VALVOLINE ASPL Drag & Time Attack II - 21.8.11 Pics on Pg10.

Shio

Re: VALVOLINE AutoSport Drag + Time Attack II - Aug 21st

Postby Shio » August 22nd, 2011, 2:14 pm

nice to see guys own and drive their machines

Garrett Inside

Postby Garrett Inside » August 22nd, 2011, 2:44 pm

paparazzi wrote:
wagon r wrote:
paparazzi wrote:
wagon r wrote:
White CZ4A wrote:Big Congrats to papparazzi on winning the event!!!

First is first!

...the launch of 35 was disgusting to say the least.

Thats because I did not launch it. I basically rolled off the line every time. My current tcm map does not have launch control enabled (to save the clutches). If I launched it you would have seen a new level of leave out. Ask porny, he's witnessed my gtr launch properly.

Porny you are clearly in a class of your own when it comes to driving skills. Congrats boy!!

..once again you and I have a mix up in language....talk to Richard, he'll explain what my "disgusted" means... 8-)

...and if that is not a launch..ASPL better start workin on the Arima GP version 3 or whatever he reach....

:lol: :lol: I got ya. But I was disgusted in the classic sense by how slow I was off the line. When Launch control is engaged its like being fired from a gun..that's the only way I can describe it.

The gtr has earned a well deserved oil change. It was retuned to 560hp with 520ft/lb of torque from 3000rpm for this event. I am very happy with the performance especially in the corners and under braking considering the car weighs over 4000lbs.

I'd like to thank United auto and performance for ensuring the car was at it's mechanical best yesterday.

Wait nah....u tellin me that at 3000rpm, that big heavy as* datsun was well into boost? with 520wtq.
So daiz how it came out of d corners so fast! Come to think of it it was fast like as* on d straights too, and, its breaks slowed d car real fast too.

Boy....u go have me resorting to putting some crazy glue on mih tyres before each run now...geez.

However, ah hear a secret, but ah go tell you and you alone eh, ah hear modded gtr's does perform d bestest at 280whp and 260wtq, try dat for d next event and yuh go drop a second on yuh time faster.... scene.

Great driving by u and porny.congrats!

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » August 22nd, 2011, 2:52 pm

crazybalhead wrote:
RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:a number of competitors there yesterday commented on the high quantity of loose gravel on the course which made the course more difficult, would it be possible for a street sweeping machine be used prior to the event so that the course would be of a safer and better quailty?

Evos have a setting for dat!!!!

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

APPARENTLY the BLUE EVo didnt get the memo on that setting, neither did he get the instruction manual on how to SHIFT gears.

paparazzi

Postby paparazzi » August 22nd, 2011, 3:09 pm

Garrett Inside wrote:Wait nah....u tellin me that at 3000rpm, that big heavy as* datsun was well into boost? with 520wtq.
So daiz how it came out of d corners so fast! Come to think of it it was fast like as* on d straights too, and, its breaks slowed d car real fast too.

Boy....u go have me resorting to putting some crazy glue on mih tyres before each run now...geez.

However, ah hear a secret, but ah go tell you and you alone eh, ah hear modded gtr's does perform d bestest at 280whp and 260wtq, try dat for d next event and yuh go drop a second on yuh time faster.... scene.

Great driving by u and porny.congrats!

LOL @ your secret. So basically I should just run on 3 cylinders then!

I swapped to a racing pad for this race and switched to Motul RBF660 (I've been using a street pad at the dexes I ran in so far with Motul RBF600) The bite and hold of the race pads was much better than the street pads

rallyman

Postby rallyman » August 22nd, 2011, 3:37 pm

To all the Cobra fans - sorry for a rather disappointing performance yesterday because on the way to the event something went wrong with the supercharger boost and it was about 10lbs short of boost all day. The lack of boost dropped peak power significantly. This problem will be fixed before the next event.

Postby sliderz1 » August 22nd, 2011, 3:59 pm

i really wanted to see
DWO R33 run against Madcow
666 Impreza against the R35
and a competitive run by the white S15 which IMO ran the course neatly on practice as compared to the other RWD cars

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » August 22nd, 2011, 4:07 pm

rallyman wrote:To all the Cobra fans - sorry for a rather disappointing performance yesterday because on the way to the event something went wrong with the supercharger boost and it was about 10lbs short of boost all day. The lack of boost dropped peak power significantly. This problem will be fixed before the next event.

no worries, the car sounded like the "feeling" of sex for the first time" and i hope you guys fix that "suck lever" issue on the other car... :)

djaggs

Postby djaggs » August 22nd, 2011, 7:21 pm

rallyman wrote:To all the Cobra fans - sorry for a rather disappointing performance yesterday because on the way to the event something went wrong with the supercharger boost and it was about 10lbs short of boost all day. The lack of boost dropped peak power significantly. This problem will be fixed before the next event.

Never mind that, it was the sexiest car there on the day. And still one of the cars I used to fantasize about when i was a kid growing up......actually I found myself fantasizing when i saw it on Sunday.. :shock:

This what happens when you park a Shelby Cobra on the road..GTR cant do that.... :D

Postby MG Man » August 22nd, 2011, 7:32 pm

I wish I had car problems like yours :lol:
10lbs short of boost for you is still 200bhp more than the combined bhp of all my cars plus the pickup and my parents 206 :shock:

Garrett Inside

Postby Garrett Inside » August 22nd, 2011, 7:37 pm

AYE AUTOSPORT FELLA (Rawle) alyuh could fix that big as* crater at the end of the right lane for the nex event please, one time ah hit it so hard, mih steering wheel tun round and make mih buss a slap in mih face eh!

Oh and Mg fella, lemme work out d maths....

206=50bhp
minni=50bhp
some kinda pickup=say 50bhp
Therefore telstar lookin thingy=850-200-50-50-50=500bhp

What de hell mg fella, bring it come, that sheit could ress it on d gtr fella!

But doh worry, just to make sure...ah have a plan. Ah have him considering runnin on only three cylinders.

rallyman

Postby rallyman » August 22nd, 2011, 7:51 pm

djaggs wrote:
rallyman wrote:This what happens when you park a Shelby Cobra on the road..GTR cant do that.... :D

YES - this is exactly what happens every time I drive the Cobra - but its no problem as long as its not raining.

Anyway next time you see that car I will ensure my boost is up !!

Postby MG Man » August 22nd, 2011, 7:59 pm

Garrett Inside wrote:AYE AUTOSPORT FELLA (Rawle) alyuh could fix that big as* crater at the end of the right lane for the nex event please, one time ah hit it so hard, mih steering wheel tun round and make mih buss a slap in mih face eh!

Oh and Mg fella, lemme work out d maths....

206=50bhp
minni=50bhp
some kinda pickup=say 50bhp
Therefore telstar lookin thingy=850-200-50-50-50=500bhp

But doh worry, just to make sure...ah have a plan. Ah have him considering runnin on only three cylinders.

professor

Postby professor » August 22nd, 2011, 8:27 pm

Rawle thanks to you and your crew for a good event, once you got going, it went pretty smooth.
I know several people have spoken about how the cars were classed, as you would know, I don't make that much of a problem, just tell me where to line up. The only real surprise for me yesterday was when I ran a yellow Evo 3, all the other cars I ran with basically ran as I expected, that Evo launched like it was fired from a cannon, for a moment I thought my clutch was dead, or I did not put the car in gear. Keep it up Yellow EVO, maybe one day I would be able to launch like that.
Once again, congrats Rawle.

rallyman

Postby rallyman » August 22nd, 2011, 8:45 pm

These are great - take a look:

Cobra Sales video:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4J0tktl5DyM

Cobra Auction video

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wPES8hxU4dM

Postby MG Man » August 22nd, 2011, 8:56 pm

lol at vids

southside crew

Postby southside crew » August 22nd, 2011, 9:39 pm

Mr.Professor.... Thanks man.. lots of ppl was telling me my launch was Outrageous .... lol.. When I saw you was in the next lane.. I said * I must win this * .. I know your a Damn good ( excellent) driver so there was no room for any error.... for being a drag person I really enjoy these type of events.. kudos to the people responsible for this... thank you..

paparazzi

Postby paparazzi » August 22nd, 2011, 9:48 pm

Never mind Peter. It's racing and we've all had good days and bad. The honour of lining up next to one of the most liked and respected drivers in TNT and that sexy beast was all mine.

The level of workmanship on the cobra (inside and out) is a reflection of your insistence on perfection. There wasn't even a spec of dust in that engine bay.

I look forward to seeing it in full stride next time.

rallyman

Postby rallyman » August 22nd, 2011, 10:41 pm

Thanks for some great competition and for great comradarie - next time I think it should be very close as your car proved extremely fast but I am confident the Cobra on full power can compete with it.

Looks like the problem with the Cobra which had such an impact may have been very simple - a missing one way valve between the inlet manifold and the brake booster.

I would like to thank Rawle Mahabir and all the Autosport personnel who put so much work into this exciting event. In light of our inability to get a proper track in Trinidad, this is the next best thing.

One suggestion I would like to make to get a longer course would be to start both cars from opposite ends of the same track and run two laps, with each car doing the same course half a lap apart. What do you think ?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 22nd, 2011, 11:08 pm

any more love in this thread and we'll all hold hands and sing kumbaya!

no lie, I was elated to see that much people at ARC, competitors and spectators!
The drivers and commentators kept the energy up all day.
The reviews after the event are making people who did not attend really wish they did.

Just goes to show what Trinis can do with a car park, imagine what we'd do with a racing facility.
Keep it up!

Postby X2 » August 22nd, 2011, 11:20 pm

Start singing Duane !

The event was great IMO ! The cars, the enthusiasts, the spectators... everyone I spoke to thoughroughly enjoyed the day. BIG thanks and props to Autosport and all the people that gave thier time and effort to host the event successfully. The best event I have been to for a long time and I will surely participate in any future events. Valvoline really represented for sponsoring the event too !

To the detractors regarding the classes:

Slow your roll... if this event were held with rules that govern other foreign bodies, there would have probably been a lot more classes to manage and honestly the place is just not big enough to handle the logistics of 10+ classes of cars. [straight face]So stop crying about sand in your pooks and build a car to compete... not everyone can be a winner and sometimes life throws chunks of asphalt in your path (by the $#!@% bucket !) and you just gotta power thru that $#ift... sideways. [/straight face]

This type of event is still in it's infancy so I'm sure Rawle and others will tailor it to fit. If you want to cry rules and classification, go take a read of SCCA or NHRA rules and come back to critique. Anyone wanna marshall ?

I just wish I had more energy and time to go maco all the other cars. Got so hot and bothered driving the event that I had to run and hide in some a/c between runs.

I felt like some of those people on Pinks. Thanks to Mr. Fixables for the help and additional legwork to get the Civic prepped just in time for the event. I was beat up after going to sleep after 3am Sunday finishing the brakes on the car. (BIG UP and much props to High Speed Imports for coming through with the caliper bolts in the clutch at 1:30am ). Great driving by Fixables, coming up with the win in GT2... I'm like a proud papa to see what the Clone can really do when pushed hard... we hot lapped the Civic with 2 drivers into the finals, won and drove home... with a/c ;). Very tough competition from Devi in the turboki, brandon and the kes tuned hatch....great show !

Thanks rallyman for taking the time to give the 411 on your beautiful machine. I have not seen a fuel system like that in many many years. Reminds me of mustangs in the states that would clock 9 second passes. You have built a true no excuses muscle car. Much respect for papprazzi for keeping what I calling the ' Time Warp' GTR under his shoe.. But I would love to see the Cobra on a properly prepped surface for a rematch... I think the outcome would be vastly different.

Personally, running on a bad track is more of a challenge but it is a world better than having nothing at all. Solodex events makes a perfect access point to learning how to handle your car and events like this Time Attack are too few and far between it really fans the flames of motorsports in Trinidad. I am no event expert but I believe a tightly run event, 1/2 track ahead of a competitor is do-able and has been done before to an extent but the speed that this event was run with, coupled with sheer number of entries and sheer number of runs... it would have to be very well staffed, lots of marshalls, etc... it can be done but may not be as crowd pleasing as this last Sunday.

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » August 22nd, 2011, 11:42 pm

[quote="Garrett Inside"]AYE AUTOSPORT FELLA (Rawle) alyuh could fix that big as* crater at the end of the right lane for the nex event please, one time ah hit it so hard, mih steering wheel tun round and make mih buss a slap in mih face eh! <---- Happens to all of us from time to time- yuh slap back the steering? if you ever took part in rallies years ago going through some road down South that certainly was imported from the Paris/Dakar rallies.

This "big as* crater" started to go surface two weeks ago when a very heavy piece of machinery passed through and caused some undulations. The TTKA had to adjust around it for their family day. We looked at it and figured on Sunday morning, we could try to bear right before it but this would have cut out too much, and then line you up for a good broadside with the lamp-post coming out to greet you. So we said, look, most are cars with good suspensions and then... 100hp, 200hp, 300hp, 560 hp passing through about 120 times for the day and we ended up with our very own gravel pit. We should have easily solved this problem by throwing a similar amount of gravel on the left side and have a mixed equal course. This definitely will be fixed next time around.

Professor, we share the same disposition re competing in events. And as I have said, you all will see a difference in the placing of cars in classes next time around- I will be involved.

Rallyman: One suggestion I would like to make to get a longer course would be to start both cars from opposite ends of the same track and run two laps, with each car doing the same course half a lap apart. What do you think ?
The only problem with this is the starting sensors must be close to each other, and what about the Christmas tree - which we know is a big attraction. . But great idea, I like to think out of the box. And already some are saying time for a change in course.

Postby MG Man » August 22nd, 2011, 11:43 pm

X2 wrote:d honestly the place is just not big enough to handle the logistics of 10+ classes of cars. [straight face]So stop crying about sand in your pooks and build a car to compete... not everyone can be a winner and sometimes life throws chunks of asphalt in your path (by the $#!@% bucket !) and you just gotta power thru that $#ift... sideways. [/straight face]

Personally, running on a bad track is more of a challenge but it is a world better than having nothing at all.

well said sir
I know I had a blast with my car. I just wish I wasn;t working in-between runs and had extra tyres to get more seat time

IMO a lot of the guys who had issue with the gravel were also over-driving their cars into the corners..........sometimes you just have to be realistic abuot your own skills (or lack thereof as in my case) and as you said, stop crying and figure out how to raise your game

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » August 22nd, 2011, 11:56 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:any more love in this thread and we'll all hold hands and sing kumbaya!

no lie, I was elated to see that much people at ARC, competitors and spectators!
The drivers and commentators kept the energy up all day.
The reviews after the event are making people who did not attend really wish they did.

Just goes to show what Trinis can do with a car park, imagine what we'd do with a racing facility.
Keep it up!

Please note that this was a team effort, of course with a nice push from Valvoline, to pull the different aspects together, we appreciate the positive comments and also noted the flaws as the day went by.

We did refuse entries after a certain point, to ensure that all who we accepted had a good time.
Only in the fun rallies do you ever see so many entries.

So what is the problem if we get all the different disciplines taking part in a solitary event and singing kumbaya? And in a car park too!

Postby sliderz1 » August 23rd, 2011, 12:07 am

Garrett Inside wrote:

Postby X2 » August 23rd, 2011, 12:13 am

hmmm.... we need more carpark or millions in re surfacing...*sigh*

Postby X2 » August 23rd, 2011, 1:59 am

Is this why we really do it ?

Aqeeb

Postby Aqeeb » August 23rd, 2011, 6:16 am

Anybody have pics of the red ek civic??

paparazzi

Postby paparazzi » August 23rd, 2011, 6:21 am

rallyman wrote:Thanks for some great competition and for great comradarie - next time I think it should be very close as your car proved extremely fast but I am confident the Cobra on full power can compete with it.

Can't wait, I'll have a few tricks up my sleeve...well one actually..Launch Control. :D :D

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » August 23rd, 2011, 7:06 am

rallyman wrote:Thanks for some great competition and for great comradarie

I would like to thank Rawle Mahabir and all the Autosport personnel who put so much work into this exciting event. In light of our inability to get a proper track in Trinidad, this is the next best thing.

X2 wrote:Start singing Duane !

The event was great IMO ! The cars, the enthusiasts, the spectators... everyone I spoke to thoughroughly enjoyed the day. BIG thanks and props to Autosport and all the people that gave thier time and effort to host the event successfully. The best event I have been to for a long time and I will surely participate in any future events. Valvoline really represented for sponsoring the event too !

i must 2X these comments
and i MUST MUST MUST say, a very good showing to the Hondas that ran, very very good showing... :)
i am hoping to bring a dc5 or a fd2 to the next event...

Postby MG Man » August 23rd, 2011, 7:09 am

sliderz1 wrote:
Garrett Inside wrote:

sad part is each of his cylinders pumpin out more bhp than my whole engine :oops:

Return to “AutoSport Drag & Wind”