2017 Sportage problem

Sportage, Sorento, Soul, Rio, Cerato, Optima

nightwolf

2017 Sportage problem

Postby nightwolf » December 1st, 2021, 5:47 pm

Started the car and saw every check/feature light come on and stay on. What does it mean ? (pic attached)
Also are there any good Kia mechanics in the east (Trincity, El Dorado etc or central area ?
FB106C7C-530D-4295-83D2-ADA7654D4DBD.jpeg
Last edited by nightwolf on December 1st, 2021, 6:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Re: 2017 Sportage problem

Postby Dave » December 1st, 2021, 6:02 pm

Wow. A scan won't hurt as a start.

david12

Postby david12 » December 1st, 2021, 6:09 pm

Are those all the lights that came on? Or did some go away? Seeing that you said all the lights came on just wondering if those are all the lights.

Those lights are Traction control off, auto hold on? I think? and ABS. Asking a chupid question but did you try to enable traction control and take off the auto hold? (if that's what it really is)

If you did the above with no luck, a scan would bring up any codes that an issue and it's a good start to diagnose if anything is wrong.

nightwolf

Postby nightwolf » December 1st, 2021, 6:39 pm

david12 wrote:Are those all the lights that came on? Or did some go away? Seeing that you said all the lights came on just wondering if those are all the lights.

Those lights are Traction control off, auto hold on? I think? and ABS. Asking a chupid question but did you try to enable traction control and take off the auto hold? (if that's what it really is)

If you did the above with no luck, a scan would bring up any codes that an issue and it's a good start to diagnose if anything is wrong.

The lights came on when I started the vehicle, but I took the pic after driving a bit, thus the temp.
Tried disabling and enabling the different things such as traction, hill assist, auto hold but nada.

Just borrowed a scanner and tried to scan but the lights didn't come on as before nor did the scan pick up anything. I'll keep the scanner in the car so I can scan when I see the lights show up again.

david12

Postby david12 » December 1st, 2021, 6:48 pm

Yup I noticed the temp guage, meant to ask about that. Do some googling to see if other owners had any similar problems. I am sure there is a Kia Sportage forum somewhere. If you can, post back if it happens again. I would be interested to see what the scan indicates.

nightwolf

Postby nightwolf » December 1st, 2021, 7:03 pm

Just did some googling. Saw Sachin's Automotive Services repaired the same problem on a Sportage this year, it was a failed ABS speed sensor. I'll give them a call in the morning.

david12

Postby david12 » December 1st, 2021, 10:41 pm

Just did some googling and I saw it, seems like you have your answer. I wonder if this is a common problem with that model Sportage?

nightwolf

Postby nightwolf » December 3rd, 2021, 1:34 pm

Thought I’d give an update for the benefit of other Sportage owners. Getting the ABS speed sensor changed now at Antar Auto in Chaguanas. It’s a common problem with the 2016-2017 Sportage. There’s another Sportage here for the same problem.

Kritical01

Postby Kritical01 » December 27th, 2021, 10:21 pm

The abs sensors tend to malfunction in pairs (one after each other- left and ride sides)
The original part is approx $500 in SS.

unciviclized

Postby unciviclized » May 16th, 2022, 1:58 pm

Had the same issue with my 2020 Sportage. ABS sensor was the issue as well. Changed at SSL under warranty.

Return to “KIA”