2008 sportage diesel

Sportage, Sorento, Soul, Rio, Cerato, Optima

TeamH2O

Re: 2008 sportage diesel

Postby TeamH2O » January 3rd, 2017, 1:35 pm

Got one from Rahamut, worked really well.....this trip I got 460km compared to my normal 390 lol

Van gonna be worked on today, might change out suspension and try to sort out injectors one time while I fix the tappet cover oil leak

ADONI

Postby ADONI » January 3rd, 2017, 3:33 pm

747 TECHNOLOGIES wrote:Got one from Rahamut, worked really well.....this trip I got 460km compared to my normal 390 lol

Van gonna be worked on today, might change out suspension and try to sort out injectors one time while I fix the tappet cover oil leak

Let me know wah you do with the suspension work. I saving to buy shocks, haven't decided what to buy as yet.

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » January 3rd, 2017, 6:53 pm

I was now gonna post and hope someone might have some FU shocks and springs, all 4 lol

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » January 3rd, 2017, 7:02 pm

ADONI wrote:
747 TECHNOLOGIES wrote:Got one from Rahamut, worked really well.....this trip I got 460km compared to my normal 390 lol

Let me know wah you do with the suspension work. I saving to buy shocks, haven't decided what to buy as yet.

Ditto..have a bent trailing arm and some cradle bushings to replace.

747, check kpartsmall for the injectors.

Still no advice about the Isofix guys??

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » January 3rd, 2017, 9:55 pm

Pressure all the time my injectors coming out nice all the other time i work on it and now.....the mc ting size inside and cant come out.....

Anyone know a way to get it out or know where i can get an injector puller for this asap????

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » January 3rd, 2017, 10:08 pm

747 TECHNOLOGIES wrote:Pressure all the time my injectors coming out nice all the other time i work on it and now.....the mc ting size inside and cant come out.....

Anyone know a way to get it out or know where i can get an injector puller for this asap????

Damn. I don't know how true this is, but when I replaced my nozzles, the technician said I was almost in your predicament, as the nozzles had swollen inside the engine head. According to him, the only way to fix that is to pull your head, and I guess you'd have to apply heat somewhere, causing enough expansion to free the injector up.

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » January 4th, 2017, 9:57 am

If i eh get an injector puller to buy I ordering one lol....it pulls it out by force slowly

ADONI

Postby ADONI » January 6th, 2017, 8:44 am

Came across this guys, a nice to know maybe...

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » January 6th, 2017, 8:10 pm

I was watching a vid today like that but with the injectors the sportage use, bosch.....some kit to do the same, once the return flow differs the injector needs to service or change.

Anybody have an old injector? I need the top cap to make up a injector removal tool....I managed to pry out one injector but that's breaking my hand :(

Wanna weld the top cap on a fitting on my slide hammer and so it can screw on the top of injector and hammer out. Basically the same thing as those kits selling for 80-120$ U.S online

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » January 6th, 2017, 8:11 pm

I was watching a vid today like that but with the injectors the sportage use, bosch.....some kit to do the same, once the return flow differs the injector needs to service or change.

Anybody have an old injector? I need the top cap to make up a injector removal tool....I managed to pry out one injector but that's breaking my hand :(

Wanna weld the top cap on a fitting on my slide hammer and so it can screw on the top of injector and hammer out. Basically the same thing as those kits selling for 80-120$ U.S online

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » January 7th, 2017, 10:05 pm

So I made my own injector puller.....Bought a slide hammer for 280$, got an old injector from a friend.....removed the green cap and screwed off the top part....welded a fitting for slidehammer onto the top part of old injector....

remove your injector top parts and screw on injector fitting that was made and 5 or 6 taps up and its out!

:D

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » January 7th, 2017, 10:05 pm

Also, #4 injector had the most carbon build up and black color ever and the rest looked to be normal burning color, brownish kinda with no carbon build up like 4

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » January 9th, 2017, 8:49 pm

ADOIN, that's a great trouble shooting video. As for suspension I replaced the four shocks about three years ago and still going strong. Recently replaced the front link pins, got it by bobbys. Looking to service the rear brake shoe, one thing I do not like about the van is that they have no ABS.
747 injector problems is real stress, hope I do not have any., post pic of the puller!

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » January 9th, 2017, 10:08 pm

SNIPER 3000 wrote:ADOIN, that's a great trouble shooting video. As for suspension I replaced the four shocks about three years ago and still going strong. Recently replaced the front link pins, got it by bobbys. Looking to service the rear brake shoe, one thing I do not like about the van is that they have no ABS.
747 injector problems is real stress, hope I do not have any., post pic of the puller!

I still have yet to do a complete evaluation on my suspension to know exactly what needs replacing. Anyone know of any good suspension techs preferably in South?? Also, I was hoping if anyone would have any advice on the Isofix question, it'd be you Sniper..no one else seems to have observed it.

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » January 9th, 2017, 10:22 pm

Joshie.
You got thru with the part number?

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » January 10th, 2017, 12:02 pm

Joshie, when I had the car seat, I used the anchoring points behind the seats, it's in the trunk area. There are two anchor points. The car seat straps was long enough to hook it onto those points. There is one long strap on the middle of the car seat that I ran under the head rest and hook it to the anchor point in the trunk. But it was still able to move from side to side. The two strap at the side there is no point to hook, so I hooked it on to the seat belt buckle ( I used the straps under the buckle) and the other I hooked in the trunk. It was not perfect but it worked.
I would suggest if you can not bolt down the ISOfix, use a pice of 5/8 steel run it across the length of both seats and then clamp the ISO using U- clamps.

cressida_override

Postby cressida_override » January 10th, 2017, 4:43 pm

SNIPER 3000 wrote:ADOIN, that's a great trouble shooting video. As for suspension I replaced the four shocks about three years ago and still going strong. Recently replaced the front link pins, got it by bobbys. Looking to service the rear brake shoe, one thing I do not like about the van is that they have no ABS.

which model do you have? i believe it have three models with different grade features... mine has TCS, ABS & 4WD.

cressida_override

Postby cressida_override » January 10th, 2017, 4:44 pm

747 TECHNOLOGIES wrote:Also, #4 injector had the most carbon build up and black color ever and the rest looked to be normal burning color, brownish kinda with no carbon build up like 4

H20, i swear after reading your stories with that van...potential sportage/tuscon buyers might stay clear...lol

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » January 10th, 2017, 6:52 pm

Mines is the two wheel drive, low end model 2009.
Very good milage avg around 500km from full to just under quarter mark.

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » January 10th, 2017, 6:57 pm

Looking to change the tires, running 235/70/16.
What you all running on? Thinking about the kumho, any suggestions? Might drop to 225/70/16.

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » January 11th, 2017, 9:08 am

To tell you the truth....be very questionining of the owner and driver of a sportage and see how their maintenence was....bcuz i can drive the van so but we want it to be leak free and at 100% all the time.

From digging around....alot of local used diesels have an owner that doesn't know much on servicing them properly.

But we not complaining as its a 10 year old vehicle and its now needing attention lol

About injectors i end up carrying it bu edoos diesel service and they took a day. 1 injector is good and was serviced and the other 3 is over spraying which is the reason for my black smoking issues. So far im getting a full FU set for 4000 but i would prefer to get 3 if i can as i have 1 good serviced injector and new copper washers now.

Also fixed the air sounding leak noise. The intake hose had a crack on it

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » January 11th, 2017, 12:34 pm

cressida_override wrote:
747 TECHNOLOGIES wrote:Also, #4 injector had the most carbon build up and black color ever and the rest looked to be normal burning color, brownish kinda with no carbon build up like 4

H20, i swear after reading your stories with that van...potential sportage/tuscon buyers might stay clear...lol

See the reason for my initial skepticism, Cressida? :lol:

SNIPER 3000 wrote:Looking to change the tires, running 235/70/16.
What you all running on? Thinking about the kumho, any suggestions? Might drop to 225/70/16.

Thanks Sniper, I'll check it out your way and see..As for the tires, I'm running Maxxis Marauder MA-S1, 235/60/16. Overall it's a good tire, wet and dry grip is good. Road noise is average but they're good otherwise.

I have the model with TCS, ABS and 4WD like Cressida, and I get around the same mileage as you. After my suspension is sorted, I want to do a differential, transmission and power steering fluid flush and replacement, maybe in the next 7-10,000 km or so.

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » January 11th, 2017, 4:37 pm

Where did you get the maxxis? And at what price?
I think next on my list is the power steering fluid change also. I do not think I will do a complete drain, will change the reservoir a couple of times.
Agree did with 747, lots of people with diesel do not do the stuff we do on our vehicles, I spoke to a guy....believe it...never changed his fuel filter.....blew my mind!

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » January 11th, 2017, 7:18 pm

lol yea, bcuz they think its an SUV, they think it does not have all the stuff a pickup would have....a lot of people who are buying new diesels need to learn about them first before thinking its buy drive full diesel change oil and continue

ADONI

Postby ADONI » January 12th, 2017, 8:39 am

Yea fellas, these diesel requires a lot of TLC.
I had bought a pair of Maxxis Marauder about two years ago, it was $750 for one, but that is in Rio Claro by Ramrattan, they are family to M Ramrattan tyre shop in Marabella, so they might have Maxxis as well.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » January 12th, 2017, 8:58 am

I'm thinking about getting one of these https://www.google.tt/url?sa=t&source=w ... VPz-V7-iHA to add to the filtration process since poor diesel is a known threat to our engines. The tires are cheaper in by Charlo Village, Penal, $675 for one but they don't install. As for the poor maintenance, I've heard people say the older the filter, the better the filtration, because more particles are trapped in the old filter making it more effective than a brand new one :lol: it has an ounce of sense in it, but that doesn't mean you never change it!! I'm due for an oil change in the next week or so..I used the Chevron Delo from Pricesmart but I found it broke down a little too fast, I don't know if its because of my excessive idling as I said..should I give it another chance or do you guys have better alternatives at a good price because I'm not planning on running extended intervals.

Sniper, I found this online but I'm not sure how it would be installed in our vehicles..
https://s3.amazonaws.com/rparts-sites/e ... RACKET.jpg

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » January 12th, 2017, 4:05 pm

That maxxis prices is excellent. Joshie you find the most interesting stuff online...I would definitely try the funnel ideal, it's an ingenious idea! I wonder if the service stations would give any trouble for using it. The funel ideal makes a lot of sense once your tank is clean.
As for the bracket, not sure where to bolt it. I say use some kind of strap thingy and secure it behind the seat. We no longer use a car seat, now using a booster.

Looking to change the power steering oil tomorrow as I will be changing the diff oil on another vehicle.

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » January 15th, 2017, 12:16 am

mounted back up everything and im not getting it to start now.....pressure....it starts if I spray bug spray but wont idle

fedup with this :(

im wondering if they did something to my injectors or whatnot

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » January 15th, 2017, 8:43 am

747 TECHNOLOGIES wrote:mounted back up everything and im not getting it to start now.....pressure....it starts if I spray bug spray but wont idle

fedup with this :(

im wondering if they did something to my injectors or whatnot

You're an experienced mechanic I believe so I'm hoping that I'm asking this in vain..but are you getting fuel?? If bug spray starts you up but you don't idle, I could be wrong but it sounds like you could starving for fuel somehow..

On another note, has anyone used Fuel Medic's additives? My Amsoil Diesel Concentrate and Cetane Booster are almost finished so I'm thinking about trying either the Fuel Medic itself or their Diesel Cleaner, the former according to them, being more preventative and the latter being corrective. The 8oz Medic is $112.50 and treats up to 125 gallons of fuel whereas the 12oz Diesel Cleaner is $138.37 and treats up to 40 gallons of diesel. They claim to be a lot better than leading fuel additives so..what you all think??

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » January 15th, 2017, 9:30 am

Yea that's why im confused, my injectors were working altho overspraying, but all lines spraying fuel when cracking them, even the return....Everything connected back up etc...

Only choice I have now is remove an injector and say if its spraying outside.

Also another thing, I connected a jack I had spare, and tried to trigger the injector but its shorting....so somethings wrong somewhere with the injectors so will have to carry it by the people and let them check it in front of me.

Return to “KIA”