Page 1 of 16
Build Project: Suzie!!
Posted: August 4th, 2012, 3:28 pm
by neckto
isuzu 2002 model 4 X 2 TBN Series
it's a fixer upper project so i will be looking for plenty parts so if any of you can point me in the direction of parts places and or foreign used parts dealers who carry parts for isuzu or all pickups i will be very great full
hope i remember to take pics along the way to maybe show the project in it's phases
took some already
thanks all
Re: Bought a Pickup Finally
Posted: August 4th, 2012, 3:30 pm
by Paullct
congrats man and best of luck with everything
Posted: August 4th, 2012, 3:34 pm
by neckto
Thanks Bro
gonna need it - kinda gotten more problems than I bargained that's why its now a "project" but I'm going to bring it back like new no matter how long it takes
Posted: August 4th, 2012, 4:22 pm
by lighthammer
Throw up some pics dude!
Congrats on ur purchase.
What's ur long term goal for the truck though?
Daily driver?
Workhorse?
Show truck?
Posted: August 4th, 2012, 7:13 pm
by neckto
yes i will soon, only got it yest and was busy scrapping it out all morning to assess the work to be done.
what ive found so far, some ppl really "bad treat" vehicles jed
goal for this truck is daily driver/ part time work untill i decide to sell it
Posted: August 4th, 2012, 7:38 pm
by sliderz1
does fixer upper = build thread?
Hope you're satisfied with your buy!
as far as parts go..... contact
Filterproz, seems he can source it once req'd
Posted: August 4th, 2012, 7:47 pm
by neckto
yea sliderz some REbuilding to do..........from the chassis come straight back.
Engine locked up, so dropping the whole drive train and will work on it outside of the body
parts list going to be very long sigh..........started liaising with filterproz already thanks for the heads up
if u looking for a SURFLUX kinda build then no lol, but its gonna be very interesting and challenging esp since this is my first pick-up n first diesel i have alot of research n learning to do
Posted: August 5th, 2012, 5:15 pm
by neckto
Posted: August 5th, 2012, 5:17 pm
by neckto
was looking like a diamond in the rough, couldnt get the mechanic or the straightner to go when i had the time so decide to take a chance.....crazy? stuipd? brave?.......we'll see!!
Posted: August 5th, 2012, 5:22 pm
by jblCROWN
u have rell work to do hoss george down by nagar road hav rell parts for this pickup will try ti get contact no. for u d man have everything
Posted: August 5th, 2012, 5:32 pm
by neckto
Posted: August 5th, 2012, 7:10 pm
by neckto
Posted: August 5th, 2012, 7:15 pm
by neckto
thanks man i look forward to the info.........trust that
jblCROWN wrote:u have rell work to do hoss george down by nagar road hav rell parts for this pickup will try ti get contact no. for u d man have everything
Posted: August 5th, 2012, 8:40 pm
by sliderz1
We should take the rope n hang the last owner/s ent?
X2 do eeeeeeeeeeet!!!!!!
got some work on your hands there brah
that chassis among other things is concerning

Posted: August 5th, 2012, 8:57 pm
by neckto
ent!!!
that one is beyond my DIY skillset.......have to bring in the experts for that one
Posted: August 6th, 2012, 8:35 am
by Paullct
makes me wonder WTF they were doing with that van
Posted: August 6th, 2012, 12:20 pm
by Mr. Go Slow
ummm ... hoss i admire your cajones at taking on this ... but how much are you into this for? Possibly worth it to cut losses at start with another donor vehicle with a solid chassis at the least?
Posted: August 6th, 2012, 2:47 pm
by FilterProz
hey buddy sent request to thailand isuzu already looks like i should add a clutch and pressure plate and seals one time...
will let you know as much info diagrams i can get to help you out.
Posted: August 6th, 2012, 3:29 pm
by bigchief3679
oh
my
god

Posted: August 6th, 2012, 5:41 pm
by neckto
filter Proz
Thanks, i'm waiting patiently for your quotes.......need those asap
Flex Plate
clutch plate
Slider bearing
Gear shaft cover (that the slider bearing slides on)
Drive Shaft Centre bearing
Rear Lift Springs
Shocks (pair of front and back) quote each pair seperately
Hand Brake Cables
ALL Belts
Front Grille
ANYBODY WANNA QUOTE PLEASE FEEL FREE
on the above or anything else i listed which i will need soon enough list is just the priority right now
Go Slow...the thought crossed my mind but for various reasons im in too deep to back out so will see it through
Posted: August 6th, 2012, 6:13 pm
by tourniquet
Mr. Go Slow wrote:ummm ... hoss i admire your cajones at taking on this ... but how much are you into this for? Possibly worth it to cut losses at start with another donor vehicle with a solid chassis at the least?
this

as is right now, this looking like a
take a corner and get over taken by my tray setup

This thread should be interesting though; I look forward to your updates OP, particularly with the chassis work
Good luck man

Posted: August 6th, 2012, 7:46 pm
by neckto
trying to get the cab off right now........this week kinda screwed up work-wise, when i'm home my dad at work n vise versa, hope to get it off and start the chassis work this week tho, also want try to start the engine on the ground to see if/how it runs
Posted: August 7th, 2012, 9:18 pm
by trinibajan34
B best of luck with you and that project ,i watch them pics and felt sick.
Posted: August 8th, 2012, 7:42 pm
by neckto
UPDATE
opened crank case to check engine
everything looked ok cleaned, mounted back up and attempted to start on ground.

After a couple tumbles, she started and was purring beautifully, minimal smoke, good strong rev n idle, no signs of back pressuring, good compression
wouldv really preffered to do a full engine overhaul since it already out but since everything else eating up budget we decide to put her in and let her run till later on
now just to get the Gearbox Parts............FilterProz!!!!! ah waiting...........
Posted: August 8th, 2012, 8:20 pm
by sliderz1
good, once less thing to put out money for
Posted: August 8th, 2012, 8:21 pm
by neckto
Ent boy
Posted: August 9th, 2012, 1:18 am
by lighthammer
gotta love a good diesel engine, eh?

Posted: August 9th, 2012, 2:52 pm
by neckto
^^^^
For Realz
now to flush out the cheap NP oil i used to just start it n replace with some good stuff
was thinking to go synthetic but after reading the oil thread I think mineral or semi syn would be better for the older direct injection engines
thinking bout Shell Rimula R4 semisynth
thoughts anyone?
Posted: August 9th, 2012, 3:53 pm
by droppa
hoss, yuh have real work cut out for yuh, but u and daddy looks like u got some tools and cud handle it, one of the problem with trades men today are they jus look for change parts, and rather not actually repair of fix something prperly....
my advise, is look around and ask around, van looks like it was a fish van, so the salt lick up the chassis, and den he carry it by he padna bobol, and they wrap a roll on and buy a half, and wen bad head take dem then they fix van...........
yuh start good, scrap out, clean up and come back up bit by bit, dont bite off more than u can chew, any isuszu man yuh see flag dem down and nicely question them where have parts, (it worked for me, i see a man washing his patrol half nine in the night and reversed and talk to him, he link me wit a fell in south and i get what i wanted)
jus take yuh time and pace yuhself padna.......
Posted: August 9th, 2012, 4:00 pm
by neckto