T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

agent007

Re: T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Postby agent007 » June 7th, 2020, 4:55 pm

They both are more or less the same IMO. TTTL has the VX and VX-L which are strictly diesel.

HSM (amongst others) import the TX and TX-L.

The L version usually has the roof rack and sunroof. The headunit in the TTTL version has a smaller touch screen. The grey market can be optioned with a 10" android system. I know there would be some in-depth details and differences only a sales person may identify but essentially they're the same minus the engine.

Right now you can import your own YOM 2019 TX-L for $656k landed, cleared and licensed comfortably in your garage.

Postby aaron17 » June 7th, 2020, 5:29 pm

When the new elantra coming down?

agent007

Postby agent007 » June 7th, 2020, 6:26 pm

I wont be holding my breath for that one. Let inventory clear out first before we see this 2021 Elantra. The virus did mess up the industry quite a bit. Maybe Q4 2020 or Q1 2021 in my estimate.

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » June 9th, 2020, 3:02 pm

Agent,

Ever test drive the 1.4T Audi A4? What’s your thoughts on it?

Postby A172 » June 9th, 2020, 7:56 pm

scotty a padna bought one of those A4 1.4T last year, it was a "sport" trim also

he come by me a time and told me come outside to see his new audi, i said lolwhy and went back to what i was doing

that car reeks of cheapness, audi come like the kia/hyundai of the regular euro brands

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » June 9th, 2020, 10:14 pm

A172 wrote:scotty a padna bought one of those A4 1.4T last year, it was a "sport" trim also

he come by me a time and told me come outside to see his new audi, i said lolwhy and went back to what i was doing

that car reeks of cheapness, audi come like the kia/hyundai of the regular euro brands

Lol. G20 or nothing. Sport trim is failure though

agent007

Postby agent007 » June 10th, 2020, 12:12 am

If you watch closely, the 1.4T "leather seats" is not actually leather. Its pleather and feels thin and cheap. I'm not impressed. Also the rim size is 17" which looks small in comparison to the wheel well. The model I sat in did not have sunroof, rear ac vents or premium audio. I did not drive it but was told that a lesser Jetta or Passat would embarrass it performance wise.

At $400k, get the Accord 1.5T, otherwise you should start shopping at the 320i and above.
Honestly, to add to what A172 mentioned, I feel like an Optima has reached the quality of an A4 now but that's just me.
FB_IMG_1591762175049.jpeg
FB_IMG_1591762172746.jpeg
FB_IMG_1591762108018.jpeg
FB_IMG_1591762185319.jpeg

Postby Gladiator » June 10th, 2020, 12:35 am

This model A4 has a badly designed suspension. The wheel well is abnormally huge. SS tried outfitting it with a larger size rim and it only made it look worse like a crossover SUV. It seems as though they made it for an adjustable damper but we don't get that option so they all come with the suspension set at the max ride height...LOL

agent007 wrote:If you watch closely, the 1.4T "leather seats" is not actually leather. Its pleather and feels thin and cheap. I'm not impressed. Also the rim size is 17" which looks small in comparison to the wheel well. The model I sat in did not have sunroof, rear ac vents or premium audio. I did not drive it but was told that a lesser Jetta or Passat would embarrass it performance wise.

At $400k, get the Accord 1.5T, otherwise you should start shopping at the 320i and above.
Honestly, to add to what A172 mentioned, I feel like an Optima has reached the quality of an A4 now but that's just me.
FB_IMG_1591762185319.jpegFB_IMG_1591762108018.jpegFB_IMG_1591762172746.jpegFB_IMG_1591762175049.jpeg

agent007

Postby agent007 » June 10th, 2020, 1:08 am

Ouch well that explains a lot, thanks for the info bro.

slacker_83

Postby slacker_83 » June 10th, 2020, 11:21 am

Normally your recommendations are pretty solid, but in this case I won't recommend anyone paying $400+ for a 1.5 Accord. As much as I was looking forward to the release of this model, the pricing does not match what it actually cost.
agent007 wrote:If you watch closely, the 1.4T "leather seats" is not actually leather. Its pleather and feels thin and cheap. I'm not impressed. Also the rim size is 17" which looks small in comparison to the wheel well. The model I sat in did not have sunroof, rear ac vents or premium audio. I did not drive it but was told that a lesser Jetta or Passat would embarrass it performance wise.

limegreen

Postby limegreen » June 10th, 2020, 11:33 am

Wow surprising. Maybe it’s the way they spec’d it? It always seemed to me to be the opposite, where Audi is usually better (actually surprised at how much hard plastic is in my car as well).

Lower end segments usually have leatherette in the base trim.

agent007

Postby agent007 » June 10th, 2020, 1:34 pm

^^I recognize the B9 is not the hit as initally thought it would be in comparison to the B8 locally. The refreshed version should hopefully change things a bit. Right now in that segment, the BMW G20 seems to be on a high. We'll see how it plays off.

slacker, I share the same sentiments actually, $399k for an Accord 1.5T is absurd especially since it is subject to less taxes than the previous model. I suppose if you throw in a $303k Optima in the mix ($96k cheaper than an Accord despite subject to far more taxes), it doesn't help with the Accord's value for money factor. But with specific relation to the A4 1.4T @ $400k, which would you choose? The Accord is bigger and has more power. It will retain its resale value far better and would more than likely be more reliable and is backed by a better dealer. So only in that case, I would say Accord 1.5T > A4 1.4T

Personally, If I wanted a spacious sedan I would close my eyes and take a Mazda 6 which can be had for as low as $325k

In other news, It is my understanding that the 2020 Subaru Outback has arrived, priced at $559k :shock:

rebound

Postby rebound » June 10th, 2020, 7:37 pm

Would the RS4 be available in TnT? Always loved the Stationwagons.

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » June 10th, 2020, 9:08 pm

The A4 pics you posted looks like an S line trim.. is this the model that has poor quality interior?

That’s so strange since almost every review I’ve read and watched praised the A4s quality interior.

Somehow I feel our region gets a lower spec and quality compared to first world countries

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » June 10th, 2020, 9:12 pm

Also I’d be wary of the 1.5T engines from Honda.
Seems as though they haven’t completely sorted the oil dilution issue.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 11th, 2020, 9:11 am

scotty_buttons wrote:Also I’d be wary of the 1.5T engines from Honda.
Seems as though they haven’t completely sorted the oil dilution issue.

They claimed software tweaks were done but who knows.

Just be a little earlier with oil changes and the problems should be moot.

agent007

Postby agent007 » June 11th, 2020, 12:00 pm

Our CRV has zero issues as well and no other CRV owner we know of has issues with the engines. Like I mentioned previously, give it until 2022 as these said engines pack on some miles and age then we will revisit the dilution issue.

4Motion

Postby 4Motion » June 11th, 2020, 12:04 pm

rebound wrote:Would the RS4 be available in TnT? Always loved the Stationwagons.

I once asked about the RSQ3 and I was told they don’t bring in the RS vehicles due to our fuel quality.

agent007

Postby agent007 » June 11th, 2020, 12:28 pm

Did SS ever bring in legitimate RS models to our shores?

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » June 11th, 2020, 1:23 pm

Dunno if it came from SS but there was a gunmetal RS4 PCB plates and recently I saw a legit RS3 blue in valsayn

agent007

Postby agent007 » June 12th, 2020, 10:58 am

I think I recall a few models now but IIRC, they work best on 98RON which is a fuel we never got so I reckon many of those higher performance engines were not putting out the proper hp and torque figures for our market. This applies to BMW's genuine M vehicles and Mercedes AMG vehicles.

There is a user, ECOTUNE, who I feel might be able to clarify this.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » June 12th, 2020, 6:03 pm

What do you give up/lose by choosing the base model luxury sedan.
Take a 3 series for example. Is the 316 and 330 (I'm not sure if this is the Min and Max of 3 series excluding the M models) more or less the same car with a different drive train or even just a different engine.

Are the brakes improved as it goes up through the model?

Are there improvements to the chassis etc.

agent007

Postby agent007 » June 12th, 2020, 9:54 pm

Rspann, scotty, A172 and banzai will have a field day over this post lol.

Basically the difference between an entry 3 series vs a top of the line 3 series can be but not limited to:

1. Bigger brakes (slotted 4 pistons and more) sometimes including carbon ceramic rotors
2. Firmer sport tuned suspension with a geometry setup for better acceleration, deceleration, cornering and dampening
3. More sound deadening material for lower NVH including thicker bushings, liquid filled dynamic mounts
4. Stiffer subframes with additional stamping onto the monocoque body including bracing points
5. Obviously bigger displacement engines, with more cylinders, bigger turbos, intercoolers, beefier transmissions to handle the increased torque eg. Clutches and torque converters
6. Premium audio system
7. Premium nappa leather vs Alcantara or just plain ole vinyl type pleather
8. Bigger light weight rims
9. Real carbon fiber parts
10. Laser lights vs regular LED and xenon HID
11. Sport tuned exhaust with dual or quad functional tips
12. Additional safety systems for crash avoidance and impact mitigation
13. Driver assistance technologies

Etc etc

That's just the top of my head but true premium car cuckoos will add to that and more.

A fully optioned M340i can almost be a different car completely to a base 318i.

Postby A172 » June 13th, 2020, 8:58 am

only 320, 330 and m340 actually available to buy rn

there is supposed to be a 318 which would be a detuned 2000cc later on, no 316

in any trim laser lights is an option, even an m340i comes with regular led

no G20 from lafast has laser lights and if u special order it the price would make u cry. Even abroad the price just for lasers is really high so you would see most G20 online with the adaptive led

vernasca leather is the leather for this generation, and u can option it with blue stitching or white(non m sport) stitching
i took the blue m sport stitching for my G20, for once i would say that option looks way better than alcantara

Postby Country_Bookie » June 13th, 2020, 6:13 pm

Anyone had a chance to drive any of those 2 series BMW sedans? I wouldn't compare it to the 3 series but to other mid sized sedans in that price range like Mazda 6, K9/ Optima , Civic 1.5T etc.

Civic is cheaper than these others but the potential oil dilution issue is troubling if it hasn't been sorted out. Reminds me of my days owning an EK3 civic with CVT Transmission. It apparently needed a specialised transmission fluid, which Honda didn't develop or release until several years after these cars were on the market. My transmission gave out the first day I moved out of my mother's house yes. Couldn't go up the driveway and couldn't even reverse

agent007

Postby agent007 » June 13th, 2020, 7:08 pm

I was not aware we had the 2 series sedan. I am aware of the hatchback looking one but I cant give any feedback on them.

Mazda 6 (3rd gen) generally get very favorable reviews in here. Optima is basically a lot of glitter and glam for an affordable price. I would not be so generous to compare it to a European product nor a Mazda 6.

Lastly, there is no Honda 1.5T oil dilution issue for any CRV, Accord or Civic in T&T at this time. That issue applies to other markets since ANSA technicians have applied the necessary remedies to avoid dilution. The oil change interval remains at 5k kms and a critical software update was applied for our region.

The oldest L15B7 in T&T is still under 4 years old and likely may have less than 140,000kms or 87,500miles on the odometer. If this engine is anything like the B series or K series, you know it takes a lot more usage than that for a Honda motor to show signs of trouble.

The only thing to worry about IMO is an inherent fault with all direct injection engines that build carbon/oil deposits on the intake valves faster than a multipoint port injected engine and this is not a Honda only issue, this applies to all manufacturers that make those types of engines.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » June 14th, 2020, 12:39 am

The new Mazda 6 is one hell of a looker. Boxing ahead of it's class in features too

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 14th, 2020, 9:50 am

agent007 wrote:I was not aware we had the 2 series sedan. I am aware of the hatchback looking one but I cant give any feedback on them.

Mazda 6 (3rd gen) generally get very favorable reviews in here. Optima is basically a lot of glitter and glam for an affordable price. I would not be so generous to compare it to a European product nor a Mazda 6.

Lastly, there is no Honda 1.5T oil dilution issue for any CRV, Accord or Civic in T&T at this time. That issue applies to other markets since ANSA technicians have applied the necessary remedies to avoid dilution. The oil change interval remains at 5k kms and a critical software update was applied for our region.

The oldest L15B7 in T&T is still under 4 years old and likely may have less than 140,000kms or 87,500miles on the odometer. If this engine is anything like the B series or K series, you know it takes a lot more usage than that for a Honda motor to show signs of trouble.

The only thing to worry about IMO is an inherent fault with all direct injection engines that build carbon/oil deposits on the intake valves faster than a multipoint port injected engine and this is not a Honda only issue, this applies to all manufacturers that make those types of engines.

They changed the oil change intervals?
Last time I services with ANSA was still 10K or every 6 months.

SLVR1

Postby SLVR1 » June 14th, 2020, 11:46 am

drchaos wrote:
agent007 wrote:I was not aware we had the 2 series sedan. I am aware of the hatchback looking one but I cant give any feedback on them.

They changed the oil change intervals?
Last time I services with ANSA was still 10K or every 6 months.

When I serviced (1st one) in Nov. 2019, they (ANSA) put for me to come back in Feb. 2020 or 7,857 kms. So basically, 5,000 kms servicing (for their benefit). My manual says contradictory to ANSA when it comes to service. They try to ignore the oil life meter and did not even reset it (I had to do it) or else the reading would not be accurate.

agent007

Postby agent007 » June 14th, 2020, 1:00 pm

The CRV is every 5k at least for us. I am against inconsistency because all L15B7s are essentially the same. Also, this was discussed quite a lot here already but manufacturer suggested oil change intervals are not usually followed 100% in T&T because we are considered "severe operating conditions" for obvious reasons. Lastly, even though it is not mandatory, the logic behind filling up with premium are observed by us since day 1.