VALVOLINE ASPL Drag & Time Attack II - 21.8.11 Pics on Pg10.

brandon005

Re: VALVOLINE AutoSport Drag + Time Attack II - Aug 21st

Postby brandon005 » August 21st, 2011, 10:40 pm

Any videos taken of the evo vs gtr

southside crew

Postby southside crew » August 21st, 2011, 11:10 pm

Could not have asked for anything more... EXCELLENT EVENT!!!!!!!!!!

Valvoline Thank you for the Trophy & the Hamper...... keep it up!!!!!!!!..

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » August 21st, 2011, 11:15 pm

So after all of the hard work to stage this Event, we then had to go through the un-doing process to move out all of our stuff that took days to put in place. So just back in.

All of the comments are noted, the positive and the negative, especially the issues with the classification – I give the assurance that this will be immediately addressed and will be clearly stated for all up coming Events.

On behalf of all parties, competitors, spectators and our entire team, we wish to sincerely thank Valvoline for stepping up to the plate and being title sponsor for this Event. The response from all around shows that this was well appreciated, and will be a big stepping stone for future Events. And we know that there will be continuous benefits to Valvoline as many people become aware of what they missed, and those who attended continue to speak about the fantastic day they had.

To the winners of the different classes, we offer our congratulations. To the DWO Team who saw the benefits of being part of this Event, we know they had a great time, and in turn gave us a brilliant display at the end. We also say a special thanks to our announcers who kept everyone properly informed - yes we are going to improve on that PA system.

And to those guys with the really powerful machines, we have said from the first Event, this type of competition, will bring out the real drivers with the ability to mesh man and machine into one cohesive unit, and did we have that on show today!

At the top,to see Shiv and Peter launch out of the start was just great, even though we know that there is still much to be revealed. And in the end, really the driving skills came to the fore, clearly reveling that “I can drive my expensive piece of machinery” Well done Shiv.

And Sean (porn star) kept complaining, having won the GT3 Class, that he still had to go take part in a knockout. But then, a lil push to come and run the R35, and he started to drool. And wanted to run, and run, and run. But great fun, and well done.

Enough for now, will come back with a more comprehensive report.

W2J

Postby W2J » August 22nd, 2011, 12:26 am

First event IMO was better prep with respect to cone placement and direction this was totally ignored for this one maybe because of all the extra cooks. Classification as I brought up the point before was pulled out a hat or a favour of a freind once again e.g how can you have a lighten, modified circuit car or one with R radials/slicks in the same class with one with Street tyres or standard trim? I had my fun and to me that's what counts.

Postby wagon r » August 22nd, 2011, 1:49 am

paparazzi wrote:
wagon r wrote:
White CZ4A wrote:Big Congrats to papparazzi on winning the event!!!

First is first!

...the launch of 35 was disgusting to say the least.

Thats because I did not launch it. I basically rolled off the line every time. My current tcm map does not have launch control enabled (to save the clutches). If I launched it you would have seen a new level of leave out. Ask porny, he's witnessed my gtr launch properly.

Porny you are clearly in a class of your own when it comes to driving skills. Congrats boy!!

..once again you and I have a mix up in language....talk to Richard, he'll explain what my "disgusted" means... 8-)

...and if that is not a launch..ASPL better start workin on the Arima GP version 3 or whatever he reach....

paparazzi

Postby paparazzi » August 22nd, 2011, 4:17 am

wagon r wrote:
paparazzi wrote:
wagon r wrote:

First is first!

Thats because I did not launch it. I basically rolled off the line every time. My current tcm map does not have launch control enabled (to save the clutches). If I launched it you would have seen a new level of leave out. Ask porny, he's witnessed my gtr launch properly.

Porny you are clearly in a class of your own when it comes to driving skills. Congrats boy!!

..once again you and I have a mix up in language....talk to Richard, he'll explain what my "disgusted" means... 8-)

...and if that is not a launch..ASPL better start workin on the Arima GP version 3 or whatever he reach....

:lol: :lol: I got ya. But I was disgusted in the classic sense by how slow I was off the line. When Launch control is engaged its like being fired from a gun..that's the only way I can describe it.

The gtr has earned a well deserved oil change. It was retuned to 560hp with 520ft/lb of torque from 3000rpm for this event. I am very happy with the performance especially in the corners and under braking considering the car weighs over 4000lbs.

I'd like to thank United auto and performance for ensuring the car was at it's mechanical best yesterday.

gucci05

Postby gucci05 » August 22nd, 2011, 4:31 am

paparazzi wrote:
wagon r wrote:
paparazzi wrote:
wagon r wrote:

First is first!

:lol: :lol: I got ya. But I was disgusted in the classic sense by how slow I was off the line. When Launch control is engaged its like being fired from a gun..that's the only way I can describe it.

The gtr has earned a well deserved oil change. It was retuned to 560hp with 520ft/lb of torque from 3000rpm for this event. I am very happy with the performance especially in the corners and under braking considering the car weighs over 4000lbs.

I'd like to thank United auto and performance for ensuring the car was at it's mechanical best yesterday.

Was the 560hp with 520ft/lb a detuned?

For 560hp it picks up this monster very fast! BEAUTIFUL CAR SHIV! :evilbat:

Postby MG Man » August 22nd, 2011, 6:21 am

paparazzi wrote:. But I was disgusted in the classic sense by how slow I was off the line. .

orly???
slow off the line????
Try 'launching' a CVT tied to a lazy 1.9
For me to register a sub-second r/t I had to floor it on the second yellow :oops:

paparazzi

Postby paparazzi » August 22nd, 2011, 7:05 am

^^ hehehe. Btw 10w60 is what I need to get MG

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » August 22nd, 2011, 7:46 am

nitromethane wrote:LMAO da freaking mazda gtr real sad.......lol dem mazda boys need to learn how to drive da properly !! allyuh delivering cupcakes or wa?

Actually I was learning to drive. Usually my brother runs. Never did any event with cornering. Yes I admit I started off slow feeling out the course and ran a disappointing 62sec. Got it down to 55.4 right behind an evo8 that ran 54.9. I like criticism it makes me see my mistakes and helps me cut down times.

So if laughing at somebody learning is your thing that bigup. I was there when Jodi and others first raced and yes I rem there were idiots just like you in the stands that never tried to even run professionally laughing at him.

Btw great event and looking forward to the next one!!!
Last edited by MAZTUNE on August 22nd, 2011, 7:55 am, edited 1 time in total.

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » August 22nd, 2011, 7:49 am

Great turnout, congratulations to all who won in their respective classes.
Congrats to Mr. Paparazzi............. well done!

Postby MG Man » August 22nd, 2011, 8:30 am

MAZTUNE wrote:
nitromethane wrote:LMAO da freaking mazda gtr real sad.......lol dem mazda boys need to learn how to drive da properly !! allyuh delivering cupcakes or wa?

Actually I was learning to drive. Usually my brother runs. Never did any event with cornering. Yes I admit I started off slow feeling out the course and ran a disappointing 62sec. Got it down to 55.4 right behind an evo8 that ran 54.9. I like criticism it makes me see my mistakes and helps me cut down times.

So if laughing at somebody learning is your thing that bigup. I was there when Jodi and others first raced and yes I rem there were idiots just like you in the stands that never tried to even run professionally laughing at him.

kudos to you man
you had the correct approach, which was to take your time and get a feel for the course, and your time.......well done!

Postby MG Man » August 22nd, 2011, 8:35 am

paparazzi wrote:^^ hehehe. Btw 10w60 is what I need to get MG

wow
closest thing we have is 20W50
but PM me your email address and I'll send you the spec sheet so you can take a look at it

Postby MG Man » August 22nd, 2011, 8:35 am

paparazzi wrote:^^ hehehe. Btw 10w60 is what I need to get MG

wow
closest thing we have is 20W50
but PM me your email address and I'll send you the spec sheet so you can take a look at it

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » August 22nd, 2011, 9:40 am

paparazzi wrote:
wagon r wrote:
paparazzi wrote:
wagon r wrote:

First is first!

had you launched, you would have dropped about 1-2secs off your lap time.
from the vid posted, you really came out of the hole slow.

narutouzamaki

Postby narutouzamaki » August 22nd, 2011, 9:54 am

nex event should have a stock car catergory

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » August 22nd, 2011, 10:31 am

it will be nice to see the times posted and see how the cars "really" ran in relation to upper and lower class cars

Mr. Fixables

Postby Mr. Fixables » August 22nd, 2011, 11:03 am

Devi,

I would have to say, win or lose, to me it was one of the best races in years. You pushed me to the very end and I think we may have swapped positions 6-7 times in that 51 second run.

An EPIC battle for sure and I would have loved for someone to have taken a video of it.

Great drive Devi. I am sure we will have many more close ones like that again. :D

And thanks X2 for convincing me to drive for the event. I was just going to sit back and drink and enjoy the day, but he convinced me otherwise at 8am that morning. LOL

Kirk

paparazzi

Postby paparazzi » August 22nd, 2011, 11:05 am

gucci05 wrote:
Was the 560hp with 520ft/lb a detuned?

For 560hp it picks up this monster very fast! BEAUTIFUL CAR SHIV! :evilbat:

Yes 560 with 520 ft/lb is detuned. Normal mapping produces 626whp and 605ft/lb at 3000rpm. The Spec V turbos are crazy, the are larger than the standard ones yet they spool faster than standard.

Postby sliderz1 » August 22nd, 2011, 11:15 am

those torque numbers are :shock: :shock:

Wizard

Postby Wizard » August 22nd, 2011, 12:00 pm

MAZTUNE wrote:

dont take on the ole talkers that yapping from the stands. your car looks great and the fact remains that you were out there racing and getting experience and thats what counts

the event was awesome and well run with little incident. concerning the classes, thats tough. the twin charged sti, the evos, the cobra, the race cars, the drifters, the mad white civic, turbo wagons and swifts. if you had to class everyone to please everyone there might have been 20 classes instead of 4 so the harsh criticism seems a bit overdone. either way, men toting because it seems that 2 of the slower cars still won thier classes.

this type of thing will help rekindle and fan the flames back into motorsport

congrats to all the winners and props to the organisers and sponsors... next event i go be there with a camera, cooler, chair and umbrella

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » August 22nd, 2011, 12:27 pm

Wizard wrote:the mad white civic

thanks man, we worked had getting that car ready, on junior's last last run we "lost" a brake line, so we had to call it quits for the day. outside that, the best time for the car was 51.7XX. it is a "real" stock b18 with a hondata s300 and coilovers. He is one of few that allowed full access, not just motor tuning. i must thank him.
Next event we will be looking to add much better rubbers.
But again, i too was looking to sit back and just look on. but Mr Autosport and junior, said i "had" to run. I must say, i LOVED IT, love the event. my only real issue is the the north side run really needs to be worked on for the next event. Love the Sportsmanship, i saw different teams helping one other out. And it was good to see Tuner Imports there.

To maztune, one step at a time, and don't let detractors detract you. lord knows i have and had many, but stay to your goals. and tap ass in the end.
UST out

GarageFresh

Postby GarageFresh » August 22nd, 2011, 12:40 pm

brandon005 wrote:Any videos taken of the evo vs gtr

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » August 22nd, 2011, 12:50 pm

a number of competitors there yesterday commented on the high quantity of loose gravel on the course which made the course more difficult, would it be possible for a street sweeping machine be used prior to the event so that the course would be of a safer and better quailty?

Postby MG Man » August 22nd, 2011, 12:58 pm

the course was swept, but it's a huge area........keep in mind not everyone had issues with the gravel....something to think about
lots of guys were clearly overdriving their cars in the corners

Postby crazybalhead » August 22nd, 2011, 1:05 pm

RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:a number of competitors there yesterday commented on the high quantity of loose gravel on the course which made the course more difficult, would it be possible for a street sweeping machine be used prior to the event so that the course would be of a safer and better quailty?

Evos have a setting for dat!!!!

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Garrett Inside

Postby Garrett Inside » August 22nd, 2011, 1:34 pm

W2J wrote:First event IMO was better prep with respect to cone placement and direction this was totally ignored for this one maybe because of all the extra cooks. Classification as I brought up the point before was pulled out a hat or a favour of a freind once again e.g how can you have a lighten, modified circuit car or one with R radials/slicks in the same class with one with Street tyres or standard trim? I had my fun and to me that's what counts.

well, instead of complaining, why don't you ask teknet (nicely please) to sponsor you with some r compounds next event. Yuh don know u have the highest whp and wtq evo in these events. trust me u will do considerably better pal, unless its a driver's experience issue, but keep coming to the events nonetheless, its fun seeing your car blast off, it does sound like yuh going to buss a hole in yuh exhaust or something.lol

but i do agree that the 666 sti is definately supposed to be in gt4, that was just too blatent
Last edited by Garrett Inside on August 22nd, 2011, 1:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Garrett Inside

Postby Garrett Inside » August 22nd, 2011, 1:52 pm

MAZTUNE wrote:

hey bro, doh study dem haters, real men does just talk, probably because they cyar measure up to the task at hand, so they does try to pull u down. You got faster as u learned the handeling of the car on the course, so u improved considerably, by nex event you will run better.

Postby pete » August 22nd, 2011, 1:59 pm

Will there be another one this year? Would be interesting to see where I fall on this type of course.

Postby MG Man » August 22nd, 2011, 2:06 pm

depends on where you trip *chingggggg*

Return to “AutoSport Drag & Wind”