Re: 2017 tuscon windows stopped working

Postby jhonnieblue » October 20th, 2019, 2:14 pm

Search for Caribbean power window in the bamboo. He will sort you out

Postby Dizzy28 » December 5th, 2019, 7:40 am

I have the 2016 one. My right window went Republic Day weekend and now this morning the left front gone. Woft vehicle when you consider all else that went.

madd

Postby madd » December 5th, 2019, 8:29 am

Check them fellas from Charliville. Have two places scrappys and another.

Postby Dizzy28 » December 6th, 2019, 9:21 am

Went by Ganness (Gunness) in Bamboo. Was in and out in an hr.

Rblon

Postby Rblon » January 16th, 2020, 11:21 pm

Them fellars in charlieville is 1/2 the price of the guy in bamboo to repair the tuscon windows.

Rblon

Postby Rblon » January 28th, 2020, 5:37 pm

Rblon wrote:strippys in charlieville is 1/2 the price of the guy in bamboo to repair the tuscon windows.

Postby Dizzy28 » February 3rd, 2020, 9:49 am

Hyundai and Massy muddacnut. I fixed my driver window there in September last year (as per my post earlier in thread). Same window spoil again on Saturday. Regulator spool completely worn out. Bamboo was closest so went by Ganess.

*edit* Now called Massy...they say they will refund me the September invoice. However the Service Advisor cannot advise on a time but he say usually a few weeks.

Postby Dizzy28 » May 13th, 2020, 12:12 pm

Update
Having fixed both front windows (driver side twice - once with Massy and once outside) I have now had to repair the back right one as it went over the weekend. Same issue with the wheel being worn out. Massy actually refunded me the cost of repair that they did which failed within 2 weeks.

That leaves the rear left as the only window unfixed for now. Since its the 3rd time in 4 months Ganess has seen me his price also fell quite a lot from the 1st time.

Surely this level of failure can be addressed by the company even for vehicles not within the warranty period.
My Tucson is from the first batch in this generation so it is actually approaching 5 years old now however I am at 62,000kms so its not that I even extensively used it.

Postby Dave » May 13th, 2020, 12:24 pm

Use has nothing to do with it from the units I have seen. I have chalked it up to cheaper plastics being used.
Mazda's had the same problem but they seem to last a little longer.

Postby Dizzy28 » May 13th, 2020, 2:52 pm

Dave wrote:Use has nothing to do with it from the units I have seen. I have chalked it up to cheaper plastics being used.
Mazda's had the same problem but they seem to last a little longer.

The original regulator looks like some sort of polyurethane. But definitely a sub par material.

Whilst by Ganness Monday morning a man came in with a PDM Sportage and his regulator was also gone. He too also had to fix regulators before as well. I know Hyundai and Kia have their linkages so maybe its the same suppliers to both.

With regards to the firm though, as an example I know Diamond Motors had replaced the Fan Control Unit in all the local CS3 Lancers even those outside of the warranty period. Maybe Massy can do the same for the Hyundais (the Elantras also seem to have the same problem). Granted the numbers of Hyundais far exceed the number of Lancers but these window parts cheaper than the fan control unit.

But based on this windows issue (as well as the other ones I have had wrt the Tucson) for the time being Hyundai will not be seeing me and maybe Massy overall.

Postby Dizzy28 » May 29th, 2020, 10:58 am

The circle of life is complete.

My rear left window went yesterday meaning I have now had to fix the regulator on all four doors (one door twice) between Sep 2019 to May 2020.

TechMD

Postby TechMD » June 16th, 2020, 4:59 pm

This same sheit happens with Mazda vehicles too

Postby Dave » June 16th, 2020, 6:55 pm

Mazda is a the cog that wears mostly.

TechMD

Postby TechMD » June 26th, 2020, 12:34 pm

jhonnieblue wrote:Search for Caribbean power window in the bamboo. He will sort you out

That man a ole thief, I pay he 300 and make the issue worse. Don’t go there

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » June 26th, 2020, 3:29 pm

How much he charge
Dizzy28 wrote:Went by Ganness (Gunness) in Bamboo. Was in and out in an hr.

Postby Dave » June 26th, 2020, 3:39 pm

Price will vary according to what the issue is.

Postby Dizzy28 » June 29th, 2020, 8:40 am

jhonnieblue wrote:How much he charge
Dizzy28 wrote:Went by Ganness (Gunness) in Bamboo. Was in and out in an hr.

Fixed all 4 door regulators between December 2019 to May 2020 by Ganess. He wasn't there on all 4 times with his wife there the 2nd time. The ppl actually working on your vehicle could be him or one of the three young boys (think at least one is his nephew and a Vene)

1st one (FR December) I was charged $800, 2nd one $750 (FL February), 3rd one (RR May) $500 and for the fourth one (RL May) Ganess tell me $600 is he usual price but I told him you charge me $500 two weeks prior and I paid $500.

Negotiate as it seems his pricing is very flexible. However he and the wife does throw ole talk about if ppl does go KFC and ask for discount. I didn't get the ole talk bout that but he made me write out the bill every time and on the last time he say your handwriting good you must be went to school and have nice wuk to which I told him that don't matter because I home whilst you have your business open with lots of customers.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » November 29th, 2020, 10:08 am

Good day.

How did the window stop working? Was it suddenly in that the window just stopped going up and down? Or was the window function intermittent?

The driver's side window in my Coupe has started to give some issues with going up (after 14 years of use and not so soon as it seems with the new Tucson). It will go down with no issues, but when I pull the switch to send it up, sometimes the window is non-responsive. Eventually, I get it up after playing with the switch, but I am hesitant to send it down unless absolutely necessary.

I suspect it may be the switch itself, but I am not getting a new switch control panel anywhere. The only new switch control panel I am getting is for the LHD Tiburon, and that is not compatible with the RHD Coupe.

Thanks.

Postby Dave » November 29th, 2020, 10:31 am

Rory it does sound like the switch. The contacts just wore out.

I mounted an aux one years ago for the same driver side one in master that failed. Luckily the c62 lancer had a lovely spot in the centre console for the rear oem switch unit to mount perfectly.

Partsouq not helpful?

Postby Rory Phoulorie » November 29th, 2020, 2:10 pm

Dave wrote:Rory it does sound like the switch. The contacts just wore out.

I mounted an aux one years ago for the same driver side one in master that failed. Luckily the c62 lancer had a lovely spot in the centre console for the rear oem switch unit to mount perfectly.

Partsouq not helpful?

Neither Partsouq nor SSG Asia has the switch control panel. I am only seeing used switch control panels online for the RHD Coupe, but I am afraid to buy that and end up with the same problem in a short space of time. I may end up buying a new LHD Tiburon switch control panel (a new one to my skybox is only US$37) and cannibalizing it to get the actual switch to mount in my switch control panel.

Postby Dave » November 29th, 2020, 3:05 pm

The switch sometimes is made into the board so removing individually may not always work. It would be a hit and miss unless you see one broken down to know you can remove one by one.
I would chance the used rhd.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » November 29th, 2020, 11:39 pm

Acknowledged. Thanks.

Return to “HYUNDAI”