AutoSport D&W #1 27th January 2013 at ARC Car Park

Re: AutoSport D&W #1 27th January 2013 at ARC Car Park

Postby pete » January 24th, 2013, 5:37 pm

Doesn't matter if one or two types are used..

You find it should multiply by 1.4 twice? Fact is it only supposed to have 170bhp, the same power as an SiR civic.

dubcity

Postby dubcity » January 24th, 2013, 6:43 pm

The guy has a point,regardless of how much power it makes.I'm sure it can be or is tuned to put out much more.A basic stage1 reflash on most turbocharged vehicles yields an impressive 30hp,let alone a twincharged one.
The multiplier shouldn't be twice though but probably around 1.7

Postby wagonrunner » January 24th, 2013, 7:11 pm

nismo_demon wrote:could someone from autosport please clarify something for me, according to classes and category placements (according to cc's) rules clearly stated that all forced induction engines are to be multiplied by 1.4, am i right? could someone please explain how is it possible that a TWIN CHARGED (turbo and supercharged) engine was still only multiplied by 1.4 and allowed to run whole year with this? which one of the forced inductions dont you guys check? i would like to know so maybe i can add that one onto my engine, thank you
I am not ARA.

that said, forced induction is forced induction. the fact that two systems are used does not change.
Does a twin turbo engine has the same issue?
dubcity wrote:The guy has a point,regardless of how much power it makes.I'm sure it can be or is tuned to put out much more.A basic stage1 reflash on most turbocharged vehicles yields an impressive 30hp,let alone a twincharged one.
The multiplier shouldn't be twice though but probably around 1.7

Do all turbos increase horsepower at the same rate? Perhaps thats why an average was used.

Postby pete » January 24th, 2013, 7:30 pm

Isn't this the same rule used in rally? Doesn't matter if the 1.4 liter engine makes 150 or 300hp, it's 1.4 times the displacement.

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » January 24th, 2013, 10:34 pm

Great to see the large turnout at the fist D&W Briefing meeting on the Night of 23rd January at MOSPORTT. In the end we had…….. 61 entries!
And even more delighted to see the dialog that took place where competitors were able to express their views on several competition issues and end up with some degree of consensus. But this is motor racing competition, and practically every single competitor would love to have the rules changed to suit his or her particular situation.

So we are keeping the rule where we shall only count the points from the best eight out of ten events.

And for clarification the tyre issue – simple, LOWER that 140 treadwear, move to the top of the Class....A!

Also it was agreed that those in the B Class, if you break out once, you lose the run. Break out twice you are out!

Remember, you have the opportunity to move from B to A even after competition has started, if after your FIRST run you realize that you will be challenged to stay within the Breakout limit of the B Class.

Postby X2 » January 24th, 2013, 11:52 pm

MICROTECH 7... duude... don't get ur panties in a twist. Them's what human beings call jokes.

As for the twin charging issue... you could say 'boost is boost'... if someone came running a rotrex supercharger with quick spool and strong topend... so be it... multipler is the same !

Rawle... basially, if you're in A section of your class, you can run ANY tyre ?

Postby wagonrunner » January 25th, 2013, 12:00 am

X2 wrote:Rawle... basially, if you're in A section of your class, you can run ANY tyre ?

I hope that is not a request to use garden hose eh.

dubcity

Postby dubcity » January 25th, 2013, 7:08 am

Good to know there are so many entries already!Autosport keep up the good work and lets have a safe and enjoyable event on Sunday as we always do.

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » January 25th, 2013, 7:21 am

X2 wrote:Rawle... basially, if you're in A section of your class, you can run ANY tyre ?

I hope that is not a request to use garden hose eh.

Yuh know, I was just wondering where X2 going with this?

Agree you are free to use the best.

And thanks for the good wishes dubcity - but is WE who have to make the Event a success.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 25th, 2013, 12:19 pm

Flyer and entry list added

ARA D&W Entries for Event 1 as at 24th January…
1 1 97 Hafiz Ali Civic 1600
2 1A 89 Kendall Chai Honda CRX 1600
3 1A 932 Naz Mohammed Locost 1600
4 1B 8 Shaun Mohammed Locost 1600
5 1B 101 Neil Gopeesingh Suxuki Gti 1300
6 1B 109 Steven Hosein Civic STi 1600
7 1B 251 Leon O'Brien Nissan B14 1500
8 1B 895 Alexander Foster Civic 1500
9 2 14 Aqeeb Ali Honda Civic 1800
10 2 21 Roger Khan Civic 2000
11 2 23 Andre Achat Accent GT 2000
12 2 76 Neil Boodoo Altezza
13 2 87 Ronnie Ramdeo Civic 1800
14 2 511 Kevon Thomas Nissan B14 2000
15 2A 47 Devendra Kahadar Integra 1800
16 2A 86 Nicholas Chang Wai Civic 2000
17 2A 130 Shameer Mohammed Nissan B14 1998
18 2A 707 David Lyons Suxuki Gti 1300 T
19 2A 888 Anthony Farah Honda Civic 1800
20 2B 28 Kirk Ho Hing VW Jetta 1398 TC
21 2B 31 Anil Sooknanan Primera 2000
22 2B 48 Rajendra Singh Wingroad 2000
23 2B 52 Trevy Hosein Mazda MX3 2000
24 2B 54 Anil Mack Civic 1800
25 2B 105 Christopher Kahadar Mazda 2000
26 2B 111 Venus Miller Altezza 2000
27 2B 229 Shalan Mack Wingroad 2000
28 3 73 Jason Ramnath Sylvia S13 2000
29 3 180 Reagan Birbal Nissan 180 Sx 2000
30 3A 37 Devi Nath Suzuki 1500 T
31 3A 40 Nizam Mohammed Civic 1600
32 3A 114 Feyaz Mohammed BMW
33 3A 115 Michael Heerah Skyline 2000
34 3A 116 Yeaown Chang S 15 Sylvia
35 3B 9 Hannah Morris Mini Cooper S
36 3B 20 Saeed Mandal Civic 1800 T
37 3B 96 Imran Khan Medallist 2000
38 3B 125 Junior Partarpsingh Silvia 2000
39 3B 300 Roger Hutcheon Nissan S13 2000
40 3B 363 Heera Manorath Medallist 2000
41 3B 555 Raj Baboolal BMW 2000T
42 4 1 Ruddy Beekee Evo 3 2000
43 4 22 Sarah Partapsingh Mit. Evo 2000
44 4 39 Javed Deen Subaru WRX STI 2500
45 4 45 Yazid Daryl Ali Mitsubishi Evo 5
46 4 57 Nicholas Mooloo Subaru WRX
47 4 71 Javed Mohammed Legacy 2000 GT
48 4 80 Ronald Ramdhan Subaru STI
49 4A 17 Kristian Boodoosingh Mit. Evo 6 2000
50 4A 62 Ronney Seepersad Subaru STI
51 4A 69 Clive Sugden Subaru STI
52 4A 700 Kevon Ramjohn Subaru WRX STI
53 4B 19 Troy Sooknanan Subaru WRX
54 4B 24 Barry Mykoo Subaru WRX STI
55 4B 41 Ajmal Mustapha Cefiero 2500 T
56 4B 70 Kevin Khan Cressida 3000
57 4B 94 Alistair Rahamut Mit. Evo 2000
58 4B 156 Samuel Weeks Evo 3 2000
59 4B 235 Olatungi Rudder-Fisher Impreza 2000
60 4B 3030 A. Ali Galant Fortis 2000
61 83 Sean Beharry
62 491 Rishi Birbal Cifero

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » January 25th, 2013, 9:25 pm

AutoSport wrote:
wagonrunner wrote:more than likely it's a similar rule as is used by CARS for their autocross / solodex.
That rule tries below 140 treadware are considered a bump.

The increased grip given by lower treadwear tires when used propelrly, allow you to brake later and harder, as well maintain higher speeds / aceleration through turns, which make for a faster time.

Talk done! Next?

thinking about it
i MUST say...
Primary: are we racing the "clock", if you are, the tire will not matter, as, if you brake out, then you bump up, let the drivers do want to run in their bracket. but once you brake out, you bump up...

i really time WE need to choose "who we are racing" is it PRIMARILY the "clock" or is it the fastest driver. as we can't be doing the two for the same event. more so if the A class has cars that are have NO break out times. meaning that cars in gt2A can be running times of that of gt3A and we have seen this.

no i am saying this because ppl are talking about so i am putting it out there, ppl are going to lie and cheat. but if you are going to cheat to win a bracket, then make sure ur ass duh brake out...

Computerman

Postby Computerman » January 25th, 2013, 9:54 pm

kes_vtec wrote:i really time WE need to choose "who we are racing" is it PRIMARILY the "clock" or is it the fastest driver. as we can't be doing the two for the same event. more so if the A class has cars that are have NO break out times. meaning that cars in gt2A can be running times of that of gt3A and we have seen this.

no i am saying this because ppl are talking about so i am putting it out there, ppl are going to lie and cheat. but if you are going to cheat to win a bracket, then make sure ur ass duh brake out...
Agreed. Remove A & B classing and run each class as a time bracket. Let the competitor choose which class he/she would like to compete in. Breakout = DQ.

MICROTECH 7

Postby MICROTECH 7 » January 25th, 2013, 10:44 pm

Computerman wrote:
kes_vtec wrote:i really time WE need to choose "who we are racing" is it PRIMARILY the "clock" or is it the fastest driver. as we can't be doing the two for the same event. more so if the A class has cars that are have NO break out times. meaning that cars in gt2A can be running times of that of gt3A and we have seen this.

Agreed. Remove A & B classing and run each class as a time bracket. Let the competitor choose which class he/she would like to compete in. Breakout = DQ.

Wednesday night at the briefing all in attendance were permitted to voice their opinion and issues in an open forum democratic manner, certainly a display of maturity on behalf of the organisers.

One driver presented the option of classification based on times run in the practice sessions, rather than cc engine size or tyre tread ware rules. This option was put to a vote and the drivers unanimous voted in favour the currently engine classification rule.

You guys cannot have it both ways, this will work for some and not all and will not allow you to reach your fullest potential, rather than becoming a better drivers, everybody is watching engine size, turbo chargers, 4wd, etc.

I believe the playing field is most level by times, and soon we may find out when the complaining starts.

southside crew

Postby southside crew » January 25th, 2013, 11:09 pm

Computerman wrote:

I think that's how it was at the beginning.. but some FWD N/A drivers were kicking against it * how can you put us with AWD Turbo cars etc*

ng357

Postby ng357 » January 25th, 2013, 11:28 pm

i en able with no sandbagging this year yes.... i hope men, take it upon they self to move up a class

Postby pete » January 26th, 2013, 7:29 am

If their times are competitive with AWD turbo cars and they're beating them with an N/A FWD car, they don't think it makes them look better than the current situation where they have high hp 1600 engines in light weight cars and beating up on heavier cars with less power?

ng357

Postby ng357 » January 26th, 2013, 8:40 am

so why not, let everyone race at their fastest, and have the brackets assigned that day from the times done, and then battle it off, then dat wud have 2 wheel drive cars vs 4WD. But then the issue of rain was brought up

Postby pete » January 26th, 2013, 8:42 am

Problem with that is - how do you run a championship?

ng357

Postby ng357 » January 26th, 2013, 8:57 am

by bracket, 1st in 52, 1st in 53 1st in 54secs and so on only prob is if a man mod his car too much and move out his bracket

Computerman

Postby Computerman » January 26th, 2013, 10:40 am

MICROTECH 7 wrote:
Computerman wrote:

Wednesday night at the briefing all in attendance were permitted to voice their opinion and issues in an open forum democratic manner, certainly a display of maturity on behalf of the organisers.

One driver presented the option of classification based on times run in the practice sessions, rather than cc engine size or tyre tread ware rules. This option was put to a vote and the drivers unanimous voted in favour the currently engine classification rule.

You guys cannot have it both ways, this will work for some and not all and will not allow you to reach your fullest potential, rather than becoming a better drivers, everybody is watching engine size, turbo chargers, 4wd, etc.

I believe the playing field is most level by times, and soon we may find out when the complaining starts.

Didn't mean it to sound like I was 'bitching'. Was just suggesting a way to simplify the brackets.

For argument sake (if we were to go with time bracket only), let's say I have a 4wd 500hp car and I want to compete in GT2. I run against a fwd 160hp car and more than likely breakout of the bracket, or get beat or perhaps (however unlikely) win. I would most certainly look like an advantageous fool and be the laughing stock of the motorsport community. But isn't that my choice? As for the issue of sandbagging, that will happen no matter what, we saw that quite a few times last year.

As far as I am concerned, majority rules. If the majority prefer the current method then we all abide by the rules and have an enjoyable day of racing.

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » January 26th, 2013, 12:26 pm

so let me add this....

i have a stock 1.3 motor, i am running gt1, break out is 60, may best time is 55, i then buy some 130 tires and now run 58...

what do you do?

the more i really think about this...
we need a good scale factor...

and hard "define" rules that scale...
i what D&W to be one of the best events and to stay as but two things
as a driver... don't let me vote on rules, but give me rules that are fair and true
as a driver... give me some where safe, and professionally run

note: solodex/autocross is about DRIVERS not the cars, so the car "HAVE TO BE EVEN OUT" now ppl understand this, this is not a diss, autocross, will normally have 15+ turns, we have 5. a not so good driver with a good car will do good at D&W, but he will suck and sol, for a good while. and again this is why D&W has more drivers. you don't feel as "shity".

the question really is...
are we "Time Attack", or are we "best driver"

i just saying... not that "we" have to pick now...
but more to autosport.

now i running no matter what the rules, but i want us to grow in a +ive way.

Computerman

Postby Computerman » January 26th, 2013, 12:49 pm

kes_vtec wrote:so let me add this....

i have a stock 1.3 motor, i am running gt1, break out is 60, may best time is 55, i then buy some 130 tires and now run 58...

what do you do?
I assume your example is for time bracket. I am assuming again that the brackets are 2 seconds apart. Therefore GT1=60, GT2=58, GT3=56, etc.. If your best time was 55 then you should be in GT3.
As far as 'upgrades', although there may be a 'standard' being used for classification, different setups will affect the effectiveness of the 'upgrade' for this type of motor racing. That is why we may have to start competing with purpose built cars.

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » January 26th, 2013, 6:29 pm

Computerman wrote: That is why we may have to start competing with purpose built cars.

and that ok, once we running the same time, and if a man wants to sandbag, let him, but from the time you brake out, pack ur ars to the next group, thank you.

dubcity

Postby dubcity » January 26th, 2013, 8:29 pm

On the note of sandbagging,as was said we saw alot last year.
Guys,feel free to say which competitiors to look out for because it's unfair to those who do their best..

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » January 26th, 2013, 10:59 pm

dubcity wrote:On the note of sandbagging,as was said we saw alot last year.
Guys,feel free to say which competitiors to look out for because it's unfair to those who do their best..

no... sandbagging is ok, if that is ur skill than OK....
but if the say sandbagger messes up his run, don't complain when you have to move to the next group.

moti

Postby moti » January 27th, 2013, 7:47 am

yay.........gonna start making my way to arima in a bit.

Postby Aaron 2NR » January 27th, 2013, 8:16 am

will be there

Postby Aaron 2NR » January 27th, 2013, 9:13 pm

preview check http://www.aaronachan.com for the rest

NXTREME

Postby NXTREME » January 28th, 2013, 7:00 am

first d&w was best, passed thru...but felt sorry for the guys who cant afford the $20 to pay an hadda be sharing hole in the fence with their padnas...epic

nismo_demon

Postby nismo_demon » January 28th, 2013, 8:24 am

:agrue:
Last edited by nismo_demon on February 5th, 2013, 9:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Return to “AutoSport Drag & Wind”