ARA D&W #7 Sunday 17th August at ARC

AutoSport

ARA D&W #7 Sunday 17th August at ARC

Postby AutoSport » August 10th, 2014, 10:16 pm

Our ARA Team has discussed the date for the staging of our next D&W Event, which was originally carded for 24th August. In light of the International Circuit Event carded for the same weekend at Waller Field, we have decided to bring our Event one week forward, and this will now be held on Sunday 17th August at ARC Car Park. We regret the clashing of dates with other Clubs/Associations (but we did try to squeeze in a few more than the 52 weeks in the year, but this was not possible).

The briefing meeting will be held on Wednesday 13th August at the Chaguanas Central Reg. Indoor Sport Arena, fro, 7:00pm. Due to the short notice, the Conference Room we normally use was already booked, so we shall be using a smaller room at the same location. If we can be advised before hand, by those who shall be participating, we can have entry forms partially filled out and receipts written up.

We remind all that as of this D&W # 7 Event, you must declare your Class, which will be your fixed Class for the rest of the year. Except, in the first instance, for those who choose to run in the “Progressive Class”, where competitors are allowed to freely move up, should they determine that they can improve their current Class times. And if we have in this Progressive Class, competitors running different times, then they will be run using the “Dial-Up” system.

In the second instance, new competitors will be allowed two events to confirm their Class.

We also confirm the staging of the Fund Raising event, the Celebrity Drive for Cancer in collaboration with Pudgy Productions and the T&T Cancer Society and the CDA, and AutoSport Racing Association, on Saturday 16th August at Pier 2, Chaguaramas. This date was agreed upon before our change of our original date, one week earlier than originally planned, so WE shall be making the sacrifice, especially for the cause.
“No one has ever become poor by giving.” ~ Anne Frank.

And we move back to ARC Car Park Arima, on Sunday 17th August!

Re: ARA D&W #7 Sunday 17th August at ARC

Postby Aaron 2NR » August 11th, 2014, 6:13 am

Nicelyyy

MICROTECH 7

Postby MICROTECH 7 » August 12th, 2014, 7:05 am

Thanks Autosport for the decision to run on the 17th August.

Anyone can see that this date must tax your manpower/resources considerably, because of the event commitment scheduled for the previous 16th date at Pier 2.

I hope all would recognize the unpredictable stretch being made, so that we will not lose another month of D/W racing.

As small as this event is, it represents unchallenged best management practices to date.

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » August 12th, 2014, 8:54 am

MICROTECH 7 wrote:Thanks Autosport for the decision to run on the 17th August.

Anyone can see that this date must tax your manpower/resources considerably, because of the event commitment scheduled for the previous 16th date at Pier 2.

I hope all would recognize the unpredictable stretch being made, so that we will not lose another month of D/W racing.

As small as this event is, it represents unchallenged best management practices to date.

And where are the newly exposed drivers getting their experience?

And where are they getting a chance to develop their cars, the suspension settings and shakedown to get out the bugs? The discipline and respect?

Postby Aaron 2NR » August 12th, 2014, 11:12 am

Rawle any word on the results?

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » August 12th, 2014, 4:11 pm

In taking a further look at the results, especially at the 57 Seconds Class issue re a cone that was down before the runs, we have determined that the the two competitors who qualified to run for 1st and 2nd place shall share first place. And the two for third and fourth shall share third place.

ARA D&W# 6 Results 27th July 2014
Best Reaction Time Spons. by Parts Unlimited
510 Darren Bahadur 0.007 Ssecs.

Fastest Car of the Day Spons. by Chef Café
707 David Lyons 52.040 Secs.

Class 60+ Secs. Sponsored by Lube Tech
1st 251 Leon O'Brien B14
2nd 850 Stefan Mohammed Volvo 850
3rd 601 Khaaliq Razac Toyota Viz Rs 1500
4th 111 Venus Miller Alteeza

Class 59 Secs. Sponsored by AutoSport
1st 152 Trevy Hosein Mazda MX3
2nd 720 Akash Maharaj Mazda RX7 RB20ET 2000cc
3rd 101 Neil Gopeesingh Swift Gti

Class 57 Secs Sponsored by Liqui Moly
1st 235 Olatunji Rudder-Fisher Subaru 2000
1st 277 Aaron Achan Impreza Sti
3rd 12 Dominic Kalipersad Sunny B11 2000
3rd 510 Darren Bahadur Datsun 510

Class 56 Secs. Sponsored by AutoSport
1st 68 Ronnie Ramdeo Honda Civic
2nd 908 L. Rampersadsingh Suzuki
3rd 3 Steven Hosein Audi S3

Class 55 Secs. Sponsored by AutoSport
1st 74 Bunny Kalipersad Impreza 2000
2nd 105 Christopher Kahadar Mazda Miata
3rd 999 Sean Shairsingh Lancer Wagon
4th 52 Steven Hosein Mazda MX3

Class 54 Secs. Sponsored by AutoSport
1st 739 Shane Allen Mit. Evo 9
2nd 37 Devi Nath Suuzuki GTI T
3rd 81 Khaleel Mohammed Datsun 2000

Class Open Sponsored by AutoSport
1st 707 David Lyons Suuzuki GTI T 1500
2nd 94 Alistair Rahamut Mitsubishi 2000
3rd 57 Nicholas Mooloo Subaru Impreza
Last edited by AutoSport on August 13th, 2014, 9:55 am, edited 2 times in total.

Postby Aaron 2NR » August 12th, 2014, 5:19 pm

Congrats Darren on the fastest reaction time

Postby pete » August 12th, 2014, 5:27 pm

How do two people come first and third?

Nick29

Postby Nick29 » August 12th, 2014, 5:28 pm

I think there is a mistake with 2nd place in open class. It should be Alistair Rahamut?

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » August 12th, 2014, 10:58 pm

pete wrote:How do two people come first and third?

We had an issue with a cone being down before the run and one driver was wrongly booked for hitting the cone in final run off for 1st and 2nd.

Same class, 3rd and 4th, same cone issue that caused lane 2 competitor to go wrong,

Of course brought to our attention after event, so we have determined this is the fairest way to deal with this matter.

2nd place in 52 secs, right Comp No, wrong name... fixed.

Postby Razkal » August 13th, 2014, 7:07 am

dread...i fill my forms correctly each time. so why de ass the engine designation for my car always wrong?
we dont even need that anymore. i have three trophies at home with wrong info for the car :|

Postby Aaron 2NR » August 13th, 2014, 7:35 am

if you like, i can collect them from you and correct them :P

*place sticker over aks name*

Postby Razkal » August 13th, 2014, 8:02 am

lol I'll survive! but I mean, it's as simple as transferring the correct info. not every "2000cc" engine is an sr20 lol

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » August 13th, 2014, 9:47 am

Razkal wrote:lol I'll survive! but I mean, it's as simple as transferring the correct info. not every "2000cc" engine is an sr20 lol

(1) We doh like you
(2) We want you to get a nex engine
(3) This spurs you on to come first nex time!
(4) Sell car buy nex car with correct engine.

Postby Razkal » August 13th, 2014, 9:33 pm

hahahaha! I'll sit quiet in the back of the class sir! *makes a space with the SR fellas* :p

tenzoswift

Postby tenzoswift » August 13th, 2014, 10:07 pm

Can I still sign up after Wednesday?

tenzoswift

Postby tenzoswift » August 13th, 2014, 10:10 pm

Can I still sign up after Wednesday?

MICROTECH 7

Postby MICROTECH 7 » August 14th, 2014, 7:13 am

tenzoswift wrote:Can I still sign up after Wednesday?

Be advised that you must try to make an early appearance by 9am.

Extra tents may be available, just ask, Registration $200.00, Tent $300.00.

Side note. The Autosport Team will be in Pier 2 on Saturday 16th for the Cancer society event the day before D/W, if you attend this, you could also sign up at that point.

hondastarr

Postby hondastarr » August 14th, 2014, 5:22 pm

Where are the two wingroads that was in competition lastyear? I haven't seen either one of them so far for this year, damn i used to enjoy seeing those 2 youths share licks with those wagons, always impressive. Come back out guys, spectator stands missin alyuh

dubcity

Postby dubcity » August 17th, 2014, 11:10 pm

Fuh real,dem men use to come and put it down on some of the 'faster cars' out there.

On a separate note,
D&W is becoming a little too predictable,don't want to call it boring.It needs new courses and perhaps different venues from time to time if possible.
Nonetheless,the Autosport team has and continue to put on great events for both competitors and spectators.
IMG-20140817-WA0003.jpg

Postby 16 cycles » August 18th, 2014, 7:11 am

^ caught some of it yesterday.....some of those races were neck and neck + some upsets...
some pics below

^spec c

^nice Nur decal..

^neck and neck with an mx5 - sweet brembo package on the front of the mx5

^good driving that day

^turbo inside

^one of the liqui moly sponsored cars...another well set up car...

^the other liqui moly car....ran as if on rails...

^front....sides might have the decals redone...

^turning radius on an evo is a SOB

^helluv an impressive wrx + driver....think a 0.003 reaction time at one point....launch like a mofo

^winner of the day...iirc- very fast evo - took down a circuit prepped car (swift)

^full of win

^in action

^sexy a4

^with a sexy backside

aston martin was there.....in spirit...

enjoyed the event and the lessons in tuning / rotary etc...

Postby Aaron 2NR » August 18th, 2014, 7:24 am

dubcity wrote:Fuh real,dem men use to come and put it down on some of the 'faster cars' out there.

On a separate note,
D&W is becoming a little too predictable,don't want to call it boring.It needs new courses and perhaps different venues from time to time if possible.
Nonetheless,the Autosport team has and continue to put on great events for both competitors and spectators.

totally disagree that the event is too predictable. i believe the new time bracket racing is making it a lot more competitive than groups cars based on hp and mods.

It's very hard to get a big enough venue to run a heads up competition like what takes place at D&W also because it is bracket racing, you cannot simply switch the course

Postby Razkal » August 18th, 2014, 8:28 am

I agree to an extent, the spectators seem to enjoy the familiarity of a static layout. but it does get a bit tedious.
it'll be great if we have other locations for the event, although I don't know where other than pier 2 carpark :/

Postby cinco » August 18th, 2014, 8:34 am

Razkal wrote:I agree to an extent, the spectators seem to enjoy the familiarity of a static layout. but it does get a bit tedious.
it'll be great if we have other locations for the event, although I don't know where other than pier 2 carpark :/

Tarouba stadium would be great

afternex2

Postby afternex2 » August 18th, 2014, 10:04 am

for some reason or the other i dont think Aaron understands bracket racing, because you cannot have 4 cars qualifying for a group an 2 of guys keeps breaking out by a one second or more.

if u wana call that competitive then go rite ahead.

simple.

Postby Aaron 2NR » August 18th, 2014, 10:46 am

well then the guys are in the wrong group. At yesterday's event, you had to call the class you are fixed to for the rest of the year. If you break out (run a faster time), you are out...there were some amendments to the rules to facilitate technical wins that took place in the past.

as a competitor i have no issue with the way the events are run currently, my only problem is men who intentionally sandbag

Postby pete » August 18th, 2014, 10:56 am

"Sandbagging" is a part of bracket racing. Especially if you get into a bracket and then get quicker as the year goes by. What you want the person to do? Lose their championship points gained over the year or just hold back by a fraction of a second to finish with a perfect time?

Postby Aaron 2NR » August 18th, 2014, 12:15 pm

All this was discussed at the briefing. ..im speaking about men who are capable and have been running faster times in practice etc but choose to run a slower class...

Anyways back to topic. ...I dont see thr event as becoming boring

dubcity

Postby dubcity » August 18th, 2014, 11:35 pm

[youtube]https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=fk_BiKJvSDY[/youtube]

I guess you know first hand about men that are running faster times but still in a slower class.
Sportsmanship is hard to come by these days.

Please do continue....
Last edited by dubcity on August 18th, 2014, 11:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.

dubcity

Postby dubcity » August 18th, 2014, 11:36 pm

But i see some other guys share the idea for a different venue.
The course does not have to be mirrored at another venue all the time.Take the stadium event last year for instance,times were added together from both lanes to get one run time.

Return to “AutoSport Drag & Wind”