WTK: How to stop fender howling noise when driving

Posted: November 5th, 2012, 9:39 am
by siner69
I have a Hilux van, and I find that when I go upwards of 100 km/hr, I get a howling noise coming somewhere from the left side fender I presume. I know this is air getting in somewhere, and that other van users have the same problem, but was hoping someone here could share their knowledge as to how to stop it....

This could be frightening for passengers on the left side of the vehicle if they don't know what the sound is....possibly embarassing to have a Hilux and getting silly noise like this...

Re: WTK: How to stop fender howling noise when driving

Posted: November 8th, 2012, 8:26 am
by neckto
need pics of the front left and wheel well to be able to help bro

Posted: November 8th, 2012, 11:39 am
by Team Loco
it doesnt have to be that. i had the same problem but with an older hilux. i did everything i could to stop that noise. turned out to be the clear protective tape over the chrome rubber strip around the windscreen. over a speed of 100kms, the clear strip would raise and make an irritating sound. but i know the new models dont have any strips.

do you still have the fender inner liner or was it removed? vehicle was in any sort of accident?

Posted: November 8th, 2012, 8:03 pm
by siner69
inner liner there.....vehicle was never in any accidents

Posted: November 9th, 2012, 6:21 am
by neckto
is it loose or have any holes?

how bout the cowl panel? any holes or anything going into there?

Posted: December 4th, 2012, 11:35 am
by wagon r
had this same noise on my brand new ranger.....the windscreen had to be re-sealed. and the noise happened at that exact speed....

...simple check, when next you hear the noise, wind down the windows, it then balances the air pressure, if the noise stops, then it's the windscreen.

if it still continues.....i cyar help yuh....team toyota hoe up there will sort you out.

Posted: December 5th, 2012, 7:22 am
by lighthammer
does the howling happen when the moon is full?

:mrgreen:

Posted: December 5th, 2012, 11:05 pm
by neckto
lol u nuh easy nah bro

Posted: March 18th, 2013, 1:00 pm
by siner69
nobody else getting this noise?usually happens when the winds are blowing hard during the day on the highways....

Posted: March 18th, 2013, 5:20 pm
by black start
lighthammer wrote:does the howling happen when the moon is full?

:mrgreen:

Posted: March 26th, 2013, 3:29 pm
by kual
wing mirrors. fold in and test.