Check boodram and sons in freeport for a new head.
Posted: July 20th, 2010, 6:59 am
by bleedingfreak
bt50 wrote:Welcome to the club....Warning Loves Trouble
Check boodram and sons in freeport for a new head.
Good guys... got an alternator from them a couple weeks ago
When I had to change the head on the Mazda year before I got one for $3500.00... but not from Boodram's eh. Expect about $5000.00 or so for a used head.
Posted: July 20th, 2010, 7:40 am
by bt50
Boodram - $5500 for a head new
Posted: July 20th, 2010, 8:20 am
by killersuzuki
THANKS! does anyone have a number for Boodram and Sons?
Posted: July 20th, 2010, 9:24 am
by bleedingfreak
killerhyundai-DET wrote:THANKS! does anyone have a number for Boodram and Sons?
Oh crap I NOW mash up the card... It have directory assistance for that anyhow...
If you want directions to the one in Freeport I can do that
Head towards the Freeport police station and turn left (south) by the triangle there. Follow the road for about 1/2 a kilometre. They are on the left hand side right on the main road there. There is a sign.
If you miss it your blind
Posted: July 20th, 2010, 9:39 am
by killersuzuki
Ok thanks!
Posted: July 20th, 2010, 10:07 am
by bleedingfreak
killerhyundai-DET wrote:Ok thanks!
Hope yuh get thru!
Posted: July 20th, 2010, 3:04 pm
by Cooper
killerhyundai-DET, while you have the engine down, check out your cooling system. Especially the water pump. It could be the cause of the crack.
Posted: July 20th, 2010, 6:47 pm
by bleedingfreak
Cooper wrote:killerhyundai-DET, while you have the engine down, check out your cooling system. Especially the water pump. It could be the cause of the crack.
Good heads up there... No pun intended

Pay attention to the thermostat.
Posted: July 21st, 2010, 7:34 am
by bt50
install 3 core radiator....
Posted: July 21st, 2010, 7:27 pm
by killersuzuki
Thanks for all the help people, I am picking up the head tomorrow.....I am also going to do a complete check on the coolant system, bt50, 3 core was installed long time!
I am also going to clean and service the injectors, the fuel pump, and hopefully install a new intercooler.
Posted: July 22nd, 2010, 6:49 am
by bt50
so what happened that resulted in the head developing a crack?
Posted: August 4th, 2010, 10:20 am
by killersuzuki
Ok, well, it turns out that the fan was not working properly, that's why the engine overheated. So, we decided to go with electric fans. This freed up a few hp from the engine. I must admit, the van is pulling harder now. It feels good.
Posted: August 4th, 2010, 11:35 am
by Greypatch
so you did not notice the temp guage dey mamoo
Posted: August 4th, 2010, 12:13 pm
by bleedingfreak
Greypatch wrote:so you did not notice the temp guage dey mamoo
It just a lil too far from the speedometer for his liking dey Patchie...
Posted: August 4th, 2010, 2:34 pm
by killersuzuki
Lol! To be honest, the temp gauge did not read hot until I saw the smoke coming out the exhaust, and even then it did not jump for a good 2 mins after that ( I was driving to the office).
Posted: August 4th, 2010, 3:25 pm
by Cooper
With the way you drive, smoke always coming out of the exhaust

Glad to know you back up and running, did you get any pics of the damaged head?
Posted: August 4th, 2010, 3:38 pm
by killersuzuki
Cooper wrote:With the way you drive, smoke always coming out of the exhaust

No, sorry, but I did see the crack, it was ugly!
And what you talking about, "The way I drive"?????
The van picking up real nice now (no fan for the engine to turn)

Posted: August 4th, 2010, 4:33 pm
by bleedingfreak
killerhyundai-DET wrote:Cooper wrote:With the way you drive, smoke always coming out of the exhaust

No, sorry, but I did see the crack, it was ugly!
And what you talking about, "The way I drive"?????
The van picking up real nice now (no fan for the engine to turn)

When we changed the head in the Mazda last year and did all the engine work, thing worked like brand new again... Turbo was singing! But then my brother got his hands on it and she sounding like crap again..
Posted: August 5th, 2010, 6:52 am
by bt50
glad to hear you back on the road.
give us some info on the fans installed...size, rpm, brand, who installed it.
Posted: August 5th, 2010, 7:15 am
by killersuzuki
I will post up some pics later today.
Posted: August 10th, 2010, 9:59 am
by White CZ4A
killer, can you tell me who did the mechanical work for you?
also, where you ended up getting the head etc.
via pm,
thanks.
Posted: August 10th, 2010, 6:37 pm
by nick009
but but that motor will be driven by the alternator so the power coming from the engine anyway!?
Posted: August 12th, 2010, 9:49 am
by killersuzuki
nick009 wrote:but but that motor will be driven by the alternator so the power coming from the engine anyway!?
Yes the alternator is powering the fans, but there is less physical mass for the engine to turn, hence more power.
This is why most RWD SR20 DET owners replace the belt driven fan with electric ones.