WTK: How to stop fender howling noise when driving

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
siner69

WTK: How to stop fender howling noise when driving

Postby siner69 » November 5th, 2012, 9:39 am

I have a Hilux van, and I find that when I go upwards of 100 km/hr, I get a howling noise coming somewhere from the left side fender I presume. I know this is air getting in somewhere, and that other van users have the same problem, but was hoping someone here could share their knowledge as to how to stop it....

This could be frightening for passengers on the left side of the vehicle if they don't know what the sound is....possibly embarassing to have a Hilux and getting silly noise like this...

neckto

Re: WTK: How to stop fender howling noise when driving

Postby neckto » November 8th, 2012, 8:26 am

need pics of the front left and wheel well to be able to help bro

Postby Team Loco » November 8th, 2012, 11:39 am

it doesnt have to be that. i had the same problem but with an older hilux. i did everything i could to stop that noise. turned out to be the clear protective tape over the chrome rubber strip around the windscreen. over a speed of 100kms, the clear strip would raise and make an irritating sound. but i know the new models dont have any strips.

do you still have the fender inner liner or was it removed? vehicle was in any sort of accident?

siner69

Postby siner69 » November 8th, 2012, 8:03 pm

inner liner there.....vehicle was never in any accidents

neckto

Postby neckto » November 9th, 2012, 6:21 am

is it loose or have any holes?

how bout the cowl panel? any holes or anything going into there?

Postby wagon r » December 4th, 2012, 11:35 am

had this same noise on my brand new ranger.....the windscreen had to be re-sealed. and the noise happened at that exact speed....

...simple check, when next you hear the noise, wind down the windows, it then balances the air pressure, if the noise stops, then it's the windscreen.

if it still continues.....i cyar help yuh....team toyota hoe up there will sort you out.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » December 5th, 2012, 7:22 am

does the howling happen when the moon is full?

:mrgreen:

neckto

Postby neckto » December 5th, 2012, 11:05 pm

lol u nuh easy nah bro

siner69

Postby siner69 » March 18th, 2013, 1:00 pm

nobody else getting this noise?usually happens when the winds are blowing hard during the day on the highways....

Postby black start » March 18th, 2013, 5:20 pm

lighthammer wrote:does the howling happen when the moon is full?

:mrgreen:

kual

Postby kual » March 26th, 2013, 3:29 pm

wing mirrors. fold in and test.

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”