COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 114 cases, 8 deaths, 20 discharged in T&T

Postby MaxPower » April 18th, 2020, 7:45 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
MaxPower wrote:Adjustments.JPG

Its not a good idea to open our borders right now.

Things are stabilized nicely....for now, but lets not let our guard down just yet. You do not want us to get a wave and then we have these 33 idiots wanting to come in. Its an unwanted burden at this time. These people are not dying or starving and they can wait it out regardless of their little pathetic rants.

Give them an update after the 30th, stay put in the mean time.

I mean these people serious?

So inconsiderate of them to even “hire” a flight and put all involved at risk in this crisis.

But a nex fool collecting a money from this so he now have to pull people out of the safety of their homes to come out to work for these irresponsible Trini pests.

Be strong T&T.

K cool bro, i hope you're happy with staying in Lockdown and having borders closed till end of 2021.

Morning bro,

Unfortunately, Happiness is not a priority in this pandemic.

Well it should be, but more importantly, f*cking over the economy can lead to more deaths in the long run.

We need to find a way to live with this Virus until a vaccine becomes available. The fact that you afraid to bring in 33 Trinis who live here and have capacity and awareness to self-isolate means that you not ready to deal with even the smallest outbreak.

Do we not have police officers who can check up on these 33 if you do not trust them? Do we not have hospitals that are under capacity in terms of dealing with Covid-19?

Find solutions, stop avoiding problems. It seems if it were up to you, you'd have us live like North Koreans in total isolation and fear.

The important thing is for you to remain calm my good lad.

I am in no way afraid of these 33 Trinis, more like disgusted of their unacceptable negligent behavior regardless of how much time has passed. Due to their actions and ignorance, we have sufficient evidence to assume that they are incapable to practice positive awareness and self-isolation. As a result, they should be placed under strict quarantine upon their arrival, to be on the safe side.

The TTPS displays inconsistent competency and they themselves cannot be trusted to babysit these 33 Trinis.

Currently yes, hospitals are under capacity and can comfortably handle 33 Trinis. A relaxed health system does not mean a free for all. Why only those 33 then? Why not bring in those stranded in Suriname and Margarita....and the thousands worldwide? Orr is it because of their situation? What about T&Ts situation? What is the limit that we can accept in our heath facilities and still safe guard for a major outbreak?

The point is DPD, we do not know at this time as we are unable to predict the future impact on society. Have you noticed the sudden spike Jamaica had in cases recently within a 24 hour period? Or is your brain stuck in North Korea?

Find solutions and stop avoiding problems? - One solution is to keep our borders close, thus avoiding the problem. They can enter when we are certain that we have things under control. Oh gosh bro, its 48 hours with no new cases, we’re doing really good so let’s hold it out a little longer even though it may seem “fair” to allow them in.

I mean i dont understand, the more we STAY HOME and STAY PUT the closer to victory. Lets not use sympathy, leniency, like, rather, want and prefer etc to risk it.

Keep well and be safe.

Dude victory is not possible without herd Immunity or a vaccine.

U can't contain this virus easily. The asymptotic spread is happening right now. For us to eliminate it entirely will take 2 more months of total lockdown (nobody leaving their house kinda thing). That is not possible and if we do it, it takes just one person entering the country with it to firetruck it up. Why aim for this impossible goal?

All we doing is delaying, I was calling it buying time but we not building hospitals or prepping quarentine facilities or anything. So we just wasting time.

We are not defeating this without a vaccine. The most we can do live with it while having strict mitigation factors.

We should be flattening the peak, not totally avoiding it (because economically that is suicide).

Watch and see the countries that come this the best are the ones that allowed it to peak. Italy will be a economic boom for many reasons after due to being one of the first who can re-open easily (herd immunity) less people on welfare (much less old age pensions to pay) and younger people gaining wealth through inheritance.

Countries that delay and try to fight the impossible will end up killing more people indirectly and ruin the economy of the country for at least a decade.

There is no easy decision, but what you want isn't possible.

I'm sure or hope the government knows this. When we reduce lockdowns and cases start showing up by the dozens daily. I hope you will realize that was always expected and we will inevitably have more lockdowns throughout 2020 and 2021.

Nice write up my lad, i can’t disagree with you.

Thanks.

fokhan_96

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 114 cases, 8 deaths, 20 discharged in T&T

Postby fokhan_96 » April 18th, 2020, 8:23 pm

Now we wait on the second wave.
Screenshot_20200418-140822_Samsung%20Internet.jpeg
Screenshot_20200418-140753_Samsung%20Internet.jpeg
Screenshot_20200418-140711_Samsung%20Internet.jpeg

Postby adnj » April 18th, 2020, 8:51 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
All we doing is delaying, I was calling it buying time but we not building hospitals or prepping quarentine facilities or anything. So we just wasting time.

We are not defeating this without a vaccine. The most we can do live with it while having strict mitigation factors.

We should be flattening the peak, not totally avoiding it (because economically that is suicide).

Watch and see the countries that come this the best are the ones that allowed it to peak. Italy will be a economic boom for many reasons after due to being one of the first who can re-open easily (herd immunity) less people on welfare (much less old age pensions to pay) and younger people gaining wealth through inheritance.

Countries that delay and try to fight the impossible will end up killing more people indirectly and ruin the economy of the country for at least a decade.

Interesting. But not necessarily accurate.

The best responses came from South Korea, Taiwan, Iceland, and Germany.

Decisive action, preparation, testing, and transparent leadership decisions, among others, will probably make these countries leaders in expertise, leadership and economic planning.

Italy has a large deficit that is about to get larger with a stimulus package that is 50% of GDP. Tourism has dropped off and is not likely to return in the near term.

Small towns were losing population and the population losses are expected to accelerate as many older survivors move to larger towns with better health care.

Younger people are expected to follow because they will lose the anchor of the older family members who have either died or will possibly move.

Poor leadership and untimely decisions are causing some citizens to move to other EU countries.

Uncertain business conditions are causing notable changes in Italian equity futures and planned investment.

In general, the best planning and most pervasive testing is what will protect and possibly boost a post-pandemic economy. Not simply acquiring "herd immunity."

Postby paid_influencer » April 18th, 2020, 9:30 pm

another day, another 0 cases.

Postby K74T » April 18th, 2020, 10:25 pm

As of the 10PM MoH release

1 additional person has tested positive for COVID-19 (contact of a person who has a history of recent travel) and 2 additional persons discharged from Caura Hospital

However they did not update the figures in the table so there is an error

FB_IMG_1587263046626.jpeg

Postby paid_influencer » April 18th, 2020, 11:21 pm

^the error was in the annotation, not the table.

Still at 0 new cases today. Nobody was discharged from Caura either.

no proof reader woking night shift :drinking:

https://www.facebook.com/MinistryofHeal ... 0624649056

Postby Gladiator » April 18th, 2020, 11:23 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:What yall thinking for after the 30th?

April or May?

Postby paid_influencer » April 18th, 2020, 11:28 pm

Gladiator wrote:

April or May?

if they doh relax some restrictions by may 1st, i going to riot :drinking:

Postby redmanjp » April 18th, 2020, 11:30 pm

K74T wrote:As of the 10PM MoH release

1 additional person has tested positive for COVID-19 (contact of a person who has a history of recent travel) and 2 additional persons discharged from Caura Hospital

However they did not update the figures in the table so there is an error

FB_IMG_1587263046626.jpeg

we have to wait till the incubation periods of all primary and secondary contacts of all travelers to end before we can say that this first wave is done.

Postby K74T » April 18th, 2020, 11:52 pm

Jamaica update

FB_IMG_1587268318609.jpeg
FB_IMG_1587268320858.jpeg

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 19th, 2020, 12:04 am

^ #TanAhYuhYaad

DTAC

Postby DTAC » April 19th, 2020, 2:05 am

Dohplaydat wrote:
Dude victory is not possible without herd Immunity or a vaccine.... .

Herd Immunity works on the premise that people will die as essentially collateral damage.

Are you willing for one of your parents, grandparents or close family members to get it and die for the purpose of "Herd Immunity"?

screwbash

Postby screwbash » April 19th, 2020, 4:20 am

everybody and dey mamoo is a doctor or virologist yes. i jus say if all 114 cases start to drop we open back kfc and d doubles man. when it get to 0 cases we reopen schools and restart the economy. we leff the airport and seaport closed to human cargo and open to whatever freight cargo comes and sanitize dat an we stay in we own island until d world fixes it. and stop the MC venez from comin in on boat, issue an order on illegal entry same way animals smuggles into TT is handled.

Postby aaron17 » April 19th, 2020, 9:00 am

paid_influencer wrote:
Gladiator wrote:

April or May?

if they doh relax some restrictions by may 1st, i going to riot :drinking:
Unc not in power bredda.

Postby goalpost » April 19th, 2020, 11:50 am

I really thought they would've corrected the 10pm update last night by increasing to 115, not the other way around.

That's suspicious.

Postby rspann » April 19th, 2020, 1:14 pm

Saw hundreds today by Inshan grounds . Lots of Venezuelans too.

Postby pugboy » April 19th, 2020, 1:17 pm

he still giving out ?

rspann wrote:Saw hundreds today by Inshan grounds . Lots of Venezuelans too.

Postby rspann » April 19th, 2020, 1:23 pm

The police is assisting with the lines and social distancing . There are lots of people there though . Reporters taking pics of the line so you should see it by a little later .

Postby MaxPower » April 19th, 2020, 1:25 pm

rspann wrote:Saw hundreds today by Inshan grounds . Lots of Venezuelans too.

Oh gosh heavinly fadda bless T&T

Postby pugboy » April 19th, 2020, 1:25 pm

that just gonna get more and more ppl next two weeks

Postby rspann » April 19th, 2020, 1:27 pm

That is good because there are some people who don't have access to the grants and those who are waiting on the grant will also need a cushion in the meantime .

Postby MaxPower » April 19th, 2020, 3:29 pm

6b91019e-f6ac-4a0c-8f5d-28599e72aff0.jpg

VII

Postby VII » April 19th, 2020, 3:49 pm

Lol I thought that was going to be about relaxing restrictions .

Postby maj. tom » April 19th, 2020, 4:09 pm

So if the toilet valve start leaking Monday night, what to do? Go and use the one in the Red House and wait till Thursday morning to buy a new valve?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 19th, 2020, 4:11 pm

2e52fc1a-8b41-4ff3-aabe-f8a586574c6b.jpg

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 19th, 2020, 4:12 pm

maj. tom wrote:So if the toilet valve start leaking Monday night, what to do?

Be grateful that you have running water

Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 114 cases, 8 deaths, 20 discharged in T&T

Postby MaxPower » April 19th, 2020, 4:18 pm

So many things are taken for granted in this pandemic, it’s such a shame.

So many things we have to be grateful for.

The day a natural disaster hit us and level everything you panzies complaining for, will be the day allyuh wake DFU.

Enjoy this jolly pandemic.

Postby 88sins » April 19th, 2020, 5:19 pm

maj. tom wrote:So if the toilet valve start leaking Monday night, what to do? Go and use the one in the Red House and wait till Thursday morning to buy a new valve?

If the angle valve or siphon leaking, shut off the supply to the tank & bucket for it.
If the sewage outlet line leaking, I eh kno what to tell you. Could maybe use your neighbor or relatives own if allyuh good I suppose, but that means you will be breaking social distancing protocol to some degree.
Other than that, invest in plastic bags?

Postby Country_Bookie » April 19th, 2020, 5:38 pm

Whatever happened with getting private labs to help in doing testing?? Our number of total tests per million ppl is low compared to other countries.

Postby MaxPower » April 19th, 2020, 5:44 pm

3d3f9e7f-f82b-4f81-804e-eb387ec6c953.jpg