AutoSport D&W #1 27th January 2013 at ARC Car Park

AutoSport

AutoSport D&W #1 27th January 2013 at ARC Car Park

Postby AutoSport » January 22nd, 2013, 12:11 am

So here we are in the New Year, and some we understand, are just rearing to hit the track as we head into D&W #1 carded for 27th January 2013.

Briefing meeting on Wednesday 23rd January at MOSPORTT at 7:00pm. If we have a full entry list of say 65 competitors, we may very well not accept any entries on Sunday morning.

Entry fee for competitors will be $150.00 until we revise the content of the DVD. This entry fee gives you three people passes, inclusive of driver, and two vehicle passes, for competing car and service vehicle. Entry fee for patrons stays at $30.00 (at least for this first Event), and yes there are covered bleachers. Food and drink on sale.…..

Regulations change for 2013? – Basically the same but if you have racing tyres, which will be determined by the treadwear, if 140 or less, you are headed straight to the A Class.

Break-out times will change. Since we shall be making some changes to the course and only when run, can we determine the top – A….. and the bottom – B.

Points-system stays the same –
Attendance / signing register at Briefing on Wednesday – 10 points.
Entry at briefing – 10 points.
Attendance / signing register at Drivers meeting Sunday at 10am -10 points.
First Place – 100 points Second Place – 100 points
Third Place – 60 points Fourth Place – 40 points

For the first two Events, where competitors are still adjusting and we are still fine tuning, you will be allowed to walk with points earned to another Class. But from 3rd Event, no movement with points. And we only count points from best eight of the ten events.

Our scrutineering of car is relatively simple, car must be in sound mechanical and body condition all around, with Fire extinguisher safely bolted in, and Driver (and passenger) must use helmet, no slippers, no short pants no sleeveless. We wish that from this year drivers will start to use safety suits, at least the top, and gradually get into full suits.

No loud exhaust – this can affect the horses in stables close by, and also cause ARC to withdraw permission. And no vehicles with loud music welcome, this just blocks our competitors from hearing our calls to race. One dotish display with any car and you are out, maybe for several events.

Improvements for 2013 – attempt to start early. Working assiduously on more sponsorship that would facilitate more media advertising, thus more exposure for everyone.

And one Sponsor actually coming forward to Sponsor a Drifting Class at the end of every Event. This can only give more exposure to those involved.

Looking at possibly doing an Event at Brian Lara Stadium.
The Arima Box Kart Derby is carded for 1st April – seriously!
And also another Event in Tobago in May.

We have received an invitation from CARS who will be having their pre-season Dyno-Day on Saturday 26th January at MAS tuning's Dyno in Couva from 8:00am to 4:00pm .
Cost: CARS Membership {if you wish to join), Dyno & Weighing: $300.00
Dyno and Weighing only: $200.00.

Our dates for 2013 are as follows:
January 27th March 3rd, April 14th, May 19th, June 23rd
July 28th August 25th September 29th October20th November17th.

Our ARA Team has been quietly working through the holiday period finalizing plans with the other Clubs/Associations re dates, and the ARC, and we must continue to be ever careful of the noise issues. Hopefully the Car Park will be locked down and no longer be a free passageway. This should minimize the clean-up process and the dumping of garbage should also be neutralized.

AS usual we shall continue to have continuing dialog with all involved and look forward to an even bigger and better year of competition.

Flyer and entry list added

ARA D&W Entries for Event 1 as at 24th January…
1 1 97 Hafiz Ali Civic 1600
2 1A 89 Kendall Chai Honda CRX 1600
3 1A 932 Naz Mohammed Locost 1600
4 1B 8 Shaun Mohammed Locost 1600
5 1B 101 Neil Gopeesingh Suxuki Gti 1300
6 1B 109 Steven Hosein Civic STi 1600
7 1B 251 Leon O'Brien Nissan B14 1500
8 1B 895 Alexander Foster Civic 1500
9 2 14 Aqeeb Ali Honda Civic 1800
10 2 21 Roger Khan Civic 2000
11 2 23 Andre Achat Accent GT 2000
12 2 76 Neil Boodoo Altezza
13 2 87 Ronnie Ramdeo Civic 1800
14 2 511 Kevon Thomas Nissan B14 2000
15 2A 47 Devendra Kahadar Integra 1800
16 2A 86 Nicholas Chang Wai Civic 2000
17 2A 130 Shameer Mohammed Nissan B14 1998
18 2A 707 David Lyons Suxuki Gti 1300 T
19 2A 888 Anthony Farah Honda Civic 1800
20 2B 28 Kirk Ho Hing VW Jetta 1398 TC
21 2B 31 Anil Sooknanan Primera 2000
22 2B 48 Rajendra Singh Wingroad 2000
23 2B 52 Trevy Hosein Mazda MX3 2000
24 2B 54 Anil Mack Civic 1800
25 2B 105 Christopher Kahadar Mazda 2000
26 2B 111 Venus Miller Altezza 2000
27 2B 229 Shalan Mack Wingroad 2000
28 3 73 Jason Ramnath Sylvia S13 2000
29 3 180 Reagan Birbal Nissan 180 Sx 2000
30 3A 37 Devi Nath Suzuki 1500 T
31 3A 40 Nizam Mohammed Civic 1600
32 3A 114 Feyaz Mohammed BMW
33 3A 115 Michael Heerah Skyline 2000
34 3A 116 Yeaown Chang S 15 Sylvia
35 3B 9 Hannah Morris Mini Cooper S
36 3B 20 Saeed Mandal Civic 1800 T
37 3B 96 Imran Khan Medallist 2000
38 3B 125 Junior Partarpsingh Silvia 2000
39 3B 300 Roger Hutcheon Nissan S13 2000
40 3B 363 Heera Manorath Medallist 2000
41 3B 555 Raj Baboolal BMW 2000T
42 4 1 Ruddy Beekee Evo 3 2000
43 4 22 Sarah Partapsingh Mit. Evo 2000
44 4 39 Javed Deen Subaru WRX STI 2500
45 4 45 Yazid Daryl Ali Mitsubishi Evo 5
46 4 57 Nicholas Mooloo Subaru WRX
47 4 71 Javed Mohammed Legacy 2000 GT
48 4 80 Ronald Ramdhan Subaru STI
49 4A 17 Kristian Boodoosingh Mit. Evo 6 2000
50 4A 62 Ronney Seepersad Subaru STI
51 4A 69 Clive Sugden Subaru STI
52 4A 700 Kevon Ramjohn Subaru WRX STI
53 4B 19 Troy Sooknanan Subaru WRX
54 4B 24 Barry Mykoo Subaru WRX STI
55 4B 41 Ajmal Mustapha Cefiero 2500 T
56 4B 70 Kevin Khan Cressida 3000
57 4B 94 Alistair Rahamut Mit. Evo 2000
58 4B 156 Samuel Weeks Evo 3 2000
59 4B 235 Olatungi Rudder-Fisher Impreza 2000
60 4B 3030 A. Ali Galant Fortis 2000
61 83 Sean Beharry
62 491 Rishi Birbal Cifero

AccentGt

Re: AutoSport D&W #1 27th January 2013 at ARC Car Park

Postby AccentGt » January 22nd, 2013, 6:54 am

I'm interested in taking Part in this event is there a number that i can call to get directions to MOSPORT for that briefing meeting Wednesday night. Thanks in Advance !

canada

Postby canada » January 22nd, 2013, 9:22 am

Isn't 140 considered street tires?

Postby crazybalhead » January 22nd, 2013, 9:24 am

canada, I would say yes. So the rule should be LESS than 140. Autosport?

Mudboy

Postby Mudboy » January 22nd, 2013, 9:48 am

Safety first....nice

"Our scrutineering of car is relatively simple, car must be in sound mechanical and body condition all around, with Fire extinguisher safely bolted in, and Driver (and passenger) must use helmet, no slippers, no short pants no sleeveless. We wish that from this year drivers will start to use safety suits, at least the top, and gradually get into full suits."

dubcity

Postby dubcity » January 22nd, 2013, 10:19 am

crazybalhead wrote:canada, I would say yes. So the rule should be LESS than 140. Autosport?

I agree here,140 is a street class tire and anyting lower is considered a race tire.

matthew2730mvp

Postby matthew2730mvp » January 22nd, 2013, 12:05 pm

Event in Tobago in May......# Sweet
Team 69 alongside Mr.Go-pro New tech comin soon

nismo_demon

Postby nismo_demon » January 22nd, 2013, 1:07 pm

most 140 treadwear tyres are considered street performance tyres not race tyres, for the competitors in B categories using these tyres would be unfair to put them to run against competitors doing faster times in the A categories, tyres alone cant drop times drastically

Postby wagonrunner » January 22nd, 2013, 3:36 pm

more than likely it's a similar rule as is used by CARS for their autocross / solodex.
That rule tries below 140 treadware are considered a bump.

The increased grip given by lower treadwear tires when used propelrly, allow you to brake later and harder, as well maintain higher speeds / aceleration through turns, which make for a faster time.

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » January 22nd, 2013, 3:50 pm

wagonrunner wrote:more than likely it's a similar rule as is used by CARS for their autocross / solodex.

The increased grip given by lower treadwear tires when used propelrly, allow you to brake later and harder, as well maintain higher speeds / aceleration through turns, which make for a faster time.

Talk done! Next?

AccentGt

Postby AccentGt » January 22nd, 2013, 4:29 pm

Contact Number to get directions for briefing meeting on Wednesday Night...

dubcity

Postby dubcity » January 22nd, 2013, 7:47 pm

AutoSport wrote:
wagonrunner wrote:more than likely it's a similar rule as is used by CARS for their autocross / solodex.

Talk done! Next?

SERIOUSLY!
The guy specifically said BELOW 140 TREADWEAR are considered a bump.Any way we don't want to start quoting CARS rules.
Kind Sir,you have started a great growing sport.Don't bring it down with a bunch of unnecessary rules.
There must be rules but please continue to dialogue with competitors to acknowledge if this is a fair one.

Postby wagonrunner » January 22nd, 2013, 8:32 pm

I say CARS say below 140 (could be mistaken). ARA says 140 & below, and that's the response?

Why do you find it unfair?

Postby wagon r » January 22nd, 2013, 8:51 pm

A question, raised by a competitor and i see the merit, are the spectators going to be moved from the current location given that on the return leg, cars enter the 360 at speed and could suffer a braking issue. What if.....?? We have seen cars spin out before tryin to late brake before making the 360.

Can they not be placed on the northern side (also blocking the view of the freebie fencers) where by also giving the course a few extra feet for margin for error...??

Again, I'm just asking..

dubcity

Postby dubcity » January 22nd, 2013, 9:21 pm

wagonrunner wrote:I say CARS say below 140 (could be mistaken). ARA says 140 & below, and that's the response?

I find it unfair because a 140 treadwear tire is not deemed a race tire.

Postby wagonrunner » January 22nd, 2013, 9:26 pm

dubcity wrote:
wagonrunner wrote:I say CARS say below 140 (could be mistaken). ARA says 140 & below, and that's the response?

OK. by who?
Is there any performance increase (as i described earlier) when compared to TW320+ in the same brand?

MICROTECH 7

Postby MICROTECH 7 » January 22nd, 2013, 9:26 pm

AccentGt wrote:Contact Number to get directions for briefing meeting on Wednesday Night...

Autosport PRO # 390-3357 for directions To Mo-sport Fredrick Settlement Caroni Central, just before the police station, left side approaching from Caroni roundabout, 7:00pm

AccentGt

Postby AccentGt » January 22nd, 2013, 9:30 pm

Thanks Microtech....

dubcity

Postby dubcity » January 22nd, 2013, 10:38 pm

dubcity wrote:

OK. by who?
Is there any performance increase (as i described earlier) when compared to TW320+ in the same brand?

If you look to Autocross in the US such as SCCA rules,they run 140 treadwear as STREET CLASS tires.
There is a performance increase,i never said there wasn't.Just as there is a greater increase when compared to a 60 treadwear.
It's almost like comparing C16 RACE fuel to premium pump fuel.

Thank you Sir for your comments,i'm hoping to hear from autosport on this matter.

Postby wagonrunner » January 22nd, 2013, 10:50 pm

LOL @ deja vu response.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Treadwear_rating

anyhow since it's done per company, and not to a standard. a figure was chosen based on history.

Postby pete » January 22nd, 2013, 11:34 pm

140 seems to be ultra high performance summer tyres. Is the rule to restrict "race" tyres or just high performance ones?

From personal experience, some 220 tw Michelin work better than some 140 bridgestone.

And those are nothing compared to 100 tw toyos.

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » January 23rd, 2013, 8:57 am

wagon r wrote:A question, raised by a competitor and i see the merit, are the spectators going to be moved from the current location given that on the return leg, cars enter the 360 at speed and could suffer a braking issue. What if.....?? We have seen cars spin out before tryin to late brake before making the 360.

Can they not be placed on the northern side (also blocking the view of the freebie fencers) where by also giving the course a few extra feet for margin for error...??

Again, I'm just asking..

x2..... :agrue:

Midnight_Demon

Postby Midnight_Demon » January 23rd, 2013, 11:40 am

AccentGt wrote:I'm interested in taking Part in this event is there a number that i can call to get directions to MOSPORT for that briefing meeting Wednesday night. Thanks in Advance !

Directions for briefing meeting at Mosportt -

Postby X2 » January 23rd, 2013, 12:47 pm

Well as it might be speculation...

I would like to move for suspension of Suzuki Ignis's from competition due to their ungodly tight turning radius.... and rwd cars should not be allowed to drift.

moti

Postby moti » January 23rd, 2013, 1:20 pm

X2 wrote:Well as it might be speculation...

I would like to move for suspension of Suzuki Ignis's from competition due to their ungodly tight turning radius.... and rwd cars should not be allowed to drift.

Postby wagon r » January 23rd, 2013, 2:31 pm

...then all Hondas should be banned from using VTEC...and all 4WDs should be non-turbo...

Postby wagonrunner » January 23rd, 2013, 3:28 pm

make it a foot race and saw off your own ankle at the start of 1st competition.
a "level" playing field will always be skewed, and attempts to ratify it even slightly always gets this response.

MICROTECH 7

Postby MICROTECH 7 » January 23rd, 2013, 4:09 pm

X2 wrote:Well as it might be speculation...

Lets me declare something to all you drivers.

From interaction with the organisers, D&W was created to encompass and support most if not all the different Motorsport disciplines. Autosport in all fairness multiplied the 1-4 categorise into A & B based on times thus creating 8 winners and is set on time attack rules which is similar to Solodex now Autocross.

I see here that some are suggesting changing the rules because of personal preferences in support of their own racing challenges much to the disadvantage against the other competitors that are not experiencing such.

My advice to Autosport is to stick to a working system that includes the whole and not the one, which is the formula that has contributed to Drag & Wind success. The interpenetration of of tread ware tyre rule needs to be discussed in detail for clarification.

Some advice for all drivers... If your class adversary seems unbeatable, change your driving set up or try to enhance your own personal performance, and most of all leave the basic rules alone.

moti

Postby moti » January 23rd, 2013, 7:50 pm

MICROTECH 7 wrote:Some advice for all drivers... If your class adversary seems unbeatable, change your driving set up or try to enhance your own personal performance, and most of all leave the basic rules alone.

bup....one time

thats all that needs to be done.

i say stick with the rules as is and just change the course a bit if you desire.
as for the 140TW rule, make it anything LESS than 140TW so if your tyre is 140 yuh safe but if is 139.5TW then automatic bump for you.

nismo_demon

Postby nismo_demon » January 24th, 2013, 4:02 pm

:drinking:
Last edited by nismo_demon on February 5th, 2013, 9:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Return to “AutoSport Drag & Wind”