ARA D&W #1 29th January 2012

AutoSport

ARA D&W #1 29th January 2012

Postby AutoSport » January 19th, 2012, 8:44 pm

AutoSport Racing Association is pleased to announce the staging of the first of 10 Events in its 2012 Championship. This will be held on Sunday 29th January at the ARC Car Park Arima.

We have listened to the many comments made in 2011 and have had discussions with several different competitors, and have now come up with a new set of Competition Regulations for 2012.

We will start the first Event using these regulations but will pay close attention to any loopholes that may arise and also continue to use feedback from competitors to fine-tune these rules.

Course Layout will stay basically the same with minor adjustments to cater for safety considerations.
Time Schedule:
All competitors must report to scrutineers no later than 9:30am – after this time no other entry will be accepted for competition.

9:45am
The course will be laid out and ready for competitors to walk through.
10:00am to 10:10 am – Drivers meeting
10:10am to 12:00 noon –

Qualifying runs to determine times for A or B within Class.
Remember this is not a race against the next competitor.
Competitors must do qualifying runs in both lanes. There is no limit to the number of runs, but at least one in each lane.

12:15pm to 2:30pm -
Competition runs.
Remember this is not a race against the next competitor.
2 runs, one each in right lane and left lane
We then select the fastest 4 competitors in each class for Class finals.

2:45pm – 4:00pm
Class finals with fastest four in each Class, A and B
Toss a coin to select lane
Best time to run against 3rd best
2nd best to run against 4th best
Two losers to immediately run for third and fourth place
Two winners to come back later to run two best in three.

4:30pm – Fun runs / grudge matches
ONLY for those registered on the day!

Midnight_Demon

Re: ARA D&W #1 29th January 2012

Postby Midnight_Demon » January 19th, 2012, 8:58 pm

AH DEY!
whats the registration details? sign up on the day of the event?

Postby MG Man » January 19th, 2012, 10:30 pm

*prays car gets fixed in time*

Postby cinco » January 19th, 2012, 10:38 pm

i shud be there :D

Postby Ignorant Ignis » January 20th, 2012, 9:54 am

needs to fix boost leak and tune ....still :(

Postby MG Man » January 20th, 2012, 10:22 am

pfffffffffffft boost leak
buy ah damn S2000 and enjoy yuhself nah fella :p

Postby wagonrunner » January 20th, 2012, 11:46 am

1 week to sort out the jamette. :( Iffy, very iffy.

Postby MG Man » January 20th, 2012, 12:22 pm

english car again

Postby black start » January 20th, 2012, 12:43 pm

i dey

in d spectator stands :lol: :lol: :lol:

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » January 20th, 2012, 1:47 pm

Midnight_Demon wrote:AH DEY!
whats the registration details? sign up on the day of the event?

Registration fee $150.00... still the best deal in town.
Briefing meeting on Wed. 25th Jan. at MOSPORTT, Frederick Settlement at 7:00pm
NO registration will be accepted after 9;30 am on Sunday 29th.

Porn Star

Postby Porn Star » January 21st, 2012, 12:17 am

I am there.

Postby MG Man » January 21st, 2012, 8:28 am

I thought you were Porn Star?

Computerman

Postby Computerman » January 21st, 2012, 7:22 pm

Most of the issues sorted out. Should be there.

dubcity

Postby dubcity » January 21st, 2012, 10:57 pm

No time before qualifying to do tests run to get a feel of the course??

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » January 22nd, 2012, 12:10 am

dubcity wrote:No time before qualifying to do tests run to get a feel of the course??

During the qualifying period, once all competitors have done 1 run in each lane, then there will be the possibility of doing further runs if we have not utilized the allocated 2-hour period.

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » January 22nd, 2012, 12:12 am

Should be there wearing a new set of shoes...

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » January 22nd, 2012, 3:15 am

i dey! :D

dubcity

Postby dubcity » January 22nd, 2012, 5:39 pm

AutoSport wrote:
dubcity wrote:No time before qualifying to do tests run to get a feel of the course??

During the qualifying period, once all competitors have done 1 run in each lane, then there will be the possibility of doing further runs if we have not utilized the allocated 2-hour period.

But then there is a likely chance that a person would improve on their time by learning the course better after qualifying,hence making them in a lower time bracket and possibly breaking out of bracket in competition runs.

Postby wagonrunner » January 22nd, 2012, 6:06 pm

dubcity wrote:But then there is a likely chance that a person would improve on their time by learning the course better after qualifying,hence making them in a lower time bracket and possibly breaking out of bracket in competition runs.

competitor should challenge themself by electing to move to the faster class, and seeing how fast they can really go. :|

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » January 22nd, 2012, 7:01 pm

dubcity wrote:But then there is a likely chance that a person would improve on their time by learning the course better after qualifying,hence making them in a lower time bracket and possibly breaking out of bracket in competition runs.

(A) competitor should challenge themself by electing to move to the faster class, and seeing how fast they can really go. :|

(B) Competitors will be placed in the upper sector(A) or lower sector(B) of the Class, depending on the times posted in the qualifying period.

Request to move up to A must be immediately made if you break the class limit in B in your first run in the Competition segments - the second two hours.

Breaking out, or going faster than class limit in B = loss of run.
No limit in Class A.

Remember this new classification system is being implemented based on the dialog we have had with competitors who were not happy with the system used in the final events of 2011.

And note one of our original statements...
"The first two events will be used to fine-tune the entire rules and points system. Competitors will be permitted to move to a new Class and carry all points earned up to the third Event."

Postby MG Man » January 22nd, 2012, 9:53 pm

(C) come with a slow car and run consistent times while watching everybody in your class break out :P

Postby X2 » January 23rd, 2012, 2:05 am

Will be there... dunno what I'll be driving yet...

Computerman

Postby Computerman » January 23rd, 2012, 11:36 am

I would be more than pleased if I could break out of the 65sec bracket!
:oops:

Postby MG Man » January 23rd, 2012, 11:38 am

lol I would be happy if my car didn't launch in slow motion

Postby Aaron 2NR » January 23rd, 2012, 11:51 am

have fun...got prior commitments

Postby Team Loco » January 23rd, 2012, 1:06 pm

i dey! i calling out mg man........grudge run!!

Postby wagonrunner » January 23rd, 2012, 1:57 pm

Team Loco wrote:i dey! i calling out mg man........grudge run!!

If the two of allyuh start at 4.30p, the run should finish just before dawn the next morning. :mrgreen:

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » January 23rd, 2012, 3:43 pm

Computerman “I would be more than pleased if I could break out of the 65sec bracket!”

MG Man “lol I would be happy if my car didn't launch in slow motion”

Team Loco “i dey! i calling out mg man........grudge run!!”(This one real like advantage)

Wagonrunner “If the two of allyuh start at 4.30p, the run should finish just before dawn the next morning.”

And the response….
With all of the effort that goes into organizing these events, one would feel that this bunch of jokers would at least declare their brackets from now, and the rest of the competion just would not bother to run! – but again, this is what makes these events truly entertaining.

So putting all of this together we end up with…..

When the first one break out of the 65sec in slow motion, and the grudge run start at 4.30p, the run should finish just before dawn of the next Event!

Pass and collect allyuh trophies one time!

Postby Team Loco » January 23rd, 2012, 4:43 pm

i feel i could make bout 3 laps before mg man could even launch

Postby wagonrunner » January 23rd, 2012, 4:51 pm

AutoSport wrote:Pass and collect allyuh trophies one time!

i no longer have a penchant for empty tin cups.
So if you could it chilled, fill it with STAG. If not black label would do. thanks. :mrgreen:

Return to “AutoSport Drag & Wind”