AutoSport D&W #5 Sunday 24th June at ARC.

AutoSport

AutoSport D&W #5 Sunday 24th June at ARC.

Postby AutoSport » June 17th, 2012, 2:25 pm

Crazy how time flies but here we are pressing on with the 5th Drag and Wind(ing) Event for 2012, carded for Sunday 24th June at ARC Car Park. Briefing meeting will be held on Wednesday 20th at MOSPORTT at Frederick Settlement at 7:00pm.

And we continue to listen, and once feasible, implement suggestions that come our way from competitors, spectators and/or the general public.

We have been averaging 60 entries per Event. We certainly do attract a wide cross section of competitors; this in itself is an intriguing factor that literally keeps us on the ball with the varying demands and ensuring that the different stages of the Event flow seamlessly.

We must thank our tightly-knit organization Team who work their butts off to keep improving the standards from Event to Event.

As indicated by direct communication to competitors, we cannot permit free-flow exhausts that are way too noisy for the conditions imposed by the ARC authorities, so all are advised that we shall be paying close attention to this from the coming Event. And anyone found in breach will not be permitted to run. No debate on this! We also advise that we do not welcome anyone in the pit area to play any type of loud music, since this adversely affects our communication to our competitors and spectators.

Great to see the challenges that are developing in the various classes and the points-standing taking on a most interesting position – some are now starting to learn that every 10-points that can be earned, can be a deciding factor at the end of the year.

We thank all of the sponsors, especially for the cash prizes for the Fastest in Class and Best Reaction Time, all of whom have been very supportive thus far, and also say a special thank you to Sherry Ali for her efforts in securing hampers as additional prizes for competitors, and door-prizes for our patrons.
Guard Ad 3 D&W 5 2012.jpg

Mr. Fixables

Re: AutoSport D&W #5 Sunday 24th June at ARC.

Postby Mr. Fixables » June 17th, 2012, 3:32 pm

We there!!

Kirk

jussblaze

Postby jussblaze » June 17th, 2012, 5:03 pm

in that for sure

Midnight_Demon

Postby Midnight_Demon » June 17th, 2012, 5:25 pm

Will be there with camera in hand for this event. Ran into some unexpected ECU problems and wont be ready in time :(

Postby honda hoe » June 17th, 2012, 8:40 pm

AutoSport wrote:As indicated by direct communication to competitors, we cannot permit free-flow exhausts that are way too noisy for the conditions imposed by the ARC authorities, so all are advised that we shall be paying close attention to this from the coming Event. And anyone found in breach will not be permitted to run.

:(

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » June 17th, 2012, 10:21 pm

honda hoe wrote:
AutoSport wrote:As indicated by direct communication to competitors, we cannot permit free-flow exhausts that are way too noisy for the conditions imposed by the ARC authorities, so all are advised that we shall be paying close attention to this from the coming Event. And anyone found in breach will not be permitted to run.

Simple... Yuh too loud yuh out! :twisted:

nismo_demon

Postby nismo_demon » June 17th, 2012, 11:02 pm

lol lol real muffler shops welding up silencers before sunday!!!!

Alain_2NR

Postby Alain_2NR » June 18th, 2012, 6:42 am

Midnight Demon ur garage filled with Cars in it for days to come... Just choose one and come nah... :D

DownesDigital

Postby DownesDigital » June 18th, 2012, 8:22 am

shall be there with my team, oh yea, dds full

southside crew

Postby southside crew » June 18th, 2012, 11:28 am

That time already... Ain't even get to start work on my car yet.. might be sitting this out ..

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » June 18th, 2012, 10:35 pm

So what Decibel level is acceptable for exhaust systems?

Postby wagonrunner » June 18th, 2012, 11:08 pm

dunno the decibel figure, but the problem is the horses.
So maybe cars going up the straight shouldn't be heard at the stables............. :|
and worse yet drive in front said stables at WOT

matthew2730mvp

Postby matthew2730mvp » June 18th, 2012, 11:55 pm

southside crew wrote:That time already... Ain't even get to start work on my car yet.. might be sitting this out ..

You could play an waste time, Homie bring the family come up an hang out relax....do some 4wd donuts :D :D

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » June 19th, 2012, 12:27 am

wagonrunner wrote:dunno the decibel figure, but the problem is the horses.
So maybe cars going up the straight shouldn't be heard at the stables............. :|
and worse yet drive in front said stables at WOT

Now see how this can affect everyone all around.

So if we can put a handle on noise at the event, we may help in minimizing it outside also.

May be looking at max 80 to 100 decibels. Remember many years ago, some Circuit cars came down from England, all had full exhausts which was the rule where they came from, ran just as fast.

Next point, when the Evo's first came here, the first "upgrade" was to change to 3" right through. Short while after big-time tuner came to set up John P's Rally car and made him go back to 2.5 with exhaust barrel and the car was faster and obviously quieter.

Postby wagonrunner » June 19th, 2012, 12:39 am

but big exhaust is the only way to let out the fyahz. :oops:
anyone has a nokia 5100 around? that had a useful db meter in it.

SJR Imports

Postby SJR Imports » June 19th, 2012, 8:05 am

Once i'm not working will be there.

AccentGt

Postby AccentGt » June 19th, 2012, 11:50 am

Great Event not gonna Miss it...

Postby X2 » June 19th, 2012, 10:27 pm

Will be there to administer wetting....

moti

Postby moti » June 20th, 2012, 8:23 am

will be there...........babysitting though so i'll have company.

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » June 20th, 2012, 8:24 am

whats the DB rating for the exhaust. This rule is so stupid.

Computerman

Postby Computerman » June 20th, 2012, 8:36 am

wagonrunner wrote:but big exhaust is the only way to let out the fyahz. :oops:
anyone has a nokia 5100 around? that had a useful db meter in it.
Borrow an iPhone, iPod, iPad and download one of the free "db meter" apps.

JDM_GUY wrote:whats the DB rating for the exhaust. This rule is so stupid.
Having a SLOW ARSE ride with a loud and annoying 'fart cannon' is more stupid than almost anything else!
'cept the 'danraj' I was next to by a traffic light yesterday. I was driving my wife's car with my wife and daughter in the backseat, windows down and BBC on nice and quiet. Then 'bodow boy' pull up, watch across at my wife and crankup de 'hard(ly) pong'! Light turn green, we headed north and he headed back to Penal! :lol: :lol:

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » June 20th, 2012, 10:15 am

There should be a DB tester then. Cause there are allot of cars that make serious noise at those events

Computerman

Postby Computerman » June 20th, 2012, 11:12 am

JDM_GUY wrote:There should be a DB tester then.
There will have to be! Otherwise it will be a case of "cause I fine it too loud" type thing. Hopefully someone trained in this kinda thing can do the testing.....

....where SR? :|

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » June 20th, 2012, 1:16 pm

JDM_GUY wrote:whats the DB rating for the exhaust. This rule is so stupid.

Sorry sir, but you need to go and stay down Camden!

Mudboy

Postby Mudboy » June 20th, 2012, 1:44 pm

Lol....u harsh Autosport

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » June 20th, 2012, 1:50 pm

Mudboy wrote:Lol....u harsh Autosport

When some just cannot appreciate the fallout from one individual with an extremely loud car that can cause Karting, Solodex and D&W events to be affected, then we all have to be concerned whether the intent may be deliberate to sabotage these events.

Thus the firm position adopted. Talk done :twisted:

moti

Postby moti » June 20th, 2012, 1:56 pm

Don't know why people need their car loud cause it "fass up".

i welcome this change and i know a lot of people who will.

Postby X2 » June 20th, 2012, 2:20 pm

simple... someone bring a smartphone with a db recording app... they can measure sound fairly accurately to about 100db, with degradation in accuracy after 100db or so...

Some US states have noise pollution laws for cars with the upper limit around 95db, but the question is what should be the cut off limit ? For reference, here are the sound ranges courtesy of gcaudio.com, pay attention to the area that is in bold:

Environmental Noise

Weakest sound heard 0dB
Whisper Quiet Library at 6' 30dB
Normal conversation at 3' 60-65dB
Telephone dial tone 80dB
City Traffic (inside car) 85dB
Train whistle at 500', Truck Traffic 90dB
Jackhammer at 50' 95dB
Subway train at 200' 95dB
Level at which sustained exposure may result in hearing loss 90 - 95dB
Hand Drill 98dB
Power mower at 3' 107dB
Snowmobile, Motorcycle 100dB
Power saw at 3' 110dB

Sandblasting, Loud Rock Concert 115dB
Pain begins 125dB
Pneumatic riveter at 4' 125dB
Even short term exposure can cause permanent damage - Loudest recommended exposure WITH hearing protection 140dB
Jet engine at 100' 140dB
12 Gauge Shotgun Blast 165dB
Death of hearing tissue 180dB
Loudest sound possible 194dB

Postby wagonrunner » June 20th, 2012, 2:27 pm

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:^^ right....man he (Francis Ottley) was awalking MAzda man we...was talking to him ast owhy those cirsuot cars HAVE to be so loud....he pulls me aside and says...."heheheheheh ent yuh does only see that in trini?...." and walks orf.......point was made....

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » June 20th, 2012, 2:55 pm

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:^^ right....man he (Francis Ottley) was awalking MAzda man we...was talking to him ast owhy those cirsuot cars HAVE to be so loud....he pulls me aside and says...."heheheheheh ent yuh does only see that in trini?...." and walks orf.......point was made....

And ask Francis if he remembers this also...."Remember many years ago, some Circuit cars came down from England, all had full exhausts which was the rule where they came from, ran just as fast."

Yes boy, is only in trini some feel they can do what they want, but sorry, not at ARA @ ARC!

Return to “AutoSport Drag & Wind”