Arima Fest Box Kart Derby – Drag Racing. Carded for 2nd Sept

AutoSport

Re: Arima Fest Box Kart Derby – Drag Racing. Carded for 2nd

Postby AutoSport » August 29th, 2012, 2:49 pm

We have indicated to Team Pressure Extreme, AKA Gormandy Engineering of California, based in Sea Lots, that we will be working with a 30 degree rise/incline.

Love the suggestions proffered by Red Dawg Engineering and will be applying to the Patents Office for "permission to use"after paying the appropriate "copy-rite" fees which we hope will be slightly less that the Marley Boys $200,000.00 fees.

So we move on.

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » August 29th, 2012, 3:44 pm

Oh and remember we have been saying that the ramp will be eight feet and Karts not longer that 6 feet!

Red Dawg

Postby Red Dawg » August 29th, 2012, 4:43 pm

at 45 degrees, a ramp will have the same height at the back as it's length at the base.
by my estimation, the ramp in the pictures, which is 1/3 the height of it's length at the base, is only 15 degrees.
I think that 30 degrees might still be a bit ambitous.

Red Dawg

Postby Red Dawg » August 29th, 2012, 4:45 pm

AutoSport wrote:We have indicated to Team Pressure Extreme, AKA Gormandy Engineering of California, based in Sea Lots, that we will be working with a 30 degree rise/incline.

Love the suggestions proffered by Red Dawg Engineering and will be applying to the Patents Office for "permission to use"after paying the appropriate "copy-rite" fees which we hope will be slightly less that the Marley Boys $200,000.00 fees.

So we move on.

:rofl: :rofl:

zakwaddell

Postby zakwaddell » August 30th, 2012, 6:19 am

Rawle,

Whats the story with this event? Is it on?

Red Dawg

Postby Red Dawg » August 30th, 2012, 6:30 am

Event is on Zak.
Briefing was last night in Arima.
Competitors that have not registered yet must be at the venue by 11 am on Sunday.

The start is at RBTT Arima.

nigie

Postby nigie » August 30th, 2012, 8:31 am

and TEAM PRESSURE EXTREME...done start celibrating.. :lol:

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » August 30th, 2012, 10:06 am

Some additional information following last night's meeting at the Arima Town Hall:

WE hope that all competitors will be up by 11:00am.
Competitors to enter Royal Bank Car Park (opposite Pennywise) with service vehicle and Box Kart
Box Karts to be pulled to ‘Pit Area” located between Market and Royal Bank
No Entries accepted after 12 noon on Sunday.
Start at 1:00pm – provided all vendors are out of the way.
Length of run is approximately 330 feet.
First 90 minutes will be for test runs for ALL competitors.
Remember the basic rules of not less than 50% wood, this will be determined by Event coordinator Cheryl Lalla.
And again we repeat requirement of a hook to tow Karts back to the top.
Simple Drag Racing Rules will apply, including loss of run if centre line is crossed.

Depending on the final number of entries, Karts will be paired and we will be running races and gradually eliminate competitors when they have lost twice.

Among the entries received were from families that will be sharing their Box Kart, so that we do have some 12 and under, and then the older one in the over 12 Class - real family type event.

And already we are seeing the challenges from the so-called big-time racers with their International connections lending design support. Good thing it have F1 this weekend else they might just try to bring in the F1 front spoilers that get bolted on in seconds.

Red Dawg

Postby Red Dawg » August 31st, 2012, 6:00 pm

They tell me it need to have wood.

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » August 31st, 2012, 10:58 pm

Red Dawg wrote:They tell me it need to have wood.

But wait, this Kart have 8 wheels!
So back to the regulations for these guys, I feel that they have secretly brought in Pininfarina.
Just waiting to see what that high-powered team from California in Sea Lots coming with.

And nice to se we have some teams from the South, Central and then the Kamikaze attack, sticking together God alone knows what!
If it is anything like the B13 Rally car we in for a treat. And if the father gets involved well is more trouble.

Postby SR » September 1st, 2012, 7:04 am

lets hope it remains PINK as well

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » September 1st, 2012, 9:12 am

SR wrote:lets hope it remains PINK as well

Nex thing they calling it the PINK Kartillac!

Red Dawg

Postby Red Dawg » September 1st, 2012, 6:11 pm

AutoSport wrote:Image
But wait, this Kart have 8 wheels!

Spring loaded device to pole vault the kart over competitors that are in the way, plus sturdy bumper to push others out of the way.
Are you sure that box kart racing isn't a contact sport?

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » September 1st, 2012, 7:48 pm

Not a problem Sir, that is why we have the likes of Kamakzie to deal with you!

When we finish, we move the barriers and you cruze on straight to Licencing Office to collect yuh number plates.

Postby Monk BANzai » September 2nd, 2012, 12:21 am

look out for it tomorrow...

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » September 2nd, 2012, 8:39 am

[quote="BANzai Rastafarai"]look out for it tomorrow.../quote]

Notice this was posted on Sunday morning, so you racing on Monday?

But yuh welcome to take some licks on yuh own front door. :lol:

Postby Monk BANzai » September 2nd, 2012, 9:12 am

lol... LOL......

professor

Postby professor » September 2nd, 2012, 10:38 am

Good work Red Dawg. I am sure it's going to be the one to beat.

Postby Monk BANzai » September 2nd, 2012, 7:35 pm

he came close...ran consistent 19's all day.... but Team Black Star Liner put down the best competiton time of 18.52 @ 2.74mph.

in trials we did a 16.6....but cudnt seem to beat that time...

Congrats to the team... 15 hours of construction time from Saturday at 3pm till 8am this morn....

Our cart...at 8:30am..after the allnighter...

the 16.6 run...

Proof of the time...lol

some other "Creations" that was there...

we had reeeeeeeeeeeeeel fun tho!!!

locally built.... and very well too!!

Winning Driver Kevon FATTS Thomas with another great... Frankie Boodram..

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » September 2nd, 2012, 8:35 pm

buh' wey nigie ting

María

Postby María » September 2nd, 2012, 10:21 pm

a few pix
SAM_0358.JPG
SAM_0358.JPG (83.74 KiB) Viewed 17893 times
SAM_0354.JPG
SAM_0354.JPG (88.88 KiB) Viewed 17893 times
SAM_0350.JPG
SAM_0350.JPG (86.17 KiB) Viewed 17893 times
SAM_0348.JPG
SAM_0348.JPG (83.81 KiB) Viewed 17893 times
SAM_0345.JPG
SAM_0345.JPG (89.94 KiB) Viewed 17893 times

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » September 2nd, 2012, 10:59 pm

Full report will follow shortly but here are the results:

Arima Fest Box Kart Derby held on 2nd September 2012

12 and Under
#34 Joel Paul
#24B Ansar Ali
#24 D Chad Hosein

Over 12 Category
15 Kevon Thomas
2 Anthony Cozier
3 Stephen Jones

The following was judged and determined by the Arima Fest Committee:
Best Dressed - Kevon Thomas who came with full racing gear and helmet

Best BOX Kart
The Kart #34 built by Michael Douglas and Team Katanga.

Event coordinated and run by the AutoSport Racing Association Team using their full Drag Racing Timing Equipment inclusive of Scoreboards- note the fastest Kart time and MPH clearly displayed on Timing Slip posted above - so no Police could tell us we breaking the Speed Limit!

Postby wagon r » September 3rd, 2012, 12:11 am

Congrats on the event...and can't wait for the full championship to start @ various locations across the country (hard luck central).

Postby Monk BANzai » September 3rd, 2012, 1:04 am

like the Initial Drag and Wine...if this event is consistent....the levels of competition will be awesome amongst the teams...The father -Son thing with Team Cozier and the AutoNation Team was something we need to see more of...

Was good going up against the greats like the Gormandy guys...and the picong in the "Pit area" about lodging a protest after the 16.6 run....

Red Dawg

Postby Red Dawg » September 3rd, 2012, 7:06 am

Red Dawg Racing

Red Dawg Racing would like to congratulate his worship, Mr. Ghassan Youseph, the Mayor of Arima, the Arima Borough Corporation and Autosport Promotions Ltd. on the successful running of the first Arima Fest Box Kart Derby.

We would also like to congratulate Black Star Line Racing on their first place finish in the final.

Red Dawg Racing thanks the following for their help and support:

Robert Dow and Dillion Gomez, Dow Fabrication
Narend Sooknarine, Zorce Publications, Zorce Racing Magazine
Steve Boodram, Paint Masters Ltd.
C. W. Cozier and Janice Cozier, for allowing us to turn their garage into a woodworking and paint shop.

Keyser Soze

Postby Keyser Soze » September 3rd, 2012, 7:23 am

congrats on a sucessful event Autosport, cangrats also to meh dawgy Fatts...

nigie

Postby nigie » September 3rd, 2012, 8:37 am

Great event as expected....Excellent weather ...u know who 2 thank 4 that ....congrats to Black starline and all winners & participants....as Red Dawg said ....Name the hill and we will meet u there.... :mrgreen:

Postby sliderz1 » September 3rd, 2012, 9:22 am

congrats to all on innovation and creation!

dubcity

Postby dubcity » September 3rd, 2012, 9:37 am

Was a good event overall.The rules were bended though which made it unfair to others who stuck to them.It stated the kart must be built out of MAINLY WOOD!!!
I guess if we where to stick to that rule there would've only been 5 competitors.

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » September 3rd, 2012, 9:46 am

wagon r wrote:Congrats on the event...and can't wait for the full championship to start @ various locations across the country (hard luck central).

So finally able to stage an event on the roads of Arima and did not break the speed limit.

Big thanks to His Worship the Mayor of Arima, the Dep. Mayor and the Councillors, The Borough Police led by Inspector Preito. And of course Cheryl Lalla Event coordinator in conjunction with the ARA Team.

The competitors, some with real serious design and the long hours especially the BSL BlackStarLine Racing Team of Arima who set a National Record for Box Kart Racing. Christian Cozier three generations present including Grandfather Winston Cozier one of the pioneers of Circuit Racing in T&T.

The Gormandy Engineering team who built two racing machines, one selected by the Arima Fest Committee as winner of Best BOX Kart, the State of The Art and AutoNation team who came with one Kart and FOUR drivers, the Dindial and Rampersadsingh teams from South. Full report will be done separately, but from all appearances, we are on our way!

And yes Wagon R we already looking at a full championship series that we can move around the country, but yuh know our luck, somebody will start to ask for special licence and sanction.
Last edited by AutoSport on September 3rd, 2012, 10:39 am, edited 1 time in total.

Return to “AutoSport Drag & Wind”