Frontier vs navara for off road capability

Plan out, organise and post pics and vids of your OFF-ROAD adventures. Clubs, crews and associations are welcomed!

Preludeman1

Frontier vs navara for off road capability

Postby Preludeman1 » January 16th, 2014, 11:16 am

Hey guys thinking of getting a 4x4 to go off-roading (recreationally) and had a good deal on a frontier 3.0 turbo or is it better to think along the lines of a used navara?

Richard Marshall

Re: Frontier vs navara for off road capability

Postby Richard Marshall » January 16th, 2014, 11:40 am

My uncle and friend both drive a Navara. Off Road capabilites are much better, stock, compared to a Frontier after being in one also.

Postby 3stagevtec » January 16th, 2014, 6:54 pm

I would say otherwise.. After seeing them both perform on trails, the Frontier will get my vote. Stock vs stock, the Rangers, B2500s and Frontiers will outperform a Navara in challenging terrain.

Richard Marshall

Postby Richard Marshall » January 16th, 2014, 8:23 pm

Go down south. And ask one of the many, who uses their Navara for offroad. Their are alot of them, built and modified for extreme offroad runs. Go online and do research also.

Postby 3stagevtec » January 16th, 2014, 8:43 pm

Go down south eh.. lol

The only 'extreme' navara is Dean own, but he uses farmal tyres to get performance.. outside of Dean, i will have to keep looking, will keep my eye open whenever i'm in south next.

Jokes aside. A navara is a poorly designed vehicle for off roading use. Its long wheelbase, low approach angle, exposed undercarrage, poor turning circle and absolute lack of flex makes it horrible off road when compared to other stock vans. If you want to compare modified vans off road, that is a totally different topic and the results will largely depend on the mods done etc.. stock vs stock, there are many vans out there that will perform better. Btw, i have driven a navara before, so i do know how powerful they are. But power doesnt mean offroad performance

Postby cinco » January 16th, 2014, 9:05 pm

Op listen to 3stage he is a tried and tested offroader
Kal el is a kid who doesnt even own a car...

Preludeman1

Postby Preludeman1 » January 16th, 2014, 10:46 pm

Soo frontier for the win?!?!? :D

Postby sliderz1 » January 17th, 2014, 12:17 am

i drive both.
Frontier has it for offroad

Preludeman1

Postby Preludeman1 » January 17th, 2014, 10:05 am

Excellent :D

DooMRR

Postby DooMRR » January 17th, 2014, 10:19 am

Frontier gets my vote as well.

droppa

Postby droppa » January 17th, 2014, 10:33 am

fronteir will win over navara, all the newer 4bees getting less offroad capabilities and more on road luxuries.......

a 3.0 D22 has a few downsides, turbo, clutch and some have had injector or pump issues, but they still do take a beating.......

2.5 D40 much lower, longer and powerful, which is not a good offroad combination, esp if u going all out.

I will not disban the D40 on the other hand, because they have some potential, lift them, lock them and equip them well and they will perform on some trails, but if u can do more for less with the D22.

Captain Awesome

Postby Captain Awesome » January 17th, 2014, 4:54 pm

Wow. Didnt know this info! Ah could go do some noob offroading with meh d22 zd30 then. Anybody have recommendations on how a noob could get started safely without jumping in some impossible situation like ah a$$?

Preludeman1

Postby Preludeman1 » January 17th, 2014, 6:45 pm

Yeaa join a lil off-road club

droppa

Postby droppa » January 17th, 2014, 8:16 pm

You don't even have to join a club, just make sure your van is in good working condition and good all terrain tires and have a buddy or two who share the same interest with 4bees too and u all can make a small run!

Side b is having a run Sunday, u all are welcomed to join in, there will be plenty of experienced men there and capable vehicles to recover if u all stick, plus there to lend support and assistance!

Captain Awesome

Postby Captain Awesome » January 17th, 2014, 8:28 pm

droppa wrote:You don't even have to join a club, just make sure your van is in good working condition and good all terrain tires and have a buddy or two who share the same interest with 4bees too and u all can make a small run!

Side b is having a run Sunday, u all are welcomed to join in, there will be plenty of experienced men there and capable vehicles to recover if u all stick, plus there to lend support and assistance!

I wanna check it out. Any details as to where and what time the meet is?

Preludeman1

Postby Preludeman1 » January 17th, 2014, 9:14 pm

Captain Awesome wrote:
droppa wrote:You don't even have to join a club, just make sure your van is in good working condition and good all terrain tires and have a buddy or two who share the same interest with 4bees too and u all can make a small run!

I wanna check it out. Any details as to where and what time the meet is?

droppa

Postby droppa » January 17th, 2014, 11:28 pm

viewtopic.php?f=58&t=548929

Pm ur contact numbers and ill talk u all

NMN_57

Postby NMN_57 » January 19th, 2014, 6:48 am

I've owned both vehicles. Sold my last frontier, pumping in a Nav now.
As much as I like running down the highway seeing a l200 try to fight a losing battle or stepping on the gas too hard and burning a bit of rubber, I must say the Nav isn't all that good for off road. It was more geared at a kinda powerhouse/luxury vehicle imo...in addition all that 3stage had to say.
The frontier on the other had, better turning radius, believe the wheelbase is shorter, more ground clearance and I'm pretty sure if you break something, it's not going to be as demanding on your pocket in comparison to the Navara.
All that said, I'd choose the Frontier over the Navara for off roading....

Now lemme go look for that 2" lift and winch for my Nav. LOL.

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » January 19th, 2014, 11:50 pm

man who was biggin up d nav..? where you gone?? Frontier has this win anyday!

Postby Ted_v2 » January 20th, 2014, 12:41 am

Saw them both on a trail already.
The navara was a powerhouse but it wasn't going anywhere in a hurry. Too much power and weight. It's also very big. It's a new vehicle so parts are slowly getting here.
It's more expensive to maintain.

The frontier gets my vote for a full out build. But if you're just interested in some thing for small offloading the nav gets my vote.

All it needs is a lift kit and some tyres. And the usual winch

droppa

Postby droppa » January 20th, 2014, 8:41 am

what kinda van is this???

all in all, as is this still cost less than above......

but both vans here are unequal, bone stock D40 against Modified D22.......

Postby 3stagevtec » January 20th, 2014, 11:33 am

Haha, wow.. what was pulling the Nav is the real monster there! Those vans would need a full out suspension system (high flex etc) to really get the performance level up.

droppa

Postby droppa » January 20th, 2014, 1:09 pm

^^Calvins jimny

Postby 3stagevtec » January 20th, 2014, 1:52 pm

droppa wrote:^^Calvins jimny

Now that would have been a sight to see.. :lol:

Captain Awesome

Postby Captain Awesome » January 20th, 2014, 1:59 pm

lawwwwd that looking like sweetness.

kg494EJ-1

Postby kg494EJ-1 » January 21st, 2014, 5:15 pm

I'm now seeing this post and I have to agree with the majority, the Navara is a good van but horrible off-roader unfortunately(the power is addicting(torque)) but as stated before the weight, ride height and suspension is all wrong for a serious off roader. I use ours for estate runs and in comparison to the D22 we had its no match stock for stock but I'm trying to correct that soon :twisted: .

Rutless Tiida

Postby Rutless Tiida » January 25th, 2014, 11:36 am

Hey guys,
I have owned a D22 QD3.2 and a D40 2.5 (both manual)
only change I made to the D22 was Toyo AT and original rims. I went to Las cuevas a while ago with side B in it and no major problems and no concerns...Went again with the navara and I was worried I would brake it.

If u looking for an nissan pickup offroad vehicle to start with go with the D22 with the QD3.2 non turbo 4x4....with some simple mods you can go almost anywhere...

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » February 2nd, 2014, 8:49 am

To be honest - it really doesn't matter.

What does matter, is how much you're willing to spend on your rig.
Lets be realistic: basic things like better tires (all terrain or mud terrain), mild body/suspension lift will carry you much further than a stock vehicle would, especially with a trained driver.

The bone-stock navara is less equipped than the frontier and it's physical dimensions are less ideal for offroad - but throwing a bunch of money and mods into modifying a Navara OR frontier can fix that. The frontier comes straight out of the box ready to offroad (once you slap on some good all terrain/mud terrain tires).
Again, it depends on your budget as well as your driver.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » February 2nd, 2014, 8:52 am

Rutless Tiida wrote: I went to Las cuevas a while ago with side B in it and no major problems and no concerns...Went again with the navara and I was worried I would brake it.

Buh wha de rass - I was there with you bai with your Navara... and is me who guide you through the ruts in cuevas. :mrgreen:

Sugardaddy12

Postby Sugardaddy12 » February 2nd, 2014, 9:14 am

Boys boys boys toyota hilux surf with 1 KZ

Return to “Off Road Runs”