Toyota Hilux AC noise

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
cliff

Toyota Hilux AC noise

Postby cliff » December 18th, 2012, 11:54 am

When A/c is turned on there is a loud humming sound...
I have been told its the compressor as well as the clutch assembly,i have also been told it might be the coil.....
Any advise ?

Thanks in advance

King Kool

Re: Toyota Hilux AC noise

Postby King Kool » December 18th, 2012, 11:57 am

Sounds like the internal of your compressor & would most likely soon need replacing!

Did you do any a/c work/gas-up?

cliff

Postby cliff » December 18th, 2012, 1:12 pm

only bought the van about a month ago ,so have not done anything yet...

jpec

Postby jpec » December 19th, 2012, 3:40 pm

i am getting a sound as well in my lux.. won't say it's humming tho but it almost sounds as if you fasten a playing card to your bike so that it hits the rim when you ride. lol, that's the best description i can give. does that sound like similar to what you're getting?

RGF Asset Management

Postby RGF Asset Management » December 19th, 2012, 10:40 pm

i've been getting that same playing card noise in mine also. a/c works fine otherwise so i have ignored it thus far. would be interested to know what's the cause tho.

cliff

Postby cliff » December 20th, 2012, 11:19 am

I was advised I should not use the vehicel beacuse its a single belt & this could lead to further problems like damages to radiator etc...

neckto

Postby neckto » January 5th, 2013, 3:37 pm

jpec wrote:i am getting a sound as well in my lux.. won't say it's humming tho but it almost sounds as if you fasten a playing card to your bike so that it hits the rim when you ride. lol, that's the best description i can give. does that sound like similar to what you're getting?

you sure something didn't blow in by the blower fan and rubbing on it?

does the noise speed increase if the blower speed increases?

jpec

Postby jpec » January 6th, 2013, 11:54 pm

neckto wrote:
jpec wrote:i am getting a sound as well in my lux.. won't say it's humming tho but it almost sounds as if you fasten a playing card to your bike so that it hits the rim when you ride. lol, that's the best description i can give. does that sound like similar to what you're getting?

you sure something didn't blow in by the blower fan and rubbing on it?

does the noise speed increase if the blower speed increases?

I'm really not sure to be honest...i never checked lol. but the noise is pretty constant regardless of blower speed

neckto

Postby neckto » January 7th, 2013, 12:08 am

lol well check the thing nah boy...........if you can take out ur blower too and check it manually and clean it one time.

jpec

Postby jpec » January 7th, 2013, 9:59 am

yehh when i come back in the country i'll do it lol...laziness is a hell of a thing yuh knw

cliff

Postby cliff » January 9th, 2013, 12:03 pm

ok ppl looking for an AC compressor to buy.
Thanks in advance for any assistance

neckto

Postby neckto » January 10th, 2013, 12:30 am

whats ur 20?

cliff

Postby cliff » January 10th, 2013, 2:11 pm

its a 2009 ,2.5L

jpec

Postby jpec » January 13th, 2013, 1:18 pm

well i finally got time to look at the blower fan and everything is clean inside, so nothing is rubbing against the fan, i then tried to see if i can grease the shaft or something to stop the noise but i can't get the fan itself off so I'm gonna need to get a new blower fan and a new filter cuz the cabin filter was NASTY

cliff

Postby cliff » January 14th, 2013, 11:18 am

Aye jpec its not difficult to put up your own post.....if you need help ,pm mods..

jpec

Postby jpec » February 4th, 2013, 11:50 am

lol, hardluck boss..didn't mean to hijack your thread

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » February 6th, 2013, 4:17 pm

Had that problem too. When I went by the blower did not see ne filter, never went there so maybe it never had one or Toyota removed it. However took a cloth and wiped and spun the blades. Lo and behold the noise stopped.

Where can I get the filter to buy?

jpec

Postby jpec » February 6th, 2013, 8:07 pm

what year you have? its placed in a compartment just on top of the blower. if i remember correctly just two clips hold the cover in place and it's there

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » February 7th, 2013, 8:50 am

jpec wrote:what year you have? its placed in a compartment just on top of the blower. if i remember correctly just two clips hold the cover in place and it's there

2008. Yea I see that place. took out a panel and nothing behind it. Just empty.But at least the noise stopped with the cleaning.lol

jpec

Postby jpec » February 7th, 2013, 2:24 pm

lol, i wish i was that lucky...my noise still there even tho i cleaned the blades, which, albeit was not dirty..the only thing dirty is the filter lol

sweeks

Postby sweeks » August 17th, 2019, 7:06 pm

Any updates with the noise??

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » August 17th, 2019, 8:22 pm

my blower going starting to get noisy every now and again it stops anf i have to give it a knock to get if restarted

cheapest i see them is on Amazon

will buy soon

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » October 17th, 2019, 2:35 pm

PariaMan wrote:my blower going starting to get noisy every now and again it stops anf i have to give it a knock to get if restarted

cheapest i see them is on Amazon

will buy soon

so i have a new Hilux from from TTTL 3 months old.

since my first day with the Hilux i heard a Hum in the AC . Notified TTTL before the 1000 km service which was less than 2 weeks after getting the Van.
TTTL said keep checking and it might just me me now getting used to the different noises.

kept getting the noises and informed again at 5000 km service.
nothing was done.

then last month the AC did not come on upon starting van .... drove straight to them that morning . it came back on just before I reach.

took me seriously then and ordered an AC blower for me.

should get it in a few weeks.

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”