Side B "Training Day" 2014

Plan out, organise and post pics and vids of your OFF-ROAD adventures. Clubs, crews and associations are welcomed!

droppa

Side B "Training Day" 2014

Postby droppa » May 1st, 2014, 1:49 pm

folks, the time has come again for us to refresh our skills and also to train some of the newer folks in the offroad stage some basic safety, recovery, first aid and CPR skills.....you never know when you may be out on a run, relaxing with family or friends and having basic knowledge might be the edge in saving someones life, of at least being able to comfort them until the first responder arrives.....

Date : Sunday 18th MAY, 2014
Venue : Las Cuevas Beach
Meeting Point : Grand Bazaar
Meeting time : 8am-9am
Departure time : 9am

the las cuevas trail is very dry at the moment, stock vehicles are most welcomed.....

more details will follow as we draw closer, we look forward to having you and your family with us on this day, walk with ur coolers packed with your ice cold drinks, food, snacks, towels, change of clothes, sunscreen, meds, etc.....

also there will be "NO DRIVING" on the beach, looking to have some fun and maybe play a lil cricket match or something.......

.z.

Re: Side B "Training Day" 2014

Postby .z. » May 1st, 2014, 5:20 pm

This "sport" gives exposure to many situations whilst removing you further from civilization....

A knowledge of hw to "survive", asess and deal with situations, properly handle/ operate the equipment we carry, improvise, effect trail fixes are great assets that will aid not only on trails but also in everyday life.

A common knowledge helps all to work in unison for a more efficient outcome.

Kudos to u guys!!!

Keep it up!!!

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 1st, 2014, 7:41 pm

This is an open event for anyone with a 4x4 equipped vehicle or anyone interested to attend.

Our aim is to teach about trail safety, basic vehicle recovery techniques and equipment, personal safety equipment and basic medical / CPR techniques with a training dummy (I will personally be instructing, both adult and paediatric dummys will be available to have hands-on experience and practice to interested persons)

We will be using Las Cuevas track/trail for trail-training and we will simultaneously be running basic lifesaving on the Las Cuevas beach (we'll rotate in groups so everyone can get a chance).

In the afternoon we will most likely have a friendly cricket match on the beach, while we chill out and play. Anyone interested in practicing their trail techniques can play on the trail afterwards.

In the interest of nature preservation, we are now in Leatherback Turtle nesting season - so PLEASE NO DRIVING ON LAS CUEVAS BEACH. Game wardens will be active and on patrol, so please follow the law accordingly to preserve turtle nesting sites.

This is gonna be a fun one, and we hope everyone learns something, heck, you might even save a life someday!

eltoro

Postby eltoro » May 2nd, 2014, 9:40 pm

Good initiative guys, for those who already have been trained - refresher safety and first aid is always great especially when it is not part of our everyday responsibility. Have a fun day Side B!

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 3rd, 2014, 7:41 am

Let's start the roll call...

1. Droppa
2. Lighthammer

katastrophic

Postby katastrophic » May 4th, 2014, 11:56 pm

Will there be any water crossing?? My front axle is leaking at the felt pads, which is suspect is due to inner axle seal failure.. Hoping the rebuild kit reaches before the 18th..

stingray316

Postby stingray316 » May 5th, 2014, 12:32 am

1. Droppa
2. Lighthammer
3. Stingray316

stingray316

Postby stingray316 » May 5th, 2014, 12:34 am

katastrophic wrote:Will there be any water crossing?? My front axle is leaking at the felt pads, which is suspect is due to inner axle seal failure.. Hoping the rebuild kit reaches before the 18th..

With the kinda dry weather we seeing, water to axle height might not be an issue.
I have the same front seal leaking, hoping to tackle that this week.

Fazeer

Postby Fazeer » May 5th, 2014, 9:09 am

1. Droppa
2. Lighthammer
3. Stingray316
4. Fazman

TRDGUY

Postby TRDGUY » May 5th, 2014, 9:19 am

Fellas can I join ?

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 5th, 2014, 9:23 am

Of course..... Just take note of the meeting time and place, then copy/paste the roll call list and add ur name to it.... U can pm me or droppa to let us know which vehicle u coming with, etc.

And it's a family oriented event so bring the wife kids cousins, nephew, niece etc....

rx80

Postby rx80 » May 5th, 2014, 9:42 am

1. Droppa
2. Lighthammer
3. Stingray316
4. Fazman
5. rx80 (in d ole man van)

droppa

Postby droppa » May 5th, 2014, 10:47 am

RX80, yuh padna wit the jimny wanna roll, add his name to the list.....Let's start the roll call...

1. Droppa
2. Lighthammer
3. Stingray316
4. Fazman
6. Dobermann and Chin

katastrophic

Postby katastrophic » May 5th, 2014, 10:58 am

1. Droppa
2. Lighthammer
3. Stingray316
4. Fazman
6. Dobermann and Chin
7. katastrophic (once it dry)

rx80

Postby rx80 » May 5th, 2014, 5:49 pm

1. Droppa
2. Lighthammer
3. Stingray316
4. Fazman
6. Dobermann and Chin
8. Micheal (Jimny)

Kashman

Postby Kashman » May 7th, 2014, 9:41 pm

Katastrophic I doubt you gonna find any water on the trail as for garbage lots of it.

Side B family please look out for some concrete pillars that some lovely persons left on trail along with old tiles. The pillars have metal sticking out and when I asked the idiot that was dumping the materials he claimed that they were trying to "fix" the trail so cars can pass in rainy season. He also claimed that he got the blessing of the villagers. The same person is responsible for burning the boat at the end of the trail that was a wreck that they took out of the bay.

droppa

Postby droppa » May 7th, 2014, 10:04 pm

Thanks for the heads up Kirk, we will definitely be on the lookout.....

A lot of ppl use the beach for camping and so throughout the year, but when rains fall only the van men could make it thru, and this disgusts them, never know when they can easily Lodge some objects in those pools that can cause a boi serious injury!!!

1 purple frontier

Postby 1 purple frontier » May 10th, 2014, 10:08 pm

rx80 wrote:1. Droppa
2. Lighthammer
3. Stingray316
4. Fazman
6. Dobermann and Chin
8. Micheal (Jimny)
9. Adil

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 11th, 2014, 2:31 pm

Kashman wrote:Katastrophic I doubt you gonna find any water on the trail as for garbage lots of it.

Side B family please look out for some concrete pillars that some lovely persons left on trail along with old tiles. The pillars have metal sticking out and when I asked the idiot that was dumping the materials he claimed that they were trying to "fix" the trail so cars can pass in rainy season. He also claimed that he got the blessing of the villagers. The same person is responsible for burning the boat at the end of the trail that was a wreck that they took out of the bay.

Perhaps we can bring along a few garbage bags / crocus bags with us, to do a bit of trail cleanup and maintenance.

I'll bring along my shovel and hatchet just in case we need to clear any debris that would be obstructing trail users.

Kashman

Postby Kashman » May 12th, 2014, 3:01 pm

I hope I can meet up with yall there and help out to clear the trail

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » May 12th, 2014, 5:02 pm

1. Droppa
2. Lighthammer
3. Stingray316
4. Fazman
6. Dobermann and Chin
8. Micheal (Jimny)
9. Sanjay aka Sanjeep ( vigo once place dry or frontier if it have mud!!!!)

telfer

Postby telfer » May 12th, 2014, 6:16 pm

1. Droppa
2. Lighthammer
3. Stingray316
4. Fazman
6. Dobermann and Chin
8. Micheal (Jimny)
10.telfer bt50 if it dry jimny when wet

horsepwrjunki

Postby horsepwrjunki » May 12th, 2014, 6:29 pm

If some one can hit me up with a number to meet y'all maracas I want to make the run down the trail.
Makes little sense for me to come to gb to head back up that way

droppa

Postby droppa » May 12th, 2014, 9:40 pm

Junki u cal call me around 10 Sunday morning we should be en route by then

687-5713

Jimmy Font

Postby Jimmy Font » May 13th, 2014, 11:10 am

1. Droppa
2. Lighthammer
3. Stingray316
4. Fazman
6. Dobermann and Chin
8. Micheal (Jimny)
11. Jimmy Font + 1

horsepwrjunki

Postby horsepwrjunki » May 13th, 2014, 11:43 am

1. Droppa
2. Lighthammer
3. Stingray316
4. Fazman
6. Dobermann and Chin
8. Micheal (Jimny)
11. Jimmy Font + 1
12. Horsepwrjunki l200 (x2 if dry)

zukiboi

Re: Side B

Postby zukiboi » May 13th, 2014, 11:17 pm

horsepwrjunki wrote:1. Droppa
2. Lighthammer
3. Stingray316
4. Fazman
6. Dobermann and Chin
8. Micheal (Jimny)
11. Jimmy Font + 1
12. Horsepwrjunki l200 (x2 if dry)
13.RedMan

sandbank

Postby sandbank » May 14th, 2014, 6:06 pm

Droppa, this is David with the Ranger. Still waiting for you to say when you could do the lift.
I suppose this weekend is out :-)

Would very much like to meet up with you guys on Sunday, but I have some commitments in the morning. Might be able to come up around 12.

droppa

Postby droppa » May 14th, 2014, 6:14 pm

David I didn't forget about you, but have a lil change in the day job arrangements, and yeah this weeknd is out, but come next week, if I can handle the van on the weekend, I'll let u kno.

U kno the trail, and anyone else who wants to join in later on or meet up with us, feel free, u will just fit in!

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 15th, 2014, 10:17 am

From the Side B facebook page...

Good morning side b citizens!

This Sunday 18th May we're having Training Day!

Every offroader should know about safety, vehicle safety and recovery, and how to respond in an urgent emergency situation. This applies to anyone on a trail, or even on leisure situations (eg family outings, river lime, down de Islands etc)

Come down to the Las Cuevas beach trail on the north coast to learn how to:
- vehicle recovery
- recovery equipment orientation and personal safety
- situational awareness on trails
- cpr techniques and basic life support.

Anyone can come and all are invited.
You can even bring your own recovery equipment and practice on your own vehicles! (in fact we're encouraging that you do!)

Meeting point - Grand Bazaar, in front ruby tuedays, 8:00am Sunday 18th May 2014.
(we're leaving grand Bazaar at 9am sharp - if you're late just come up to maracas/Las Cuevas to meet us)

Bring your Coolers, drinks and food for the day, or u can stop at Maracas Beach and pick up some bake and shark.

Just to reiterate, here's a few things we wanna cover during training day : how to safely recover a stuck vehicle, basic safety training, recovery equipment orientation eg different types of straps (static vs kinetic straps) towing and recovery points ...

Furthermore, this is all being done voluntarily, there is NO Fee to attend /partake.
Also, like any official Side B run/event, no alcohol consumption allowed, especially no drinking and driving.

Lastly - it's now nesting season for the Leatherback turtles, and Las Cuevas beach is an active nesting site for the turtles. PLEASE NO DRIVING ON THE BEACH, NO DONUTS OR BURNING OUT on the sand. Certain areas will be set aside for training and also for parking, and all reasonable measures will be taken to avoid disturbing any possible nesting sites. Remember this is a protected species and game wardens will be active.

See ya on Sunday!

Return to “Off Road Runs”