VALVOLINE ASPL Drag & Time Attack II - 21.8.11 Pics on Pg10.

rallyman

Re: VALVOLINE AutoSport Drag + Time Attack II - Aug 21st

Postby rallyman » August 23rd, 2011, 10:16 pm

The closeness of the upcoming racing is what will make it particularly interesting, but on Sunday the Cobra was generally away first but lost out further down the straight as both cars tried to put full power down - check the available photos for confirmation.

Its hard to say exactly how much peak power was lost, but if you ever drive an Evo with a blown turbo you would know it makes a huge difference because the ignition timing is set for boost. My guess is that the Cobra was down around 300 bhp on Sunday, but its all back now.

This is going to be really exciting - unless it rains.

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » August 23rd, 2011, 10:19 pm

White CZ4A wrote:On straight line performance the cobra would be more than left behind by paparazzi's GTR.

As much as I respect the 800hp cobra.....I think it'd be left for dead in a straight line

I have to agree with White CZ4A.

As much respect as rallyman's Cobra deserves, in this particular race on that particular surface, I have to side with the sheer grip of the GTR.

800hp and 2200lbs vs. ~600hp and 4000lbs, Cobra seems like the winner on paper. But factor in GTR's ridiculously effective launch control and only 1/8 mile of straightaway to apply all that power, the GTR would have the advantage. There simply isn't enough straight away for the power to weight advantage of the Cobra to overcome the grip/launch advantage of the GTR.

In a full 1/4 mile on a proper track however, it may be a different story.

That said, it's all theory and I'll also be in the front of the line to see them run again and prove the theory wrong.

Both cars deserve a lot of respect.

southside crew

Postby southside crew » August 23rd, 2011, 10:53 pm

Agreed!! Both Cars much REspect!!!!!

paparazzi

Postby paparazzi » August 23rd, 2011, 11:15 pm

While you fellas studying the THEORY. My gtr ACTUALLY got some bad damage to the bodywork on the right side during my escapade in the asphalt trap on the corner of the far lane. Looks like some of the asphalt pitched up a dug up the paint pretty deep, down to metal actually. It has me quite pissed because up till now I've managed to keep the car flawless.

Expect to see it covered with painters tape or equivalent next time :evil:

I don't think I could have summed it up better than dreadman. We'll see what happens next time. But please don't use my car as the benchmark for performance in a straight line.

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » August 23rd, 2011, 11:49 pm

paparazzi wrote:While you fellas studying the THEORY. My gtr ACTUALLY got some bad damage to the bodywork on the right side during my escapade in the asphalt trap on the corner of the far lane. Looks like some of the asphalt pitched up a dug up the paint pretty deep, down to metal actually. It has me quite pissed because up till now I've managed to keep the car flawless.

Expect to see it covered with painters tape or equivalent next time :evil:

I don't think I could have summed it up better than dreadman. We'll see what happens next time. But please don't use my car as the benchmark for performance in a straight line.

Never meant it in that sense :oops: - I'll leave that benchmark for a certain grey R35 I keep reading about in the car park forum that gained 200hp from stickers :lol: :lol:

That's why I said "in this particular race on that particular surface". But paparazzi, your car is far from being a slouch in a straight line eh, even though it's built for a different purpose.

Sorry to hear about the damage though - that sort of thing upsets me on my daily driver, far less for one I'd consider my pride and joy. At least the carbon fibre pieces didn't get damaged (I hope)...

Postby wagon r » August 24th, 2011, 12:00 am

...de mongrel that askin for pics...

...no more.

paparazzi

Postby paparazzi » August 24th, 2011, 7:38 am

rallyman wrote:but on Sunday the Cobra was generally away first but lost out further down the straight as both cars tried to put full power down - check the available photos for confirmation.

When I heard you revving at the tree and I couldn't do same I knew I would have been at a disadvantage off the line. Let's just say in the same way your straight line performance on Sunday wasn't at it's best so too was my ability to leave the line.

The rematch will be exciting.

Computerman

Postby Computerman » August 24th, 2011, 7:55 am

paparazzi wrote:While you fellas studying the THEORY. My gtr ACTUALLY got some bad damage to the bodywork on the right side during my escapade in the asphalt trap on the corner of the far lane. Looks like some of the asphalt pitched up a dug up the paint pretty deep, down to metal actually. It has me quite pissed because up till now I've managed to keep the car flawless.
The first damage on a new car or recently completed project is always the hardest! After that they become battle scars! Each one reminding us of those whom we have defeated and act as a warning to others who dare to challenge us. :D

I really hope to have my car running before the next event. :cry:

Postby MG Man » August 24th, 2011, 8:18 am

yeah I ran thru it as well, when it just started breaking up..........the sound of chunks of road pitching up and hitting the car was rather unsettling

paparazzi

Postby paparazzi » August 24th, 2011, 9:03 am

wagon r wrote:Image

I ent know about allyuh but Porny helmet WIN!! :D :D

dragaholic

Re: VALVOLINE ASPL Drag & Time Attack II - 21.8.11 Pics on P

Postby dragaholic » August 24th, 2011, 9:53 am

Aye Rawle,

Definitely won't miss the next one. I didnt check back but did oyu post up the results?

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » August 24th, 2011, 10:32 am

Results and report later today.
Then collating all the runs with run times and that will start a whole new set of "talk".

Really sorry about the damage caused to the R35 and all others after they beat up the poor asphalt.

Took a shot of the spot yesterday and it must be repaired immediately.

And will announce dates for the next three months very shortly.

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » August 24th, 2011, 10:36 am

And how come we not seeing any Class or competition no. on Pic no. 15 above?

Nice shots there wagon r..

Tsuchiya

Postby Tsuchiya » August 24th, 2011, 10:52 am

the hole made me double brake for that right-hander corner but it helped my exit line as there wasn't any gravel at that point.

even tho the cobra has an excellent power to weight ratio...IMO the grip just wasn't there. Think it'll contest alot better on a larger course. 1st and 2nd gear torque was just asking for trouble with wheelspin

rcadiz

Postby rcadiz » August 24th, 2011, 10:54 am

So after almost 10,000 views and a few hundred posts, its nice to know that a motorsport event such as this one can take place without all the argument and dotishness. The only problems with the event seem to be the small stuff which can be easily fixed for the next event.

Congrats to the organizers, volunteers, and all the competitors for making an event happen in such a positive light. Its not a track but it is definitely a breath of fresh air.

I even see some 'big shots' taking in the action. And rumour is some other 'big shots' trying to peak through the fence. But all in all, i hope the greater motorsport community sees what is possible when certain negatives are not present.

paparazzi

Postby paparazzi » August 24th, 2011, 12:38 pm

AutoSport wrote:Results and report later today.
Then collating all the runs with run times and that will start a whole new set of "talk".

Really sorry about the damage caused to the R35 and all others after they beat up the poor asphalt.

Took a shot of the spot yesterday and it must be repaired immediately.

And will announce dates for the next three months very shortly.

No worries, it's all part of it. It was my fault for not monitoring the track's changing conditions during the day.

In total I think I only did 3 runs on each side with one of the runs on the far lane being aborted. I wish I had an oppurtunity to do more runs to feel the course out better.

Postby crazybalhead » August 24th, 2011, 12:40 pm

dragaholic wrote:Aye Rawle,

Definitely won't miss the next one. I didnt check back but did oyu post up the results?

I could jive yuh car??? :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

rallyman

Postby rallyman » August 24th, 2011, 8:48 pm

wagon r wrote:Image

What a great helmet job - can anyone do that in Trinidad ?

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » August 24th, 2011, 9:51 pm

^^yeah im sure there are

Soundwave

Postby Soundwave » August 25th, 2011, 7:51 am

rcadiz wrote:So after almost 10,000 views and a few hundred posts, its nice to know that a motorsport event such as this one can take place without all the argument and dotishness. The only problems with the event seem to be the small stuff which can be easily fixed for the next event.

Congrats to the organizers, volunteers, and all the competitors for making an event happen in such a positive light. Its not a track but it is definitely a breath of fresh air.

I even see some 'big shots' taking in the action. And rumour is some other 'big shots' trying to peak through the fence. But all in all, i hope the greater motorsport community sees what is possible when certain negatives are not present.

link wrote: :roll: :roll: :roll:

Postby MG Man » August 25th, 2011, 9:49 pm

no pics wid de valvoline man car?
:(

Postby Monk BANzai » August 25th, 2011, 11:15 pm

wagon r wrote:...de mongrel that askin for pics...

...no more.

nice shots..but it making meh feel that only Pornie's FQ, the R35, The Cobra and Jodi's "thing" were the only cars that competed....come on guys..more variation in the shots next time!!

that said.....

WHY OH WHY MUST WE HAVEA MEDFORD WHARF RAT IN THE CLIP?

Postby De Dragon » August 25th, 2011, 11:17 pm

^^ Meddie Rats need lovin' too!

Postby wagon r » August 25th, 2011, 11:30 pm

..the pics weren't meant as an album....just teasers. besides, all the 236 of them are now on the homepage.

there were some cars i missed due to roamin the pits while races were going on and vice versa, but I am only 1 man.

Postby De Dragon » August 25th, 2011, 11:34 pm

^^ You studyin' Rasta? WDMC he didn't go and tek he own MC pics?........

Doh ban meh eh Metro B

Computerman

Postby Computerman » August 26th, 2011, 5:11 am

wagon r wrote:but I am only 1 man.

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » August 26th, 2011, 10:26 am

Computerman wrote:
wagon r wrote:but I am only 1 man.

Wagon r, thanks well done, call again! 0X

jmccomie

Postby jmccomie » August 26th, 2011, 10:43 am

more pictures plz :)

Postby wagonrunner » August 26th, 2011, 8:59 pm

De Dragon wrote:^^ You studyin' Rasta? WDMC he didn't go and tek he own MC pics?........

Doh ban meh eh Metro B

man had to.........

Rx

Postby Rx » August 26th, 2011, 9:16 pm

De Dragon wrote:^^ You studyin' Rasta? WDMC he didn't go and tek he own MC pics?........

Doh ban meh eh Metro B

man had to.........

de hell... eating doubles before he checks out :lol:

Good going there Banzai :twisted:

Return to “AutoSport Drag & Wind”