HELP: Hyundai Creta Evaporator Gone

Creta, Elantra, Santa Fe, Accent, Tuscon, Veloster, Sonata, i30

chronoz3x

HELP: Hyundai Creta Evaporator Gone

Postby chronoz3x » June 5th, 2020, 7:41 am

Hey fellaz,
Need advice on AC evaporator gone bad on a 3 year old car. Have a hyundai creta I bought in Dec 2016, started with the AC giving off a stink smell for a bit and now the unit failing to blow cold air. The fan is working, but 4 AC specialists say is evaporator gone.
Anyone know if this could be covered by warranty, now pass 3 years with car but I think AC evaporator suppose to be a lifetime part, so should be manufacturers defect.
All advise is appreciated. Have an appointment with Massy coming up, but know they would buss meh throat with price. Estimates to fix is already $5000 up.
Thanks

Re: HELP: Hyundai Creta Evaporator Gone

Postby Dizzy28 » June 5th, 2020, 9:34 am

chronoz3x wrote:Hey fellaz,
Need advice on AC evaporator gone bad on a 3 year old car. Have a hyundai creta I bought in Dec 2016, started with the AC giving off a stink smell for a bit and now the unit failing to blow cold air. The fan is working, but 4 AC specialists say is evaporator gone.
Anyone know if this could be covered by warranty, now pass 3 years with car but I think AC evaporator suppose to be a lifetime part, so should be manufacturers defect.
All advise is appreciated. Have an appointment with Massy coming up, but know they would buss meh throat with price. Estimates to fix is already $5000 up.
Thanks

Lifetime warranty in Trinidad???

I have a 2016 Tucson and my evaporator went at 3.5 years and with my vehicle at 48,000kms.
Cost $3,800 by an outside tech to replace with a brand new one.
Not sure if the evaporators are different between the Creta and Tucson

chronoz3x

Postby chronoz3x » June 6th, 2020, 12:17 am

Yea but that is rell madness. I bought a new car to avoid problems like this. How much they quote u at Massy? Did u check with them regarding the problem?

Postby Dizzy28 » June 8th, 2020, 10:16 am

chronoz3x wrote:Yea but that is rell madness. I bought a new car to avoid problems like this. How much they quote u at Massy? Did u check with them regarding the problem?

Once I found out its not covered under warranty I did not follow up with any cost estimate as I knew it was not going to be cheaper than outside.

This was also my 2nd A/C related issue as I also had a thermostop replaced under warranty when the vehicle was 2 years old.

But yea the reason for buying new is to avoid unnecessary hassle however my list of defects with this Hyundai is pretty long. In this particular sub forum for example I have been active in the power window thread as all 4 doors had to have their power windows repaired.

Damion1527

Postby Damion1527 » June 9th, 2020, 8:33 pm

Have one 390 2136

chronoz3x

Postby chronoz3x » June 10th, 2020, 12:04 am

Damion1527 wrote:Have one 390 2136

U doing install as well, how much for it?

chronoz3x

Postby chronoz3x » June 10th, 2020, 12:09 am

Dizzy, who u check for power windows. Had same problem, all had stick at one point, but they start back working. Now only the front passenger stuck almost a year now. Who's the best, at a cheap price ?

Postby Dave » June 10th, 2020, 6:46 am

Gunness in the bamboo. Just after roc on the lhs.

Postby Dizzy28 » June 10th, 2020, 8:54 am

^^ Yip went by Gunness.
As Dave said its almost all the way down to the end of Bamboo Main Road on the LHS. Four buildings (I stand to be corrected) down from IBN.

Negotiate though cuz his prices clearly are not set. All 4 windows was the same problem but I was charged $800 on the first one but $500 per window for the last two.

chronoz3x

Postby chronoz3x » June 10th, 2020, 11:10 pm

Waaayzz, so much to fix a window.
Dang, was thinking maybe 200-300.
Wud pass in an check him, maybe can beat him down.
Thanks for the info all.
Got an estimate from Maximum Cooling in Vunupai for $4000 to buy and replace the evaporator. Guess I would have to bite the bullet n change out.

New car suppose to be less problems, but it look like is just more expensive problems, smh.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » June 19th, 2020, 1:44 pm

chronoz3x wrote:. . .Got an estimate from Maximum Cooling in Vunupai for $4000 to buy and replace the evaporator. Guess I would have to bite the bullet n change out. . ..

Wouldn't it have been cheaper to bring in the parts yourself and just pay the a/c tech for his labour, equipment and gas charges?

Postby Dave » June 19th, 2020, 3:42 pm

Be wary of evaporators from foreign suppliers. Lhd and rhd carry outlets differently.

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » June 21st, 2020, 8:42 am

chronoz3x wrote:Yea but that is rell madness. I bought a new car to avoid problems like this. How much they quote u at Massy? Did u check with them regarding the problem?

Once I found out its not covered under warranty I did not follow up with any cost estimate as I knew it was not going to be cheaper than outside.

This was also my 2nd A/C related issue as I also had a thermostop replaced under warranty when the vehicle was 2 years old.

But yea the reason for buying new is to avoid unnecessary hassle however my list of defects with this Hyundai is pretty long. In this particular sub forum for example I have been active in the power window thread as all 4 doors had to have their power windows repaired.

You but a Hyundai and expect hassle free ownership? Get real bro. The Creta is made in India for starters and caters for a lesser market. Next time buy a Toyota and done

Return to “HYUNDAI”