Arima Fest Box Kart Derby – Drag Racing. Carded for 2nd Sept

AutoSport

Arima Fest Box Kart Derby – Drag Racing. Carded for 2nd Sept

Postby AutoSport » August 13th, 2012, 4:09 pm

Arima Fest Box Kart Derby – Drag Racing.
Carded for 2nd September 2012.
Under the Patronage of His Worship the Mayor of Arima
Event Coordinated by AutoSport Racing Association

Date 2nd September 2012
Time From: Noon to 6:00pm

Regulations
Classes: Age 12 and Under Over 12

Safety Requirements:
Helmet, Elbow pads - Knee pads - Long pants and shoes

Start- Between Royal Bank and American Stores
Finish – Marios

Full Drag Racing Timing system will be used.

Start Procedure:
Karts to be lined up some distance before Christmas Tree, with small chuck or braking system to prevent rolling forward.
Once ready, the Stage and Pre-stage will be triggered by two start officials.
Each Kart will have a person to push forward as the lights rundown.
These persons MUST NOT push beyond a marked line or rope.
Timing must be critical since if pushed before green, disqualification via Red Light can occur.

Wheel size/type to be determined – bearing type wheel or lawn mower or bicycle?
Space for Competition Numbers

Competition – Knockout
Teams to be encouraged. – CARS, Rally Club, AutoNation, Clive &Co. DWO, etc

Karts to be constructed by Competitor/Team
NOT motorized in any manner!
Must NOT be an already built chassis or must not be any type of racing chassis.
Built mainly out of wood.
Must have some type of simple braking system.
Most impressive design
Best dressed competitor

Details on layout of course:
Plastic barriers on both sides. Cones in the centre.
Soft Buffer at end – just in case…
Return to Pit Area to be coordinated by Team

Re: Arima Fest Box Kart Derby – Drag Racing. Carded for 2nd

Postby eliteauto » August 13th, 2012, 4:32 pm

on that particular road bearings will be difficult, unless they repaving, used to use bearings in Moruga but those hills were steeper, bike will be the fastest , hope the drivers can drive lol

Postby Monk BANzai » August 13th, 2012, 4:56 pm

alternate starting style...

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 13th, 2012, 6:44 pm

moti

Postby moti » August 13th, 2012, 9:28 pm

no 2jz no care......lol

nice event and would love to be there.....but that little hill (and i know it not supposed to be classed as a hill) steep enough?

Postby Monk BANzai » August 14th, 2012, 3:07 am

^^ hence my suggestion above...that incline eh really an incline to generate speed...but leh we see..

Postby ronsin1 » August 14th, 2012, 5:43 am

time to pull a team together

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » August 14th, 2012, 7:03 am

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:^^ hence my suggestion above...that incline eh really an incline to generate speed...but leh we see..

Hope you coming with a team - can't let outsiders come and win everything in yuh hometown!

Similar suggestion with two ramps made to get some speed, but we still have time to finalize.

Agree on the suggestion that the "bearing" wheels may not be effective.

matthew2730mvp

Postby matthew2730mvp » August 14th, 2012, 9:25 am

Clive & Co, We COMIN....

Red Dawg

Postby Red Dawg » August 14th, 2012, 6:16 pm

Can I use Go Kart wheels and tires?

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » August 14th, 2012, 6:24 pm

Red Dawg wrote:Can I use Go Kart wheels and tires?

So you feel that will be faster than my bicycle wheels?
Next thing yuh checking the Met office to see if going to rain and come with some "wets"!

cornfused

Postby cornfused » August 14th, 2012, 7:37 pm

Great initiative , have to agree with Rassey on the elevated start , this would be the most even form of start . For example if you have myself pushing , I have pushed a car and driver with a locked up diff recently vs a power plant of the resident strong man Uncle Duane , who may have (operative word ) recently pushed a lawnmower ........ you get the picture .

The advantage is assigned to the strong man team or fast legs team not necessarily the best built cart or good driver .

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » August 14th, 2012, 8:08 pm

Interesting comment there Cornfused. Point noted and will address shortly.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 14th, 2012, 8:41 pm

cornfused wrote:Great initiative , have to agree with Rassey on the elevated start , this would be the most even form of start . For example if you have myself pushing , I have pushed a car and driver with a locked up diff recently vs a power plant of the resident strong man Uncle Duane , who may have (operative word ) recently pushed a lawnmower ........ you get the picture .

The advantage is assigned to the strong man team or fast legs team not necessarily the best built cart or good driver .
I do not appreciate your tone sir

but yes I agree the ramp start is a good idea.
No one but the driver should be touching the kart.
It will also give the opportunity for brakes to be utilized and the timing system with red-light and reaction time will all come into play properly. Come off the brake too early and you red-light!

Postby Team Loco » August 14th, 2012, 9:09 pm

my team ready. its called team loco ;)

DownesDigital

Postby DownesDigital » August 14th, 2012, 9:16 pm

mmm, this could be consider a interesting event....DDS shall make his way there

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » August 14th, 2012, 11:22 pm

Team Loco wrote:my team ready. its called team loco ;)

Gosh boy that real creative. :lol:

Will suggest a prize for the most outlandish, that working eh!

Kamikaze

Postby Kamikaze » August 15th, 2012, 11:26 am

Kamikaze IN that!!!!!!!!!

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » August 15th, 2012, 11:55 am

Kamikaze wrote:Kamikaze IN that!!!!!!!!!

Oh Lord, going an talk to the Insurance company one time! :P

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » August 15th, 2012, 11:55 am

Kamikaze wrote:Kamikaze IN that!!!!!!!!!

Oh Lord, going an talk to the Insurance company one time! :P

Postby ronsin1 » August 15th, 2012, 2:37 pm

So where do we register for this Mitsucrew is interested

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » August 15th, 2012, 2:45 pm

ronsin1 wrote:So where do we register for this Mitsucrew is interested

We just need to get a listing of all interested as we go along.

Will have more discussions at our briefing meeting for D&W #7 next week Wednesday 22nd at MOSPORTT.

And a specific briefing for this Event on 29th August at the Arima Town Hall.

Kamikaze

Postby Kamikaze » August 16th, 2012, 8:27 am

SOUNDS great , the sooner we have rules an guidelines determining karts the better ,

some ideas may be
1 maximum/ minimum weight or weight classes
2 overall kart footprint dimensions
3 max/ minimum wheel dimensions an number of wheels

:D cant wait to start build
Last edited by Kamikaze on August 16th, 2012, 10:46 am, edited 1 time in total.

Kamikaze

Postby Kamikaze » August 16th, 2012, 8:30 am

i think zak already has one for his son :)

Postby sliderz1 » August 16th, 2012, 10:50 am

AutoSport wrote:And a specific briefing for this Event on 29th August at the Arima Town Hall.

can u update with a time please, i am interested

Postby Team Loco » August 16th, 2012, 11:14 am

Kamikaze wrote:SOUNDS great , the sooner we have rules an guidelines determining karts the better ,

some ideas may be
1 maximum/ minimum weight or weight classes
2 overall kart footprint dimensions
3 max/ minimum wheel dimensions an number of wheels

:D cant wait to start build

boy finish all de flecking projects you have pile up first nah. right now u have a rotary box cart put down 3 yrs now. :D

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » August 16th, 2012, 4:27 pm

Team Loco wrote:
boy finish all de flecking projects you have pile up first nah. right now u have a rotary box cart put down 3 yrs now. :D

Wait, yuh wondering if some of them projects can fall into the Box Kart category???? :roll:

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » August 16th, 2012, 10:17 pm

Ok so we have a position on the basic rules re Box Kart dimensions:

(1) maximum / minimum weight or weight classes - free
(2) overall kart footprint dimensions – not wider than 3 feet nor longer than 6 feet
(3) max wheel dimensions – 16’’
(4) and number of wheels not less than four.

Space for a number on the sides.

nigie

Postby nigie » August 16th, 2012, 11:19 pm

can u define "mainly out of wood"
would a steel chassis with a wood body bolted on b allowed
and would "hardboard wrapping" b allowed

Red Dawg

Postby Red Dawg » August 17th, 2012, 3:21 am

AutoSport wrote:
Red Dawg wrote:Can I use Go Kart wheels and tires?

So you feel that will be faster than my bicycle wheels?
Next thing yuh checking the Met office to see if going to rain and come with some "wets"!

I just want to use what I have.

Return to “AutoSport Drag & Wind”