Help with replacing Hilux Fuel Filter

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
siner69

Help with replacing Hilux Fuel Filter

Postby siner69 » December 27th, 2012, 8:48 am

Hey guys,

I saw there was a thread on how to replace the Hilux fuel filter, but didn't see any mention of the issue I was having. Yesterday I tried replacing my fuel filter, and when I screwed back on the ring and primed, fuel was leaking out. I tried this several times and still the same issue.

I saw that there was a bunch of arrows on the cartridge holder and even tried lining them up and eventually had to tighten the ring really tight before the fuel would stop leaking.

Is there any special way that the top and bottom housing must be lined up to prevent any leaks?

I found this to be problematic setup when compared to the filter assembly in the B2500's. They are really simple to change almost no chance of leakage....

lighthammer

Re: Help with replacing Hilux Fuel Filter

Postby lighthammer » January 2nd, 2013, 11:07 am

u sure is de correct filter u got?

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » January 2nd, 2013, 5:21 pm

lighthammer wrote:u sure is de correct filter u got?

this, or maybe there was a problem with the rubber seal/ gasket :?:
**shrugs**

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » January 3rd, 2013, 12:22 am

or horr.. yeah that too

did the new filter come with a new o-ring/gasket?
cuz you know.... that might help

:mrgreen:

droppa

Postby droppa » January 3rd, 2013, 8:09 am

maybe there is a small difference in the filter that ur using, or is it the same brand/part # as yours

and as LH said it shud come with a new seal and that seal should be used....

siner69

Postby siner69 » January 3rd, 2013, 8:35 am

yeah it was the sakura replacement filter with all new seals...tried the first one and got the problem, did everything possible to try and change the leak, then decided it must be the filter...so i tried another one, was eventually able to get it to stop leaking with alot of tightening....

took another one from another hilux and tried it, same sakura filter, and it fitted up bit easier....so i MAYBE it cud also be the batch of filters....but for a batch to give problems, that is nearly rare i think....

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » January 3rd, 2013, 7:54 pm

siner69 wrote:yeah it was the sakura replacement filter with all new seals...tried the first one and got the problem...

Look yuh problem dey!!
I don't like Sakura - for most applications they work ok, but know of a couple stories where the fit wasn't exact or the filter just let everything through and it was better they didn't put on a filter anyway!

took another one from another hilux and tried it, same sakura filter, and it fitted up bit easier....so i MAYBE it cud also be the batch of filters....but for a batch to give problems, that is nearly rare i think....

whoogaarrdd why yuh gone and do dat dey bai??

Lol, just kidding.
See the variance in fitment, even though the two filters were for the same truck/engine?

Sakura, black clubs, etc - these companies reverse engineer the OEM filters and sometimes use substandard materials/machining.... quality assurance is a hokey-pokey game with them sometimes.

You want a good, decent filter and cheap price?
Use BOSCH filters - available at Sookhai's diesel services, in Charlieville chaguanas (near to Trac Mac, opposite Pricesmart Chag.).

I regularly buy from them, got filters for me old datsun navara for good prices and good, reliable performance.

Or if you want OEM at good prices, check Filterproz on this forum or check ROC in bamboo.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » January 3rd, 2013, 7:59 pm

don't compromise on your truck's performance and reliability eh... yuh done spend $$$$$$ on the truck, might as well protect it the proper way and those few dollars you skimp on could cost you an engine!

FASTec

Postby FASTec » January 4th, 2013, 12:27 am

what mileage should the fuel filter be change if you using oem? should it be changed at 5k or 10k?

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » January 5th, 2013, 12:52 am

fuel filters generally change at 25,000km if using OEM.
could be a lil' earlier if you using a 3rd party and u not so trusting of them.. or if you see a lot of mileage per month (and therefore use a lot of fuel!)

Postby streetbeastINC. » January 10th, 2013, 2:30 pm

buy ah bt50/ranger;;

Postby equipped2ripp » January 14th, 2013, 3:38 am

You change fuel filters every 20k as well as the air filter.

venum

Postby venum » January 15th, 2013, 11:05 pm

right fellas,

some good advice was given here, but i need to defend the Sakura's

I use OEM mitsu filter in my current L200, but i used sakura in my previous L200 and use only sakura in the Lancers

Sakura filters are excellent filters

the problem occurs when the wrong sakura filter is used in a specific engine

blame the parts places for this and also teh sakura distributors

they sell u a filter for your vehicle which is sometimes the wrong filter for that engine

i have seen parts places that sell the filters and label them for the L200, so they selling those filters for ALL L200's

FC-1001 is sold for the L200, which was traditionally 4D56T or 4D56 N/A engine

but now there is the 4D56DiD and 4M41DiD which requires a different filter: FC-1104

most parts places have teh FC-1104, but only know it is for teh Ranger, prob because that is what the distributor tells them

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » January 28th, 2013, 12:43 pm

I use Sakura all the time. Use to have the same problem.

Now what I do is disconnect the 2 hoses as well as the 2 electrical connection and take out the entire canister.

I can look at it closely and make sure it is properly seated before I start to tighten the cap.

Once it is properly seated with the top part flush with the bottom part I tighten by hand until the arrow from the top part is in line with the arrow from the bottom part.

No real force is required if aligned correctly.

No leakage at all occurs.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » March 19th, 2013, 4:07 pm

http://www.hilux4x4.co.za/change-diesel ... /index.php

Check out this site it gives the exact procedure with diagrams as well as the line up with usefull help for turning the lid!

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”