Vehicle TRANSFER FEES in Trinidad & Tobago

Looking to Buy, Sell or Trade your vehicle or parts? Post it here
Cars, Bikes, Trucks, Pickups, Vans, Boats, ATVs etc

Forum rules
• Negative comments or replies, lowballing or 'sale bashing' are NOT allowed in FS topics.
• Personal ads are FREE. Commercial Ads are not allowed without Powerseller Status. Posting items/property for rent is considered commercial.
• Powerseller status is for users who wish to post many items for sale, new or used.
• Even if you do not own a business but would like to post many items for sale, then Power Seller status is required.
• Users are limited to no more than 2 simultaneous Ads / FS (For Sale) topics per classified forum; powersellers are limited to no more than 4.
• Ads that have not been replied to after 180 days will be deleted.
Please click here to view the forum rules
GTi Guy

Vehicle TRANSFER FEES in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby GTi Guy » June 20th, 2008, 9:49 pm

CHANGING OWNERSHIP OF A MOTOR VEHICLE IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

How to transfer your car in T&T.
You must register with the Trinidad & Tobago Transport Division any time you wish to buy, sell or change ownership of a motor vehicle. The registered owner and the new owner together must apply for a change of ownership within seven days of the sale or transfer. You must be at least 17 years old to change ownership of a vehicle.

Changing ownership of a motor vehicle and vehicle safety inspection can only be done at the Port of Spain, San Fernando and Tobago offices.

How do I change ownership?
The registered owner and the new owner must complete the transfer together and submit the following documents to the Transport Division office.

• Complete Change of Ownership Form No. 11
    • Vehicle registration certificate and valid insurance certificate.
    • Valid national ID card or passport for both the registered and new owner.
    • Receipt of sale (where applicable).
    • Prescribed transfer tax and fee.
The application is processed on the same day.

How much does it cost?
The transfer fee is TT$10.00. The transfer taxes vary according to the (license) age of the vehicle:

New Transfer Taxes (as of October 1 2009):
Cars
$6000.00 - Under 2 years
$4500.00 - Over 2 years but not over 5 years
$3000.00 - Over 5 years but not over 7 years
$1350.00 - Over 7 years but not over 10 years
$150.00 - Over 10 years

Procedure:
    • Complete the Transfer Form which is obtained at the information counter
    • Take the vehicle to the Inspection Shed
    • Return to the main office until called to the transfer counter
    • Pay at cashier (usually closes at 3:00 pm)
    • Done

Note:
    • Both parties must be present at the counter
    • Both parties must each have two (2) forms of identification
    • A Receipt with the new owner's name must be presented
    • Insurance in the name of the buyer must be presented (cover note will suffice)
    • Transfer must be effected within seven days of Sales Receipt

Licensing Offices in T&T where transfers can be done:
    Wrightson Road, Port of Spain
    By-Pass, San Fernando
    Milford Road, Tobago
    Licensing Authority, Caroni

Taxes are applied to date of 1st registration in Trinidad & Tobago (license plate series), NOT year of manufacture.

P_ series
(1912-1979)
P
1912-1953

PA
1945-1946

PB
1951-1955

PC
1955-1957

PD
1957-1958

PE
1958-1960

PF
1960-1962

PG
1962-1963

PH
1963-1964

PJ
1964-1965

PK
1965-1966

PL
1966-1967

PN
1967-1969

PO
1969-1971

PP
1971-1972

PR
1972-1973

PS (& PM)
1973-1975

PT
1974-1975

PU
1974-1976

PW
1976-1977

PX
1977-1978

PY
1978-1979

PZ

PA_ series
(Nov 1978-Jun 1995)
PAA
Nov 1978-Jul 1979

PAB
Jun 1979-Dec 1979

PAC
Nov 1979-May 1980

PAD
May 1980-Oct 1980

PAE
Oct 1980-Apr 1981

PAF
Apr 1981-Oct 1981

PAG
Sep 1981-Jan 1982

PAH
Jan 1982-Jun 1982

PAJ
Jun 1982-Oct 1982

PAK
Oct 1982-Feb 1983

PAL
Feb 1983-Jul 1983

PAM
Jul 1983-Nov 1983

PAN
Dec 1983-Mar 1984

PAO
Mar 1984-Jul 1984

PAP
Aug 1984-Jan 1985

PAR
Jan 1985-Jul 1985

PAS
Aug 1985-Jan 1986

PAT
Jan 1986-Jun 1986

PAU
Jun 1986-Nov 1987

PAW
Nov 1987-Jan 1990

PAX
Jan 1990-Dec 1991

PAY
Dec 1991-Jun 1993

PAZ
Jun 1993-Jun 1995

PB_ series
(Jun 1995-Jun 2006)
PBA
Jun 1995-Jul 1996

PBB
Jul 1996-Jun 1997

PBC
Jun 1997-Jan 1998

PBD
Jan 1998-Jul 1998

PBE
Jul 1998-Dec 1998

PBF
Dec 1998-Jun 1999

PBG
Jun 1999-Nov 1999

PBH
Nov 1999-May 2000

PBJ
Jun 2000-Jan 2001

PBK
Jan 2001-Jul 2001

PBL
Jul 2001-Jan 2002

PBM
Jan 2002-Jul 2002

PBN
Jul 2002-Dec 2002

PBO
Dec 2002-May 2003

PBP
May 2003-Oct 2003

PBR
Nov 2003-Mar 2004

PBS
Apr 2004-Aug 2004

PBT
Aug 2004-Nov 2004

PBU
Dec 2004-Apr 2005

PBW
Apr 2005-Jul 2005

PBX
Aug 2005-Oct 2005

PBY
Nov 2005-Mar 2006

PBZ
Apr 2006-Jun 2006

PC_ series
(Jul 2006-Sep 2013)
PCA
Jul 2006-Aug 2006

PCB
Oct 2006-Dec 2006

PCC
Jan 2007-Apr 2007

PCD
Apr 2007-Jul 2007

PCE
Jul 2007-Oct 2007

PCF
Oct 2007-Dec 2007

PCH
Jan 2008-Apr 2008

PCJ
May 2008-Aug 2008

PCK
Aug 2008-Jan 2009

PCL
Jan 2009-May 2009

PCM
May 2009-Sep 2009

PCN
Sep 2009-Feb 2010

PCP
Feb 2010-Jul 2010

PCR
Jul 2010-Nov 2010

PCS
Nov 2010-Jun 2011

PCT
Jun 2011-Dec 2011

PCU
Jan 2012-Jun 2012

PCW
Jun 2012-Sep 2012

PCX
Sep 2012-Jan 2013

PCY
Jan 2013-Jun 2013

PCZ
Jun 2013-Sep 2013

PD_ series
(Sep 2013- Nov 2020)
PDA
Sep 2013-Feb 2014

PDB
Feb 2014-March 2014

PDC
Apr 2014-Jul 2014

PDD
Jul 2014-Oct 2014

PDE
Oct 2014-Dec2014

PDG
Dec 2014-April 2015

PDH
May 2015-Jul 2015

PDJ
Aug 2015-Oct 2015

PDK
Oct 2015-Dec 2015

PDL
Jan 2016-Apr 2016

PDM
May 2016-Aug 2016

PDN
Sep 2016-Jan 2017

PDP
Feb 2017-May 2017

PDR
Jun 2017-Nov 2017

PDS
Nov 2017-Mar 2018

PDT
Mar 2018-Sep 2018

PDU
Sep 2018-Jan 2019

PDW
Jan 2019-May 2019

PDX
Jun 2019-Nov 2019

PDY
Nov 2019-Feb 2020

PDZ
Mar 2020-Nov 2020

PE_ series
(Nov 2020-Present)
PEA
Nov 2020-May 2021

PEB
May 2021-Jan 2022

PEC
Jan 2022-Sept 2022

PED
October 2022 - March 2023

PEE
April 2023 - September 2023

PEF
Oct 2023 - Present

thanks to the TriniTuner members SRASC, stikid09, uttamj, sweeks and MrSammy for gathering and updating this info
Last edited by GTi Guy on November 19th, 2008, 7:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » June 20th, 2008, 9:51 pm

this should be a sticky. great info. thanks.

GTi Guy

Postby GTi Guy » June 20th, 2008, 10:08 pm

thanx to the person who posted it as the announcement

FullStop

Postby FullStop » June 20th, 2008, 10:22 pm

great info

Protege 2NR

Postby Protege 2NR » June 20th, 2008, 10:41 pm

Great Info. Wanted This. Thanks

jouvert

Postby jouvert » June 21st, 2008, 8:59 am

they thanks uttamj, you helped out alot of people with this info man,

bless man, thanks again

g unit

Postby g unit » June 21st, 2008, 12:34 pm

ooooooooooooooooh how great, too bad u posted this 4 days after i went tru this procedure :?

oh an to ammend some parts:

1. You have to have two forms of ID
2. The current owner of the car must have his insurance, as well as, the new owner must have a cover letter (insurance for the day). That will cost you TT$35.00 (Check Motor and General Insurance opposite Jenny's Wok, for the Sando ppl. As for the town ppl, i not sure where u can get one)

johnnyq

Postby johnnyq » June 21st, 2008, 3:59 pm

Thanks for taking the time to post info. It will come in handy

GTi Guy

Postby GTi Guy » June 21st, 2008, 4:48 pm

kevi-boy

Postby kevi-boy » June 24th, 2008, 12:41 pm

Hey guys,

I need some help......

I bought a Primera last week, the series is PBS but manufacture date is August 1999.

On the certified copy, Roll On / Roll Off is not written but the car is a R-ON / R-OFF.

What would the transfer fees be like?

Thanx in advance for any assistance............

secrets

Postby secrets » June 24th, 2008, 1:00 pm

read the very 1st post, that should be of help 2 u

kevi-boy

Postby kevi-boy » June 25th, 2008, 11:33 am

Yeah SECRETS :) , Thanks very much....

But On the certified copy, Roll On / Roll Off is not written but the car is a R-ON / R-OFF.

the series is PBS but manufacture date is August 1999.

kevi-boy

Postby kevi-boy » June 25th, 2008, 11:36 am

Are they goin to check from the manufacture date or the series (PBS) ?

MJ

Postby MJ » June 25th, 2008, 12:19 pm

i think they check from manufactured date cuz i paid $910 to transfer my PBT SiR last year and its manufactured in 2000 so according to the info above they used the manufacture date which was 7 years as opposed to the registration date which would be 3 years...
hope this helps

kevi-boy

Postby kevi-boy » June 25th, 2008, 12:27 pm

MJ, thanks man....

Did your certified copy for the SIR had ROLL ON / ROLL OFF written on it ????

corolla hatch

Postby corolla hatch » June 25th, 2008, 12:41 pm

hey wen i transfered my car and collected the certified copy after the copy came back without my name on it still.... does any1 kno y that could be?

kevi-boy

Postby kevi-boy » June 25th, 2008, 12:53 pm

Corollahatch,

Yuh have to pay TT$20.00 and wait two weeks for the certified copy in your name.

badandy

p.o.s. insurance

Postby badandy » June 29th, 2008, 2:20 pm

i believe jus after licencing p.o.s. maybe 2 buildings west, there's an insurance company dat u can get d cover letter from...

about $35 or so...

bout 1 yr ago i went, not sure if d place still there.
jus for info....

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » July 4th, 2008, 12:03 pm

^^^ Does anyone know for sure?
Ill have to find out anyway as ill be there on tuesday.

Quicksilver

Postby Quicksilver » July 5th, 2008, 5:41 pm

^^^ yeah theyre still there.... its Bankers Insurance and a cover note is $35.00...
and btw if a claim is made while under the cover note, the full premium (usually around $1500) becomes payable before any settlement is made.

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » July 9th, 2008, 5:46 pm

MJ wrote:i think they check from manufactured date cuz i paid $910 to transfer my PBT SiR last year and its manufactured in 2000 so according to the info above they used the manufacture date which was 7 years as opposed to the registration date which would be 3 years...
hope this helps

^^^ can anyone confirm if this is so, or was MJ's case an oversight on licensing office part? Is the transfer tax, which is determined by the age of the vehicle, based on age from Year of Manufacture or Year of Registration?

Thanks 8-)

Nick29

Postby Nick29 » July 9th, 2008, 5:52 pm

^^^It's based on year of manufacture.

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » July 9th, 2008, 6:08 pm

Cool - thanks for the info :mrgreen:

venomous

Postby venomous » July 10th, 2008, 7:29 pm

anybody know how long it does take to to all this?? like d actual time to sign over d vehicle n stuff.. :? :?

GTi Guy

Postby GTi Guy » July 10th, 2008, 7:35 pm

A full day!!! A very long n annoying full day..thts if u th guy buyn the car, if ur selln shudnt take too long all.

Quicksilver

Postby Quicksilver » July 11th, 2008, 7:42 pm

^^^ nah, if you get there early it doesnt take very long..... Im usually out of there by 9:30 when buying and 8:30 when selling.... earlier u get there the better.

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » August 31st, 2008, 9:23 pm

if the car doesnt have insurance..... can both the buyer and seller take out a one day insurance" cover note" to transfer the vehicle?

GTi Guy

Postby GTi Guy » August 31st, 2008, 10:24 pm

hrmmm they never sed anything abt how long the insurance have till it expires once both of u have it

gtr_fever

Postby gtr_fever » September 1st, 2008, 6:59 pm

not trying to be stupid but just a btw...u need to add a lil $10 to all the transfer fees above :P
Actually i didnt even know about the under 2 years one so thanks about this dude...

Bless...

backpressure

Postby backpressure » September 7th, 2008, 7:22 pm

this is a issue to be dealt with, now check it how they see it.A imported knocked down registered PBC number plate, old car 1989, they use what ever makes more money for them. thats wrong! they cant say 1989 year of manufacture must pay a 2000 transfer fee because the plate is PBC and was registered in 2000. so its now a 2000.
BIG ISSUE now this inspection thing YOU driving a PBC which does NOT need inspection but is a OLD car year of manufacture 1989, you have to go for inspection, spend some more money. CHECK THAT OUT! an this is a FACT .

Return to “Car Classifieds - Buy, Sell or Trade”