VALVOLINE ASPL Drag & Time Attack II - 21.8.11 Pics on Pg10.

djaggs

Re: VALVOLINE AutoSport Drag + Time Attack II - Aug 21st

Postby djaggs » August 23rd, 2011, 8:52 am

It was nice seeing the mayor there but it woulda been great if the minister of sport cudda pass through and at least see how much support motoracing has in Trinidad.

It was quite a lot of fun blasting down that straight from the lights. I've never been that much into drag racing but now I truly understand why drag racing is so addictive to those who do it.

Despite the one or two shortcomings it really was a great event. I dont know where else in the Caribbean you could see a Nissan GTR line up with a Shelby Cobra.

I guess you could say it was an experiment that is turning out to be successful, once all the bugs are sorted out.

Well done again Rawle.

Postby MG Man » August 23rd, 2011, 8:54 am

djaggs what was yer best time?

djaggs

Postby djaggs » August 23rd, 2011, 8:58 am

Well, there was this girl I met in a car park at a wedding once when i was about 18 yrs old......................

Postby crazybalhead » August 23rd, 2011, 8:59 am

Alright, allyuh convince meh. Might make the next one.

Postby MG Man » August 23rd, 2011, 9:10 am

djaggs wrote:Well, there was this girl I met in a car park at a wedding once when i was about 18 yrs old......................

pics or it didn't happen

Postby cinco » August 23rd, 2011, 9:22 am

next time for me once i get my hands on a car

djaggs

Postby djaggs » August 23rd, 2011, 9:25 am

Cellphones and digital cameras werent invented then and a video camera would take up the whole backseat of my car.

I did manage a 55.3

To keep up with circuit cars we would have to do extensive suspension mods, cuz they were faster on the corners. Im still on stock springs ( thanks to Solodex rules ) and stock 1300cc engine.

Postby MG Man » August 23rd, 2011, 9:37 am

best i got was a 56.4 or summ so with the CVT
with proper tyres I think I could knock a second or two off that....I don't think my car would need extensive suspension mods tho.......some sway bars maybe.....what I really need is a manual transmission :(

djaggs

Postby djaggs » August 23rd, 2011, 9:55 am

MG Man wrote:best i got was a 56.4 or summ so with the CVT
with proper tyres I think I could knock a second or two off that....I don't think my car would need extensive suspension mods tho.......some sway bars maybe.....what I really need is a manual transmission :(

Youre kidding right? Did you see the negative camber on that B13 ??

I didnt realise u were using automatic transmission...u a brave man. The only way an automatic would work there is if its connected to an EVO 10 !! :D

Postby MG Man » August 23rd, 2011, 10:01 am

lol I have 1.5 degrees negative with the option to go to 2 degrees (aftermarket camber plates) but needless to say, those cars don't belong in a stock class
if you saw my 'launches' you'd have realized it was a CVT (shifting in 'manual' mode), but the car makes up for it in the corners. I didn't get the opportinity to line up against one of the sentras but I caught up with all the other cars I ran against after getting left in the dust off the line...........granted there are ES class solodexers who would have left me in the dust everywhere ;p

Porn Star

Postby Porn Star » August 23rd, 2011, 10:12 am

paparazzi wrote:
rallyman wrote:Thanks for some great competition and for great comradarie - next time I think it should be very close as your car proved extremely fast but I am confident the Cobra on full power can compete with it.

Can't wait, I'll have a few tricks up my sleeve...well one actually..Launch Control. :D :D

:twisted: GAME OVER !!!!!!!!!!!! :twisted:

Rallyman, your car is amazing and beautiful. But, I dunno if you will be able to catch Papparazzi. That GTR just jumps up and goes. Its quite an amazing sight to see how fast that big car can leave the line. Looking forward to that rematch though. 8-)

Postby ronsin1 » August 23rd, 2011, 10:19 am

crazybalhead wrote:Alright, allyuh convince meh. Might make the next one.

The 120Y engine change already :shock:

paparazzi

Postby paparazzi » August 23rd, 2011, 10:22 am

Porn Star wrote:
paparazzi wrote:
rallyman wrote:Thanks for some great competition and for great comradarie - next time I think it should be very close as your car proved extremely fast but I am confident the Cobra on full power can compete with it.

Can't wait, I'll have a few tricks up my sleeve...well one actually..Launch Control. :D :D

Rallyman, your car is amazing and beautiful. But, I dunno if you will be able to catch Papparazzi. That GTR just jumps up and goes. Its quite an amazing sight to see how fast that big car can leave the line. Looking forward to that rematch though. 8-)

Thanks for the vote of confidence Porny. 8-)

It'll be interesting to say the least.

djaggs

Postby djaggs » August 23rd, 2011, 10:22 am

Porn Star wrote:
paparazzi wrote:

We should find a 1/4 ml straight somewhere just to see dem two cars run against each other.........................................Rawle ?????

This would be the headline.........
" CAN THE COBRA EAT THE MONGOOSE "

Paparazzi.....dat is de new name for your car....better get a sticker and put it. :D

paparazzi

Postby paparazzi » August 23rd, 2011, 10:39 am

djaggs wrote:
Porn Star wrote:
paparazzi wrote:

We should find a 1/4 ml straight somewhere just to see dem two cars run against each other.........................................Rawle ?????

Paparazzi.....dat is de new name for your car....better get a sticker and put it. :D

Allyuh forget my GTR is a street car that was built to hold its on on a road course or time attack course. It's not built for drag. But I know of another GTR that would be more than happy to play Mongoose for the Cobra in a straight line. :twisted: :twisted:

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » August 23rd, 2011, 10:53 am

djaggs wrote:Well, there was this girl I met in a car park at a wedding once when i was about 18 yrs old......................

pics or it didn't happen

Now serious thing to discuss and look where yuh gone.

Stop shouting at me please! – Breds yuh don’t know how much people looking around!
Any body remember Ryan launching the SKF LANCER AT DRAGS?
OR PUT ANOTHER WAY, IF YOU SAW IT YOU WILL NEVER FORGET IT!

Going to the track today to look at the damage all of you folk did while enjoying a simple drive thru a Car Park.

And more important, to meet and pick the available date, in September,,,,,,, and October.... and November.

So relax, go change the Oil, and maybe we can meet tonight at about 9:30pm for the briefing meeting? On the track?

I giving all competitors special permit to attend!

Postby Monk BANzai » August 23rd, 2011, 10:55 am

i eh mind all this lovey dovey convo eh...

BUH WHEH DE PICS?

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » August 23rd, 2011, 10:55 am

paparazzi wrote:
djaggs wrote:
Porn Star wrote:
paparazzi wrote:

Allyuh forget my GTR is a street car that was built to hold its on on a road course or time attack course. It's not built for drag. But I know of another GTR that would be more than happy to play Mongoose for the Cobra in a straight line. :twisted: :twisted:

:D
Yeah I have done nothing to my GTR in terms of suspension/handling. Coilover setup, that's it.
I wonder if Autosport could set up a lap diagonally...should be able to get a minimum of 1000ft of straight and then into some turns.
Might take away from spectator parking, but I'm sure there's a way to have it done.

djaggs

Postby djaggs » August 23rd, 2011, 11:03 am

White CZ4A wrote:
paparazzi wrote:
djaggs wrote:
Porn Star wrote:[quote="paparazzi
:D
Yeah I have done nothing to my GTR in terms of suspension/handling. Coilover setup, that's it.
I wonder if Autosport could set up a lap diagonally...should be able to get a minimum of 1000ft of straight and then into some turns.
Might take away from spectator parking, but I'm sure there's a way to have it done.

Just make sure all yuh put some cones to clearly mark de latrine in de bush by dem squatters cuz if anybody overshoot is rel sheit yuh go end up in.

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » August 23rd, 2011, 11:08 am

Porn Star wrote:
[quote="paparazzi

Another good idea we have looked at, and definitely going to address, with the competitors and safety being a priority.

jmccomie

Postby jmccomie » August 23rd, 2011, 12:02 pm

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:i eh mind all this lovey dovey convo eh...

BUH WHEH DE PICS?

ent wey d pics bai

2 Towers Distribution

Postby 2 Towers Distribution » August 23rd, 2011, 12:52 pm

djaggs

Postby djaggs » August 23rd, 2011, 1:33 pm

rallyman wrote:
djaggs wrote:
rallyman wrote:This what happens when you park a Shelby Cobra on the road..GTR cant do that.... :D

YES - this is exactly what happens every time I drive the Cobra - but its no problem as long as its not raining.

Anyway next time you see that car I will ensure my boost is up !!

Well, if this is what happens everytime you drive your car then your boost should be up every day !!!! :D :D

MichaelR

Postby MichaelR » August 23rd, 2011, 1:54 pm

Since none of them photographers ready as yet, look some amateur pics
CIMG0386.JPG
CIMG0356 - Copy.JPG
CIMG0353 - Copy.JPG
CIMG0374.JPG
CIMG0350 - Copy.JPG
CIMG0360 - Copy.JPG
CIMG0331 - Copy (2).JPG

Postby Monk BANzai » August 23rd, 2011, 7:17 pm

^^ GAWD BOI!! THANKS EH!!!

rallyman

Postby rallyman » August 23rd, 2011, 8:11 pm

Cobra is fixed - a photo of the culprit is included below. I forgot to insert this valve in the brake booster line and so most of the engine boost bled off via the brake booster. Unfortunately this problem only developed on the way to the start at Arima on Sunday so there was no time to diagnose and fix it. Sorry about that.

Boost Valve.jpg

rallyman

Postby rallyman » August 23rd, 2011, 8:20 pm

Porn Star wrote:Rallyman, your car is amazing and beautiful. But, I dunno if you will be able to catch Papparazzi. That GTR just jumps up and goes. Its quite an amazing sight to see how fast that big car can leave the line. Looking forward to that rematch though. 8-)

On straight line performance both cars will probably be similar because if I apply too much power the Cobra will spin its wheels. However, remember the Cobra is supercharged - so power comes in instantly which is great for a fast take off. I am now working on the brakes and suspension and when those are to my liking it will be extremely hard to beat.

I think the Cobra can win, even though it would be close and I very much look forward to the next event.

start.jpg

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » August 23rd, 2011, 9:05 pm

On straight line performance the cobra would be more than left behind by paparazzi's GTR.

As much as I respect the 800hp cobra.....I think it'd be left for dead in a straight line

Postby sliderz1 » August 23rd, 2011, 9:17 pm

a link to some pics that are posted in a group on facebook
http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set= ... 646&type=1

Postby X2 » August 23rd, 2011, 10:03 pm

White CZ4A wrote:On straight line performance the cobra would be more than left behind by paparazzi's GTR.

As much as I respect the 800hp cobra.....I think it'd be left for dead in a straight line

You haven't seen many rwd cars set up properly. The Cobra will need good tyres to compete with that beast even on 888's... but surface will definitely be an issue due to the awd advantage in the launch.

I got my entrance fee in my pocket to witness whenever it happens !!

Return to “AutoSport Drag & Wind”