WHAT DO YOU THINK SHOULD BE DONE WITH MANNING'S PALACE ?

An archive of the political discussions posted here for the 2010 T&T General Elections

djaggs

WHAT DO YOU THINK SHOULD BE DONE WITH MANNING'S PALACE ?

Postby djaggs » May 26th, 2010, 3:26 pm

Personally I think it should be converted into a museum/High end Villa for rental to the high end market, eg. foreign businessmen, dignitaries people with lots of money looking for really posh accomodations.

At least we could try and recoup some of that lost money.

Or maybe rent it to the Chinese for their embassy and get back some of our money.

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Re: WHAT DO YOU THINK SHOULD BE DONE WITH MANNING'S PALACE ?

Postby RapToR » May 26th, 2010, 3:33 pm

find the jet to go with it

Postby Gladiator » May 26th, 2010, 4:24 pm

Turn it into a 5 star hotel and rent it out to high society travelers etc make back some money from it...

civic minded

Postby civic minded » May 26th, 2010, 4:34 pm

i dont know if you can get back 350 million on a palace - maybe the media can finally get a tour of the premises

Postby M_2NR » May 26th, 2010, 4:38 pm

Didnt Mrs. Kamla say that it goes to the President?

~*Pãñdorą*~
Location: You're Either On My Side, By My Side Or In My Fcuking Way!!

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » May 26th, 2010, 5:38 pm

Only until the President's roof is repaired..

Postby Damien » May 26th, 2010, 5:48 pm

kamla should move in after all that money spent cant get it back now

Postby noshownogo » May 26th, 2010, 5:53 pm

new St. Anns madhouse

djaggs

Postby djaggs » May 26th, 2010, 5:59 pm

That palace was designed to appeal to ones pride and arrogance. I dont think it should be afflicted on Kamla, I like her just as she is now, simple and humble.

If she wakes up in that palace everyday it might go to her head.

Terran

Postby Terran » May 26th, 2010, 6:18 pm

civic minded wrote:i dont know if you can get back 350 million on a palace - maybe the media can finally get a tour of the premises

Last I heard was that the palace cost just about $255m. But some people round it up to $300m and now you're saying $350m.

Can anyone confirm or link the actual cost of it?

I won't blame Kamla for opting not to reside there.

No sense in leaving it unoccupied or condemning it; money has already been spent, so make the best use of whatever we actually have. Go ahead - host diplomats, use it for accommodation by visiting heads of state, host state functions, conferences, and whatever the place is fit to do. Do not spend another cent modifying it; just maintain it.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » May 26th, 2010, 7:54 pm

where would be the official Prime Minister's residence now though?

Postby Stephon. » May 26th, 2010, 7:56 pm

San Fernando where he used to squat before becoming Project Manager.

Postby equipped2ripp » May 26th, 2010, 8:01 pm

^ the man say official Prime Minister's residence.. not the Project Manager's residence :lol:

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » May 26th, 2010, 8:01 pm

i say let d media go inside it to show us d public how d layout is so we can give our opinion on what to do with it ......

Postby Sky » May 26th, 2010, 8:41 pm

Why allyuh insulting project managers so?

Postby brams112 » May 26th, 2010, 8:56 pm

kamla said they were against it,so it may look like she going against her words to live in there

Yorkshirelass
CARS Member

Postby Yorkshirelass » May 26th, 2010, 9:25 pm

Yes the house is over the top in size, however, the quality of the fixtures and fittings from China are really well below par. What you see from the outside is the combination of the Diplomatic Centre to the front which has a large main hall which would have been more than able to hold today's swearing in. There is also a very large dining room. Don't get me wrong, I am not defending what has been done, I too believe it was very over the top in size. Renting it out as a high end villa would not work due to the crappy finishes inside.
The question as to what can be done with it now, it should be used for what it was intended. Never understood why it is that dignitaries stayed at the Hyatt, Hilton etc when the house has more than enough guest rooms, also didn't see much use of the main hall in the diplomatic centre which is a very useful space. We, collectively payed for the house, and most of us, elected to put Kamla in power, so why should she not live there? The President currently lives in a very nice cottage in the back of the Presidents grounds which was recently (as much as 4 years ago) renovated after it was decided that the Official Presidents house was deemed unsafe. As the President is merely a State figure, to me, it is quite satisfactory for him to be in the cottage, until such a time that the Presidents house is safe, (which hopefully will be high on the agenda of the new PM and Government to fix), with a sharing of the Diplomatic centre for occasions where necessary.

djaggs

Postby djaggs » May 26th, 2010, 9:46 pm

Yorkshirelass wrote:, the quality of the fixtures and fittings from China are really well below par. What you see from the outside is the combination of the Diplomatic Centre to the front which has a large main hall which would have been more than able to hold today's swearing in. Renting it out as a high end villa would not work due to the crappy finishes inside.

I guess its design was meant to reflect Mannings vision for tnt, shiny on the outside, but cheap and dilapidated on the inside.

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » May 26th, 2010, 9:48 pm

Sky wrote:Why allyuh insulting project managers so?

mayBE because during the construction of the palace there was also another "project" in south trinidad that was being treated to similar undertakings with the same said taxpayers monies!

I say tek away the project managers personal residence and give it to the POOR!

TK!

Postby TK! » May 27th, 2010, 12:15 am

some special children's home. the money wasted there could've been spent on the kids who needed operations etc...

geodude

Postby geodude » May 27th, 2010, 3:54 am

if alluh want i go will accept it on behaft of the tax payers of trinidad,

link

Postby link » May 27th, 2010, 5:46 am

AFTER the expose' on the cheap finish, I hope auditors evaluate the true cost of the 'renovations' and make manning PAY FOR THIS THEFT OF TAXPAYERS' $$$.
It was always the Prime Minister's residence and Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar will ensure it returns to it's proper dignity & relevence.
the same applies to rubber-stamp max.........as soon as he leaves
rgds

Postby Sky » May 27th, 2010, 8:19 am

evo-STI-k wrote:
Sky wrote:Why allyuh insulting project managers so?

mayBE because during the construction of the palace there was also another "project" in south trinidad that was being treated to similar undertakings with the same said taxpayers monies!

I say tek away the project managers personal residence and give it to the POOR!

No, why allyuh callin THAT MAN a project manager?

Project managers assess and plan a project before they even think about starting
they plan a budget, they get it approved.
They create scopes of all tasks to be done
They work by a time line
they DO NOT blow holes in the budget to buy jets, start stadiums with iron they pick up by the beach or build a "lil" sumtin for themselves.
They DO NOT do anything without getting approval from who they work for.
They DO NOT ignore who they workin for.
They show full transparency wrt contractors and who doing what.

Now stop calling that man a project manager please. If I was one I'd be insulted.

Return to “T&T GENERAL ELECTIONS 2010”