Red Dawg

Re: Arima Fest Box Kart Derby – Drag Racing. Carded for 2nd

Postby Red Dawg » August 17th, 2012, 6:09 am

nigie wrote:can u define "mainly out of wood"
would a steel chassis with a wood body bolted on b allowed
and would "hardboard wrapping" b allowed

Seconded.
Can you please define "Built mainly out of wood".

nigie

Postby nigie » August 17th, 2012, 11:20 am

wow ...can we get a little more length.... cramming a over 6ft hombre in a cart would be tuff..eh red dawg

Postby eliteauto » August 17th, 2012, 12:28 pm

nigie wrote:wow ...can we get a little more length.... cramming a over 6ft hombre in a cart would be tuff..eh red dawg

does he plan to lie in it? :lol: :lol:

Red Dawg

Postby Red Dawg » August 17th, 2012, 12:55 pm

I learned a long time ago that I am not the best driver.
I am 6'7" tall and weigh 265lbs, so I am probably not the best choice to fit into a wood box kart.
I will build it and get somebody else to drive.

Postby SR » August 17th, 2012, 12:58 pm

:)
hmmmmm

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » August 17th, 2012, 1:19 pm

nigie wrote:can u define "mainly out of wood"
would a steel chassis with a wood body bolted on b allowed
and would "hardboard wrapping" b allowed

Why allyuh doh copy the Morgan Chassis that is built mainly out of wood?

OK so a rectangular metal frame with wood may be Ok

No other restrictions on wrapping etc.

The length, if we are using 4 x 8 sheets for the ramp, then you see why we are saying a length of 6'.

So less time on the Dyno and more in the wind-tunnel!

Keep It Simple Sxyz.....

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » August 17th, 2012, 1:28 pm

Red Dawg wrote:I learned a long time ago that I am not the best driver.
I am 6'7" tall and weigh 265lbs, so I am probably not the best choice to fit into a wood box kart.
I will build it and get somebody else to drive.

And yuh next pardner is bout 4'7" and still 265lbs. so he too pudgy.

So can we get some Tequila Twist in on the project?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 17th, 2012, 10:13 pm

flyer added

Postby Team Loco » August 18th, 2012, 9:16 am

Looks like I can just remove my engine an I havee a premade cart already

Kamikaze

Postby Kamikaze » August 18th, 2012, 3:59 pm

just confirming when say 16 inch diameter , allowing 16inch bike rim an tyre? or a measuring tape 16 inch overall ? ie 14 or 15 inch rim?

an metal frame covered in wood or Al or composite :twisted: allowed

Kamikaze design team in full ahead mode
Team Kamikaze love the pink kart on flyer!!!!!!!

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » August 18th, 2012, 11:05 pm

Kamikaze wrote:just confirming when say 16 inch diameter , allowing 16inch bike rim an tyre? or a measuring tape 16 inch overall ? ie 14 or 15 inch rim?

an metal frame covered in wood or Al or composite :twisted: allowed

Kamikaze design team in full ahead mode
Team Kamikaze love the pink kart on flyer!!!!!!!

16" external diameter, else we might get a 16" drag wheel with a tyre diameter bout 26" - kinda crazy but then that is what we are dealing with in some instances, right?

an metal frame covered in wood or Al or composite - and where will this end up?
Just stick 4 wheels on a 3 x 6 sheet of ply and let Red dawg squeeze up on this, head first eh, less wind resistance.
And someone suggest deploying and using an umbrella as brakes. Lord help us!

nigie

Postby nigie » August 19th, 2012, 7:43 am

ok 6 ft footprint max...so i can have a 2ft...rear wing :D

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » August 19th, 2012, 2:06 pm

nigie wrote:ok 6 ft footprint max...so i can have a 2ft...rear wing :D

Why not 3ft rear wing and then a F1 style 2 ft front spoiler.

New Rule: Everybody turn off their motor racing knowledge, Box Kart means a BOX KART! :mrgreen:

Just kidding - 3 foot width by six foot length is to stay within the length of the 4 x 8 ramp, and if we raise this above 45degrees to give more roll-out speed , yuh just might get hang up on the way off the ramp.
But go ahead, have fun and let the imagination run wild.

Kamikaze

Postby Kamikaze » August 19th, 2012, 5:41 pm

build has begun!!! will be taking pics but willpost after as team loco already sending spys!!!

Kamikaze

Postby Kamikaze » August 19th, 2012, 5:51 pm

try this nah Shaun!!

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » August 19th, 2012, 7:59 pm

Kamikaze wrote:Image

try this nah Shaun!!

^That design, while basic, will be going round in circles like a dodgem car!

Am.... just to remind everybody, is supposed to be a straight line from start to finish, yuh know, like a drag race...right!

Oh one more thing, we are hoping to have an ATV or two to pull the Karts back to the top, so please put a lil thing so we can attach a hook, really do not wish to request a snorkel truck just yet.

nigie

Postby nigie » August 19th, 2012, 8:02 pm

Kamikaze wrote:build has begun!!! will be taking pics but willpost after as team loco already sending spys!!!

???build has begun... :lol: ....was testing b car today...awaiting a firm up on rules/specs....patented rear chassis... :lol:

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » August 19th, 2012, 10:09 pm

nigie wrote:
Kamikaze wrote:build has begun!!! will be taking pics but willpost after as team loco already sending spys!!!

???build has begun... :lol: ....was testing b car today...awaiting a firm up on rules/specs....patented rear chassis... :lol:

Nice set of Brembos there on that Carbon Fibre Chassis. Wait who is the driver?
Going an adjust the rules to deal with drivers with plenty Caribbean experience.

Red Dawg

Postby Red Dawg » August 20th, 2012, 11:51 am

Wait

Red Dawg Racing is coming

Kamikaze

Postby Kamikaze » August 20th, 2012, 1:44 pm

liking the look lol happy metal frame allowed increases the safety an then put my ply box cart ontop :)

MissParker

Postby MissParker » August 20th, 2012, 11:18 pm

AutoSport wrote:
Kamikaze wrote:Image

try this nah Shaun!!

^That design, while basic, will be going round in circles like a dodgem car!

Am.... just to remind everybody, is supposed to be a straight line from start to finish, yuh know, like a drag race...right!

Oh one more thing, we are hoping to have an ATV or two to pull the Karts back to the top, so please put a lil thing so we can attach a hook, really do not wish to request a snorkel truck just yet.

True, a straight line would be the best way to move (and to win!), but if some people want to go in circles, and be the entertainment....I say humour them! Unless of course you are concerned about safety...that's my thing really: safety. Has the safety team done a risk assessment yet...? :) Only half-kidding here....

Kamikaze

Postby Kamikaze » August 21st, 2012, 7:07 am

ppl that design is just to throw team loco off lol ( or is it!!!!)

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » August 21st, 2012, 10:01 am

Kamikaze wrote:ppl that design is just to throw team loco off lol ( or is it!!!!)

Sir, with a name like "Team Loco:" you are still wondering if team loco is off?

And another name like "Kamikaze" and people coming here to ask about "risk assessment"?
Why you think we agreed on the location which is just on the other side of the Arima Health Facility?

MissParker

Postby MissParker » August 21st, 2012, 10:58 am

The "people" speak again. Staging next to the Arima Health Facility is a good plan...do they know you're counting on them for actual health care support? It may help them to be made aware of that officially. It's what OSHA would say...but you probably already have that covered, and I'm being redundant....I do apologise.

Kamikaze

Postby Kamikaze » August 21st, 2012, 11:30 am

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » August 21st, 2012, 1:50 pm

Kamikaze wrote:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ORADSpeGpwQ&feature=related

Just love this!

Tempted to have a 3-wheel class on condition that all 3-wheelers are built to these specs.

Note at 2.00 the right knee done have the road rash cutout!

Postby wagonrunner » August 21st, 2012, 2:15 pm

you get the impression someone here had to be told it's ok to be happy before they actually could? Sheesh.
AutoSport wrote:
Just love this!

Tempted to have a 3-wheel class on condition that all 3-wheelers are built to these specs.

That's a damn innovative steering, and a lot of faith in those two planks. :lol: :lol:

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » August 21st, 2012, 2:28 pm

wagonrunner wrote:you get the impression someone here had to be told it's ok to be happy before they actually could? Sheesh.
AutoSport wrote:
Just love this!

That's a damn innovative steering, and a lot of faith in those two planks. :lol: :lol:

And the joke about this.... it can be an easy winner beating out all of the dyno and wind-tunnel kings.

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » August 21st, 2012, 6:56 pm

Note that Registration will be done at a Briefing meeting on Wed. 29th at the Arima Town Hall at 7:00pm
That general note on the flyer is for those in and around Arima.

And yes you can register two or three other Karts and bring yuh......other friends. :lol:

Red Dawg

Postby Red Dawg » August 22nd, 2012, 5:37 am

Let the comments begin

Return to “AutoSport Drag & Wind”