WTK, best upholstering man.

Re: WTK, best upholstering man.

Postby X_Factor » February 2nd, 2020, 6:08 pm

Not sure but u can search the FB name for further info....more looks like after and before
X_Factor wrote:One of the main persons in the e/w corridor

Image those are before and after pics?

devrat

Postby devrat » February 2nd, 2020, 6:14 pm

X_Factor wrote:One of the main persons in the e/w corridor

Image those are before and after pics?
Maybe before and after he got a good camera phone

Postby Dave » February 2nd, 2020, 6:19 pm

Shiva is the man! Aka Fry!
Absolutely decent guy.

Postby SR » February 3rd, 2020, 8:52 am

Whats his location?

Postby X_Factor » February 3rd, 2020, 1:59 pm

Tacarigua---not too far from Eddie hart Savannah

carluva

Postby carluva » February 3rd, 2020, 6:52 pm

I see in another thread a guy did some top notch work in a Hilux at a real good price. Read on from here

viewtopic.php?p=9965701#p9965701

carluva

Postby carluva » February 3rd, 2020, 6:52 pm

The number is listed a few posts down after the photos

Postby Chimera » February 3rd, 2020, 7:53 pm

Postby Strugglerzinc » February 3rd, 2020, 10:17 pm

Is it that proper material not.available locally? All pics including that Hilux show cheap looking leatherette type material.

Quality synthetic leather not available?

I need to redo 2 front seats in my Mazda and while it's not real leather or anything, it does have the grain/texture and perforated inserts and I would gladly pay the money to get it done in similar material.

carluva

Postby carluva » February 4th, 2020, 8:45 pm

Synthetic leather = Faux leather = Leatherette.

All the same. So you would actually be looking for expensive leatherette.

If you find out let us know as I may reupholster my vehicle next year once kids out of car seats.

Postby adnj » February 5th, 2020, 12:17 am

Strugglerzinc wrote:Is it that proper material not.available locally? All pics including that Hilux show cheap looking leatherette type material.

Quality synthetic leather not available?

I need to redo 2 front seats in my Mazda and while it's not real leather or anything, it does have the grain/texture and perforated inserts and I would gladly pay the money to get it done in similar material.

I know there is another thread on this somewhere but...

There are two main types of synthetic leather materials: polyvinyl chloride (PVC) and polyurethane (PU).

You should look for the PU if you want something that feels very close to genuine leather.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » February 5th, 2020, 2:33 pm

I am the guy with the hilux the material the guy uses he calls it synthetic leather and for sure it is nothing like long time leatherette

He has both leather or the synthetic leather

I did not ask if he had the perforated one because I was not interested in it

It's about 4 months now and it still looks fantastic

Postby Strugglerzinc » February 5th, 2020, 4:25 pm

PariaMan wrote:I am the guy with the hilux the material the guy uses he calls it synthetic leather and for sure it is nothing like long time leatherette

Thanks for the input. Maybe it's just how the pics are showing up. I will have to pass through and see in person.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » February 5th, 2020, 5:39 pm

can dese upholstery men make a 10x10 tent canvas?

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » February 5th, 2020, 6:09 pm

Yes he does work for Ashley furniture
Strugglerzinc wrote:
PariaMan wrote:I am the guy with the hilux the material the guy uses he calls it synthetic leather and for sure it is nothing like long time leatherette

Thanks for the input. Maybe it's just how the pics are showing up. I will have to pass through and see in person.

Postby rspann » February 5th, 2020, 6:24 pm

Symphony leather is the term they use for the high quality synthetic material.

I bought genuine leather at Rahamans on Cipero st. It's shaped just like the cow ,with legs and everything , one problem is that anywhere the cow had a Bobo or any cut , the spot is a hole. The next thing is that because of the shape, the patterns have to be laid out to get optimum use of the hide. They were selling for over $3g for one , but the boss gave me for $2g.

Postby rspann » February 5th, 2020, 6:33 pm

Elsocorro Auto Supplies had an upholstery Dept and were the agent for Katzkins a high quality leather available in a variety of colours. I believe that they still have some stock although they closed down a while ago. They did a Rolls that I painted with tan leather . It was one of the best jobs I've seen.

Postby rspann » February 5th, 2020, 6:42 pm

Btw. A lot of Toyota vehicles especially Hilux that were sold with leather ,were done by them. They still had some of the Hilux kits for sale last time I spoke to the manager.

Postby *KRONIK* » February 5th, 2020, 7:05 pm

Hmmmmmm

Interesting/interested
rspann wrote:Btw. A lot of Toyota vehicles especially Hilux that were sold with leather ,were done by them. They still had some of the Hilux kits for sale last time I spoke to the manager.

Postby *KRONIK* » February 5th, 2020, 7:06 pm

Spann
Can you find out if they have any more vigo kits?
rspann wrote:Btw. A lot of Toyota vehicles especially Hilux that were sold with leather ,were done by them. They still had some of the Hilux kits for sale last time I spoke to the manager.

carluva

Postby carluva » February 5th, 2020, 7:08 pm

rspann wrote:Elsocorro Auto Supplies had an upholstery Dept and were the agent for Katzkins a high quality leather available in a variety of colours. I believe that they still have some stock although they closed down a while ago. They did a Rolls that I painted with tan leather . It was one of the best jobs I've seen.

How does one paint with Tan leather?

Postby rspann » February 5th, 2020, 7:16 pm

Read it over . I think you are a fairly intelligent person and can understand . If you don't ,I'll explain it to you in a later post. ( Hint. They are upholsterers and I'm a painter)

Postby rspann » February 5th, 2020, 7:17 pm

Don't let a comma cause problems. This is ole talk not English 101.

Postby rspann » February 5th, 2020, 7:25 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:Spann
Can you find out if they have any more vigo kits?

Their no. Is 638 2430 .Ask for the manager. They wanted to sell out all the stock so they showed it to me. If it's sold , ( which I doubt) ask who bought it.

carluva

Postby carluva » February 5th, 2020, 7:34 pm

Ded. I just felt the need to be difficult

Postby rspann » February 5th, 2020, 7:47 pm

Is just wild yuh wild.

While I was typing I saw how it looked but didn't feel to rearrange the words .

Postby Strugglerzinc » February 5th, 2020, 8:10 pm

rspann wrote:Elsocorro Auto Supplies had an upholstery Dept and were the agent for Katzkins a high quality leather available in a variety of colours. I believe that they still have some stock although they closed down a while ago. They did a Rolls that I painted with tan leather . It was one of the best jobs I've seen.

The Katzkin website will actually do the seats for my car via their configurator but I'm hoping to find something slightly less than 1k USD if i can.

Postby Chimera » February 5th, 2020, 10:00 pm

Carbon fiber style leatherette . From rahamans self I think. This is in my sportero
20200205_215728.jpeg
20200205_215709.jpeg
20200205_215705.jpeg

carluva

Postby carluva » February 6th, 2020, 9:37 am

Looks great. Who did the work for you?

WTK, best upholstering man.

Postby MaxPower » February 6th, 2020, 10:34 am

Bro the material looks good but who the hell is this upholsterer?

Why do you all tolerate this kind of half ass jobs that people like to say is “bess” work? Stand up and say this is sheit and do it over or get back your money.

If this is what u could have afforded, then forgive my comments.

That material has to pull and tighten alot more, threading and stitching has to be more neat and straight. And imagine i seeing that clear as mud in the pic, could just imagine how it looks in person.

Send your seamstress these pics, tell him i said he is a waste.

Let me know if i can leave these pics here of your car or if you would like me to remove it. But i suggest leave it so people can see an example of the type of work to look out for and stay far from.

Adjustments.JPG