Hyundai owners come forth

Creta, Elantra, Santa Fe, Accent, Tuscon, Veloster, Sonata, i30

cheese pie

Hyundai owners come forth

Postby cheese pie » June 24th, 2004, 9:08 pm

well ah know it has no hyundai forum and i highly doubt they will ever get one so i decided to start this little thread.
feel free to post mods you did to your hyundai , price and other issues
i know they are few aftermarket parts for these cars and i heard stories of how ppl mix and match parts from other cars , here is your place to share this knowledge.

NO HYUNDAI BASHING PLEASE

constructive critism 8)

killersuzuki

Postby killersuzuki » June 24th, 2004, 11:49 pm

PAZ Hyundai Elantra
Engine swap - SR20DE-T, FMIC, Bonnet scoop, popped bonnet (flat black) :mrgreen:
gas shocks all round, Shark Racing lowering springs, KVR cross drilled rotors, EBC green stuff brake pads, custom chassis bracing, 2 1/2" (soon to be 3") exhaust, usual gauges(boost, oil pressure, AFR), 16" wheels, Toyo proxies T1s tyres......
I think that's it for now (money done! :mrgreen: )

Big up all the men who dare to be different! 8)

BTW Hyundai men ,check sharkracing.com for your stuff! :wink: 8)

NickJr.
Location: The Finish Line. So Elusive For Something That Never Moves

Postby NickJr. » June 25th, 2004, 12:41 am

Well that about does it for this thread only other man with one is farfrumlosin :lol: :lol: nah nah let me behave myself. Glad to see yuh start a lil thread here hope it turns out good.

cheese pie

Postby cheese pie » June 25th, 2004, 2:02 am

well let me start off with one known issue for hyundai, the brake peddal has a little piece of plastic that presses againt the switch to turn the brake light either on or off, ( before 2000 pressing the swith turned them on and after 2000 pressing the switch turns them off ) this almost always breaks off eventually and falls off leaveing you with either the brake lights not comming on or not comming off depending on the year of the car. any how this is real easy to fix since a simple nut and bolt will be eneoght to press the switch when the peddal is up and the nut holds the bolt in place in the hole

as i think of more ill post up

fafrumlosin

Postby fafrumlosin » June 25th, 2004, 11:48 am

98 accent,1.5 sohc :cry: :lol: custom 4-2-1 extractors with 2" piping and stainless muffler.simota air filter(lookin to do custom CAI),NGK patinum plugs and associated wires.
future swap? thinking of turboing...also if i can find a spare cam willing to try a lil grind.

Postby Dave » June 25th, 2004, 11:51 am

^^ love your ideas and u know will assist where i can, we done talk bout the cai :wink:

Sully

Postby Sully » June 25th, 2004, 12:04 pm

zaxxon1 knows a lot about hundais. He's a good person to check.

dipz

Postby dipz » June 25th, 2004, 11:58 pm

cheese pie wrote:well let me start off with one known issue for hyundai, the brake peddal has a little piece of plastic that presses againt the switch to turn the brake light either on or off, ( before 2000 pressing the swith turned them on and after 2000 pressing the switch turns them off ) this almost always breaks off eventually and falls off leaveing you with either the brake lights not comming on or not comming off depending on the year of the car. any how this is real easy to fix since a simple nut and bolt will be eneoght to press the switch when the peddal is up and the nut holds the bolt in place in the hole

as i think of more ill post up

yeh this happen tuh we sonata. we still had all the plastic bits(think it was like 2 major pieces) and pops jus stick it and it wok i think

AWD Motorsports

Postby AWD Motorsports » June 26th, 2004, 1:38 am

hyundai..... :?: :?: :?:

sentraman

Postby sentraman » June 26th, 2004, 5:27 pm

[quote="killerhyundai-DET"]PAZ Hyundai Elantra
Engine swap - SR20DE-T, FMIC, Bonnet scoop, popped bonnet (flat black) :mrgreen:
gas shocks all round, Shark Racing lowering springs, KVR cross drilled rotors, EBC green stuff brake pads, custom chassis bracing, 2 1/2" (soon to be 3") exhaust, usual gauges(boost, oil pressure, AFR), 16" wheels, Toyo proxies T1s tyres......
I think that's it for now (money done! :mrgreen: )

hey killer how u find them EBC green stuff break pads does perform. Do they last any longer than other brands?

dragzster

Postby dragzster » June 26th, 2004, 7:28 pm

but ent those hyundai accent, elantra and sonata etc have mitsubishi engines? If so then after market parts should be pentifull. :?

killersuzuki

Postby killersuzuki » June 27th, 2004, 3:58 am

EBC does hold real good, and they lasting longer than the regular stuff, especially with my "spirited" style of driving! :mrgreen:

cheese pie

Postby cheese pie » June 27th, 2004, 12:21 pm

but ent those hyundai accent, elantra and sonata etc have mitsubishi engines? If so then after market parts should be pentifull.

only pre 95 hyndai engines had mitsu engines, after that hyundai started makeing similar engins to the mitsu but some things were different , for example the exhaust manifold will not work :evil:

Pablo660

Postby Pablo660 » June 28th, 2004, 12:34 am

Hyundai sonata /stock engine/K&N filter/Aerospeed exhaust/17's
Plans to make faster
Stock Body

KE70corolla

HYUNDAI PPL gather here to talk about hyundai cars....

Postby KE70corolla » January 4th, 2006, 7:02 pm

Hey u hyundai owners lets start off this post with a bang by participating plz...thanksss... 8-) 8-)

tony montana

Postby tony montana » January 4th, 2006, 7:17 pm

wha going on ppl have a 4g63 engine from a sonata and some tranny parts 4 sale pm if interested running a sr 20de now

KE70corolla

Postby KE70corolla » January 4th, 2006, 7:22 pm

aye tony the parts u have for sale are stock parts??

tony montana

Postby tony montana » January 4th, 2006, 7:24 pm

yea stock parts

Mech-Tech Guy

Postby Mech-Tech Guy » January 4th, 2006, 7:26 pm

i thought 4g63 was from an evo how come it in a sonata???

tony montana

Postby tony montana » January 4th, 2006, 7:33 pm

4g63t is from de evo de sonatas come with a non turbo version

KE70corolla

Postby KE70corolla » January 4th, 2006, 8:07 pm

the 4g63 is the stock evo 3 engine i think

KE70corolla

Postby KE70corolla » January 5th, 2006, 5:51 pm

hey i heard that the sonata automatic tranny is "weak" once u start to do any mods to the car,is that true???

Stixer7

Postby Stixer7 » January 5th, 2006, 7:26 pm

^^^stewps...Stop listening to ppl... They don';t know much about hyundai's.

cheese pie

Postby cheese pie » January 5th, 2006, 8:24 pm

pre 2000 hyundai's used some palstic bushings in the tranny , using NP oil and not changeing ur tranny fluid and using original hyundai fluid or atf+3 caused them to wear reel fast causing tranny failure

post 99 models use polyurathane which ah lil tougher but still change ur fluid regularly at least evey 50 000 and back flush and use either genuine hyundai ATF or castrol ATF+3

you getting original hyundai oil in N&M in the bamboo , check the yellow pages you also getting original parts and used parts

parts like door handles , drums and rotors you getting there

another thing bleed ur brakes in ur accent often , i dunno but air used to get in there and affect breaking every 20 000 km or so but then i used to drive hard and break and corner fast so that took ah toll on meh breaks

any other questions feel free to ask me stixer 7 or fafrmlosing we all hyundai owners although mine sell ah miss the mofo :(

also in accents resist the urge to swap the usual sr20 and i hope to see ah 96 to 99 accent with ah 4g63T and eclipse gearbox with ah lsd

KE70corolla

Postby KE70corolla » January 5th, 2006, 10:30 pm

i would like an honest opinion on something here....i did a project b4 where i put a CA18 in a KE70 corolla and now i want to know which is a better choice to "fix up" in terms of modifying and stuff...the hyundai sonata or the CA18 in the corolla..can u put pros and cons for me plzzzz...i really am torn between what to do here..thanksssss...

KE70corolla

Postby KE70corolla » January 5th, 2006, 10:33 pm

hey stixer7 can u direct me where i can find some after mods for my 2.0L 2000model automatic hyundai sonata....

cheese pie

Postby cheese pie » January 5th, 2006, 10:42 pm

www.sharkracing.com prices hot but is one of the few people who do after market stuff like cams

basic na mods include intake , custom CIA and home made extractors along with a larger free flow exhause , 2 inch ? manderl bent

adjustable fuel regulator ? some dyno time to dial in the fuel pressure to make the most of your na mods

oh and ah TRANNY OIL COOLER

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » January 5th, 2006, 10:44 pm

dread i have a 97 accent and in the morning or everytime the car parked up for long time it takes like 3 tumbles before the car starts and it idles like crap for a while untill it warms up tried everything but still getting the same problem. My valve seals need changing so i burning a little oil but can this be the cause of the car starting like this?

KE70corolla

Postby KE70corolla » January 5th, 2006, 10:55 pm

i was looking at a dual-tip barrel...are there any special things in choosing a barrel or is it just based on what u like??

cheese pie

Postby cheese pie » January 5th, 2006, 11:04 pm

^^^^^^http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=54882

Return to “HYUNDAI”