carnival fete madness

Zetski

carnival fete madness

Postby Zetski » February 23rd, 2020, 2:28 am

So I had a little epiphany in Jamboree a lil while ago...

Why am I wasting my time and money going to these fetes... only to jump up and wave... same thing every year nothing changes...

It seems like majority of the people there have to be under the influence of alcohol to enjoy themselves... for a moment, for the first time I felt out of place in a fete... I even threw away my drink and left the venue... the girl I carried was so pissed that I wanted to leave early and also not attend Festival of Color which starts at 3

She was supposed to also meet up with a couple friends there so she will be going FoC with them... I was insulted by her but chose to just let it slide...

I thought to myself this fast life is so pretentious and maybe it is time to part ways with it..

Anybody else feel this way?

Re: carnival fete madness

Postby j.o.e » February 23rd, 2020, 3:23 am

Yup. Same here. We’ve done it all. Nothing more to see. I don’t suffer from Fear Of Missing Out (FOMO). I’m not there and unbothered.

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » February 23rd, 2020, 3:50 am

Seems you saw the light, done that for too long only to realize there must be more to life. Empty ppl constantly do the same empty things......... decided to make a change a couple years back

Kickstart

Postby Kickstart » February 23rd, 2020, 5:48 am

I gave up on Carnival fetes a few years now. I don't really think I saw value for money anymore. Same thing over and over .Other friends I know have also given up on fetes. Too much hassle to get tickets, parking ect. What is amazing is that these fetes are always sold out so someone is happy making money.

Postby Kenjo » February 23rd, 2020, 5:51 am

Men want to throw out their age or at least an age range ? It’s typical with most things in life you have to eventually move on . Now obviously people don’t Randomly start to fete at age 50 but it’s something as a youth you either like them or you just aren’t bothered. Not everyone has to be the same . It’s great you figured out yourself a bit more .

Kickstart

Postby Kickstart » February 23rd, 2020, 6:01 am

Kenjo wrote:Men want to throw out their age or at least an age range ? It’s typical with most things in life you have to eventually move on . Now obviously people don’t Randomly start to fete at age 50 but it’s something as a youth you either like them or you just aren’t bothered. Not everyone has to be the same . It’s great you figured out yourself a bit more .
50 plus people seem to fete more, they are the ones with the money and time to kill. Most come from abroad and it's just a social gathering to meet up with their old friends. For some it's a fashion show and a bling out

Postby Kenjo » February 23rd, 2020, 6:08 am

Kickstart wrote:
Kenjo wrote:Men want to throw out their age or at least an age range ? It’s typical with most things in life you have to eventually move on . Now obviously people don’t Randomly start to fete at age 50 but it’s something as a youth you either like them or you just aren’t bothered. Not everyone has to be the same . It’s great you figured out yourself a bit more .
50 plus people seem to fete more, they are the ones with the money and time to kill. Most come from abroad and it's just a social gathering to meet up with their old friends. For some it's a fashion show and a bling out

Quite true but they would be the ones that either had children young and could frolic now or the ones who managed to be continuous with parties but they remain balanced in life . At least you know they are hardly likely to be scrunting like some younger folks . I am assuming you guys in here are mid 30s to have this revelation . Late 20s for the youngest to have carried a fairly new found female to the event. Even if you feel like not carrying on with the fete tell the young lady she can chill with her friends while you go take a dodo in the car or watch the boxing match ?

agent007

Postby agent007 » February 23rd, 2020, 7:14 am

The only people that lose something in a fete are the patrons. Its money and time. The people who make money are the music artistes, the dancers, the stage support, the sound team, the organizers and all those who rented stuff for the fete from stage equipment to portable toilets and air coolers etc. Everybody else basically working and earning and these patrons losing. I'll keep my money and anytime I feeling patriotic, ill simply put on my radio and get pumped by a descent soca tune and maybe drive by the President's house or Red house.

Postby goalpost » February 23rd, 2020, 7:28 am

Carnival fetes are overrated.

A pardnah tell me he pay 1200 for MM and then still had to pay for food and drinks? Lol.

Somebody will come in and say, it's for the experience...

Soca is sheit. Well... modern soca...

Postby A172 » February 23rd, 2020, 8:14 am

man say sufferer fetes in trini is fast life yes lmao

Postby Kenjo » February 23rd, 2020, 8:15 am

Well these arts of any sort and literature don’t give any tangible Benefit so that’s why they always complain when people tell them to work for free for exposure . If you have any friends in graphic designs , music , photography - no one really cares about paying them for their time but yes could relax and stay home and watch a movie on tv instead or hit the gym .

Postby hydroep » February 23rd, 2020, 9:02 am

Realised a long time ago everybody different. Just like how a man go sink money into he car "nicing it up" and that brings him satisfaction, if people want to spend their money on fetes to enjoy themselves go for it yes...:|

RGF Asset Management

Postby RGF Asset Management » February 23rd, 2020, 9:51 am

Zetski wrote:So I had a little epiphany in Jamboree a lil while ago...

Why am I wasting my time and money going to these fetes... only to jump up and wave... same thing every year nothing changes...

It seems like majority of the people there have to be under the influence of alcohol to enjoy themselves... for a moment, for the first time I felt out of place in a fete... I even threw away my drink and left the venue... the girl I carried was so pissed that I wanted to leave early and also not attend Festival of Color which starts at 3

She was supposed to also meet up with a couple friends there so she will be going FoC with them... I was insulted by her but chose to just let it slide...

I thought to myself this fast life is so pretentious and maybe it is time to part ways with it..

Yup. I had one of these moments last year.

It was in one of these 'premiere' fetes in which a number of artistes were performing. I enjoyed the socialising part of it where we were able to mix with other folks and have a few drinks and food etc.

Things went downhill for me when the first artiste came on stage. The entire fete went toward the stage. My wife and other friends being avid fans of the artiste made their way to the very front of the stage. Once we reached there, i looked back and it was like the whole of Trinidad was behind me. The artiste began to perform and it was nothing but a list of orders for us. Put up yuh hand, wave yuh flag, jump up, wave, move to the left, move to the right and of course take out yuh phone and put on d flash. Not to mention the drink that i had in my hand eventually finished and maneuvering through the mammoth crowd to get to the bar was not an option. So there i was with an empty cup in hand looking on at this performance which went on for what felt like an eternity to me.

It then dawned on me that at this stage of my life i could think of far better things to do than to pay $1K ($2K for wfey and I) to go to these events and have follow so many instructions.

Dont get me wrong. I do enjoy a good lime and having fun. But as far as the these fetes go, I think i have had more than my share in my teens and twenties.

Postby Kenjo » February 23rd, 2020, 10:03 am

RGF Asset Management wrote:

Yup. I had one of these moments last year.

It was in one of these 'premiere' fetes in which a number of artistes were performing. I enjoyed the socialising part of it where we were able to mix with other folks and have a few drinks and food etc.

Things went downhill for me when the first artiste came on stage. The entire fete went toward the stage. My wife and other friends being avid fans of the artiste made their way to the very front of the stage. Once we reached there, i looked back and it was like the whole of Trinidad was behind me. The artiste began to perform and it was nothing but a list of orders for us. Put up yuh hand, wave yuh flag, jump up, wave, move to the left, move to the right and of course take out yuh phone and put on d flash. Not to mention the drink that i had in my hand eventually finished and maneuvering through the mammoth crowd to get to the bar was not an option. So there i was with an empty cup in hand looking on at this performance which went on for what felt like an eternity to me.

It then dawned on me that at this stage of my life i could think of far better things to do than to pay $1K ($2K for wfey and I) to go to these events and have follow so many instructions.

Dont get me wrong. I do enjoy a good lime and having fun. But as far as the these fetes go, I think i have had more than my share in my teens and twenties.

Precisely there was a time and a place for that and could move on . Same way a man could stop spending on a car as described above and say let him go into gardening . Same money going to be spending

Postby Gladiator » February 23rd, 2020, 10:29 am

Serious question to allyuh fete people.... how allyuh does listen to that horrid music. I mean when they mix it and sample the hell out of it to play on the radio it sounds okish.... but live performance does sound like real $hit, none of them singers have any vocal talent or melody they just shout in the mike and groan.

Or does the alcohol cancel it out totally...

Xplode

Postby Xplode » February 23rd, 2020, 10:47 am

There's Only One Ultimate LIME 2020 best carnival fete ever is Hyatt Lime , premium always "OPEN" bar & food lots of , parking no problem, lots of entertainment soca artist plenty, security like wow, you can get a massage , make up done for the ladies or did i mention FOOD plenty wide selection even wild meat and the ticket option to book a hotel room if intoxicated or just tired ,all the fetes wifey and i always saved up only for this one USD $590 per ticket included the room and breakfast buffet Thursday morning .

any other fete maybe brain lara could get my hard earn USD

Postby maj. tom » February 23rd, 2020, 10:59 am

Well OP yuh experienced it and now you got older and things changed in your life's perspective. At least you enjoyed it while you were in it, so be thankful for that. Other young people still have to experience it and have their fun, so don't knock it.

It's like fireworks, you know before age 10 or 12 it was fascinating and wondrous playing with fire, spend money to literally burn at FireOne, how you definitely NEED to spend $100 that you saved up to watch some colorful sparkly things burn and make smoke. As you get older things change. For some people it doesn't change as they get older and they are still burning their money and murdering animals every holiday and disturbing the peace. They don't mature or have the brain capacity to have an epiphany about life experiences. And that's their experience and you can't knock it.

Postby Redman » February 23rd, 2020, 11:06 am

This happened to me in a back in times 5 years ago....same people fighting the same lime ..30 years apart.

Now a grill and a few friends,some drinks and some music. And great conversation..
That's a perfect night.
Last edited by Redman on February 23rd, 2020, 11:25 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 23rd, 2020, 11:08 am

Try exploring other countries, never gets old and you are never bored

Postby streetbeastINC. » February 23rd, 2020, 11:39 am

Too me fetes are a total waste of time , you want to see real talent, try one of our local rock concerts.these guys have stepped up their game, haven't been a carnival fete in over 15 years.....

Postby SR » February 23rd, 2020, 11:57 am

I feel op carry a smallie to fete and she eh give he a wine self

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 23rd, 2020, 12:02 pm

When you study the possibility of being robbed in or after the fete, getting your car stolen or wrecked, getting some stray bullet in yuh arse, being followed home and then robbed....fck them fetes yes

Postby Kenjo » February 23rd, 2020, 12:03 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:When you study the possibility of being robbed in or after the fete, getting your car stolen or wrecked, getting some stray bullet in yuh arse, being followed home and then robbed....fck them fetes yes

Could do that any regular day

Postby maj. tom » February 23rd, 2020, 12:08 pm

but Gary say that a fete is the safest place to be.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » February 23rd, 2020, 12:30 pm

I do find some fetes boring. But having a fun crew, a mad dj, good drinks and nice setup is fun. It's ok if you dont enjoy it. I enjoy wild fetes, travelling, learning, house limes, games nights, orgies. But everyone is different.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 23rd, 2020, 12:32 pm

Kenjo wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:When you study the possibility of being robbed in or after the fete, getting your car stolen or wrecked, getting some stray bullet in yuh arse, being followed home and then robbed....fck them fetes yes

Could do that any regular day

Sad eh...

Postby RedVEVO » February 23rd, 2020, 12:55 pm

No no no ..

I come from foreign to fete fete fete ..

And is woman everywhere ..

I good ..

Something wrong with you ..

Are you using Super or Premium in your gas tank ?

Postby bluefete » February 23rd, 2020, 1:07 pm

Got married and priorities changed.

Up to today, many years later,I cannot take my house/family money and throw it away in a party.

Enjoyed it when I was single. But that was back in Noah's time when a good party cost about $20.00 (before all inclusives came along).

The music was top notch quality as well. Not the screaming crap they have today.

I know quite a few people in their 60's, 70's and 80's, who save their money every year to go to carnival parties and play mas. It makes them happy.

Postby RedVEVO » February 23rd, 2020, 1:36 pm

bluefete wrote:Got married and priorities changed.

Up to today, many years later,I cannot take my house/family money and throw it away in a party.

Enjoyed it when I was single. But that was back in Noah's time when a good party cost about $20.00 (before all inclusives came along).

The music was top notch quality as well. Not the screaming crap they have today.

I know quite a few people in their 60's, 70's and 80's, who save their money every year to go to carnival parties and play mas. It makes them happy.

Agree with your logic 100% Bro ..

Priorities change as you grow older ..

But while you young ..

Max it out !!!

Maybe a bus hit you tomorrow or a stray bullet :| :|

Postby rspann » February 23rd, 2020, 1:43 pm

Yeah a stray bullet could hit yuh.