What do you guys think?

Posted: July 27th, 2010, 6:31 am
by lighthammer
Had a little bit of free time while in Port of Spain yesterday.
Had my camera with me at the time and I'd just washed the Frontier last night (ok, washed, armor-all'd, glazed and waxed) so I thought I'd stop and kill some time.

What do you think?

Re: What do you guys think?

Posted: July 27th, 2010, 7:25 am
by civic minded
I think yOur boss need to give you more work

Posted: July 27th, 2010, 7:43 am
by lighthammer
^^ :lol:

Nah was on official business but had some time between appointments :).

Level rain up in de east side today so now it's time to get the truck muddy.

Posted: July 27th, 2010, 9:32 am
by civic minded
I see you spend alot of time on the truck- it's a shame that there is alot of rain today...

Posted: July 27th, 2010, 9:42 am
by Team Loco
i think the reflection off that body can give the sun some competition! very nice

Posted: July 27th, 2010, 11:18 am
by Mr. Red Sleeper
I think its time that nissan needs to make changes to their pick up line.
Look at the similarity between the "new model" in the first pic as compared to the "old model" in the second.....

No upgrades thru the yrs?

Posted: July 27th, 2010, 12:31 pm
by V2NR 3.0
looking good

Posted: July 27th, 2010, 12:44 pm
by SEVin
Pics look crisp!

What wax/polish do you use? I asking seriously eh, so no snarky comments haha!

Posted: July 27th, 2010, 2:57 pm
by lighthammer
I used:
- Turtlewax Zipwax to wash
- 3M Scratch & Swirlmark Remover
- Turtlewax Deep Glaze with wet-look to bring out the black
- TurtleWax Super Carnauba Wax to seal the coats.
- Turtlewax Headlight Lens Cleaner & Restorer last week to remove the hazing on the headlights & foglights
- Armor All for the wheels.
- RainX for the windshield

Took about 3 hours to do everything thoroughly. I think it was worth it, cuz while driving through the rain today the raindrops just sliding off the body. Went POS - South so far and the body still looking clean :) :)

Posted: July 27th, 2010, 3:20 pm
by civic minded
mines due for a polish - donno when i will have the time thou

Posted: August 6th, 2010, 6:07 am
by ctrucks
Looks great. A guy taking care of this truck/car is guy that takes care in everything that he does

Posted: August 6th, 2010, 6:27 am
by lighthammer
^^ cheers buddy! :D :D

Posted: August 6th, 2010, 1:15 pm
by Cooper
Mr. Red Sleeper wrote:I think its time that nissan needs to make changes to their pick up line.
Look at the similarity between the "new model" in the first pic as compared to the "old model" in the second.....

No upgrades thru the yrs?

Sad, just sad :lol:

so lighthammer, yuh went up on the lookout and nobody rob yuh :?:
....you are a brave man

Posted: August 6th, 2010, 2:40 pm
by wagon r
....lend meh yuh van for 1/2 hour nah "hammer.... :mrgreen:

Posted: August 6th, 2010, 3:26 pm
by 3stagevtec
When it comes to keeping a pickup clean, my old man can give you some serious competition.. he even wipes down the entire windscreen every morning before he leaves to go to work..

I really like the 2nd shot, gives the effect of a wide open space..

Posted: August 6th, 2010, 11:31 pm
by SUBARUIST
so you're a photograher as well................or that's your job....lol :lol:

Posted: August 6th, 2010, 11:43 pm
by venum
I think that you wasting valuable run time on your fog lights

Posted: August 6th, 2010, 11:50 pm
by lighthammer
Subaruist - lol nah, just a hobby I picked up while studying in university

Venum - I just turned on the foglights for the shot. Don't usually use the running lights during the day.

Posted: August 7th, 2010, 8:12 pm
by Alpha_2nr
Very nice shots!

What camera are you using? Might want to photoshop out the glare mark on the windscreen (but leave the ones on the bonnet).

Posted: August 7th, 2010, 11:45 pm
by lighthammer
Alpha_2nr:
Camera: Nikon D200 with Sigma 10-20mm f/4.5-5.0 HSM
Edited in CS4 & Lightroom 2.01

You meant the sun-flare on the windscreen? It wasn't the cleanest star-effect but I figured it matched the level of midday lighting on the scene. You'd expect a large amount of glare coming off the shiny surfaces anyway. The smaller sun-flares from the chrome brush guards were just icing on the cake - wasn't expecting them to come out :).

I won a photo competition with another pic of the frontier I took & edited a while ago. Similar to this pic:

Posted: August 7th, 2010, 11:55 pm
by civic minded
^^ you really have too much time on your hands....lol

Posted: August 7th, 2010, 11:59 pm
by lighthammer
Nah that was done long time now, back in 2008 when I was on vacation :). Now I have almost no time except weekends :(

Posted: August 9th, 2010, 8:06 am
by Cooper
My van get washed yesterday.... in the most lazyman way.

- Heavy Rain falling, reverse the van in the driveway to get wet for five minutes.
- Drive it back in the shed and wipe it down (I felt kinda bad and used a soapy sponge)
- then reverse it back in the rain to rinse off
- didn't bother to dry it off when I pulled it back in the shed.... and it looking clean now :lol:

Posted: August 9th, 2010, 11:13 am
by civic minded
^^ROFLMAO!!!! first time i hearin a wash like that ...kudos brodda

Posted: August 9th, 2010, 12:45 pm
by droppa
thas dah real lazy man wash dey cooper, i did that once with the zuki, jus when i done soap up, the heavy rain stopped and was only drizzling.......ah cuss, had to go pull out the hose....

nice looking van hammer......i wash down last night, only after getting all muddy during the day.....

4X4s look real mean when they r muddied eh, but i love to see em shiny too, once i mudd up, is underwash with mith lil broom and diesel down when ah done....

Posted: August 9th, 2010, 5:30 pm
by lighthammer
Cooper - that's brilliant man. Why didn't I think of that!! LOL.

Droppa - there's no satisfaction like getting the truck dirty and then cleaning it thoroughly.

Posted: August 25th, 2010, 5:32 pm
by nos_specialist
Cooper wrote:My van get washed yesterday.... in the most lazyman way.

- Heavy Rain falling, reverse the van in the driveway to get wet for five minutes.
- Drive it back in the shed and wipe it down (I felt kinda bad and used a soapy sponge)
- then reverse it back in the rain to rinse off
- didn't bother to dry it off when I pulled it back in the shed.... and it looking clean now :lol:

BWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAh..i did dat wid my car a few weeks ago, buh i soaped it up in the rain and jus left it there..