w.t.k. sluggish starting on a frontier
Posted: August 19th, 2011, 2:51 pm
by dj kev
hey fellas. afternoon. i have a 4x2 frontier and i'm getting a very sluggish tumble from the engine when i'm about to start. can anyone help me out? the battery is ok, it reads 13.3. thanks.
Re: w.t.k. sluggish starting on a frontier
Posted: August 19th, 2011, 8:58 pm
by sliderz1
give the glow plugs a check
Posted: August 20th, 2011, 10:32 am
by brawnybro
13.3 volts yes but how many cold cranking amps does your battery have ? that makes a big difference
Posted: August 21st, 2011, 2:11 am
by dj kev
thanks. it is one of those maintenance free diesel bosch battery. i think it cranking like 1750. i will have to check
Posted: August 21st, 2011, 6:45 am
by INDAVID WORKSHOP
sliderz1 wrote:give the glow plugs a check
I agree the glow plugs is your best bet had the same experience and two glow plugs were bad , sluggish start and lots of white smoke
Posted: August 22nd, 2011, 7:08 am
by biggy82
when was the van last serviced? check fuel and air filters as well
Posted: August 27th, 2011, 2:24 am
by 3stagevtec
What voltage does the battery read in the morning, after an overnight rest? A reading of 13.3V suggests you measured the batt voltage just after driving the vehicle, which would give a false idea of it's current state.
Does the engine start properly when warm? If yes, then the glow plugs at fault.. If no, the the truck needs a service as biggy suggested.
Posted: August 30th, 2011, 7:23 pm
by TrEnD$eTt@
had the same problem even with a new battery .....the starter needed servicing ...and truss meh go get it serviced before it goes bad because the frontier starter is reduction drive and very expensive!
Posted: September 2nd, 2011, 9:36 pm
by dj kev
thanks ppl. i will have to get it checked out. where can i go for a reasonable service? i"m from south, so somewhere in south would be preferred. thanks again
Posted: September 13th, 2011, 12:27 pm
by aliman
same problem, put in new batt, check all wires, no change! took out the starter did the service, bang like brand new , no more problems