Buying a Used 4x4

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.

Re: Buying a Used 4x4

Postby nervewrecker » February 23rd, 2013, 10:34 pm

zedsqd wrote:what's the mileage?
it's a fair price if the mileage around 100k. the washer bottles are kinda fragile, and maybe it was chaged out. however, it sounds suspect why the radiator was changed ... maybe it got a small front lash. look at the radiator panels top and bottom for bends or overspray on the front parts.

No overspray or evidence of anything painted. Everything matches up. Will check the mileage.
Was inspecting inside the front bumper too, somehow it looks like a pair of screws were loosened and tightened. It don't match the set on the other side.
Owner takes real good care of the van I understand. He stated that he bought it from someone for $70k though and has no intention of selling but he might score a navara. If he does we can talk about the sale then.

sweeks

Postby sweeks » February 24th, 2013, 5:24 am

Fellas just a FYI... A very established lease and rental company in the Couva who resells their vehicles at premium prices is known for changing their mileage.

They should know better ..... But money is in fact the root of all evil.

"Don't Do Dat"

Postby nervewrecker » February 24th, 2013, 7:13 pm

grrrrr...van not for sale, guy decided to keep it. Men calling too much for newer rides.

He said check some guy named Andy in la romaine though, any of you guys know anything about that?

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 25th, 2013, 2:05 pm

nervewrecker wrote:grrrrr...van not for sale, guy decided to keep it. Men calling too much for newer rides.

He said check some guy named Andy in la romaine though, any of you guys know anything about that?

I got referred to a couple guys who 'buy and sell', but I not on that.

I'm looking for a first owner who I can ask questions about anything, not the old "well I eh know what the previous owner do dey nah" type excuse....

Seeing some nice offerings on trinicarsforsale

Gonna check a couple this week

Zed Sqd

Postby Zed Sqd » February 25th, 2013, 5:59 pm

What you lookin at? Maybe some tuners here know the units and can advise on the models.

Captain Awesome

Postby Captain Awesome » February 26th, 2013, 11:51 am

lighthammer wrote:did u get the no?

Jenton's - 6750248

Thanks man. I called them today and asked about changing diff oils but they reported that they deal only in transmissions. Any other suggestions?

Postby nervewrecker » February 26th, 2013, 9:42 pm

zedsqd wrote:What you lookin at? Maybe some tuners here know the units and can advise on the models.

Donno bout VexXx Dogg but i'm looking around for a Nissan frontier 4 door (as stock as possible). Budget is around $80k.

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 27th, 2013, 2:54 pm

I eh tied down to any one vehicle

Have my eyes on the following

Sportero
Ranger
BT-50

Requirements
One owner.
Mileage needs to be reasonable - 100K kms I could live with
Well maintained, original condition - I don't care for chrome anything, closer to factory, the better
Needs to be fully powered. Power windows and doors mandatory, it will be my daily driver.
4x4 for sure, not considering 4x2 at the moment.

Budget is 125K

Postby nervewrecker » March 26th, 2013, 5:57 pm

hey ummm, question:

I know some of these have problems with rust under the tray and bed liner. Whats the best way to check? Do I have to remove the entire tray and check under?

Also, should rust be found, whats the best long term solution to handle it?

Captain Awesome

Postby Captain Awesome » March 26th, 2013, 8:07 pm

Strangely enough, after my great experience in the five months that I've had my 4x4 frontier, on Sunday gone I had something explode in my engine while driving, cutting it off immediately in the process.

Have had a couple mechanics look at it but no one seems to have any idea what went wrong. Did some checks online and it seems like the ZD30T engines have some really serious issues and Nissan even did recalls in some parts of the world.

Be careful when buying used 4x4 d22's with zd30. Save yourself some headache.

sweeks

Postby sweeks » March 26th, 2013, 9:32 pm

I know of a couple people who had their frontier engines rebuilt over 120 k km.

Postby nervewrecker » March 26th, 2013, 9:41 pm

Zd30 models or others?

sweeks

Postby sweeks » March 26th, 2013, 9:45 pm

Both 3.0 and 2.5 turbo charged engines.

Postby nervewrecker » March 26th, 2013, 9:52 pm

What about the td27?

sweeks

Postby sweeks » March 26th, 2013, 9:54 pm

Never heard anything wrt to the td27. (Btw i'm not a Nissan expert).

Postby nervewrecker » March 26th, 2013, 9:58 pm

Even though you not an expert you still have more experience than some of us asking for advice and your advice is appreciated greatly man.
Much thanks. :D

sweeks

Postby sweeks » March 26th, 2013, 10:05 pm

No problem ... Glad to be of help.

Btw I recently heard someone say that the only thing cheap with a diesel vehicle is the fuel/diesel itself. Repairs can be expensive.

Captain Awesome

Postby Captain Awesome » March 26th, 2013, 10:15 pm

Any idea of cost to rebuild the zd30? I don't need an exact figure down to the dollar but a ball park. $1k, 5k 10k?

Postby 3stagevtec » March 27th, 2013, 12:34 am

nervewrecker wrote:What about the td27?

One of my favorite diesel engines, we use a single cab frontier with the td27 at work and that van runs 24/7. It is started at least 4-5 times per shift, most of the runs it makes are short trips, so the engine never really warms up fully. It is generally abused by some workers (driven hard from a cold start, left idling for long periods etc) and that thing never once failed us.

It has a flat torque curve and pulls strong off the line, a very relaxing engine to drive, no lag to deal with. It hawls heavy loads with ease as well. The only downside to mention is the horsepower rating, it's something around 85hp (iirc) and the van is slow. In low speed driving conditions, the lack of power is not a bother though, can execute over takes without any worries and it moves effortlessly due to the high torque..

Postby 3stagevtec » March 27th, 2013, 12:39 am

I just timed 19 seconds for the 0 - 60mph run.. Lol, it's slow.. (Van may need a service)

Postby AllTrac » March 27th, 2013, 2:02 pm

Captain Awesome wrote:Strangely enough, after my great experience in the five months that I've had my 4x4 frontier, on Sunday gone I had something explode in my engine while driving, cutting it off immediately in the process.

Have had a couple mechanics look at it but no one seems to have any idea what went wrong. Did some checks online and it seems like the ZD30T engines have some really serious issues and Nissan even did recalls in some parts of the world.

Be careful when buying used 4x4 d22's with zd30. Save yourself some headache.

i thought the "grenade engine" zd30 was only with the UK model. My last zd30det frontier was a TBT model, I bought it doing approx 110K KM, i started a job in grande, my job requred me to be at various health center sites in far east (mathura, matelot, toco, rio, manzan, brothers road etc)
So when i reached in the Grande head office, off to the site i go. From chaguanas to grande was about 50km and 50km to head back home, then add to whatever location i was sent to. I put that van through the runnings, racked up mileage and sold it at approx 200K km. The new owner still has it, I sold it approximately 3 years ago. Its a real solid van once MAINTAINED regularly according to use. I changed oils every 3 months, never skipped a beat. What was your maintenance schedule like? I always recommend the zd30det frontier for those that dont want to spend much and need a fully powered, 4x4 pick up that could take some abuse.

Captain Awesome

Postby Captain Awesome » March 27th, 2013, 2:41 pm

I got it just five months ago doing 123000km. Since I have it did only 3500km. it is parked most of the time. oil was changed at 126000km.

Previous owner swear he did full maintenance every 5k and engine did perform wonderfully up until that point (full power and very little smoke).

I feel he might ah hit me a 6 for a 9 though because the carpet near the clutch have a big hole since I bought it which could suggest maybe some serious roughing up. No other indication that the van get licks though so I confused.

Postby nervewrecker » March 27th, 2013, 7:41 pm

3stagevtec wrote:
nervewrecker wrote:What about the td27?

One of my favorite diesel engines, we use a single cab frontier with the td27 at work and that van runs 24/7. It is started at least 4-5 times per shift, most of the runs it makes are short trips, so the engine never really warms up fully. It is generally abused by some workers (driven hard from a cold start, left idling for long periods etc) and that thing never once failed us.

It has a flat torque curve and pulls strong off the line, a very relaxing engine to drive, no lag to deal with. It hawls heavy loads with ease as well. The only downside to mention is the horsepower rating, it's something around 85hp (iirc) and the van is slow. In low speed driving conditions, the lack of power is not a bother though, can execute over takes without any worries and it moves effortlessly due to the high torque..

Thanks man.

I understand that engine is a fav amongest the curepe - sando taxi men and plenty maxi men. Looks like it will take some serious jamming.

My driving habits have to adjust to handle is so the slow issue is really a plus.

Isnt there a turbo charger for those too?

Will throw up some pics when I get time.

Mr. Wheeler

Postby Mr. Wheeler » May 20th, 2013, 9:46 am

Good thread here folks...i might be buying my first Pickup due to the conditions of the roads (ptown and environs) i deal with day to day.

I coming from a B14 sunny....popular...Easy to find parts and not all that complicated to fix.

I want to jump into the offroading as well but i have to be realistic with finances.

Might need to start asking more questions like the OP....

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » May 26th, 2014, 3:06 pm

bump in the market for a 4x4

droppa

Postby droppa » May 26th, 2014, 3:50 pm

Ryan ent u had a L2 long time???

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 26th, 2014, 3:51 pm

What you looking for @Crix?

Plenty rollback mileage horror stories, so buy from someone you know first hand

Postby nervewrecker » May 26th, 2014, 6:01 pm

Doh sell the evo

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » May 26th, 2014, 7:20 pm

I sold the l2 long time.
looking for a ranger or a pardner van ( he still deciding)
evo already basically sold. waiting on a friend to organize his moneies

Postby tr1ad » May 26th, 2014, 11:41 pm

Ah still deciding stop harassing meh

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”