Life with a KIA or Hyundai after firm

Creta, Elantra, Santa Fe, Accent, Tuscon, Veloster, Sonata, i30

rantsh

Life with a KIA or Hyundai after firm

Postby rantsh » June 20th, 2013, 12:07 am

I'm studying to buy either a xtrail classic, a Tucson or a sportage for the long term (I expect to keep this vehicle for 10+ years). My preference lies on the sportage and the Tucson, however, I've heard that with kia I'd be locked in to have to go to the firm forever, and apparently they're not very good after sale.

Similar question with the Tucson, would I need to depend on N&M for parts? Or are there after market part dealers for it outside?

Also, anyone can share their experience with either vehicle after their warranties have finished and so on?

Thanks,

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using TriniTuner mobile app

ADONI

Re: Life with a KIA or Hyundai after firm

Postby ADONI » June 20th, 2013, 3:58 pm

I have a diesel Tucson, which was bought after it came off from lease, so now it is 4 1/2 years old. Tucson and Sportage are the same vehicle, just as in Ford Ranger and Mazda BT50 where some mechanical parts are interchangeable.
So far I had to see about two items in the van. My two cents from those two repairs is that, it is some what difficult to perform the repair. For example, I had to change the AC Evaporator, the whole dam dashboard had to scrape out!!!
The AC man gave me real discouraging reviews also.
Called a garage who advertise on 3ne2nr and he told me they don't fix Tucson cause is trouble...
Aftermarket for the Tucson is ah set of accessories, but there is FU parts available for them.

rantsh

Postby rantsh » June 20th, 2013, 10:06 pm

So it really boils down to the xtrail unless i plan to go to to N&M or SS for the complete lifespan of the vehicle...

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using TriniTuner mobile app

Tucson-anil

Postby Tucson-anil » June 22nd, 2013, 2:46 pm

Not true. I've had 2 Hyundais so far and I'll be getting another soon. My experience with N&M after service has not been the best one. However, there are a lot of places where you can get brand new parts for it. A simple search on this forum can get you a wealth of suppliers.

rantsh

Postby rantsh » June 22nd, 2013, 4:30 pm

Thanks. That is very useful info.

However, i went to check the tucson today and i was not impressed with the quality of some of the stuff inside it... Like all the handles felt like cheap plastic and stuff, whereas the door handles on the accent (for example) felt sturdier

Tucson-anil

Postby Tucson-anil » June 22nd, 2013, 4:42 pm

When I was building my home, I used my Tucson for transportation of a lot of building materials....from wood to cement to boxes of tiles and thinset

I can personally attest that the 2006 Diesel Tucson was a real sturdy and rugged vehicle

Postby pioneer » June 23rd, 2013, 11:13 pm

Can't go wrong with the Xtrail either

Where there is bamboo, there is Nissan.

Plenty new Xtrail parts can be had in Mathura's (st. james) and M&N (bamboo)

ADONI

Postby ADONI » June 24th, 2013, 11:56 am

rantsh wrote:Thanks. That is very useful info.

However, i went to check the tucson today and i was not impressed with the quality of some of the stuff inside it... Like all the handles felt like cheap plastic and stuff, whereas the door handles on the accent (for example) felt sturdier

Yup, I had to stick back all the fabric on the four doors of mines, nothing hard to do.
I also notice that the plastic used for the interior is easily scratch or dig.
Although yuh could close d door with ur pinky finger!!!

Skyline007

Postby Skyline007 » October 20th, 2017, 2:08 pm

Tucson is a strong vehicle once you do good preventative maintenance, never had any issues, just and getting parts all over now!!

Krystal Car Part Imports

Postby Krystal Car Part Imports » March 22nd, 2018, 2:33 am

Car is not to keep long term Breds. Car is to beat and then delete especially a Tucson, sportage or X trail. None of them good.if you want quality buy a rav4 . They will last forever

vivawugudu

Postby vivawugudu » August 30th, 2018, 12:36 am

I can vouch for Xtrail. It's rugged. Also parts are available everywhere.

masteredwardsli

Postby masteredwardsli » October 11th, 2018, 11:11 pm

Got me a 2014 diesel, still watching it. Local company just doesn't cut it for me seems they have overran their supplies and service. I do what I can, most mechanics are in some way lacking when comes to these vehicles even the company has its internal drawbacks despite having the technical data and monopoly on genuine parts as mobis I have found will not allow purchase cept through local agent. If I had the gall and bigger balls I'd have gone with a vehicle of my own making, no easy way out.

DASSMASS

Postby DASSMASS » July 16th, 2019, 6:00 pm

Krystal Car Part Imports wrote:Car is not to keep long term Breds. Car is to beat and then delete especially a Tucson, sportage or X trail. None of them good.if you want quality buy a rav4 . They will last forever
hmm....

Postby Dizzy28 » September 19th, 2019, 11:33 am

Fcuk Hyundai/Massy

Had to drop my 2016 Tucson by Massy this morning b/c the driver side window spoil. Only happened when I reached to work and tried putting the glass back up.
OFC no warranty anymore so I know I have some serious change to pay.

Would have tried someone outside but traveling tomorrow and really need it fixed asap.

Since purchase my A/C started to blow hot/cold (fixed under warranty); my rear door lock stopped working (fixed under warranty) and my a/c evaporator went (not fixed under warranty) and I have the steering wheel noise described in another thread since year 1.
My mileage is only 54,000 kms for a 4 year old vehicle and its been consistent niggling problems.

Postby wagonrunner » September 19th, 2019, 12:26 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Had to drop my 2016 Tucson by Massy this morning b/c the driver side window spoil. Only happened when I reached to work and tried putting the glass back up.

Would have tried someone outside but traveling tomorrow and really need it fixed asap.

would have been faster outside by gannes in the bamboo. and cheaper

Postby Dave » September 19th, 2019, 12:29 pm

Amen to the Guiness drinking brother!

Postby Dizzy28 » September 27th, 2019, 3:48 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Had to drop my 2016 Tucson by Massy this morning b/c the driver side window spoil. Only happened when I reached to work and tried putting the glass back up.

Noting that name for future reference!!!

Massy's cost btw was $1125 to replace regulator spool.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » September 27th, 2019, 4:14 pm

Have a contact for gannes? The window on my sportage gone too

Van hit 100,000km and so far that’s the only issue I’ve had thankfully. Going on 4 yrs

Postby Dizzy28 » December 5th, 2019, 8:16 am

By Ganness right now. The front passenger window went this morning. Hyundai MC!!!!

Postby wagonrunner » December 7th, 2019, 1:13 am

at least you learned. lol.

Return to “HYUNDAI”