Re: Tuner Cooking Thread.

Postby pugboy » August 11th, 2019, 4:09 pm

Geera soup

VexXx Dogg wrote:Hold some dhal. Proper dhal.IMG_20190811_124254_638.jpeg

Postby shogun » January 17th, 2020, 7:47 am

Healthier hot-dog frank brand recommendations locally? Or thaz a pipe-dream?

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 17th, 2020, 8:57 am

shogun wrote:Healthier hot-dog frank brand recommendations locally? Or thaz a pipe-dream?

you or a kid?
If it's not big quantity, you can get minced chicken, sneak some vegetables, season to your heart's content in it and form it into a log (might need an egg and a little breadcrumb). Baked in the oven and voila! Should get 8-12 "sausages" from a standard pack.

Can freeze and then warm in microwave or cook in toaster oven to serve.

It's lean protein without nitrates and added fat, so it will be a much better option.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 17th, 2020, 10:48 am

pugboy wrote:Geera soup

VexXx Dogg wrote:Hold some dhal. Proper dhal.IMG_20190811_124254_638.jpeg

lol ent

Postby X_Factor » January 22nd, 2020, 6:35 pm

Which is your coconut milk powder of your choice?
After tasting almost all on the market maggi has the best
Most of the others is some form of sugar

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 22nd, 2020, 6:41 pm

Yeah. The Maggi is decent

carluva

Postby carluva » January 22nd, 2020, 9:56 pm

Santan cocos and grace. Maggi is great but sometimes a bit too sweet for some dishes.

Of course, the best is home made from dried coconut.

Postby Rovin » January 22nd, 2020, 11:03 pm

for me real coconut or nutten , i doh like d taste of artificial in my food

even d groceries sell dry coconut for about $10 or less , so unless u a lazy to prep it always use d real ting ... :|

Postby pugboy » January 23rd, 2020, 6:16 am

We did a big Thai green curry shrimp cook a while back
Doing several batches with diff brands, some brands curdle break in the sauce whilst others stay smooth in the sauce

You can get the real Thai curry pastes in Malabar farms or sinceres in sando.
Serious stuff.

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 23rd, 2020, 6:48 pm

pugboy wrote:We did a big Thai green curry shrimp cook a while back
Doing several batches with diff brands, some brands curdle break in the sauce whilst others stay smooth in the sauce

Serious stuff.
Tried a few brands of Thai pastes.

The canned stuff is crap. Tiger tiger stuff in jars are pretty good

Postby pugboy » January 23rd, 2020, 6:52 pm

try the mae ploy brand.
that is the real deal
it already has the funky fermented shrimp paste as one of its ingredients.

usually you have to add that separately but it is hard to get and well it smells rotten on its own.

VexXx Dogg wrote:

Serious stuff.

Postby Dizzy28 » January 23rd, 2020, 9:30 pm

It it have ploy in the name it must be good
pugboy wrote:try the mae ploy brand.
that is the real deal

usually you have to add that separately but it is hard to get and well it smells rotten on its own.

VexXx Dogg wrote:

Serious stuff.

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 23rd, 2020, 10:18 pm

pugboy wrote:try the mae ploy brand.
that is the real deal

VexXx Dogg wrote:

Serious stuff.

Thnx! I'll look for it :)

playerskrew

Postby playerskrew » January 31st, 2020, 12:45 pm

Chinese style pepper pork.
Who have a recipe.

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 31st, 2020, 1:02 pm

Like the pepper shrimp saucy type or the dry hongkong style?

The pepper shrimp type simple, this recipe looks on point
https://www.simplytrinicooking.com/pepper-shrimp/

Postby pugboy » January 31st, 2020, 1:59 pm

i bet if u go hong kong and ask for something “hong kong style” they go laugh at u

snatman

Postby snatman » January 31st, 2020, 1:59 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:Like the pepper shrimp saucy type or the dry hongkong style?

The pepper shrimp type simple, this recipe looks on point
https://www.simplytrinicooking.com/pepper-shrimp/

Here's another good one! :D

carluva

Postby carluva » February 1st, 2020, 2:51 pm

Anyone knows where I can get blue crab up warrenville side?

Please not Caroni roundabout. Their so called blue hairy crab is not what I want. These crab have a nice flavour but when u cook it, it turns red. Plus it is really small and a pita to eat.

I'm looking for the blue crab like what you get down in Otaheite or on the gulf link road. The big blue crab with the nice big gundee and that mostly keeps its colour when cooked. Same taste as the hairy crab, just bigger, and more meat.

Postby *KRONIK* » February 1st, 2020, 3:04 pm

Manzanilla or mayaro
carluva wrote:Anyone knows where I can get blue crab up warrenville side?

Please not Caroni roundabout. Their so called blue hairy crab is not what I want. These crab have a nice flavour but when u cook it, it turns red. Plus it is really small and a pita to eat.

I'm looking for the blue crab like what you get down in Otaheite or on the gulf link road. The big blue crab with the nice big gundee and that mostly keeps its colour when cooked. Same taste as the hairy crab, just bigger, and more meat.

carluva

Postby carluva » February 1st, 2020, 3:04 pm

Ummm any closer? Up warrenville side...

Postby maj. tom » February 1st, 2020, 4:24 pm

Nah boy that is the sweet Atlantic Ocean crab yuh want, if not the ones from the brackish Caroni swamp area. Maybe you will get in Sangre Grande without having to reach a beach.

Plan it for Full Moon time, which is next weekend 9th Feb.

Postby pugboy » February 1st, 2020, 5:01 pm

yeah that is crab that living in the water vs land/mangrove crab
check them small shrimp trawler fellas

them caroni roundabout crab vendors are scamps
they quote me $120 a bunch
yet a indian padna ask and get quote $90

Postby *KRONIK* » February 1st, 2020, 5:38 pm

You talking about the cirique
The swimming crab.

I think he talking about the big blue land crab, but the ones we get in the east here.
pugboy wrote:yeah that is crab that living in the water vs land/mangrove crab
check them small shrimp trawler fellas

them caroni roundabout crab vendors are scamps
they quote me $120 a bunch
yet a indian padna ask and get quote $90

Postby *KRONIK* » February 1st, 2020, 5:39 pm

Yea
There is a guy who sells during the week.

It always have in grande market too
maj. tom wrote:Nah boy that is the sweet Atlantic Ocean crab yuh want, if not the ones from the brackish Caroni swamp area. Maybe you will get in Sangre Grande without having to reach a beach.

Plan it for Full Moon time, which is next weekend 9th Feb.

Postby pugboy » February 1st, 2020, 5:52 pm

ok, market ppl tend to have them and cheaper since they sell by weight instead of a bunch with missing half the legs

Postby pugboy » February 1st, 2020, 5:53 pm

who try the chief curry stew powder ?

Postby Rovin » February 1st, 2020, 6:11 pm

i stopped eating crab for same reason allyuh saying here : i eh able with all dem magga crab that barely have any meat in it , time u done eating that u hungry again .... :lol:

if i get some decent sized 1s yea i eh mind , crab is not something everybody cud cook right though , hadda get 1 of dem ole skool tanty or granny who know what they doing , done right u cud sip d juice jesso & dat clearing up any sinus u have 1 time ....