Why Toyota Trinidad selling new hilux with old model engines?

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
amd-dude

Postby amd-dude » May 21st, 2016, 10:31 am

Just wanted to get this out there. I hope that everyone knows that the new "revo" hilux has a new 2.8 turbo diesel engine, but why is it when I go into Toyota they are saying it is available with 2.5 or 3.0 diesel engines and when I open the bonnet it is indeed the older engine. The ones with D4D on it, the 1kd I believe? Why don't they sell the new pickup with the new engine that supposed to be in it?

Re: Why Toyota Trinidad selling new hilux with old model engines?

Postby pugboy » May 21st, 2016, 10:41 am

because the newer 2.8 is totally new tech to our country(fuel)
whilst the older engines been around a while and more or less proven to work with our diesel.

time will tell if these 3rd gen(common rail type) 2.8 engines have problems with our diesel.
Last edited by pugboy on May 21st, 2016, 10:49 am, edited 1 time in total.

Coppershot

Postby Coppershot » May 21st, 2016, 10:42 am

New model available in these engines below. I'm guessing no parts for the one that not available, so they went with other model options

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Toyota_Hilux#Eighth_generation_.28AN120.2C_AN130.3B_2015.E2.80.93present.29

Powertrain
Engine

Petrol:
2.0 L 1TR-FE I4
2.7 L 2TR-FE I4
4.0 L 1GR-FE V6
Diesel:
2.4 L 2GD-FTV VNT I4
2.5 L 2KD-FTV without intercooler I4
2.5 L 2KD-FTV VNT I4
2.8 L 1GD-FTV VNT I4
3.0 L 1KD-FTV VNT I4

Transmission 5-speed manual
6-speed manual
5-speed automatic
6-speed automatic
Last edited by Coppershot on May 21st, 2016, 10:49 am, edited 1 time in total.

-Roach-

Postby -Roach- » May 21st, 2016, 10:47 am

Thats good marketing by Toyota i must say... If the older model engine perfoming well why bother to put in a new one that can cause problems... Just change the shape of the vehicle.. Add a few extra small features and work back yuh engine... :\

Postby pugboy » May 21st, 2016, 10:49 am

besides we can only drive 65kmh

Postby pete » May 21st, 2016, 11:40 am

When we start to get Ultra Low Sulphur Diesel they might start to bring Tier4 engines here.

Postby zoom rader » May 21st, 2016, 6:24 pm

-Roach- wrote:Thats good marketing by Toyota i must say... If the older model engine perfoming well why bother to put in a new one that can cause problems... Just change the shape of the vehicle.. Add a few extra small features and work back yuh engine... :\

The 3l are apparently marketed for the Americas & Caribbean .

I got a 2016 model and it makes you feel to drive it everyday.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 21st, 2016, 11:05 pm

^I tort u was going n say fitzgerald hinds had an input to what Toyota is presently doing

Postby Team Loco » May 21st, 2016, 11:06 pm

I also have the 2016 model from tttl and i must say it was a good buy. The 1gd 2.8 cannot function well with our diesel.it was a good idea by tttl to bring the new model with a tried and tested engine. The 1kd is pretty good but the older 1kz was the best they ever had. The 1gd turbocharger may be prone to failure due to clogged nozzles sooner than later. Stick to the 1kd and you pretty ok

Postby zoom rader » May 22nd, 2016, 12:10 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:^I tort u was going n say fitzgerald hinds had an input to what Toyota is presently doing

Nope Hinds is juss a kunny.

I spent a good few days doing research as to why some parts of the world are supplied with the old 3l engine.

Ford did not understand third world counties still have bad diesel that's why in trini loads of rangers was shutting down. Ford Trinidad had to by pass the sensor for that reason and having to get a heavy T I blanked ford.

Toyota on the other hand knew about our diesel and the 3l is a proven engine, the 2.8 is yet tobe proven.
Plus I had own a second hand Hilux before for 10 years without any problems, but it was a 2.2 gas engine which is a never done engine.

Postby De Dragon » May 22nd, 2016, 12:22 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:^I tort u was going n say fitzgerald hinds had an input to what Toyota is presently doing

Nope Hinds is juss a kunny.

I spent a good few days doing research as to why some parts of the world are supplied with the old 3l engine.

Ford did not understand third world counties still have bad diesel that's why in trini loads of rangers was shutting down. Ford Trinidad had to by pass the sensor for that reason and having to get a heavy T I blanked ford.

Toyota on the other hand knew about our diesel and the 3l is a proven engine, the 2.8 is yet tobe proven.
Plus I had own a second hand Hilux before for 10 years without any problems, but it was a 2.2 gas engine which is a never done engine.

Bomboclaatt!

castortroy

Postby castortroy » May 22nd, 2016, 6:50 am

How is the acceleration though with the allround heavier body on the 2016 model given the same 1KD on the last MK7 hilux?

Postby pugboy » May 22nd, 2016, 7:00 am

from the mgw/tare figures I think it is a couple hundred lbs heavier
so equivalent to another person in the vehicle

sk1111

Postby sk1111 » May 22nd, 2016, 12:07 pm

The new 2.8 has a diesel particle filter. If you use that engine here with our sheit diesel you will run into smoking and poor performance issues. I believe local new hilux's received the new 6 speed transmission

Re: RE: Re: Why Toyota Trinidad selling new hilux with old model engines?

Postby Team Loco » May 22nd, 2016, 1:42 pm

sk1111 wrote:The new 2.8 has a diesel particle filter. If you use that engine here with our sheit diesel you will run into smoking and poor performance issues. I believe local new hilux's received the new 6 speed transmission

Ypu are talking about the dpf filter. The revo actually doesnt have this. But the new prado supplied by outside dealers has the 1gd with the dpf

Re: RE: Re: Why Toyota Trinidad selling new hilux with old model engines?

Postby Team Loco » May 22nd, 2016, 1:45 pm

castortroy wrote:How is the acceleration though with the allround heavier body on the 2016 model given the same 1KD on the last MK7 hilux?

The acceleration is a bit wanting. It has a new 6 speed transmission. The gear changes are a bit rough. Its quick to jump into eco. But what i like about it is if you push it the engine gives you ample power. I find the engine is detuned abit but then again its responsive when you ask for power deep down. I understand the crappy diesel so i accept it aint gonna be any pep monster. I'd much prefer something that has a greater chance of surviving our diesel, than to pay more for the headache 2.8 revo

amd-dude

Postby amd-dude » May 22nd, 2016, 11:10 pm

Ah, never thought of all those reasons and yes I can agree, my Wrangler's engine doesn't like our sheit diesel. It works but it definitely got dead within a year and sometimes I get some shitty white smoke cause it isn't burning the diesel properly.

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » May 23rd, 2016, 12:04 am

Any reviews on the new Mazda 4x4? Seeing that you all on the topic of shitty diesel?

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » May 23rd, 2016, 1:14 pm

Cousin with the 2,8 Revo is having some issues with the diesel....frustrating.

some one in toyota mentioned to him the model the firm sells is just a re-tuned d4d engine and face-lift. it has been proved to handle the poor fuel in trini.

i am an Owner of the 2011 3.0 d4d hilux...and 146,000+ km no issues.
was hoping to get the new 2.8 revo but will wait a while
Last edited by mitch1980 on October 11th, 2016, 7:55 am, edited 1 time in total.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » May 23rd, 2016, 2:39 pm

^^ first time i am hearing someone have issues with the 2.8

Postby pugboy » May 23rd, 2016, 5:20 pm

tbh though, diesel fuel problems could also be a simple case of bad luck when
filling by a station with dirty tanks who just got a tanker load and all the crud was stirred up.

happened to me by peakes, got a case of serious fuel problems yet practically everybody in the west fills up there no problems

Postby Ted_v2 » May 24th, 2016, 9:43 am

The older 1kz are monsters.

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » May 25th, 2016, 8:37 am

civic minded wrote:^^ first time i am hearing someone have issues with the 2.8

m rampersad have had many vehicles with Revos and fuel issues. their solution is diesel treatment and change fuel filters more often

castortroy

Postby castortroy » May 25th, 2016, 8:07 pm

pugboy wrote:tbh though, diesel fuel problems could also be a simple case of bad luck when
filling by a station with dirty tanks who just got a tanker load and all the crud was stirred up.

happened to me by peakes, got a case of serious fuel problems yet practically everybody in the west fills up there no problems

Agreed 1000%!!

krb4788

Postby krb4788 » May 27th, 2016, 1:19 am

pugboy wrote:tbh though, diesel fuel problems could also be a simple case of bad luck when

Agreed. Had that issue with my last Hilux. Never used another NP station again.

As per the diesel issues people seem to be wary of with the 1GD engine, we are not yet an ultra low diesel community but there have been improvements in sulphur content. Not as much as we would like but it isn't as bad as before. Added to that I bought a Revo after extensive research and consultation with A few mechanics who deal with them. All compounded by the fact that NP opted for the Revo instead of the SRV to add to their fleet.

telfer

Postby telfer » May 27th, 2016, 6:16 am

I was told NP hasn't bought revo they were leased from AM marketing not sure how true

civic minded

Postby civic minded » May 27th, 2016, 6:17 am

The revos NP have are cng

aesstt

Postby aesstt » June 7th, 2016, 1:25 pm

Having a DPF is not a problem. We are capable od remapping the ECM to remove the DPF system for the New and old engines that have them be it the 1GD-FTV / 1 KD-FTV
Removing Adblue systems (SCR) / DPF Systems / EGR systems are all possible with ECM remapping
Give us a call if you have problems 716 4122

IDK123

Postby IDK123 » August 8th, 2016, 9:42 am

Hi
I am looking at purchasing the revo. After researching the new 2.8 is a great improvement on the older 3.0
The 3.0 is not without problems bad diesel can cause this engine to develop a loud knock.

If dirty diesel is expected I am sure there has to be a way to work around this.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » October 10th, 2016, 1:00 pm

Does it make sense to buy a new model with old engine?

What about the improvements such as economy , noise level and improved technology?

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”