WTK, best upholstering man.

Re: WTK, best upholstering man.

Postby Chimera » February 6th, 2020, 11:39 am

This is after 2 years of it being on the vehicle though.

Postby eliteauto » February 6th, 2020, 11:42 am

I understand what Max saying, but if it's after 2 years and it's a vehicle being used regularly that's expected, gonna have some pulling and stretching over time. If he did the cross stitching (diamond pattern) that looks pretty neat

Postby MaxPower » February 6th, 2020, 12:14 pm

Ok well it sounds like you guys are satisfied with how it looks after only 2 years.

The stitching is sheit and had he done it correctly the first time it wont look so bad with regular use. But he have no excuse for the crooked stitching.

But anyways, famous words:

“Dai small ting”,
“nobody seein dat”
“dat lil ting?”
“Yuh does get dat”
“Minor ting”

But the money correct though.

No beef with you fine folks eh, i jus dont like what i see and what is unacceptable to me may be the normz for others.

Postby Chimera » February 6th, 2020, 1:07 pm

paid $2500 to do that with material

yea he do all the diamond stitching and he also built up the front seats with high density foam (i`m 250 lbs, i needed that)

daz all i could afford tho, wha yuh go do

cant have d best and i brokes.

Postby Dave » February 6th, 2020, 1:36 pm

250lbs and looks like that still!
Not bad.

ibanez

Postby ibanez » February 9th, 2020, 7:21 am

Any suggestions for upholsterers in South? Wanna redo an Austin Mini

Postby shogun » February 13th, 2020, 7:33 pm

Had some proper before/after pics somewhere, but cyar find them. :|

First pic is from the Tuner FS post, uploaded by seller (this was circa 2018 eh.) Second was a quick pic taken this evening.

Guy's name was Sean (in the east) and he handled upholstering for Maxis etc. Dude sourced the exact fabric and colour. He did some bolster foam replacement and reshaping as well. Wouldn't be able to tell that it was reupholstered by looking at it.

trinigoon

Postby trinigoon » March 9th, 2020, 10:36 am

Location an number if possible

Postby Strugglerzinc » May 30th, 2020, 10:46 am

carluva wrote:I see in another thread a guy did some top notch work in a Hilux at a real good price. Read on from here

viewtopic.php?p=9965701#p9965701

This is work done by Rishi of Munroe Rd on my seats after reading these threads. Not too bad, however not perfect either. $1700 for both front seats. He came highly recommended but IMHO seams could have been better especially after the big game he talks when you meet him.

IMG_20200420_102342103_HDR.jpg

IMG_20200423_161946206_HDR.jpg

Postby MaxPower » May 30th, 2020, 11:53 am

Rishi have Parkinson’s disease by chance? How them stitches crooked crooked so.

Looks like typical Trini work but i agree, it could have been done better with willingness, passion and a lil more time dedicated.

But that go wuk jus so man.

wingnut

Postby wingnut » May 30th, 2020, 12:17 pm

MaxPower wrote:Rishi have Parkinson’s disease by chance? How them stitches crooked crooked so.

Looks like typical Trini work but i agree, it could have been done better with willingness, passion and a lil more time dedicated.

Yea bai bolt it up jus so an puh some amoroul on it fadda it guh wuk

Puh ah seat cover on it yuh eh guh see d stitching.....sound more like it

Postby Strugglerzinc » May 30th, 2020, 12:29 pm

wingnut wrote:
MaxPower wrote:Rishi have Parkinson’s disease by chance? How them stitches crooked crooked so.

Yea bai bolt it up jus so an puh some amoroul on it fadda it guh wuk

Puh ah seat cover on it yuh eh guh see d stitching.....sound more like it

Yuh understand. Not saying it bad, but could have been better.

Could not find any better in my area as pics of their work were much worse. Most people i spoke to recommended this guy.

Postby Ted_v2 » May 31st, 2020, 9:35 am

I'll post a chair later, my uncle rell rate up this guy who redid some office chairs for him, so I sent one of Mines to be recovered.

Horrible job. The chair came back with a lean, the hand rest one side is curved like original and the next side is rectangular.

Postby X_Factor » June 1st, 2020, 5:35 pm

Thoughts?
FB_IMG_1591047270231.jpeg
FB_IMG_1591047267158.jpeg
FB_IMG_1591047277816.jpeg
FB_IMG_1591047272956.jpeg

Postby MaxPower » June 1st, 2020, 5:57 pm

Hello X_Factor,

Boi i like it man.

Do you have any up close pictures of the stitching?

But looks good from what i see.

Who is this tradesman?

Postby Dave » June 1st, 2020, 6:44 pm

Fry!

Postby The_Honourable » September 24th, 2021, 9:08 pm

Any recommendations for San Fernando and environs?

Side of drivers car seat beginning to tear with sponge pieces coming out.

Postby timelapse » September 25th, 2021, 6:54 am

Chaguanas too far for you?

NR8

Postby NR8 » September 25th, 2021, 11:04 am

The_Honourable wrote:Any recommendations for San Fernando and environs?

There is Mikey on Lower Hillside. Never did any work there but he always has a lot of vehicles parked up.

shottah_crew

Postby shottah_crew » September 25th, 2021, 1:16 pm

NR8 wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:Any recommendations for San Fernando and environs?

There is Mikey on Lower Hillside. Never did any work there but he always has a lot of vehicles parked up.

I think Mikey passed recently, but I guess the boys there still working. Excellent work though.

Postby timelapse » September 25th, 2021, 6:18 pm

There's also Mansoor in La Romain

Postby The_Honourable » September 25th, 2021, 7:56 pm

Thanks for the recommendations 8-)

timelapse wrote:Chaguanas too far for you?

A bit far but I don't mind the recommendation.