What do you guys think?

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
lighthammer

What do you guys think?

Postby lighthammer » July 27th, 2010, 6:31 am

Had a little bit of free time while in Port of Spain yesterday.
Had my camera with me at the time and I'd just washed the Frontier last night (ok, washed, armor-all'd, glazed and waxed) so I thought I'd stop and kill some time.

What do you think?

civic minded

Re: What do you guys think?

Postby civic minded » July 27th, 2010, 7:25 am

I think yOur boss need to give you more work

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 27th, 2010, 7:43 am

^^ :lol:

Nah was on official business but had some time between appointments :).

Level rain up in de east side today so now it's time to get the truck muddy.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » July 27th, 2010, 9:32 am

I see you spend alot of time on the truck- it's a shame that there is alot of rain today...

Postby Team Loco » July 27th, 2010, 9:42 am

i think the reflection off that body can give the sun some competition! very nice

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » July 27th, 2010, 11:18 am

I think its time that nissan needs to make changes to their pick up line.
Look at the similarity between the "new model" in the first pic as compared to the "old model" in the second.....

No upgrades thru the yrs?

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » July 27th, 2010, 12:31 pm

looking good

SEVin

Postby SEVin » July 27th, 2010, 12:44 pm

Pics look crisp!

What wax/polish do you use? I asking seriously eh, so no snarky comments haha!

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » July 27th, 2010, 2:57 pm

I used:
- Turtlewax Zipwax to wash
- 3M Scratch & Swirlmark Remover
- Turtlewax Deep Glaze with wet-look to bring out the black
- TurtleWax Super Carnauba Wax to seal the coats.
- Turtlewax Headlight Lens Cleaner & Restorer last week to remove the hazing on the headlights & foglights
- Armor All for the wheels.
- RainX for the windshield

Took about 3 hours to do everything thoroughly. I think it was worth it, cuz while driving through the rain today the raindrops just sliding off the body. Went POS - South so far and the body still looking clean :) :)

civic minded

Postby civic minded » July 27th, 2010, 3:20 pm

mines due for a polish - donno when i will have the time thou

ctrucks

Postby ctrucks » August 6th, 2010, 6:07 am

Looks great. A guy taking care of this truck/car is guy that takes care in everything that he does

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 6th, 2010, 6:27 am

^^ cheers buddy! :D :D

Cooper

Postby Cooper » August 6th, 2010, 1:15 pm

Mr. Red Sleeper wrote:I think its time that nissan needs to make changes to their pick up line.
Look at the similarity between the "new model" in the first pic as compared to the "old model" in the second.....

No upgrades thru the yrs?

Sad, just sad :lol:

so lighthammer, yuh went up on the lookout and nobody rob yuh :?:
....you are a brave man

Postby wagon r » August 6th, 2010, 2:40 pm

....lend meh yuh van for 1/2 hour nah "hammer.... :mrgreen:

Postby 3stagevtec » August 6th, 2010, 3:26 pm

When it comes to keeping a pickup clean, my old man can give you some serious competition.. he even wipes down the entire windscreen every morning before he leaves to go to work..

I really like the 2nd shot, gives the effect of a wide open space..

SUBARUIST

Postby SUBARUIST » August 6th, 2010, 11:31 pm

so you're a photograher as well................or that's your job....lol :lol:

venum

Postby venum » August 6th, 2010, 11:43 pm

I think that you wasting valuable run time on your fog lights

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 6th, 2010, 11:50 pm

Subaruist - lol nah, just a hobby I picked up while studying in university

Venum - I just turned on the foglights for the shot. Don't usually use the running lights during the day.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » August 7th, 2010, 8:12 pm

Very nice shots!

What camera are you using? Might want to photoshop out the glare mark on the windscreen (but leave the ones on the bonnet).

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 7th, 2010, 11:45 pm

Alpha_2nr:
Camera: Nikon D200 with Sigma 10-20mm f/4.5-5.0 HSM
Edited in CS4 & Lightroom 2.01

You meant the sun-flare on the windscreen? It wasn't the cleanest star-effect but I figured it matched the level of midday lighting on the scene. You'd expect a large amount of glare coming off the shiny surfaces anyway. The smaller sun-flares from the chrome brush guards were just icing on the cake - wasn't expecting them to come out :).

I won a photo competition with another pic of the frontier I took & edited a while ago. Similar to this pic:

civic minded

Postby civic minded » August 7th, 2010, 11:55 pm

^^ you really have too much time on your hands....lol

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 7th, 2010, 11:59 pm

Nah that was done long time now, back in 2008 when I was on vacation :). Now I have almost no time except weekends :(

Cooper

Postby Cooper » August 9th, 2010, 8:06 am

My van get washed yesterday.... in the most lazyman way.

- Heavy Rain falling, reverse the van in the driveway to get wet for five minutes.
- Drive it back in the shed and wipe it down (I felt kinda bad and used a soapy sponge)
- then reverse it back in the rain to rinse off
- didn't bother to dry it off when I pulled it back in the shed.... and it looking clean now :lol:

civic minded

Postby civic minded » August 9th, 2010, 11:13 am

^^ROFLMAO!!!! first time i hearin a wash like that ...kudos brodda

droppa

Postby droppa » August 9th, 2010, 12:45 pm

thas dah real lazy man wash dey cooper, i did that once with the zuki, jus when i done soap up, the heavy rain stopped and was only drizzling.......ah cuss, had to go pull out the hose....

nice looking van hammer......i wash down last night, only after getting all muddy during the day.....

4X4s look real mean when they r muddied eh, but i love to see em shiny too, once i mudd up, is underwash with mith lil broom and diesel down when ah done....

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 9th, 2010, 5:30 pm

Cooper - that's brilliant man. Why didn't I think of that!! LOL.

Droppa - there's no satisfaction like getting the truck dirty and then cleaning it thoroughly.

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » August 25th, 2010, 5:32 pm

Cooper wrote:My van get washed yesterday.... in the most lazyman way.

- Heavy Rain falling, reverse the van in the driveway to get wet for five minutes.
- Drive it back in the shed and wipe it down (I felt kinda bad and used a soapy sponge)
- then reverse it back in the rain to rinse off
- didn't bother to dry it off when I pulled it back in the shed.... and it looking clean now :lol:

BWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAh..i did dat wid my car a few weeks ago, buh i soaped it up in the rain and jus left it there..

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”