Mahindra Pikup - cheap alternative 4x4??

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
civic minded

Postby civic minded » April 17th, 2012, 12:38 pm

If you are deterred by the rising cost of new Diesel trucks maybe this is an alternative! I saw that lifestyle motors have introduced the indian based pickup truck or pikup (as they called it) Mahindra Scorpio.

The 4x4 double cab is just $154,575.00 and you get 3 years warranty/100K

Features include;

2.5L turbo diesel
ABS
Power windows/ Wing mirrors
MP3 Player/AUX USB
Side steps
Fabric Interior
Fog Lights.

Truth is - it is damn ugly but you can't beat value for money!

So what you guys think? maybe some mods and this could be a Badass offroader?

NCAP rated it as 3 stars

So the real question is - will you buy it?

venum

Re: Mahindra Pikup - cheap alternative 4x4??

Postby venum » April 17th, 2012, 12:46 pm

not buying

there will be limited alternatives to Lifestyle for mechanical parts

probably no alternative for body parts

that same 154k can get a good used L200, Hilux, B2500, Ranger, Dmax, narvara etc that has much better reputation and maintenance options

not to mention resale value

civic minded

Postby civic minded » April 17th, 2012, 6:07 pm

Postby sliderz1 » April 17th, 2012, 7:27 pm

that would be fantastic for Ministry/Contractor vehicles, that way no one would theif parts from it to put on their own vehicles. :|

its cheaper than the Wingle too ent?

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » April 17th, 2012, 7:30 pm

I couldn't own something like this ... everytime I walk up to it I'd want to kick it for being so damn fugly

civic minded

Postby civic minded » April 18th, 2012, 7:17 am

i donno - maybe an arb bumper, lift kit and flared tires - it could look good??!

civic minded

Postby civic minded » April 18th, 2012, 7:21 am

the last two trailblazers rally - the Mahindra was there - Lifestyle motors trying to promote the truck as a 4 wheel drive alternative. It actually took part in the events.

We need to send our resident critic in for a closer look. **paging Lighthammer**

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 18th, 2012, 11:43 am

civic minded wrote:the last two trailblazers rally - the Mahindra was there - Lifestyle motors trying to promote the truck as a 4 wheel drive alternative. It actually took part in the events.

We need to send our resident critic in for a closer look. **paging Lighthammer**

I'm free next week... who wanna come?
Roadtrip to Lifestyle Motors is in order...

civic minded

Postby civic minded » April 18th, 2012, 12:28 pm

^^ make an appointment ! Test drive the mahindra and the jeep wrangler! :)

venum

Postby venum » April 18th, 2012, 6:29 pm

interested in the wrangler review

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » April 19th, 2012, 2:21 pm

I asked the price of the Wrangler yesterday... Over $600,000.. OUCH

For that price I will custom order a Defender, kit it out with every possible off road accessory and then have $100,000 to spare

venum

Postby venum » April 19th, 2012, 11:17 pm

CD4Accord wrote:I asked the price of the Wrangler yesterday... Over $600,000.. OUCH

which is prob why you don't see any on the roads

they selling fro US$23,000 in Florida

civic minded

Postby civic minded » April 20th, 2012, 8:25 am

thats the LHD. RHD have to be imported elsewhere.

Postby ronsin1 » April 20th, 2012, 4:46 pm

lighthammer wrote:
civic minded wrote:the last two trailblazers rally - the Mahindra was there - Lifestyle motors trying to promote the truck as a 4 wheel drive alternative. It actually took part in the events.

Was planning to go to Lifestyle next week when I was in Port of Spain let me know and date and time :)

Postby ronsin1 » April 20th, 2012, 4:46 pm

lighthammer wrote:

Was planning to go to Lifestyle next week when I was in Port of Spain let me know and date and time :)

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » April 20th, 2012, 5:46 pm

CD4Accord wrote:I asked the price of the Wrangler yesterday... Over $600,000.. OUCH

:shock: ............ :rofl: :lol: :lol:
As for the mahindra, they should start using these as government vehicles :idea:

civic minded

Postby civic minded » April 20th, 2012, 7:07 pm

All of us joked about the wingle and look how popular it has become , they are everywhere. I am sure we will see more and more mahindras on the road

civic minded

Postby civic minded » April 20th, 2012, 8:39 pm

LOL - spot a guy came in to buy some rimz

VK-Sportsman

Postby VK-Sportsman » April 29th, 2012, 7:44 pm

CD4Accord wrote:For that price I will custom order a Defender, kit it out with every possible off road accessory and then have $100,000 to spare

Or you could get a used Wrangler Unlimited CRD from the UK, mod it like below and still have lots to spare :mrgreen:

killersuzuki

Postby killersuzuki » April 30th, 2012, 2:23 pm

600k.....for a Wrangler!!!?!?!!??

Steups!

civic minded

Postby civic minded » May 5th, 2012, 7:09 am

anyone went in to check out the mahindra yet? Saw one in south , it is more ugly in person...lol but it is huge! bigger than my ranger! and its tall, saw the people inside have lots of headroom like you get in a 3ton truck.

guard62

Postby guard62 » May 30th, 2012, 4:50 pm

at first glance on the Mahindra scorpio i also thought that it was very weird looking, but a military finish was also noticed. i decided to go into the showroom and check it out further just off curiousity.
the following were my observations:
- most spacious cabin of all pick ups.
- the back seat is longer than the hilux, navara and ranger which gives the passengers in the rear more comfort additionally, they have their own AC vents for further comfort.
- the van has a very tough and sophisticated suspension system. I went to test drive this vehicle and took it on "stone road" uphill and to my surprise, the van sat down comfortably and did not present the rough rides associated with the Ranger, frontier, Navara, and DMAX.
I was so impressed that i purchased one. the van also includes other features such as: FOLLOW me lights, Steering controls for the audio etc
its worth the price!!!!!!!!!!!!!

civic minded

Postby civic minded » May 30th, 2012, 7:06 pm

^^throw up some pics!

Postby sliderz1 » May 30th, 2012, 8:22 pm

Congrats on your purchase

guard62 wrote:- the van has a very tough and sophisticated suspension system.

can u elaborate more please.

guard62

Postby guard62 » May 31st, 2012, 8:19 pm

ok, firstly; the van is being marketed by Lifestyle motors not as a luxury one but that of a work horse. its tray is designed to load a maximum of 1 tonne in goods. thats superb!
the rear suspension consists of multilinks which has 3 more "links" than the hilux, ranger and DMAX providing a better cushion on rough terrain.
The euro II engine is superb in that it recyles the exhaust emissions into energy for the van; hence, the vehicles sips diesel. :)
when u drive this vehicle; in my honest opinion, i feel as though im driving a SUV and not a pik up!!
this will definately be a hot seller in 2 years time.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » May 31st, 2012, 8:38 pm

do a video and some pictures - lets see what it looks like

venum

Postby venum » June 1st, 2012, 12:23 am

I not bashing the truck or the OP here eh but . . . most things mentioned are pretty much standard on any new or even several years old 4x4 pickup

guard62 wrote:ok, firstly; the van is being marketed by Lifestyle motors not as a luxury one but that of a work horse. its tray is designed to load a maximum of 1 tonne in goods. thats superb!

most other 4x4 and 4x2 have 1 tonne payloads. My Sportero's payload is 20kg short of 1 Tonne

not really superb, but standard

guard62 wrote:the rear suspension consists of multilinks which has 3 more "links" than the hilux, ranger and DMAX providing a better cushion on rough terrain.

you mean more helper lifts in the lift spring bundle :?:

not necessarily a better feature

more lifts = more noise

more lifts do not necessarily mean more rugged - depends on how thick the lifts are

guard62 wrote: The euro II engine is superb in that it recyles the exhaust emissions into energy for the van; hence, the vehicles sips diesel. :)

EGR :?: this is pretty much standard technology on any diesel engine

most\all common rail engines have egr and some later model direct injection diesel engines have egr (Nissan YD30, Mitsubishi 4M40 and 4M41)

guard62 wrote: when u drive this vehicle; in my honest opinion, i feel as though im driving a SUV and not a pik up!!

as compared to a new Hilux, Ranger, Sportero, Narvara :?:

guard62 wrote: this will definately be a hot seller in 2 years time.

time . . . time will tell, we will see

The Wingles selling more popular now than when they were first introduced as to be expected with any product that is on the market for several years - customers adoption increased, but that does not necessarily say that it is a good vehicle, just that more ppl buying it

maybe because of the price without regard for the quality

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » June 1st, 2012, 1:07 am

^^^ I agree completely here, but please don't take it as a negative criticism guard62. I don't mean to fight you down or bash your choice in brand... And I'm sure venum doesn't mean to either. I try to appreciate all brands of pickups for all their own specific strengts and weaknesses.. As you could see in my blog in my signature.

Most of what you've written about the mahindra tuck are already present in most of our local pickups and are not new technologies. They have all hen tried and tested and its great to see a more budget-minded brand like Mahindra including thedy established technologies in a truck that an average guy could afford instead of throwing together the latest and greatest the but then pricing it out of reach of the average consumer.

I always tell ppl to buy the truck that suits their needs after doing the required homework and research on the possinle choices. That way they can make an educated decision on which truck they want to buy that suits their needs most appropriately. That way, you avoid wasting money nd won't experience buyers remorse.

Congrats on your purchase, its good to have a mahindra owner on the forums now, where hopefully you can educate the rest of us on how the truck keeps up over time. I just hope you made the purchase based on what you need the truck for. K

civic minded

Postby civic minded » June 2nd, 2012, 7:43 pm

Lighthammer - yah stickin! you suppose to be in the dealership already doing a test drive!

venum

Postby venum » June 3rd, 2012, 8:11 am

saw several TATA Xenon on the roads as well

http://www.tataxenonxt.com/

much better looking

quality :?:

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”